DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are under examination.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Instant claims 16 and 17 recite “augmented reality means”. While the claims recite the intended function of “augmented reality means”, the claims do not recite sufficient acts for performing the term. On page 17, the specification states “augmented reality means” includes sounds that enhance the users desire to drink or eat something. For purposes of this examination, “augmented reality means” is interpreted to include a notification for the user to eat or drink something.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception without significantly more.
Claims 1-17 are directed to method of detecting or quantifying a liquid, food or medication intake of a user wearing a hearing device. As described in Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S._, 134 S. Cr. 2347, 110 U.S.P.Q.2d 1976 (2014), a two-step analysis is required in considering the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter. The first step requires determining if the claimed subject matter is directed to a judicial exception. The instant claims require the steps of analyzing audio signals by applying a machine learning algorithm and determining values indicative of how often or the amount of food, liquid, or medication is ingested by the user. However applying a machine learning algorithm to determine values is a mathematical algorithm. Dependent claims 2-17 are drawn to additional mathematical steps, or the data to be inputted into the mathematical algorithm, or the data outputted from the mathematical algorithm. The courts have found mathematical algorithms to be drawn to the judicial exception of an abstract idea (In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1824 (Fed. Cir. 1989)). Thus, the instant claims are drawn to a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The instant claims do not recite an element that reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer or other technology, an element that applies the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment, an element that implements the judicial exception with a particular machine, or an element that effects a transformation of a particular article to a different state or thing. The instant claims recite receiving a signal, collecting a signal, storing values, and generating an output. However, these steps are extra-solution data gathering or data output steps. Extra solution activity does not impart a practical application to a judicial exception. The instant claims recite the elements of a hearing device, hearing system, remote server, cloud, microphone, sensor, physiological sensor, a user interface, processor, and sound output device. However, the instant claims do not recite any structural limitations of these elements. Thus, these elements are not drawn to a particular machine and do not integrate the judicial exception to a practical application.
The second part of the analysis requires determining if the claims include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The instant claims recite the additional elements receiving a signal, collecting a signal, storing values, and generating an output. However, these are well-understood, conventional and routine data gathering and outputting steps. (MPEP §2106.05(d)(II)). The instant claims recite the elements of a hearing device, hearing system, remote server, cloud, microphone, sensor, physiological sensor, a user interface, processor, and sound output device. However, these elements are well-understood, conventional, and routine components of a hearing device (Specification, paragraphs [0002], [0017], [0045]-[0053], [0060]-[0063], and [0082]). Reciting well-understood, conventional, and routine steps and elements do not transform the judicial exception into patent eligible subject matter. In addition, the recitation of the specific types of data, to be used in the judicial exception does not transform the abstract idea into a non-abstract idea. (See buySAFE, Inc. v Google, Inc. 765 F.3d 1350, 112 U.S.P.Q.2d 1093 (Fed.Cir.2014)). Furthermore, the elements taken as a combination are also well-understood, routine, and conventional, since the elements are merely specifying the types of data for a data gathering step or hearing aid devices. Thus, the instant claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
5. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Instant claim 18 recites a computer-readable medium, which encompasses carrier waves. (Specification, paragraph [0082]). Carrier waves are non-statutory per se. Thus, the instant claim is drawn to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahmed et al. (US 2019/0231253 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ahmed et al teach a method for detecting and quantifying liquid or food intake of a user wearing a hearing device (paragraph [0024]) which comprises at least one microphone (paragraphs [0026] and [0028]) where the method includes the steps of receiving an audio signal from the microphone or a sensor signal from a sensor (paragraphs [0043] and [0044]); collecting and analyzing the audio signal or sensor signal to detect each time the user drinks or takes medication or eats something (paragraph [0044]), where the drinking or medication is distinguished from eating and drinking is distinguished from medication intake (paragraphs [0044] and [0056]), to determine values indicative of how often this is detected or the amount of liquid, food, or medication (paragraph [0055]); where the step of analyzing includes applying a machine learning algorithm in the hearing device or hearing system or a remove server or cloud (paragraphs [0048] and [0063]), and storing the determined values in the hearing system and based on the stored values generating a predetermined type of output (i.e. notifications) (paragraphs [0029]-[0032] and [0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Ahmed et al. teach where the machine learning algorithm is applied in its training phase (i.e., “learning stage”) to learn user-specific manners of drinking, eating, or medication intake and the manners are incorporated into future analysis (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Ahmed et al. teach analyzing two or more phases of drinking, eating or medication intake are distinguished in the course of detecting liquid, food, or medication intake (paragraphs [0046] and [0055]), where the analysis is based on different sensors or different machine learning algorithms (paragraphs [0043], [0048] and [0049]).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Ahmed et al. teach detecting tilting the user’s head from a movement sensor for medication intake (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 18, Ahmed et al. teach a computer readable medium with a program that is adapted to carry out the steps of the method (paragraphs [0030] and [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Ahmed et al. teach a hearing device including a microphone, a processor, a sound output device and where the hearing device adapted for performing the method (paragraphs [0026] and [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 2019/0231253 A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 18 and 19 above, and further in view of Connor (US 2015/0379238 A1).
Ahmed et al. is applied as above.
While Ahmed et al. teaches distinguishing between different activities (paragraphs [0044] and [0056]), Ahmed et al. does not teach detecting the phase of medication intake of bringing a medication in contact with the mouth or inserting medication into the mouth.
Regarding claim 5, Connor teaches a method that includes detecting bringing food to the mouth, inserting food into the mouth, chewing or swallowing the food, and lowering the hand (paragraph [0240]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to combine the teachings of Ahmed et al. and Connor. Both Ahmed et al. and Connor are drawn to detecting food intake (Ahmed et al., paragraph [0055]; Connor, abstract). Connor offers the advantage of being able to detect the physical motions of eating (paragraph [0240]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Connor into the teachings of Ahmed et al. in order to better monitor food intake. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since a food intake monitoring system incorporate multiple sensors such as the ones taught of Ahmed et al. and Connor.
9. Claims 7-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 2019/0231253 A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 18 and 19 above, and further in view of Shalon et al. (US 2006/0064037 A1).
Ahmed et al. is applied as above.
However, Ahmed et al. does not teach using the physiological property to determine the liquid intake.
Regarding claims 7, Shalon et al. teach where the sensor signals comprise physiological signals indicative of a physiological property determines which kind of liquid the user is taking (paragraph [0329]).
Regarding claim 8, Shalon et al. teach where the physiological signal is indicative a cardiovascular property, body fluid analyte level and body temperature (paragraph [0329]).
Regarding claim 9, Shalon et al. teach the amount of water ingested is based on the physiological property (paragraph [0329]).
Regarding claim 10, Shalon et al. teach where the machine learning algorithm is an artificial neural network (paragraph [0256]), where the input data set is sensor data collected over a predetermined period of time (paragraphs [0212], [0256], [0258] and [02061]-[0263]), where the output data set includes the frequency or number of detected liquid or food intakes as well as the duration (paragraph [0261]), where the learning phase is implemented by supervised learning using input sensor data (paragraph [0256]).
Regarding claim 12, Shalon et al. teach where the machine learning method is a Hidden Markov Model (paragraph [0256]).
Regarding claim 13, Shalon et al. teach where the dehydration risk is estimated on the determined values of the amount and frequency of the user’s liquid intake (paragraph [0329]) and the generated output that counsels the user to ingest a lacking amount of liquid (paragraph [0329]).
Regarding claim 14, Shalon et al. teach where the interactive user interface is provided in the hearing system (paragraph [0302]), and where the interface allows the user to input additional information (paragraph [0311]).
Regarding claim 15, Shalon et al. teach where the information to take a medication is stored in the system (paragraph [0326]), where when fluid intake is detected, generating an output based on questioning the user whether he has taken the medication (paragraphs [0213] and [0326]), and transmitting the information to a health care professional (paragraph [0326]).
Regarding claim 16, Shalon et al. teach generating an output based on the frequency and amount of liquid ingested by the user, an output to enhance the user’s desire to drink by an augmented reality means (virtual coach) in the hearing system (paragraphs [0206] and [0329]).
Regarding claim 17, Shalon et al. teach when detecting that the user is drinking, to generate an output to enhance the user’s experience of drinking by augmented reality means (providing feedback in real-time) (paragraphs [0206] and [0326]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to combine the teachings of Shalon et al. and Ahmed et al. Both Shalon et al. and Ahmed et al. teach using hearables to monitor food intake (Ahmed et al., paragraph [0055] and Shalon et al., paragraph [0102]). Shalon et al. offers the benefit of virtual coach that encourages better behavior (paragraph [0329]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art, would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Shalon et al. into the teachings of Ahmed et al. to gain the benefit of coaching the user for better health. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because the virtual coach may be readily implemented as software for the system of Ahmed et al.
10. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 2019/0231253 A1) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 18 and 19 above, and further in view of Pedersen et al. (US 2019/0394586 A1).
Ahmed et al. is applied as above.
However, Ahmed et al. does not teach where the neural network has a hidden layer.
Pedersen et al. teach a hearing device (abstract), which may be used to detect a user’s food intake (paragraph [0001]), utilizes a deep neural network with a hidden layer (paragraphs [0145] and [0147]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to combine the teachings of Pedersen et al. and Ahmed et al. Both Pedersen et al. and Ahmed et al. teach using hearables to monitor food intake (Ahmed et al., paragraph [0055] and Pedersen et al., paragraph [0001]). Pedersen et al. offers the benefit of distinguishing acoustic events to detect an activity (paragraph [0001]). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art, would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Pedersen et al. into the teachings of Ahmed et al. to gain the benefit of being able to better distinguish acoustic events. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because the analysis taught by Pedersen et al. may be readily implemented into the system of Ahmed et al.
Contact Information
/JERRY LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685