DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-25 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA :
- claims 1, 6, and 11 are amended
- claims 2, 7, and 12 are canceled
- claim 25 is new
b. This is a final action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 05/19/2026.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claims 1, 5-6, 10-11, and 16 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's arguments, see “Restated, Mildh appears to describe performing the cell group configuration for a masterCellGroup included in a received RRCResume message. See Id. However, Mildh still has not been shown to teach or suggest "restoring the master cell group from a stored user equipment inactive access stratum context," as recited in amended Claim 1. (emphasis added). In particular, Mildh's "masterCellGroup" is included in an RRCResume message received from the network, rather than "restor[ed] from a stored user equipment inactive access stratum context." Indeed, Applicant notes that the above-cited portions of Mildh appear to describe "discard[ing] the stored UE AS context" before checking "if the RRCResume includes the masterCellGroup." Because Mildh commands the deletion of the stored UE AS context prior to applying the masterCellGroup, it cannot teach or suggest "restoring the master cell group from a stored user equipment inactive access stratum context," as recited in amended Claim 1.” on page 9, filed on 05/19/2026, with respect to U.S. Publication No. 20200120491 issued to Mildh et al. (hereinafter "Mildh"), have been fully considered but not persuasive.
Paragraphs [0102] and [0103] of Mildh do not show that these 2 steps are necessarily sequential to one another but more likely denote two separate events since they both have a “1>” numbering assignment, instead of the first step using “1>” and the following step using “2>”.
That being said, when the RRCResume transmission including the masterCellGroup being sent, it is not necessarily that the stored UE AS context is already discarded but it can still be in use:
Mildh’s disclosure is similar to R1-1808961 section 5.3.13.4 below:
In other words, when the UE receives an RRC Resume message, if the RRC Resume message includes the masterCellGroup field, perform cell group configuration for the received masterCellGroup according to section 5.3, 5.5, of R2-1808961 "Connection control TP", 3GPP, May 21-25, 2018 (hereinafter "R1-1808961") . The network resumes all suspended radio bearers in the CellGroupConfig IE filed; when the RRC connection is resumed, the network configures the UE according to an RRC Connection Resume procedure (equivalent to determining Scheduling Request configuration information in response to said RRC Resume message) based on the sored UE AS context and any RRC configuration received from the network; the scheduling request resource configuration is used to determine PUCCH physical layer resources for the UE to transmit dedicated scheduling requests (since scheduling requests are used to obtain PUSCH resources, it is implicitly disclosed that the scheduling request configuration information is used to obtain uplink shared channel resources).
The Mildh’s reference, as combined with the references Burbidge, Paladugu, and R1-1808961, discloses each and every limitation of the present claims, and therefore render the claims 1, 5-6, 10-11, and 16 obvious. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s arguments that the Examiner fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness MPEP § 2141. Claims 1, 5-6, 10-11, and 16 are still being rejected on the same grounds for rejection as before.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burbidge et al. US Pub 2019/0215887 (hereinafter “Burbidge”), in view of R2-1808961 “Connection control TP”, 3GPP, May 21-25, 2018 (hereinafter “R1-1808961”), and further in view of Paladugu et al. US Pub 2021/0037547, claiming provisional application 62880354 priority 2019-07-30 (hereinafter “Paladugu”).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Burbidge discloses a wireless communication method (“When the RRC connection is resumed, the network configures the UE according to the RRC connection resume procedure” [0056]), comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) resume message (“Similarly, in response to reception by the UE of the RRCResume message, the UE may, if the RRCResume message includes the fullConfig IE, perform the radio configuration procedure as specified in as specified in TS 38.331, section 5.3.5.11.” [0064]);
determining scheduling request configuration information (i.e. “fullConfig IE”) in response to the RRC resume message (“Similarly, in response to reception by the UE of the RRCResume message, the UE may, if the RRCResume message includes the fullConfig IE, perform the radio configuration procedure as specified in as specified in TS 38.331, section 5.3.5.11. Otherwise, the UE may restore the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) state, reset the COUNT value (an independent counter maintained for each direction and used as input for ciphering and integrity protection for each radio bearer) and re-establish PDCP entities for SRB2 and all DRBs.” [0064]),
Burbidge does not specifically teach wherein the scheduling request configuration information is used to obtain an uplink shared channel resource, wherein determining the scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message comprises restoring a master cell group, the restored master cell group comprises a first information element for scheduling request configuration, a second information element for logical channel configuration, and a third information element for scheduling request resource configuration, and wherein each of the three information elements comprises a scheduling request identifier; when the scheduling request identifiers in the three information elements are consistent, sending a scheduling request signal to request the uplink shared channel resource; wherein determining the scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message comprises resuming an RRC connection in response to the RRC resume message, and wherein the resuming an RRC connection comprises: restoring a master cell group from a stored user equipment inactive access stratum context; and determining the scheduling request configuration information based on the master cell group
In an analogous art, R2-1808961 discloses wherein the scheduling request configuration information is used to obtain an uplink shared channel resource (scheduling requests are used to obtain PUSCH resources; see sections 5.3, 5.5, 5.3.13),
wherein determining the scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message comprises restoring a master cell group,
the restored master cell group comprises a first information element for scheduling request configuration,
a second information element for logical channel configuration,
and a third information element for scheduling request resource configuration,
and wherein each of the three information elements comprises a scheduling request identifier (i.e. annotated “schedulingRequestID” in above figures);
when the scheduling request identifiers in the three information elements are consistent (i.e. “schedulingRequestID” appear in all 3 listed IEs above), sending a scheduling request signal to request the uplink shared channel resource (since scheduling requests are used to obtain PUSCH resources, it is implicitly discloses that the three information elements listed above are used to obtain uplink shared channel resource; see sections 5.3, 5.5, 5.3.13);
wherein determining the scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message comprises resuming an RRC connection in response to the RRC resume message, and wherein the resuming an RRC connection comprises: restoring a master cell group from a stored user equipment inactive access stratum context; and determining the scheduling request configuration information based on the master cell group (When the UE receives an RRC Resume message, if the RRC Resume message includes the masterCellGroup field, perform cell group configuration for the received masterCellGroup according to section 5.3.13.4 of R2-1808961. The network resumes all suspended radio bearers in the CellGroupConfig IE filed; when the RRC connection is resumed, the network configures the UE according to an RRC Connection Resume procedure (equivalent to determining Scheduling Request configuration information in response to said RRC Resume message) based on the sored UE AS context and any RRC configuration received from the network; the scheduling request resource configuration is used to determine PUCCH physical layer resources for the UE to transmit dedicated scheduling requests (since scheduling requests are used to obtain PUSCH resources, it is implicitly disclosed that the scheduling request configuration information is used to obtain uplink shared channel resources).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burbidge’s method of handling a RRC Resume message, to include R2-1808961’s method for processing a scheduling request, in order to use stored Access Stratum (AS) context to restore Master Cell Group information (R2-1808961; section 5.3.13) .
Burbidge and R2-1808961 do not specifically teach sending a radio link control status report by using the uplink shared channel resource, wherein the radio link control status report is used to provide a positive acknowledgement of a radio link control service data unit.
In an analogous art, Paladugu discloses sending a radio link control (i.e. RLC) status report by using the uplink shared channel resource (i.e. PUSCH), wherein the radio link control status report is used to provide a positive acknowledgement of a radio link control service data unit (“the PUSCH communication may include a non-data communication, such as uplink control information (UCI), a channel state information (CSI) report, acknowledgement (ACK) or negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback (collectively, ACK/NACK feedback), a radio link control (RLC) status report, and/or the like.” [0068]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burbidge’s method of handling a RRC Resume message, as modified by R2-1808961, to include Paladugu’s method for RLC status reporting using PUSCH to provide a positive acknowledgement of a radio link control service data unit (Paladugu [0068]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Paladugu’s method for RLC status reporting using PUSCH into Burbidge’s method of handling a RRC Resume message since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3
Burbidge, as modified by R2-1808961 and Paladugu, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message comprises:
R2-1808961 further discloses determining the scheduling request configuration information based on the master cell group (“2> indicate to lower layers that stored UE AS context is used; 2> reset the header compression protocol context for the DRBs configured with the header compression protocol; 1> discard the stored UE AS context and I-RNTI; 1> if the RRCResume includes the masterCellGroup: 2> perform the cell group configuration for the received masterCellGroup according to 5.3.5.5” section 5.3.13.4).
Regarding claim 5
Burbidge, as modified by R2-1808961 and Paladugu, previously discloses the method according to claim 1,
R2-1808961 further discloses wherein the scheduling request configuration information comprises a scheduling request resource identifier (i.e. “SchedulingRequestID”).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended)
Burbidge discloses a wireless communication apparatus (i.e. “communication device 200” in Fig. 2; [0021]), comprising:
a receiver (“transmission medium 226 via the network interface device 220” [0024]);
a transmitter (“transmission medium 226 via the network interface device 220” [0024]);
at least one processor (“processor 202 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a GPU, a hardware processor core, or any combination thereof)” [0021]); and
one or more memories (“main memory 204 and a static memory 206” [0021]) coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to:
receive, by the receiver, a radio resource control (RRC) resume message;
determine scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message, wherein the scheduling request configuration information is used to obtain an uplink shared channel resource, wherein determining the scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message comprises restoring a master cell group, the restored master cell group comprises a first information element for scheduling request configuration, a second information element for logical channel configuration, and a third information element for scheduling request resource configuration, and wherein each of the three information elements comprises a scheduling request identifier, wherein determining the scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message comprises resuming an RRC connection in response to the RRC resume message, and wherein the resuming an RRC connection comprises:
restoring the master cell group from a stored user equipment inactive access stratum context; and
determining the scheduling request configuration information based on the master cell group;
when the scheduling request identifiers in the three information elements are consistent, sending a scheduling request signal to request the uplink shared channel resource; and
send, by the transmitter, a radio link control status report by using the uplink shared channel resource, wherein the radio link control status report is used to provide a positive acknowledgement of a radio link control service data unit.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 6 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 6 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 8
The wireless communication apparatus according to claim 6, wherein determining the scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message comprises:
determining the scheduling request configuration information based on the RRC resume message.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 8 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 3. Therefore apparatus claim 8 corresponds to method claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 3 rejection above.
Regarding claim 10
The wireless communication apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the scheduling request configuration information comprises a scheduling request resource identifier.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 10 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 5. Therefore apparatus claim 10 corresponds to method claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 5 rejection above.
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended)
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer- readable storage medium stores computer-executable instructions, and when the computer- executable instructions are invoked by a computer, the computer is enabled to perform operations comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) resume message;
determining scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message, wherein the scheduling request configuration information is used to obtain an uplink shared channel resource, wherein determining the scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message comprises restoring a master cell group, the restored master cell group comprises a first information element for scheduling request configuration, a second information element for logical channel configuration, and a third information element for scheduling request resource configuration, and wherein each of the three information elements comprises a scheduling request identifier, wherein the determining scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message comprises resuming an RRC connection in response to the RRC resume message, and wherein the resuming an RRC connection comprises:
restoring the master cell group from a stored user equipment inactive access stratum context; and
determining the scheduling request configuration information based on the master cell group;
when the scheduling request identifiers in the three information elements are consistent, sending a scheduling request signal to request the uplink shared channel resource; and
sending a radio link control status report by using the uplink shared channel resource, wherein the radio link control status report is used to provide a positive acknowledgement of a radio link control service data unit.
The scope and subject matter of non-transitory computer readable medium claim 11 is drawn to the computer program product of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1. Therefore computer program product claim 11 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 13
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11, wherein the determining scheduling request configuration information in response to the RRC resume message comprises:
determining the scheduling request configuration information based on the RRC resume message.
The scope and subject matter of non-transitory computer readable medium claim 13 is drawn to the computer program product of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 3. Therefore computer program product claim 13 corresponds to method claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 3 rejection above.
Regarding claim 16
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11, wherein the scheduling request configuration information comprises a scheduling request resource identifier.
The scope and subject matter of non-transitory computer readable medium claim 16 is drawn to the computer program product of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 5. Therefore computer program product claim 16 corresponds to method claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 5 rejection above.
Claims 4, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burbidge, in view of R2-1808961 and Paladugu, and further in view of Lee US Pub 2020/0267762, claiming foreign priority 2019-02-14 (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 4
Burbidge, as modified by R2-1808961 and Paladugu, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Burbidge, R2-1808961, and Paladugu do not specifically teach sending an RRC resume complete message by using the uplink shared channel resource, wherein the RRC resume complete message is used to confirm successful completion of an RRC connection resumption.
In an analogous art, Lee discloses sending an RRC resume complete message by using the uplink shared channel resource, wherein the RRC resume complete message is used to confirm successful completion of an RRC connection resumption (“In step 1713, UE may transmit, to gNB, an RRC message, such as RRC Setup or Resume Complete message (for example, including an initial UE message) via PUSCH upon success of the LBT procedure in step 1712.” [0323]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burbidge’s method of handling a RRC Resume message, as modified by R2-1808961 and Paladugu, to include Lee’s method for transmitting or receiving a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) for random access in a wireless communication system, in order to facilitate RRC resume message transmission (Lee [0310]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate include Lee’s method for transmitting or receiving a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) for random access in a wireless communication system into Burbidge’s method of handling a RRC Resume message since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 9
The wireless communication apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the programming instructions are for execution by the at least one processor to send, by the transmitter, an RRC resume complete message by using the uplink shared channel resource, wherein the RRC resume complete message is used to confirm successful completion of an RRC connection resumption.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 9 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 4. Therefore apparatus claim 9 corresponds to method claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 4 rejection above.
Regarding claim 15
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise:
sending an RRC resume complete message by using the uplink shared channel resource, wherein the RRC resume complete message is used to confirm successful completion of an RRC connection resumption.
The scope and subject matter of non-transitory computer readable medium claim 15 is drawn to the computer program product of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 4. Therefore computer program product claim 15 corresponds to method claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 4 rejection above.
Claims 18, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burbidge, in view of R2-1808961 and Paladugu, and further in view of Zhang et al. US Pub 2021/0258989 (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 18
Burbidge, as modified by R2-1808961 and Paladugu, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, comprising:
Burbidge, R2-1808961, and Paladugu do not specifically teach when the scheduling request identifiers in the three information elements are inconsistent, initiating a random access procedure.
In an analogous art, Zhang discloses when the scheduling request identifiers in the three information elements are inconsistent, initiating a random access procedure (“If the BWP that the PUCCH resources or SchedulingRequestResourceConfig belong to is not active or in operation, then the UE may be considered to have no valid PUCCH resources for sending the scheduling request triggered by the sidelink BSR. The UE may select scheduling request configuration or PUCCH resources as disclosed in Implementation 4. The UE may also trigger a random access procedure, and preferably, cancel the pending SR.” [0100]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burbidge’s method of handling a RRC Resume message, as modified by R2-1808961 and Paladugu, to include Zhang's control method for UE, in order to efficiently manage scheduling request resources (Zhang [0007]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Zhang's control method for UE into Burbidge’s method of handling a RRC Resume message since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 23
The wireless communication apparatus according to claim 6, comprising:
when the scheduling request identifiers in the three information elements are inconsistent, initiating a random access procedure.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 23 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 18. Therefore apparatus claim 23 corresponds to method claim 18 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 18 rejection above.
Regarding claim 25 (New)
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 11, the operations comprising: when the scheduling request identifiers in the three information elements are inconsistent, initiating a random access procedure.
The scope and subject matter of non-transitory computer readable medium claim 25 is drawn to the computer program product of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 18. Therefore computer program product claim 25 corresponds to method claim 18 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 18 rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411