DETAILED ACTION
Cleaning Machine
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 02-02-2026 has been entered. Claims 1,3,6-12 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant’s amendment overcomes 112 rejection previously set forth in the Final Office action mailed 10-01-2025. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02-02-2026, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.103 have been fully
considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by
amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the
prior rejection of record to teach the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7,9-11,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsutori (JP2004147759A) cited in IDS in view of Unknown (JPS4829431Y1 ) cited in IDS, Soma (JP2013027558A) cited in IDS and Hong (US20230180981A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hatsutori teaches
a first brush (5a, figure 3) comprising a first brush shaft (11b, figure 3) extending in a left-right direction and a first
brush body (figure 3) held by the first brush shaft;
a second brush (5b, figure 3) comprising a second brush shaft (11c, figure 3) extending in the left-right direction and a second brush body (figure 3) held by the second brush shaft;
a first brush attaching member (fitting member 14 associated with 11b, figure 3) having a first shape wherein one end of the first brush shaft (11b, figure 3) is detachably attached (Hatsutori discloses “the brush rollers 5a, b for lifting can be attached and detached”) to the first brush attaching member (figures 9a-9b) ; and
a second brush attaching member (15, figure 9a-c) having a second shape, wherein one end of the second brush shaft is detachably attached (Hatsutori discloses “the brush rollers 5a, b for lifting can be attached and detached”)to the second brush attaching member (figure 9a-9b), wherein the one end of the first brush shaft (11b, figure 3) has a first corresponding shape (“a fitting member 14 Are fitted to receiving portions of the cleaner body 2 formed at positions facing each other”, figures 3, 9a-9c) that corresponds to the first shape, the one end of the second brush shaft has a second corresponding shape (opening within 13 associated 11c, figures 3, 9a-9c) that corresponds to the second shape, and an other end of the first brush shaft has the second corresponding shape (opening within 13 associated 11c, figures 3, 9a-9c)
one of the first shape and the first corresponding shape comprises a first convex shape, an other of the first shape and the first corresponding shape comprises a first concave shape that fits the first convex shape (Hatsutori discloses “a fitting member 14 Are fitted to receiving portions of the cleaner body 2 formed at positions facing each other”, figures 3, 9a-9c), one of the second shape and the second corresponding shape comprises a second convex shape (15, figure 9a-9c), and
an other of the second shape and the second corresponding shape comprises a second concave shape (opening within 13 associated 11b, figures 3, 9a-9c) that fits the second convex shape.
However, Hatsutori fails to teach the first convex shape comprises a linear first rib shape extending radially, the second convex shape comprises a plurality of linear second rib shapes each extending radially and arranged at an angle, and a rib width of the first rib shape is greater than a rib width of the second rib shapes, the first concave shape comprises at least one linear first groove shape extending radially, and the at least one linear first groove shape is less than the plurality of second rib shapes in number.
Unknown teaches a device (figure 1 and 2) to easily mount a rotary brush on a frame body (1, figure 1) that includes a brush attaching member (10, figure 2) having a shape where an end of a brush shaft (16, figure 2) is detachably attached the brush attaching member (figure 1, 2) that includes a first shape (see 10, figure 2) and corresponding shape (24, figure 2) that comprise convex shape that comprises a linear first rib shape (23, figure 2) extending radially.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hatsutori based on the teachings of Unknown so that first convex shape has linear first rib that extends radially. This modification provides a simple mounting structure that ensures that rotational motion from a motor is transmitted to the brushroll. (see foreign document of JPS4829431Y1)
Soma teaches a vacuum cleaner that includes a brush that can be easily mounted (see abstract) wherein the vacuum cleaner has a brush attaching member (12, figure 9) that has a shape (figures 9-10) where an end of a brush shaft (14, figure 10) is detachably attached the brush attaching member (12,figures 5-11) that includes a first shape (see 10, figure 2) and corresponding shape (24, figure 2) that comprise a plurality of linear second rib shapes (26a, figures 9-11) each extending radially and arranged at an angle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hatsutori based on the teachings of Soma so that the second convex shape comprises a plurality of linear second rib shapes each extending radially and arranged at an angle. This modification provides a simple mounting structure that ensures that the brushroll is easily attached and detached. (see Soma’s abstract)
Hong teaches a cleaning unit that includes an agitator, where agitator’s bearing ends and connecting portions to the shaft can each have different shapes and sizes, where the side toward first end cap (250, figures 4-6b) can have polygonal column shape and the side toward second end cap (260, figures 4-6b) can have a cylindrical shape (see para 0125-0135)
Based on the teachings of Hong, and Unknown and Soma, it would have been an obvious to have further modified Hatsutori so that the first convex shape comprises a linear first rib shape extending radially, the second convex shape comprises a plurality of linear second rib shapes each extending radially and arranged at an angle, and a rib width of the first rib shape is greater than a rib width of the second rib shapes, the first concave shape comprises at least one linear first groove shape extending radially, and the at least one linear first groove shape is less than the plurality of second rib shapes in number. This modification would help ensure that a brushroll of a cleaning apparatus is placed in the appropriate position and aligned properly within a cleaner (see para 0041-0054 of Hong)
Regarding claim 3, modified Hatsutori teaches the first shape comprises the first convex shape, the first corresponding shape comprises the first concave shape (Hatsutori discloses “a fitting member 14 Are fitted to receiving portions of the cleaner body 2 formed at positions facing each other”, figures 3, 9a-9c), the second shape comprises the second convex shape (Hatsutori 15, figure 9a-9c), and
the second corresponding shape comprises the second concave shape (Hatsutori opening within 13, figures 9a-9c)
Regarding claim 6, modified Hatsutori teaches wherein the first brush further comprises a first brush cap (Hatsutori 13, figure 9a-9c) covering the other end of the first brush shaft (Hatsutori 11b, figure 3, 9a-9c)
Regarding claim 7, modified Hatsutori teaches
a first plunger (Hatsutori 30, figure 9c) being movable in the left-right direction, wherein the other end of the first brush shaft is attached to the first plunger; and
a second plunger (Hatsutori 30, figure 9c) being movable in the left-right direction, wherein the other end of the second brush shaft is attached to the second plunger. (Hatsutori discloses that both rollers are removed therefore there is element 30 provided on both sides of the brushes “the conventional vacuum cleaner, the brush rollers 5a, b for lifting can be attached and detached without removing the pulleys 10a, b, c, so that the pulleys 10a, b, c are loosely attached to the cleaner body 2.”)
Regarding claim 9, modified Hatsutori teaches
a drive shaft (Hatsutori 4a and 4b, figure 3); a first rotation transmitting mechanism, having a pulley (Hatsutori 9a and 10a, figure 3) configured to transmit rotation of the drive shaft to the first brush attaching member; and a second rotation transmitting mechanism, having a pulley (Hatsutori 9b and 10b, figure 3) configured to transmit the rotation of the drive shaft to the second brush attaching member, wherein the first brush attaching member and the second brush attaching member rotate in opposite directions to each other when the drive shaft rotates. (Hatsutori “brush rollers 5a and 5b for picking up and rotating in opposite directions”)
Regarding claim 10, modified Hatsutori teaches a wheel (Hatsutori 25, figure 3); and a chassis (Hatsutori 2, figure 2) supported by the wheel.
Regarding claim 11, modified Hatsutori teaches a handle (Hatsutori 3, figure 1) extending rearward and upward from the chassis and configured to be gripped by a user.
Regarding claim 13, modified Hatsutori teaches wherein the first concave shape comprises at least one linear first groove shape extending radially (see Unknown 23, figure 2); and the at least one linear first groove shape is less than the plurality of second rib shapes (see Soma 26a, figure 3) in number.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsutori (JP2004147759A) cited in IDS in view of Unknown (JPS4829431Y1) cited in IDS, Soma (JP2013027558A) cited in IDS and Hong (US20230180981A1) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Sun et al. (US20160198918A1)
Regarding claim 8, Hatsutori as modified in claim 1 teaches all the limitations stated ,but fails to teach the first brush body comprises first brush bristles, wherein the first brush bristles are implanted in a surface of the first brush shaft in a spiral shape that spirals in a first direction in an area of the surface from the one end of the first brush shaft toward a center of the first brush shaft and in a spiral shape that spirals in a second direction opposite to the first direction in an area of the surface from the other end of the first brush shaft toward the center of the first brush shaft, and
the second brush body comprises second brush bristles, wherein the second brush bristles are implanted in a surface of the second brush shaft in a spiral shape that spirals in the second direction in an area of the surface from the one end of the second brush shaft toward a center of
the second brush shaft and in a spiral shape that spirals in the first direction in an area of the surface from the other end of the second brush shaft toward the center of the second brush shaft.
Sun teaches a cleaning appliance (abstract) that includes first brush body ( 21, figure 2) comprises first brush bristles (23, figure 2,9) , wherein the first brush bristles are implanted in a surface of the first brush shaft in a spiral shape (para 0045, figures 2- 4) that spirals in a first direction in an area of the surface from the one end of the first brush shaft toward a center of the first brush shaft and in a spiral shape that spirals in a second direction opposite to the first direction in an area of the surface from the other end of the first brush shaft toward the center of the first brush shaft (para 0045, figure 2), and
the second brush body (22, figure 2) comprises second brush bristles (23, figure 2, 9) wherein the second brush bristles are implanted in a surface of the second brush shaft in a spiral shape that spirals in the second direction in an area of the surface from the one end of the second brush shaft toward a center of
the second brush shaft and in a spiral shape that spirals in the first direction in an area of the surface from the other end of the second brush shaft toward the center of the second brush shaft. (para 0045, figure 2 and 9)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hatsutori to include teachings of Sun’s brush structure and bristle pattern. This modification would help improve the cleaning efficiency (see para 0045 of Sun)
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsutori (JP2004147759A) in view of Unknown (JPS4829431Y1) cited in IDS, Soma (JP2013027558A) cited in IDS, Hong (US20230180981A1) as applied to claim 1 and 3 further in view Sun et al. (US20160198918A1).
Regarding claim 12, Hatsutori as modified in claim 1 and 3 teaches all limitations stated above and cleaning machine (abstract) that includes
the first brush further comprises a first brush cap (13, figure 9a-9c) covering the other end of the first brush shaft (11b, figure 3, 9a-9c)
a first plunger (30, figure 9c) being movable in the left-right direction, wherein the other end of the first brush shaft is attached to the first plunger; and
a second plunger (30, figure 9c) being movable in the left-right direction, wherein the other end of the second brush shaft is attached to the second plunger (Hatsutori discloses that both rollers are removed therefore there is element 30 provided on both sides of the brushes “the conventional vacuum cleaner, the brush rollers 5a, b for lifting can be attached and detached without removing the pulleys 10a, b, c, so that the pulleys 10a, b, c are loosely attached to the cleaner body 2.”)
a drive shaft (4a and 4b, figure 3);
a first rotation transmitting mechanism, having a pulley (9a and 10a, figure 3) configured to transmit rotation of the drive shaft to the first brush attaching member; and a second rotation transmitting mechanism, having a pulley (9b and 10b, figure 3) configured to transmit the rotation of the drive shaft to the second brush attaching member, wherein the first brush attaching member and the second brush attaching member rotate
in opposite directions to each other when the drive shaft rotates. (“brush rollers 5a and 5b for picking up and rotating in opposite directions”)
a wheel (25, figure 3); and
a chassis (2, figure 2) supported by the wheel
a handle (3, figure 1) extending rearward and upward from the chassis and configured to be gripped by a user, the first convex shape comprises a linear first rib shape extending radially (see Unknown 23, figure 2), and the second convex shape comprises a plurality of linear second rib shapes each extending radially (see Soma 26a, figures 9-11) and arranged at an angle, a rib width of the first rib shape is greater than a rib width of the second rib shapes (see Hong para 0127-0140), but fails to teach the first brush body comprises first brush bristles, wherein the first brush bristles are implanted in a surface of the first brush shaft in a spiral shape that spirals in a first direction in an area of the surface from the one end of the first brush shaft toward a center of the first brush shaft and in a spiral shape that spirals in a second direction opposite to the first direction in an area of the surface from the other end of the first brush shaft toward the center of the first brush shaft, the second brush body comprises second brush bristles, wherein the second brush bristles are implanted in a surface of the second brush shaft in a spiral shape that spirals in the second direction in an area of the surface from the one end of the second brush shaft toward a center of the second brush shaft and in a spiral shape that spirals in the first direction in an area of the surface from the other end of the second brush shaft toward the center of the second brush shaft.
Sun teaches a cleaning appliance (abstract) that includes first brush body ( 21, figure 2) comprises first brush bristles (23, figure 2,9) , wherein the first brush bristles are implanted in a surface of the first brush shaft in a spiral shape (para 0045, figures 2- 4) that spirals in a first direction in an area of the surface from the one end of the first brush shaft toward a center of the first brush shaft and in a spiral shape that spirals in a second direction opposite to the first direction in an area of the surface from the other end of the first brush shaft toward the center of the first brush shaft (para 0045, figure 2), and the second brush body (22, figure 2) comprises second brush bristles (23, figure 2, 9) wherein the second brush bristles are implanted in a surface of the second brush shaft in a spiral shape that spirals in the second direction in an area of the surface from the one end of the second brush shaft toward a center of the second brush shaft and in a spiral shape that spirals in the first direction in an area of the surface from the other end of the second brush shaft toward the center of the second brush shaft. (para 0045, figure 2 and 9)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hatsutori to include teachings of Sun’s brush structure and bristle pattern. This modification would help improve the cleaning efficiency (see para 0045 of Sun).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2008099584 A1 discloses an electric vacuum cleaner with a dual brushroll system.
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723