DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6-12, and 28-34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has argued that the combination of Bek in view of Moon et al., and further in view of Greene does not meet the limitations of the instant claims. Specifically, Applicant has argued that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine the teachings of Bek with those of Moon et al., as reference to Bek is directed to cleaning a microfluidic chip and Moon et al., is directed to performing biological assays as taught by Moon et al. After reviewing the cited prior art, the Examiner found Applicant’s arguments to be persuasive. However, after performing an updated search, the Examiner now cites reference to Miltenyi et al., who teach clearing clots or clogs in microfluidic channels wherein nucleic acids are degraded into small particles to prevent the channels from being clogged. Because reference to Miltenyi et al., is newly cited, the Examiner will not argue the merits of its teachings here but will instead rely on the rejection detailed below. Therefore, in light of the teachings of the prior art, the Examiner contends that the limitations of the instant claims are taught by the references cited below, thus the claims are not in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 11, 28, and 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miltenyi et al., (US 2017/0059458) in view of Greene (US 2008/0274905).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 7, 31, and 32, Miltenyi et al., teach a process for sorting cells utilizing a microfluidic device wherein nucleic acids may increase viscosity of a material in a manner such that the channels of the microfluidic device can become clogged (paragraphs 0036, 0037). Miltenyi et al., also teach utilizing nucleic acid degrading enzymes to reduce the viscosity of aqueous solutions to prevent clogging (paragraph 0037). Miltenyi et al., do not teach labeling nucleic acids with an indicator to facilitate photocleavage of nucleic acids with a light source.
Greene teaches labeling DNA with YOYO-1 (paragraphs 0010, 0129) and photocleaving labeled DNA with light at a wavelength of 488 nm (paragraph 0156). With respect to claim 31, Greene teach a laser is utilized as the light source which is identical to the light source taught by the instant specification, thus the light source would be expected to have a power of 15 MJ/m² (paragraphs 0122, 0156). The Examiner is reading this combination as a substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2141 III B). Reference to Greene teaches YOYO-1 as a suitable linker for DNA in a process in which DNA is photocleaved. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Miltenyi et al., wherein YOYO-1 is utilized as a photocleavable linker in order to release nucleic acids immobilized on a surface as substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results requires only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 34, Miltenyi et al., teach applying a motive force to clear a clog (paragraph 0093) with a pneumatic pump (paragraph 0091).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Miltenyi et al., teach monitoring fluid pressure and/or cell velocity and identifying a clog when the fluid pressure and/or cell velocity falls below a predefined threshold (paragraph 0093).
Regarding claim 11, Miltenyi et al., teach a controller detecting a reduced fluid pressure and/or cell velocity, and increase the pump rate to clear a clog (paragraph 0093).
Regarding claim 28, Miltenyi et al., teach the clog in the form of aggregation (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 33, Miltenyi et al., teach DNA as the nucleic acids (paragraphs 0037).
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miltenyi et al., (US 2017/0059458) in view of Greene (US 2008/0274905) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Baltenneck et al., (US 2016/0082433).
Regarding claim 10, Miltenyi et al., in view of Greene do not teach imaging a fluidic channel to indicate clogging.
Baltenneck et al., teach a microfluidic evaluation system wherein an imaging tool is utilized to visualize formation of clogs (paragraphs 0163, 0237). With respect to claim 12, Baltenneck et al., teach imaging a specific portion of the channel (paragraph 0237, figure 4) which reads on positioning of the light source recited in claim 12. Baltenneck et al., teach that it is advantageous to provide an imaging tool as a means of visualizing the formation of clogs in the microfluidic channel (paragraph 0163).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Miltenyi et al., in view of Greene to provide an imaging tool in order to visualize clogs in a microfluidic channel as taught by Baltenneck et al.
Claim(s) 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miltenyi et al., (US 2017/0059458) in view of Greene (US 2008/0274905) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mannion et al., (US 2011/0227558).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, Miltenyi et al., in view of Greene do not teach channels having a depth ranging from 30 nm to 300 nm and a width ranging from 20 nm to 300 nm.
Mannion et al., teach a detector comprising a nanofluidic channel having a depth ranging from 0.1 nm to 1 mm (paragraph 0170) and a width ranging from 50 nm to 100 nm (paragraph 0173) all of which is within the claimed ranges. The Examiner is reading this combination as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2141 III A). Mannion et al., clearly teach forming nanofluidic channels within the claimed ranges, thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize the depths and widths taught by the prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Miltenyi et al., in view of Greene to form nanofluidic channels having a depth ranging from 30 nm to 300 nm and a width ranging from 20 nm to 300 nm as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DWAN A GERIDO/Examiner, Art Unit 1797 /LYLE ALEXANDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1797