DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 remain pending and under prosecution.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Light blocking feature in claim 10-11 – disclosed as black tape
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LeBoeuf et al (US Pub No. 20220313098).
In regard to Claim 1, LeBoeuf et al disclose a pulse oximeter device, comprising:
a first light emitting element 112a capable and thus configured to emit red light as would be well-known in the art, best seen in Figure 13A – “Although just two wavelengths were provided in this example, the invention could employ a plurality of PPG waveforms over a plurality of optical wavelengths beyond just two” (0164);
a second light emitting element 112b configured to emit green light or near infrared (NIR) light, best seen in Figure 13A (0055, 0164); and
a sensor element 114 configured to detect red and green light or detect red and NIR light, best seen in Figure 13A (0198),
wherein the sensor element has a circular geometry, best seen in Figure 13A,
the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element each have a block arc-shaped geometry, best seen in Figure 13A – each ring of the first and second light emitting elements 112a-b comprise a block arc shape as indicated by the left and right rectangular annotations in annotated Figure 13A below, and
wherein the sensor element is positioned between the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element, as shown by the annotated drawing below – the sensor element 114 is between the left light emitting element 112a block arc indicated by the left annotated rectangle and the right emitting element 112b black arc indicated by the right annotated rectangle:
3. LeBoeuf et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, wherein the first light emitting element 112a comprises a first light emitting diode, best seen in Figure 13A (0102),
wherein the second light emitting element 112b comprises a second LED, best seen in Figure 13A (0102), and wherein the sensor element includes a photodetector 114, best seen in Figure 13A (0200).
8. LeBoeuf et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, wherein the sensor element 114 is configured to detect light reflected by tissue containing blood, e.g. PPG measurement (0102, 0198).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arias et al (US Pub No. 20170156651 – cited by applicant) in view of LeBoeuf et al (US Pub No. 20220313098).
In regard to Claim 1, Arias et al disclose a pulse oximeter device, comprising:
a first light emitting element 20 configured to emit red light, best seen in Figure 1;
a second light emitting element 15 configured to emit green light or near infrared (NIR) light, best seen in Figure 1; and
a sensor element 25 configured to detect red and green light or detect red and NIR light, best seen in Figure 1 (0040-0041).
However, Arias et al do not expressly disclose the sensor element has a circular geometry, the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element each have a block arc-shaped geometry, and wherein the sensor element is positioned between the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element.
It is noted that while Arias et al disclose a specific orientation of the sensor and light emitting elements, best seen in Figure 1 – the OLEDs are in the center and surrounded by the detector sensor array, Arias et al expressly disclose the sensors (comprising the sensor and light emitting elements) can be made in “new shapes” (0111).
LeBoeuf et al teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous pulse device for PPG (0102) with a sensor element 114 with a circular geometry, best seen in Figure 13A, and
a first light emitting element 112a and a second light emitting element 112b each with a block arc-shaped geometry, best seen in Figure 13A – each ring of the first and second light emitting elements 112a-b comprise a block arc shape as indicated by the left and right rectangular annotations in annotated Figure 13A below. Additionally, each block arc-shape is such that the sensor element is positioned between the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element, as shown by the annotated drawing below – the sensor element 114 is between the left light emitting element 112a block arc indicated by the left annotated rectangle and the right emitting element 112b black arc indicated by the right annotated rectangle:
LeBoeuf et al teach that the concentric ring configuration providing the block arc-shapes for the first and second emitting elements “optimizes the signal-to-noise ratio, such that periodic biometric parameters can be accurately monitored during motion, and... optimizes the total PPG signal resolution, such that waveform biometric parameters can be accurately assessed (predominantly during resting conditions)” (0198).
It is noted that LeBoeuf et al also teach that the configuration of the light emitting elements and the sensor element can be “swapped” – “an outer ring of emitters 112 concentric with at least one optical detector 114 or with an outer ring of optical detectors 114 concentric with at least one optical emitter 112” to a configuration similar to that of Arias et al (0201).
Since Arias et al as well as LeBoeuf et al disclose variability with the shape of the overall sensor (which includes the first and second light emitting elements and the sensor element), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Arias et al such that the sensor element has a circular geometry, the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element each have a block arc-shaped geometry, and wherein the sensor element is positioned between the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element, as taught by LeBoeuf et al as an equally as effective configuration for the light emitting elements and sensor that is a natural alternative given the teaching in Arias et al and LeBoeuf et al for other desirable configurations/shapes and that also provides benefits such as optimized signal-to-noise ratio and optimized PPG signal resolution, to accurately assess the desired results as taught by LeBoeuf et al above.
2. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, wherein a spacing between the sensor element 25 and each of the first light emitting element 20 and the second light emitting element 15 is between about 2 mm and about 6 mm – Arias et al disclose the detector used on a 9 mm finger; thus a distance of 2 mm and about 6 mm can be inferred between the sensor element and each of the first and second light emitting elements, as shown in Figure 1 (0037).
3. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, wherein the first light emitting element comprises a first light emitting diode (LED) 20, best seen in Figure 1 (0005),
wherein the second light emitting element comprises a second LED 15, best seen in Figure 1, and wherein the sensor element includes a photodetector 25, best seen in Figure 1 (0040).
4. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 3, wherein each of the first 20 and second 15 LEDs comprises an organic LED – OLED (organic light emitting diode), best seen in Figure 1 (0005), and wherein the photodetector comprises an organic photodiode – OPD (organic polymer photodiode), best seen in Figure 1 (0005).
5. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, further comprising a flexible substrate 105, wherein the first light emitting element 20, the second light emitting element 15 and the sensor element 25 are formed on the flexible substrate, best seen in Figure 3 (abst, 0044).
6. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 5, wherein the flexible substrate 105 comprises polyethylene napthalate (PEN) (0044).
7. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, wherein the sensor element 25 is configured to detect light transmitted through tissue containing blood, e.g. blood oxygenation measurement – “The sensor element is configured to detect the emitted red and green light transmitted through tissue containing blood” (abst).
8. Arias et al disclose the pulse oximeter device of claim 1, wherein the sensor element 25 is configured to detect light reflected by tissue containing blood, e.g. PPG measurement – “By creating a printed sensor on a flexible substrate that can make reflectance measurements as opposed to only transmission measurements” (0085, 0108, claim 7).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arias et al in view of LeBoeuf et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Genoe et al (US Pub No. 20080312517).
Arias et al in combination with LeBoeuf et al disclose the invention above but do not expressly disclose a light blocking feature positioned between the sensor element and at least one of the first light emitting element or the second light emitting element.
Genoe et al teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous pulse oximeter device comprising a light blocking feature 13 that is positioned between the sensor element 12 and at least one light emitting element 11, best seen in Figure 5, to effectively “prevent incident light that has not been scattered in the skin tissue” (0041), which is undesirable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Arias et al as modified by LeBoeuf et al to include a light blocking feature as taught by Genoe et al to effectively prevent incident light that has not been scattered in the skin tissue, wherein it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have the light blocking feature positioned between the sensor element and both the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element to effectively prevent undesirable light passing between each element of the pulse oximeter device.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arias et al in view of LeBoeuf et al, and Genoe et al as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Young et al (US Pat No. 5368025).
Arias et al in combination with LeBoeuf et al and Genoe et al disclose the invention above but do not expressly disclose the light blocking feature includes a black tape.
Young et al teach that it is well-known in the art to use black tape 14 as a light blocking feature in an analogous pulse oximeter device (Col.4: 57-Col.5: 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify over Arias et al as modified by LeBoeuf et al and Genoe et al such that the light blocking feature includes a black tape as taught by Young et al, as an effective form for said light blocking feature of Genoe et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. the sensor element placement relative to light emitting elements may differ or that the shapes of the individual sensor and light emitting elements of the medical device "can be made in 'new shapes" as alleged
It is noted that while applicant contends that “A block arc is generally known to one skilled in the art as a partial donut shape, e.g., a chunk of a donut with a curve shape having a length and a thickness within a plane. Also, a block arc geometry is clearly not the same as or similar to a circular geometry (where every point of the perimeter of the circle is equidistant from the center point)” (Remarks pg. 8), this is not persuasive because the term “block arc” does not appear to refer to any standardized or routine and conventional geometry in the art. Additionally, applicant’s disclosure appears to merely define the term as a “continuous” or “single integrated” geometry that surrounds the OPD in Figure 2C – “Circular geometry (C), where the OLEDs are shaped as block arcs and placed around a substantially circular OPD” (0030 filed spec). Applicant also echoes this in the remarks – “singular light emitting elements that itself has an arc-shape” (Remarks pg. 9).
Lastly, applicant contends that Arias et al does not teach “the sensor element placement relative to light emitting elements may differ or that the shapes of the individual sensor and light emitting elements of the medical device "can be made in 'new shapes" as alleged” (Remarks pg. 8). However, this is not persuasive because it is submitted that the disclosure of Arias et al to have the sensors in “new shapes” implies modification to the configuration and individual sensor and light emitting elements as well. Regardless, LeBoeuf et al is also set forth to teach variability in the configuration and shape/geometry (0201).
Conclusion
/H.Q.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791