DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
This office action is in response to amendment of application on 17-JUNE-2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12, filed 17-JUNE-2026, with respect to the rejections 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive due to amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art references.
1. Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Mathuriya does not teach the system memory circuit and the cache circuit being external to the neural processing circuit, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mathuriya Fig. 1 and the corresponding [0031] and [0037-0038] teaches these aspects most clearly.
In the figure above, and in the description, the neural processing circuit can be interpreted to be elements 120 and/or 122. Most clearly, the system memory circuitry 170 itself is clearly external to elements 120 and 122, and is even described to have a bus that facilitates the access to system memory circuitry 170. For the cache circuit 130, it is described as being on the same chip as the processing units 120 and 122. However, the processing units 120 and 122 are described as having to perform data/information transfer with the cache circuitry 130, and that the processing units 120 and 122 are communicably coupled to the cache circuitry 130. Therefore, since cache circuitry 130 and system memory circuitry 170 are shown to be not within the processing units 120 and 122, Mathuriya teaches that the claimed system memory and cache circuit are external to the neural processor circuit.
2. Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the previously cited prior art references fail to explicitly teach the newly amended limitation of the bandwidth of the system memory being split concurrently into a first part and a second part during a first set of operating cycles, Examiner agrees. Applicant has amended limitations into the independent claims which distinguish from the previously cited combination of references used to reject the claims in the prior office action. Therefore, the rejections over the combination of Mathuriya in view of Vantrease, Sztejna, and Hur are withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, the claims are still found to be obvious in view of newly found prior art references, and the rejections are updated below to incorporate the teachings of the newly found prior art to replace the teachings of Sztejna.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12 line 6, “perform” should read “performing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 12-15, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Mathuriya et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20190057300 (hereinafter “Mathuriya”) in view of
Vantrease et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20190294968 (hereinafter “Vantrease”) further in view of
Maiyuran et al., U.S. Patent No. 6842180 (hereinafter “Maiyuran”) further in view of
HUR et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20170091092 (hereinafter “Hur”).
Regarding claim 1: Mathuriya teaches A neural processor circuit, comprising:
a system memory access circuit coupled to a system memory external to the neural processor circuit, the system memory access circuit configured to ([0042], Fig. 1, and [0031], Mathuriya teaches a system memory circuitry 170 that may include a variety of types of storage devices that are separate from (external to) the neural processor circuit (encompassing elements 120 and 122).)
fetch, from the system memory, first input data of a first task associated with a neural network, the first input data being fetched in a first set of operating cycles; ([0031], Mathuriya teaches that the system memory may store information and/or data such as neural network layer data transferred between the memory and processors, and that the second on-chip processor memory circuitry can be used to store weights transferred from the system memory circuitry before being used in the neural network. Moreover, in [0024] Mathuriya teaches receiving weight data for the layers, as well as specifically an nth layer. The receiving of the weight data, which may be for the nth layer, is interpreted to be the claimed fetch, from system memory, first input data of a first task associated with a neural network. Furthermore, the description of the computations being done per layer is interpreted to be per set of operating cycles.)
one or more neural engine circuits coupled to the system memory access circuit, the one or more neural engine circuits configured to perform neural network computation operations on the first input data in the first set of operating cycles; and ([0024], Mathuriya teaches that after receiving data representative of weights associated with one layer, the circuitry performs an in-memory computation of the “nth” layer of the neural network. Further, in [0031], Mathuriya teaches that a neural network control circuitry on the semiconductor package 110, which receives the data from the system memory circuitry, may cause or control the execution of a neural network. The neural network control circuitry corresponds to the claimed neural engine circuit.)
a cache access circuit coupled to a cache circuit that caches data to or from the system memory, the cache circuit external to the neural processor circuit, the cache access circuit configured to instruct the cache circuit to prefetch from the system memory, during the first set of operating cycles corresponding to the first task, a portion of second input data of a second task of the neural network scheduled for processing in a second set of operating cycles subsequent to the first set of operating cycles, the portion of the second input data being fetched during the first set of operating cycles… in response to the first input data being fetched in the first set of operating cycles ([0064-0065], Mathuriya teaches that contemporaneous with the execution of the computation of an nth layer, prefetching from the system memory circuitry of at least a portion of the layer weights associated with the (n+1)st layer of the neural network, caused by any of the processing elements. Furthermore, in [0028], Mathuriya teaches that the prefetched weights of the (n+1)st layer are stored in the processor cache circuitry. Furthermore, in [0034], Mathuriya teaches the sequence of execution of the system involves first fetching data for the (n+1)st layer during the execution of the nth layer, and that the (n+1)st layer will subsequently be executed using the prefetched data. The weights of the (n+1)st layer are interpreted to be the claimed portion of second input data of a second task of a second task of the neural network, prefetched during the first set of operating cycles corresponding to the first task, and which is used for processing in a second set of operating cycles. Furthermore, in Fig. 1, [0048], and [0037-0038], since the cache circuitry 130 is illustrated as separate from the neural processing circuits 122 and 120 and separated by interconnects, the cache circuitry is considered external to the neural processor circuit.)
Mathuriya does not appear to explicitly disclose perform convolution operations on input data, a first size less than a bandwidth of the system memory, a portion of the second input data being fetched… using a remaining bandwidth of the system memory, the second input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory, wherein the bandwidth of the system memory is split concurrently into a first part and a second part during the first set of operating cycles, the first part being used by the system memory access circuit to fetch the first input data of the first task from the system memory, and the second part being used by the cache access circuit to fetch the portion of second input data of the second task from the system memory, wherein the system memory, the system memory access circuit, and the cache access circuit are different from each other.
However, Vantrease teaches perform convolution operations on the first input data ([0027] and [0031], Vantrease teaches that a prediction model may be a convolutional neural network, in which each processing of a layer generates convolutions between pixel values and weight values. The pixel values and weight values processed at a layer correspond to the input data of the first layer).
Mathuriya and Vantrease are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, memory management for neural network operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya and Vantrease to achieve the claimed neural processor circuit that fetches first input data of a first task, and performing convolution operations on the first input data and prefetching second input data of a second task during a first set of operating cycles, where the second task is scheduled for processing in a second set of operating cycles subsequent to the first set of operating cycles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to properly enable prefetching for a convolution task, by decreasing the time required to transfer layer weights when the (n+1)st layer executes as discussed in Mathuriya [0189] for neural networks of a convolutional type.
Mathuriya/Vantrease do not appear to explicitly disclose a first size less than a bandwidth of the system memory, a portion of the second input data being fetched… using a remaining bandwidth of the system memory, the second input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory, wherein the bandwidth of the system memory is split concurrently into a first part and a second part during the first set of operating cycles, the first part being used by the system memory access circuit to fetch the first input data of the first task from the system memory, and the second part being used by the cache access circuit to fetch the portion of second input data of the second task from the system memory, wherein the system memory, the system memory access circuit, and the cache access circuit are different from each other.
However, Maiyuran teaches a first size less than a bandwidth of the system memory, a portion of the second input data being fetched… using a remaining bandwidth of the system memory… wherein the bandwidth of the system memory is split concurrently into a first part and a second part during the first set of operating cycles, the first part being used by the system memory access circuit to fetch the first input data of the first task from the system memory, and the second part being used by the cache access circuit to fetch the portion of second input data of the second task from the system memory (Col. 3 lines 23-30 and Col. 4 lines 9-17, Maiyuran teaches that when the total bandwidth of a RDRAM is not fully utilized by the bandwidth requirements of just the processing element (the workload corresponding to the first task with first input data of a first size less than the bandwidth of system memory), since the processing element alone uses a small amount of the total available memory bandwidth (first part of the split bandwidth), there is still bandwidth available (second part of the split bandwidth) for prefetching data (second input data) to a pre-fetch buffer. Since the bandwidth is described as remaining available memory while a first part is already being used, the bandwidth of the system memory is interpreted to be split concurrently during a first set of operating cycles, corresponding to the operating cycles of Mathuriya. Further, in Fig. 6, Col. 4 lines 9-20, and Col. 3 lines 4-13, Maiyuran teaches that while one working memory array (element 310) and its corresponding request and data return paths to and from the main memory are used by the processor elements, the other working memory array (element 320) and its corresponding request and data return paths to and from the main memory is the one that is reused as the prefetch buffer to perform the prefetching tasks. Therefore, in view of the data corresponding to specific layers’ data of Mathuriya, the memory array 310 and its corresponding data paths are interpreted to be the claimed system memory access circuit using the first part of the main memory’s bandwidth to fetch the first input data for the first task from the system memory, and the memory array 320 and its corresponding prefetch request and return paths are interpreted to be the claimed cache circuit and cache access circuit respectively, using the second part of the main memory’s bandwidth to fetch the portion of the second input data of the second task from system memory.)
the system memory, the system memory access circuit, and the cache access circuit are different from each other. (Fig. 6 and Col. 4 lines 9-20, Maiyuran teaches a particular arrangement where a main memory (system memory) at the bottom right of fig. 6, data/request paths between main memory and GFX MEM ARRAY 1 (system memory access circuit), and the data/request paths between main memory and the GFX MEM ARRAY 2 being used as the prefetch buffer (cache access circuit) are all separate and discrete elements.)
Mathuriya/Vantrease and Maiyuran are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, management of operations with memory.
With Maturiya largely already teaching concurrent operating on one set of data while prefetching for the next set of data, the jump from the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease to include the specifics of the concurrent operating/prefetching using different portions of the bandwidth of the same main system memory of Maiyuran is a trivial step, as facilitating access to first data from system memory at the same time as prefetching for second data would already involve some kind of bandwidth split; Maiyuran merely makes this obvious feature explicitly taught.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease and Maiyuran, to achieve the result of the system which splits its system memory bandwidth between facilitating memory access by one path for processing a first set of data currently being used by a processor, and facilitating prefetching via a different path for a second set of data from system memory, such that the first data with its first size is smaller than the total bandwidth and the prefetching the second data uses the remaining bandwidth.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide improved, more optimized CPU performance for a lower cost by putting to use underutilized resources, as discussed in Maiyuran Col. 5 lines 29-40 and Col. 3 lines 4-17.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran do not appear to explicitly disclose the second input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory.
However, Hur teaches input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory ([0056], Hur teaches a case when a cache line (input data with respect to the destination) is greater than a bandwidth between two elements where the cache line needs to be transferred between, then the data associated with the cache line will be split and transferred separately.)
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran and Hur are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, management of operations with memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran and Hur, to achieve the result in the system which prefetches a only a portion of the total second data during a first set of operating cycles when the second data has a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to identify and adapt to cases in which the write data would otherwise be too large to be supported by the bandwidth of the system, as discussed in Hur [0056].
Regarding claim 2: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/ Maiyuran/Hur further teaches the first task corresponds to a first operation in a first layer of the neural network and the second task corresponds to a second operation in a second layer of the neural network, the second layer being different from the first layer. ([0024], Mathuriya teaches that the performing of the computation/execution is of an nth layer of a multi-layer neural network, and treats the (n+1)st layer distinctly from the nth layer. The computation/execution being of an nth layer corresponds to the first task corresponding to a first operation in a first layer. As explained with respect to claim 1, the (n+1)st layer is a next layer, which has its own second task corresponding to a second operation.)
Regarding claim 3: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur further teaches fetching data from the system memory uses less than a bandwidth of the system memory and prefetching data from the system memory to the cache circuit uses at least part of the bandwidth of the system memory (Col. 3 lines 23-27 and Col. 4 lines 9-17, Maiyuran teaches that the processor’s direct memory requirements do not use all of the total available memory bandwidth (corresponding to the fetching data from the system memory suing less than the bandwidth of the system memory), and that the remaining available memory bandwidth (at least part of the bandwidth) can be used to prefetch data.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 4 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur further teaches the second input data prefetched to the cache circuit remains unconsumed in the cache circuit until the second set of operating cycles. ([0047], Vantrease teaches that performing the arithmetic operations for the next neural network layer is only done in the next time period. As explained with respect to claim 1, the next neural network layer contains the second input data prefetched, and the next time period represents the second set of operating cycles. Therefore, given that Mathuriya/Vantrease teach that the arithmetic operations are only performed for the second input data in the second set of operating cycles, the data prefetched remains unconsumed in the state buffer of Vantrease or the cache circuit of Mathuriya until the second set of operating cycles)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 7 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur further teaches a first portion of the second input data is prefetched to the cache circuit and the system memory access circuit is further configured to fetch a second portion of the second input data from the system memory during the second set of operating cycles. ([0056-0057], Hur teaches the when a cache line to be written to storage is greater than a bandwidth, the write data is divided into multiple data segments to fit the bandwidth, and each segment is sequentially transferred. In combination with the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease of the second input data being prefetched to the cache circuit, a situation where when the input data is too large for the bandwidth, a first segment of the second input data is prefetched in one set of operating cycles, and then in a subsequent set of operating cycles, other segments of the second input data are fetched in sequence is obvious.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 9 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur further teaches the cache circuit is shared by one or more processing circuits external to the neural processor circuit for caching data. ([0171], Mathuriya teaches that a shared cache may be outside of processors, yet connected to processors, to store the processors’ local cache information, hence, the cache circuit being shared by one or more processing circuits external to the neural processing circuit is taught.)
Regarding claim 12: Mathuriya teaches A method comprising:
fetching, by a system memory access circuit from the system memory, first input data of a first task associated with a neural network, the first input data being fetched in a first set of operating cycles;… the system memory being external to a neural processor circuit ([0031], Mathuriya teaches that the system memory may store information and/or data such as neural network layer data transferred between the memory and processors, and that the second on-chip processor memory circuitry can be used to store weights transferred from the system memory circuitry before being used in the neural network. Moreover, in [0024] Mathuriya teaches receiving weight data for the layers, as well as specifically an nth layer. The receiving of the weight data, which may be for the nth layer, is interpreted to be the claimed fetch, from system memory, first input data of a first task associated with a neural network. Furthermore, the description of the computations being done per layer is interpreted to be per set of operating cycles. Furthermore, in [0042], Fig. 1, and [0031], Mathuriya teaches that the system memory and its bus connections are separate from (external to) the neural processor circuit (encompassing elements 120 and 122).)
perform, by one or more neural engine circuits of the neural processor circuit, neural network computation operations on the first input data in the first set of operating cycles; and ([0024], Mathuriya teaches that after receiving data representative of weights associated with one layer, the circuitry performs an in-memory computation of the “nth” layer of the neural network. Further, in [0031], Mathuriya teaches that a neural network control circuitry on the semiconductor package 110, which receives the data from the system memory circuitry, may cause or control the execution of a neural network. The neural network control circuitry corresponds to the claimed neural engine circuit.)
instructing, a cache access circuit coupled to a cache circuit that caches data to or from the system memory, the cache circuit external to the neural processor circuit, the cache circuit to prefetch from the system memory, during the first set of operating cycles corresponding to the first task, a portion of second input data of a second task of the neural network scheduled for processing in a second set of operating cycles subsequent to the first set of operating cycles, the portion of the second input data being fetched during the first set of operating cycles… in response to the first input data being fetched in the first set of operating cycles ([0064-0065], Mathuriya teaches that contemporaneous with the execution of the computation of an nth layer, prefetching from the system memory circuitry of at least a portion of the layer weights associated with the (n+1)st layer of the neural network, caused by any of the processing elements. Furthermore, in [0028], Mathuriya teaches that the prefetched weights of the (n+1)st layer are stored in the processor cache circuitry. Furthermore, in [0034], Mathuriya teaches the sequence of execution of the system involves first fetching data for the (n+1)st layer during the execution of the nth layer, and that the (n+1)st layer will subsequently be executed using the prefetched data. The weights of the (n+1)st layer are interpreted to be the claimed portion of second input data of a second task of a second task of the neural network, prefetched during the first set of operating cycles corresponding to the first task, and which is used for processing in a second set of operating cycles. Furthermore, in Fig. 1, [0048], and [0037-0038], since the cache circuitry 130 is illustrated as separate from the neural processing circuits 122 and 120 and separated by interconnects, the cache circuitry is considered external to the neural processor circuit.)
Mathuriya does not appear to explicitly disclose perform convolution operations on input data, a first size less than a bandwidth of the system memory, a portion of the second input data being fetched… using a remaining bandwidth of the system memory, the second input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory, wherein the bandwidth of the system memory is split concurrently into a first part and a second part during the first set of operating cycles, the first part being used by the system memory access circuit to fetch the first input data of the first task from the system memory, and the second part being used by the cache access circuit to fetch the portion of second input data of the second task from the system memory, wherein the system memory, the system memory access circuit, and the cache access circuit are different from each other.
However, Vantrease teaches perform convolution operations on the first input data ([0027] and [0031], Vantrease teaches that a prediction model may be a convolutional neural network, in which each processing of a layer generates convolutions between pixel values and weight values. The pixel values and weight values processed at a layer correspond to the input data of the first layer).
Mathuriya and Vantrease are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, memory management for neural network operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya and Vantrease to achieve the claimed neural processor circuit that fetches first input data of a first task, and performing convolution operations on the first input data and prefetching second input data of a second task during a first set of operating cycles, where the second task is scheduled for processing in a second set of operating cycles subsequent to the first set of operating cycles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to properly enable prefetching for a convolution task, by decreasing the time required to transfer layer weights when the (n+1)st layer executes as discussed in Mathuriya [0189] for neural networks of a convolutional type.
Mathuriya/Vantrease do not appear to explicitly disclose a first size less than a bandwidth of the system memory, a portion of the second input data being fetched… using a remaining bandwidth of the system memory, the second input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory, wherein the bandwidth of the system memory is split concurrently into a first part and a second part during the first set of operating cycles, the first part being used by the system memory access circuit to fetch the first input data of the first task from the system memory, and the second part being used by the cache access circuit to fetch the portion of second input data of the second task from the system memory, wherein the system memory, the system memory access circuit, and the cache access circuit are different from each other.
However, Maiyuran teaches a first size less than a bandwidth of the system memory, a portion of the second input data being fetched… using a remaining bandwidth of the system memory… wherein the bandwidth of the system memory is split concurrently into a first part and a second part during the first set of operating cycles, the first part being used by the system memory access circuit to fetch the first input data of the first task from the system memory, and the second part being used by the cache access circuit to fetch the portion of second input data of the second task from the system memory (Col. 3 lines 23-30 and Col. 4 lines 9-17, Maiyuran teaches that when the total bandwidth of a RDRAM is not fully utilized by the bandwidth requirements of just the processing element (the workload corresponding to the first task with first input data of a first size less than the bandwidth of system memory), since the processing element alone uses a small amount of the total available memory bandwidth (first part of the split bandwidth), there is still bandwidth available (second part of the split bandwidth) for prefetching data (second input data) to a pre-fetch buffer. Since the bandwidth is described as remaining available memory while a first part is already being used, the bandwidth of the system memory is interpreted to be split concurrently during a first set of operating cycles, corresponding to the operating cycles of Mathuriya. Further, in Fig. 6, Col. 4 lines 9-20, and Col. 3 lines 4-13, Maiyuran teaches that while one working memory array (element 310) and its corresponding request and data return paths to and from the main memory are used by the processor elements, the other working memory array (element 320) and its corresponding request and data return paths to and from the main memory is the one that is reused as the prefetch buffer to perform the prefetching tasks. Therefore, in view of the data corresponding to specific layers’ data of Mathuriya, the memory array 310 and its corresponding data paths are interpreted to be the claimed system memory access circuit using the first part of the main memory’s bandwidth to fetch the first input data for the first task from the system memory, and the memory array 320 and its corresponding prefetch request and return paths are interpreted to be the claimed cache circuit and cache access circuit respectively, using the second part of the main memory’s bandwidth to fetch the portion of the second input data of the second task from system memory.)
the system memory, the system memory access circuit, and the cache access circuit are different from each other. (Fig. 6 and Col. 4 lines 9-20, Maiyuran teaches a particular arrangement where a main memory (system memory) at the bottom right of fig. 6, data/request paths between main memory and GFX MEM ARRAY 1 (system memory access circuit), and the data/request paths between main memory and the GFX MEM ARRAY 2 being used as the prefetch buffer (cache access circuit) are all separate and discrete elements.)
Mathuriya/Vantrease and Maiyuran are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, management of operations with memory.
With Maturiya largely already teaching concurrent operating on one set of data while prefetching for the next set of data, the jump from the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease to include the specifics of the concurrent operating/prefetching using different portions of the bandwidth of the same main system memory of Maiyuran is a trivial step, as facilitating access to first data from system memory at the same time as prefetching for second data would already involve some kind of bandwidth split; Maiyuran merely makes this obvious feature explicitly taught.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease and Maiyuran, to achieve the result of the system which splits its system memory bandwidth between facilitating memory access by one path for processing a first set of data currently being used by a processor, and facilitating prefetching via a different path for a second set of data from system memory, such that the first data with its first size is smaller than the total bandwidth and the prefetching the second data uses the remaining bandwidth.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide improved, more optimized CPU performance for a lower cost by putting to use underutilized resources, as discussed in Maiyuran Col. 5 lines 29-40 and Col. 3 lines 4-17.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran do not appear to explicitly disclose the second input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory.
However, Hur teaches input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory ([0056], Hur teaches a case when a cache line (input data with respect to the destination) is greater than a bandwidth between two elements where the cache line needs to be transferred between, then the data associated with the cache line will be split and transferred separately.)
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran and Hur are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, management of operations with memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran and Hur, to achieve the result in the system which prefetches a only a portion of the total second data during a first set of operating cycles when the second data has a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to identify and adapt to cases in which the write data would otherwise be too large to be supported by the bandwidth of the system, as discussed in Hur [0056].
Regarding claim 13: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 12, from which claim 13 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur further teaches the first task corresponds to a first operation in a first layer of the neural network and the second task corresponds to a second operation in a second layer of the neural network, the second layer being different from the first layer. ([0024], Mathuriya teaches that the performing of the computation/execution is of an nth layer of a multi-layer neural network, and treats the (n+1)st layer distinctly from the nth layer. The computation/execution being of an nth layer corresponds to the first task corresponding to a first operation in a first layer. As explained with respect to claim 1, the (n+1)st layer is a next layer, which has its own second task corresponding to a second operation.)
Regarding claim 14: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 12, from which claim 14 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur further teaches fetching data from the system memory uses less than a bandwidth of the system memory and prefetching data from the system memory to the cache circuit uses at least part of the bandwidth of the system memory (Col. 3 lines 23-27 and Col. 4 lines 9-17, Maiyuran teaches that the processor’s direct memory requirements do not use all of the total available memory bandwidth (corresponding to the fetching data from the system memory suing less than the bandwidth of the system memory), and that the remaining available memory bandwidth (at least part of the bandwidth) can be used to prefetch data.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 12, from which claim 15 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur further teaches a first portion of the second input data is prefetched to the cache circuit and the system memory access circuit is further configured to fetch a second portion of the second input data from the system memory during the second set of operating cycles. ([0056-0057], Hur teaches the when a cache line to be written to storage is greater than a bandwidth, the write data is divided into multiple data segments to fit the bandwidth, and each segment is sequentially transferred. In combination with the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease of the second input data being prefetched to the cache circuit, a situation where when the input data is too large for the bandwidth, a first segment of the second input data is prefetched in one set of operating cycles, and then in a subsequent set of operating cycles, other segments of the second input data are fetched in sequence is obvious.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reasons as claim 12.
Regarding claim 19: Mathuriya teaches An electronic device, comprising:
a system memory configured to store a neural network; and ([0022], Mathuriya teaches that layer weights of a neural network are stored in system memory circuitry)
A neural processor circuit, comprising: ([0031], Mathuriya teaches a neural network control circuitry.)
a system memory access circuit coupled to a system memory external to the neural processor circuit, the system memory access circuit configured to ([0042], Fig. 1, and [0031], Mathuriya teaches a system memory circuitry 170 that may include a variety of types of storage devices that are separate from (external to) the neural processing circuit elements 122 and 120.)
fetch, from the system memory, first input data of a first task associated with a neural network, the first input data being fetched in a first set of operating cycles; ([0031], Mathuriya teaches that the system memory may store information and/or data such as neural network layer data transferred between the memory and processors, and that the second on-chip processor memory circuitry can be used to store weights transferred from the system memory circuitry before being used in the neural network. Moreover, in [0024] Mathuriya teaches receiving weight data for the layers, as well as specifically an nth layer. The receiving of the weight data, which may be for the nth layer, is interpreted to be the claimed fetch, from system memory, first input data of a first task associated with a neural network. Furthermore, the description of the computations being done per layer is interpreted to be per set of operating cycles.)
one or more neural engine circuits coupled to the system memory access circuit, the one or more neural engine circuits configured to perform neural network computation operations on the first input data in the first set of operating cycles; and ([0024], Mathuriya teaches that after receiving data representative of weights associated with one layer, the circuitry performs an in-memory computation of the “nth” layer of the neural network. Further, in [0031], Mathuriya teaches that a neural network control circuitry on the semiconductor package 110, which receives the data from the system memory circuitry, may cause or control the execution of a neural network. The neural network control circuitry corresponds to the claimed neural engine circuit.)
a cache access circuit coupled to a cache circuit that caches data to or from the system memory, the cache circuit external to the neural processor circuit, the cache access circuit configured to instruct the cache circuit to prefetch from the system memory, during the first set of operating cycles corresponding to the first task, a portion of second input data of a second task of the neural network scheduled for processing in a second set of operating cycles subsequent to the first set of operating cycles, the portion of the second input data being fetched during the first set of operating cycles… in response to the first input data being fetched in the first set of operating cycles ([0064-0065], Mathuriya teaches that contemporaneous with the execution of the computation of an nth layer, prefetching from the system memory circuitry of at least a portion of the layer weights associated with the (n+1)st layer of the neural network, caused by any of the processing elements. Furthermore, in [0028], Mathuriya teaches that the prefetched weights of the (n+1)st layer are stored in the processor cache circuitry. Furthermore, in [0034], Mathuriya teaches the sequence of execution of the system involves first fetching data for the (n+1)st layer during the execution of the nth layer, and that the (n+1)st layer will subsequently be executed using the prefetched data. The weights of the (n+1)st layer are interpreted to be the claimed portion of second input data of a second task of a second task of the neural network, prefetched during the first set of operating cycles corresponding to the first task, and which is used for processing in a second set of operating cycles. Furthermore, in Fig. 1, [0048], and [0037-0038], since the cache circuitry 130 is illustrated as separate from the neural processing circuits 122 and 120 and separated by interconnects, the cache circuitry is considered external to the neural processor circuit.)
Mathuriya does not appear to explicitly disclose perform convolution operations on input data, a first size less than a bandwidth of the system memory, a portion of the second input data being fetched… using a remaining bandwidth of the system memory, the second input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory, wherein the bandwidth of the system memory is split concurrently into a first part and a second part during the first set of operating cycles, the first part being used by the system memory access circuit to fetch the first input data of the first task from the system memory, and the second part being used by the cache access circuit to fetch the portion of second input data of the second task from the system memory, wherein the system memory, the system memory access circuit, and the cache access circuit are different from each other.
However, Vantrease teaches perform convolution operations on the first input data ([0027] and [0031], Vantrease teaches that a prediction model may be a convolutional neural network, in which each processing of a layer generates convolutions between pixel values and weight values. The pixel values and weight values processed at a layer correspond to the input data of the first layer).
Mathuriya and Vantrease are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, memory management for neural network operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya and Vantrease to achieve the claimed neural processor circuit that fetches first input data of a first task, and performing convolution operations on the first input data and prefetching second input data of a second task during a first set of operating cycles, where the second task is scheduled for processing in a second set of operating cycles subsequent to the first set of operating cycles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to properly enable prefetching for a convolution task, by decreasing the time required to transfer layer weights when the (n+1)st layer executes as discussed in Mathuriya [0189] for neural networks of a convolutional type.
Mathuriya/Vantrease do not appear to explicitly disclose a first size less than a bandwidth of the system memory, a portion of the second input data being fetched… using a remaining bandwidth of the system memory, the second input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory, wherein the bandwidth of the system memory is split concurrently into a first part and a second part during the first set of operating cycles, the first part being used by the system memory access circuit to fetch the first input data of the first task from the system memory, and the second part being used by the cache access circuit to fetch the portion of second input data of the second task from the system memory, wherein the system memory, the system memory access circuit, and the cache access circuit are different from each other.
However, Maiyuran teaches a first size less than a bandwidth of the system memory, a portion of the second input data being fetched… using a remaining bandwidth of the system memory… wherein the bandwidth of the system memory is split concurrently into a first part and a second part during the first set of operating cycles, the first part being used by the system memory access circuit to fetch the first input data of the first task from the system memory, and the second part being used by the cache access circuit to fetch the portion of second input data of the second task from the system memory (Col. 3 lines 23-30 and Col. 4 lines 9-17, Maiyuran teaches that when the total bandwidth of a RDRAM is not fully utilized by the bandwidth requirements of just the processing element (the workload corresponding to the first task with first input data of a first size less than the bandwidth of system memory), since the processing element alone uses a small amount of the total available memory bandwidth (first part of the split bandwidth), there is still bandwidth available (second part of the split bandwidth) for prefetching data (second input data) to a pre-fetch buffer. Since the bandwidth is described as remaining available memory while a first part is already being used, the bandwidth of the system memory is interpreted to be split concurrently during a first set of operating cycles, corresponding to the operating cycles of Mathuriya. Further, in Fig. 6, Col. 4 lines 9-20, and Col. 3 lines 4-13, Maiyuran teaches that while one working memory array (element 310) and its corresponding request and data return paths to and from the main memory are used by the processor elements, the other working memory array (element 320) and its corresponding request and data return paths to and from the main memory is the one that is reused as the prefetch buffer to perform the prefetching tasks. Therefore, in view of the data corresponding to specific layers’ data of Mathuriya, the memory array 310 and its corresponding data paths are interpreted to be the claimed system memory access circuit using the first part of the main memory’s bandwidth to fetch the first input data for the first task from the system memory, and the memory array 320 and its corresponding prefetch request and return paths are interpreted to be the claimed cache circuit and cache access circuit respectively, using the second part of the main memory’s bandwidth to fetch the portion of the second input data of the second task from system memory.)
the system memory, the system memory access circuit, and the cache access circuit are different from each other. (Fig. 6 and Col. 4 lines 9-20, Maiyuran teaches a particular arrangement where a main memory (system memory) at the bottom right of fig. 6, data/request paths between main memory and GFX MEM ARRAY 1 (system memory access circuit), and the data/request paths between main memory and the GFX MEM ARRAY 2 being used as the prefetch buffer (cache access circuit) are all separate and discrete elements.)
Mathuriya/Vantrease and Maiyuran are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, management of operations with memory.
With Maturiya largely already teaching concurrent operating on one set of data while prefetching for the next set of data, the jump from the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease to include the specifics of the concurrent operating/prefetching using different portions of the bandwidth of the same main system memory of Maiyuran is a trivial step, as facilitating access to first data from system memory at the same time as prefetching for second data would already involve some kind of bandwidth split; Maiyuran merely makes this obvious feature explicitly taught.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease and Maiyuran, to achieve the result of the system which splits its system memory bandwidth between facilitating memory access by one path for processing a first set of data currently being used by a processor, and facilitating prefetching via a different path for a second set of data from system memory, such that the first data with its first size is smaller than the total bandwidth and the prefetching the second data uses the remaining bandwidth.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide improved, more optimized CPU performance for a lower cost by putting to use underutilized resources, as discussed in Maiyuran Col. 5 lines 29-40 and Col. 3 lines 4-17.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran do not appear to explicitly disclose the second input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory.
However, Hur teaches input data having a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory ([0056], Hur teaches a case when a cache line (input data with respect to the destination) is greater than a bandwidth between two elements where the cache line needs to be transferred between, then the data associated with the cache line will be split and transferred separately.)
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran and Hur are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, management of operations with memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran and Hur, to achieve the result in the system which prefetches a only a portion of the total second data during a first set of operating cycles when the second data has a size larger than the bandwidth of the system memory.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to identify and adapt to cases in which the write data would otherwise be too large to be supported by the bandwidth of the system, as discussed in Hur [0056].
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 19, from which claim 20 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur further teaches the first task corresponds to a first operation in a first layer of the neural network and the second task corresponds to a second operation in a second layer of the neural network, the second layer being different from the first layer. ([0024], Mathuriya teaches that the performing of the computation/execution is of an nth layer of a multi-layer neural network, and treats the (n+1)st layer distinctly from the nth layer. The computation/execution being of an nth layer corresponds to the first task corresponding to a first operation in a first layer. As explained with respect to claim 1, the (n+1)st layer is a next layer, which has its own second task corresponding to a second operation.)
Claim 5, 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Mathuriya et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20190057300 (hereinafter “Mathuriya”) in view of
Vantrease et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20190294968 (hereinafter “Vantrease”) further in view of
Maiyuran et al., U.S. Patent No. 6842180 (hereinafter “Maiyuran”) further in view of
HUR et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20170091092 (hereinafter “Hur”) further in view of
Fishel et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20190340490 (hereinafter “Fishel”)
Regarding Claim 5: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 5 depends.
While Vantrease broadly teaches memory descriptors of stored data, including the address information that would be needed to perform prefetching, Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur do not appear to explicitly disclose the second task is associated with a task descriptor indicating that the second input data is to be prefetched to the cache circuit, wherein the one or more neural engine circuits of the neural processor circuit are configured perform an operation according to the task descriptor.
However, Fishel more explicitly teaches the second task is associated with a task descriptor indicating that the second input data is to be prefetched to the cache circuit, wherein the one or more neural engine circuits of the neural processor circuit are configured perform an operation according to the task descriptor. ([0084], Fishel teaches that a neural network may be converted to a list of tasks, each task associated with a task descriptor that defines a configuration of the neural processor circuit to execute the task, and where each task may correspond with a single network layer or a portion of the network layer. Further, in [0105], Fishel teaches that when a task is selected, the task descriptor is placed into a configuration queue, and the neural processor circuit then performs a prefetch operation for input data. Therefore, the task descriptor being placed into the configuration queue to signal that the neural processor circuit may then initiate a prefetch operation, teaches the claimed task descriptor indicating that the second input data is to be prefetched to the cache circuit. The task descriptor also defining a configuration of the neural processor circuit to execute the task in addition to the task being the operations associated with a layer of the neural network as discussed with respect to claim 1, teaches the claimed performing an operation according to the task descriptor.)
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur and Fishel are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, management of neural network operations with memory.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur and Fishel to achieve the result of the neural processor of claim 1, to also provide task descriptors for each task, indicating that selected future input data is to be prefetched, and where the neural processor circuit performs an operation according to the task descriptor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate the programming of the neural processor circuit, by providing specific data in a task descriptor defining the configuration of the neural processor circuit for the task as discussed in Fishel [0093].
Regarding claim 6: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, Hur, and Fishel teaches all limitations of claim 5, from which claim 6 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur/Fishel further teaches the task descriptor is generated by a compiler that is configured to analyze the neural network and determining that a size of second input data exceeding a threshold ([0094], Fishel teaches that a task descriptor may be generated at compile time. Furthermore, in [0063], Fishel teaches that a compiler analyzes the hierarchy of the neural network to determine how input data is split into smaller data units. Furthermore, in [0073], Fishel teaches that part of determining how input data is segmented may involve a constraint that determines if tile width is over a threshold. The compiler operates at compiler time, and teaches the claimed task descriptor generated by a compiler. The compiler analyzing the hierarchy to determine how input data is split, and the segmentation of input data involving determining if input data is over a threshold, teaches the claimed compiler analyzing that a size of the input data exceeds a threshold).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to adjust to hardware constraints of the neural processor circuit as discussed in Fishel [0063].
Claims 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Mathuriya et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20190057300 (hereinafter “Mathuriya”) in view of
Vantrease et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20190294968 (hereinafter “Vantrease”) further in view of
Maiyuran et al., U.S. Patent No. 6842180 (hereinafter “Maiyuran”) further in view of
HUR et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20170091092 (hereinafter “Hur”) further in view of
Sasanka, U.S. Pub. No. 20170147496 (hereinafter “Sasanka”).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 7, from which claim 8 depends.
While Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur teaches the prefetching the first portion to the cache circuit and fetching the second portion from the system memory, as shown with respect to claim 7, Mathuriya/Vantrease/Ingram do not appear to disclose the prefetching the first portion and fetching the second portion are controlled by one or more sieve factors in a task descriptor associated with the second task.
However, Sasanka teaches are controlled by one or more sieve factors in a task descriptor associated with the second task ([0037], Sasanka teaches a filtering technique that enables only particular portions of a memory address space of an application may be cached in a cache memory.)
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur and Sasanka are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, controlling cache circuits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur and Sasanka, to achieve the result of a system which prefetches data for tasks, where if the input data of a second task may be split into parts which fetch and execute separately, with fetching for the second part occurring during a second set of operating cycles, to also control such fetching according to a sieve factor associated with the address space of a task.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to respond to situations where execution of a workload may result in many misses, by preserving cache lines for the execution of an application, which may lead to performance improvements as discussed in Sasanka [0043-0044].
Regarding claim 16: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 15, from which claim 16 depends.
While Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur teaches the prefetching the first portion to the cache circuit and fetching the second portion from the system memory, as shown with respect to claim 15, Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur do not appear to disclose the prefetching the first portion and fetching the second portion are controlled by one or more sieve factors in a task descriptor associated with the second task.
However, Sasanka teaches are controlled by one or more sieve factors in a task descriptor associated with the second task ([0037], Sasanka teaches a filtering technique that enables only particular portions of a memory address space of an application may be cached in a cache memory.)
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, controlling cache circuits.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur and Sasanka, to achieve the result of a system which prefetches data for tasks, where if the input data of a second task may be split into parts which fetch and execute separately, with fetching for the second part occurring during a second set of operating cycles, to also control such fetching according to a sieve factor associated with the address space of a task.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to respond to situations where execution of a workload may result in many misses, by preserving cache lines for the execution of an application, which may lead to performance improvements as discussed in Sasanka [0043-0044].
Claims 10, 11, 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Mathuriya et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20190057300 (hereinafter “Mathuriya”) in view of
Vantrease et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20190294968 (hereinafter “Vantrease”) further in view of
Maiyuran et al., U.S. Patent No. 6842180 (hereinafter “Maiyuran”) further in view of
HUR et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20170091092 (hereinafter “Hur”) further in view of
Pinho et al., U.S. Pub. No. 20210149805 (hereinafter “Pinho”)
Regarding claim 10: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, and Hur teaches all limitations of claim 1, from which claim 10 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur do not appear to explicitly disclose the cache access circuit is further configured to receive telemetry data indicating whether the cache circuit is available.
However, Pinho teaches the cache access circuit is further configured to receive telemetry data indicating whether the cache circuit is available. ([0067-0068], Pinho teaches that a cache policy adjustment process may turn prefetching OFF for the following period, and that the selected prefetch policy is then applied to the cache. In this case, the selected prefetch policy which indicates the prefetching is off is interpreted to be the telemetry data indicating whether the cache circuit is available, and the cache access circuit receiving it is taught.)
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur and Pinho are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, cache prefetching techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur and Pinho, to achieve the result of the neural processor circuit of claim 1, where the cache circuit receives data indicating whether the cache circuit is available.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent cache pollution according to how much pollution will occur in the cache as discussed in Pinho [0034].
Regarding claim 11: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, Hur, and Pinho teaches all limitations of claim 10, from which claim 11 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur/Pinho further teaches responsive to receiving the telemetry data indicating that the cache circuit is unavailable, backing off from instructing the cache circuit to perform a prefetching operation until a period of time has elapsed. ([0068], Pinho teaches that the on-off decision for enabling or disabling prefetching may last for a predetermined period t, which may be a time period. This means that when the prefetch policy applied to the cache says to turn prefetching off, the prefetching is off until a period of time has elapsed.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reason as in claim 10.
Regarding claim 17: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, Hur teaches all limitations of claim 12, from which claim 17 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur do not appear to explicitly disclose receiving telemetry data indicating whether the cache circuit is available.
However, Pinho teaches receiving telemetry data indicating whether the cache circuit is available. ([0067-0068], Pinho teaches that a cache policy adjustment process may turn prefetching OFF for the following period, and that the selected prefetch policy is then applied to the cache. In this case, the selected prefetch policy which indicates the prefetching is off is interpreted to be the telemetry data indicating whether the cache circuit is available.)
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur and Pinho are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, cache prefetching techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur and Pinho, to achieve the result of the method of claim 12, where the cache circuit receives data indicating whether the cache circuit is available.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent cache pollution according to how much pollution will occur in the cache as discussed in Pinho [0034].
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Mathuriya, Vantrease, Maiyuran, Hur, and Pinho teaches all limitations of claim 17, from which claim 18 depends.
Mathuriya/Vantrease/Maiyuran/Hur/Pinho further teaches responsive to receiving the telemetry data indicating that the cache circuit is unavailable, backing off from instructing the cache circuit to perform a prefetching operation until a period of time has elapsed ([0068], Pinho teaches that the on-off decision for enabling or disabling prefetching may last for a predetermined period t, which may be a time period. This means that when the prefetch policy applied to the cache says to turn prefetching off, the prefetching is off until a period of time has elapsed.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the same reason as in claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Huang, U.S. Pub. No. 20150019798, teaches a system which enables dual access from an application to an SSD via: one path which accesses data from the SSD normally through a file system, and another path which utilizes a memory cache in order to prefetch data that will be needed in the future.
/K.H.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2133
/ROCIO DEL MAR PEREZ-VELEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2133