DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 9/19/2025. Claims 1-8 and 10-12 remain pending and under prosecution.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Light blocking feature in claim 10-11 – disclosed as black tape
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arias et al (US Pub No. 20170156651 – cited by applicant) in view of Sarantos et al (US Pub No. 20160345881 – cited by applicant) and Schmidt (US Pub No. 20220015656).
In regard to Claim 1, Arias et al disclose a pulse oximeter device, comprising:
a first light emitting element 20 configured to emit red light, best seen in Figure 1;
a second light emitting element 15 configured to emit green light or near infrared (NIR) light, best seen in Figure 1; and
a sensor element 25 configured to detect red and green light or detect red and NIR light, best seen in Figure 1 (0040-0041).
However, Arias et al do not expressly disclose the sensor element has a circular geometry, the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element each have an arc-shaped geometry, and wherein the sensor element is positioned between the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element.
It is noted that while Arias et al disclose a specific orientation of the sensor and light emitting elements, best seen in Figure 1 – the OLEDs are in the center and surrounded by the detector sensor array, Arias et al expressly disclose the sensors (comprising the sensor and light emitting elements) can be made in “new shapes” (0111).
Sarantos et al teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous pulse oximeter with a light emitting element 2508 that has arc-shaped geometry, as a circle is considered an arc, best seen in Figure 25, as well as a sensor element 2512 configured to detect the light from the light source, the sensor element has a circular geometry – i.e. ring, best seen in Figure 25 (0108). Sarantos et al teach that this configuration of the light emitting element and sensor element are an effective configuration that provides “good light-gathering performance for heart rate measurement purposes when used with green-wavelength light” (0108). It is noted that Sarantos et al appears concerned with the geometry of the light emitting elements and sensor element in Figure 25.
Schmidt teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous pulse sensor comprising a first light emitting element 22 (one of) and a second light emitting element 22 (second of) each positioned in an arc-shaped configuration such that a sensor element 24 is positioned between the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element – “six light sources 22 are arranged radially outside of the luminescent concentrator 50” (0071, 0073), best seen in Figure 11, as an equally as effective configuration for the light emitting element and sensor for the pulse sensor. The radial arrangement of the first and second light emitting elements 22 is thus an arc-shaped configuration. It is noted that Schmidt illustrates the light emitting elements 22 and sensors 24 as squares or rectangles in Figure 11 and is more concerned with the orientation of the light emitting elements relative to the sensors.
Since Arias et al already disclose variability with the shape of the overall sensor (which includes the first and second light emitting elements and the sensor element), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Arias et al such that the sensor element has a circular geometry and the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element each have an arc-shaped geometry, as taught by Sarantos et al, as an effective geometric configuration for the pulse oximeter that provides advantages such as good light-gathering performance for heart rate measurement purposes when used with green-wavelength light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Arias et al such that first light emitting element and the second light emitting element each have an arc-shaped geometry, and wherein the sensor element is positioned between the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element, as taught by Schmidt as an equally as effective configuration for the light emitting element and sensor that is a natural alternative given the teaching in Arias et al for other desirable configurations/shapes.
2. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, wherein a spacing between the sensor element 25 and each of the first light emitting element 20 and the second light emitting element 15 is between about 2 mm and about 6 mm – Arias et al disclose the detector used on a 9 mm finger; thus a distance of 2 mm and about 6 mm can be inferred between the sensor element and each of the first and second light emitting elements, as shown in Figure 1 (0037).
3. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, wherein the first light emitting element comprises a first light emitting diode (LED) 20, best seen in Figure 1 (0005),
wherein the second light emitting element comprises a second LED 15, best seen in Figure 1, and wherein the sensor element includes a photodetector 25, best seen in Figure 1 (0040).
4. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 3, wherein each of the first 20 and second 15 LEDs comprises an organic LED – OLED (organic light emitting diode), best seen in Figure 1 (0005), and wherein the photodetector comprises an organic photodiode – OPD (organic polymer photodiode), best seen in Figure 1 (0005).
5. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, further comprising a flexible substrate 105, wherein the first light emitting element 20, the second light emitting element 15 and the sensor element 25 are formed on the flexible substrate, best seen in Figure 3 (abst, 0044).
6. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 5, wherein the flexible substrate 105 comprises polyethylene napthalate (PEN) (0044).
7. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, wherein the sensor element 25 is configured to detect light transmitted through tissue containing blood, e.g. blood oxygenation measurement – “The sensor element is configured to detect the emitted red and green light transmitted through tissue containing blood” (abst).
8. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, wherein the sensor element 25 is configured to detect light reflected by tissue containing blood, e.g. PPG measurement – “By creating a printed sensor on a flexible substrate that can make reflectance measurements as opposed to only transmission measurements” (0085, 0108, claim 7).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arias et al in view of Sarantos et al and Schmidt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Genoe et al (US Pub No. 20080312517).
Arias et al in combination with Sarantos et al and Schmidt disclose the invention above but do not expressly disclose a light blocking feature positioned between the sensor element and at least one of the first light emitting element or the second light emitting element.
Genoe et al teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous pulse oximeter device comprising a light blocking feature 13 that is positioned between the sensor element 12 and at least one light emitting element 11, best seen in Figure 5, to effectively “prevent incident light that has not been scattered in the skin tissue” (0041), which is undesirable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Arias et al as modified by Sarantos et al and Schmidt to include a light blocking feature as taught by Genoe et al to effectively prevent incident light that has not been scattered in the skin tissue, wherein it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have the light blocking feature positioned between the sensor element and both the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element to effectively prevent undesirable light passing between each element of the pulse oximeter device.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arias et al in view of Sarantos et al, Schmidt, and Genoe et al as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Young et al (US Pat No. 5368025).
Arias et al in combination with Sarantos et al, Schmidt, and Genoe et al disclose the invention above but do not expressly disclose the light blocking feature includes a black tape.
Young et al teach that it is well-known in the art to use black tape 14 as a light blocking feature in an analogous pulse oximeter device (Col.4: 57-Col.5: 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify over Arias et al as modified by Sarantos et al, Schmidt, and Genoe et al such that the light blocking feature includes a black tape as taught by Young et al, as an effective form for said light blocking feature of Genoe et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Schmidt has been set forth to teach the limitation of the sensor element is positioned between the first and second light emitting elements as claimed.
The previous Drawing Objection and 112 rejections are moot in light of applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.Q.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791