DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Comments
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 17 and 22-40 are pending and examined in the instant Office action.
Even though the claims recite judicial exceptions, the claims recite a core algorithm involving deep learning that is too complex to be performed in the human mind.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejections from the previous Office action are withdrawn in view of amendments filed to the instant set of claims on 27 August 2026. The rejections in this Office action are newly applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 22-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. [Scientific Reports, volume 9, 2019, article 11088, 12 pages; on IDS] in view of Ohsaka et al. [US PGPUB 2019/0347467 A1; on IDS].
Claim 17 is drawn to an analyzer configured to analyze a specimen containing cells. The analyzer comprises a sample preparator configured to prepare a measurement sample from the specimen and a reagent, wherein the specimen is assigned with a specimen ID. The analyzer comprises a detector configured to optically interrogate individual cells in the measurement sample. The analyzer comprises a signal processor configured to obtain feature data of the individual cells by processing a signal obtained by optical interrogation of the individual cells by the detector. The analyzer comprises a processor programmed to analyze the feature data by a deep learning algorithm. The deep learning algorithm is trained to output a classification data of the individual cell in response to an input of the feature data of the individual cell. The classification data includes a set of values each corresponding to one cell type of multiple cell types and the value represents a probability that the individual cell belongs to the individual cell type within the multiple cell types. The algorithm comprises determining, for the individual cell, a first cell type and a second cell type based on the classification data wherein the first cell type has a first probability being the highest probability within multiple probabilities that the individual cell belongs to the multiple cell types and the second cell type has a second probability lower than the first probability of the first cell type within the multiple cell types. The algorithm comprises generating a result data in association with the specimen ID. The result data includes a first analysis result including a count of cells and/or classification of cells in the specimen, wherein the first analysis result is generated based on the first cell type and a second analysis result generated based on the second cell type.
The document of Li et al. studies deep cytometry as deep learning with real-time inference in cell sorting and flow cytometry [title]. Figure 6 on page 8 of Li et al. illustrates the apparatus limitations including the sample preparator, a detector, and a signal processor. Figure 1b on page 3 of Li et al. illustrates an application of the deep learning as assigning probabilities to SW-480 colorectal cancer cells and OT-II hybridoma white blood cells. Figures 2a and 2b on page 5 of Li et al. illustrate different probabilities of cells being correctly classified as belonging to the plotted cell type (Figure 2a of Li et al. is probability of correctly belonging to and being properly classified to SW-480, and Figure 2b of Li et al. is probability of correctly belonging and being properly classified to OT-II). In Figures 1b, 2a, and 2b of Li et al, SW-480 is the first cell type, and OT-II is the second cell type.
Li et al. does not teach all of the limitations regarding specimen ID.
The document of Ohsaka et al. studies an image analysis method, apparatus, non-transitory computer readable medium, and deep learning algorithm generation method [title]. Figures 5 and 13 of Ohsaka et al. illustrate the computer for signal processing and computerized optical detector for optical analysis and optical interrogation of a sample. Figure 4 of Ohsaka et al. illustrates the cellular images with specimen IDs 70, 72Y, 72Cb, and 72Cr. Paragraphs 57 and 58 of Ohsaka et al. outline the deep learning and image classification algorithm of Ohsaka et al. Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches an example of output of the classification that results from the deep learning algorithm. Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that deep learning successfully classifies a segmented neutrophil with a probability of 97.6%. Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that deep learning successfully classifies a bone marrow cell with a probability of 94%.
With regard to claim 22, Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches an example of output of the classification that results from the deep learning algorithm. For example, deep learning successfully classifies a segmented neutrophil with a success rate of 97.6% (i.e. the first analysis result). The statistic of Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that the segmented neutrophil is classified as at least a second cell type with a rate of 2.4% (i.e. the second analysis result). Consequently, with a rate of 2.4%, at least one processor provides a different result from the first analysis result.
With regard to claim 23-28, Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. teach normal cell types, abnormal cell types, lymphocytes, monocytes, eosinophils, neutrophils, basophils, blast cells, and abnormal lymphocytes. The tables in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. label/flag each cell type with an identifier. The tables in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. at least suggest results capable of being ranked.
With regard to claims 29-30, paragraphs 51-54 of Ohsaka et al. teach training based on features of the cells, including morphological features.
With regard to claims 31-33, Figure 6 of Li et al. illustrates the structure of the optical detection device with a flow cell for measuring cellular features, and signal/waveform/data matrix processing.
With regard to claims 34-35, paragraphs 84 and 88 of Ohsaka et al. teach parallel processors for simultaneous processing of portions of arithmetic/matrix signal data.
With regard to claims 36-40, Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches an example of output of the classification that results from the deep learning algorithm. For example, deep learning classifies a segmented neutrophil as a segmented neutrophil with a success rate of 97.6%. The statistic of Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that the segmented neutrophil is classified as at least a second cell type with a rate of 2.4%. Consequently, with a rate of 2.4%, at least one processor provides a different result from the first analysis result. Even though the results and probabilities regarding cell type in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. are tabulated, it is obvious to convert the tabulated results into graphs. It is obvious to extract only results in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. that meet a threshold accuracy.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the deep learning and image analysis techniques of Li et al. by use of the cell sorting and labeling techniques of Ohsaka et al. wherein the motivation would have been that Ohsaka et al. adds additional empirical techniques and mathematical algorithms that facilitate the analysis of cell types [Figures 4 and 17 of Ohsaka et al.]. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in combining Li et al. and Ohsaka et al. because both studies are analogously applicable to using deep learning to analyze sorted cells.
Response to arguments:
Applicant's arguments filed 27 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendments to the claims overcome the rejection. The document of Li et al. has been added to address the limitations. The classification accuracy of each of SW-480 and OT-II cell types still meets the limitation of “a probability within multiple probabilities that the individual cell belongs to the cell types” because correctly classifying a cell as SW-480 or OT-II cell type is still a probability that the cell assayed belongs to the SW-480 or OT-II cell type. In Figure 1b of Li et al., the only other option for a cell type for an incorrectly classified SW-480 cell is as an OT-II cell. Likewise, the only other option for a cell type for an incorrectly classified OT-II cell is as an SW-480 cell.
Double Patenting
Double Patenting Rejection #1:
Claim [17, 22-39, or 40] is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim [1 or 8] of U.S. Patent 12,663,359 in view of Li et al. in view of Ohsaka et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both studies are analogously applicable to using deep learning to analyze cellular features and images.
Application ‘359 does not teach the probability analysis or sample IDs.
The document of Li et al. studies deep cytometry as deep learning with real-time inference in cell sorting and flow cytometry [title]. Figure 6 on page 8 of Li et al. illustrates the apparatus limitations including the sample preparator, a detector, and a signal processor. Figure 1b on page 3 of Li et al. illustrates an application of the deep learning as assigning probabilities to SW-480 colorectal cancer cells and OT-II hybridoma white blood cells. Figures 2a and 2b on page 5 of Li et al. illustrate different probabilities of cells being correctly classified as belonging to the plotted cell type (Figure 2a of Li et al. is probability of correctly belonging to and being properly classified to SW-480, and Figure 2b of Li et al. is probability of correctly belonging and being properly classified to OT-II). In Figures 1b, 2a, and 2b of Li et al, SW-480 is the first cell type, and OT-II is the second cell type.
The document of Ohsaka et al. studies an image analysis method, apparatus, non-transitory computer readable medium, and deep learning algorithm generation method [title]. Figures 5 and 13 of Ohsaka et al. illustrates the computer for signal processing and computerized optical detector for optical analysis and optical interrogation of a sample. Figure 4 of Ohsaka et al. illustrates the cellular images with specimen IDs 70, 72Y, 72Cb, and 72Cr. Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that deep learning successfully classifies a segmented neutrophil with a probability of 97.6%. Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that deep learning successfully classifies a bone marrow cell with a probability of 94%.
With regard to claim 22, Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches an example of output of the classification that results from the deep learning algorithm. For example, deep learning successfully classifies a segmented neutrophil with a success rate of 97.6% (i.e. the first analysis result). The statistic of Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that the segmented neutrophil is classified as at least a second cell type with a rate of 2.4% (i.e. the second analysis result). Consequently, with a rate of 2.4%, at least one processor provides a different result from the first analysis result.
With regard to claim 23-28, Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. teach normal cell types, abnormal cell types, lymphocytes, monocytes, eosinophils, neutrophils, basophils, blast cells, and abnormal lymphocytes. The tables in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. label/flag each cell type with an identifier. The tables in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. at least suggest results capable of being ranked.
With regard to claims 29-30, paragraphs 51-54 of Ohsaka et al. teach training based on features of the cells, including morphological features.
With regard to claims 31-33, Figure 6 of Li et al. illustrates the structure of the optical detection device with a flow cell for measuring cellular features, and signal/waveform/data matrix processing.
With regard to claims 34-35, paragraphs 84 and 88 of Ohsaka et al. teach parallel processors for simultaneous processing of portions of arithmetic/matrix signal data.
With regard to claims 36-40, Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches an example of output of the classification that results from the deep learning algorithm. For example, deep learning classifies a segmented neutrophil as a segmented neutrophil with a success rate of 97.6%. The statistic of Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that the segmented neutrophil is classified as at least a second cell type with a rate of 2.4%. Consequently, with a rate of 2.4%, at least one processor provides a different result from the first analysis result. Even though the results and probabilities regarding cell type in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. are tabulated, it is obvious to convert the tabulated results into graphs. It is obvious to extract only results in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. that meet a threshold accuracy.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the deep learning and image analysis techniques of the claims of ‘359 by use of the deep learning probability analysis of Li et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the mathematical techniques of Li et al. facilitate the analysis of the claims of ‘359 [Figure 1b of Li et al.].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the deep learning and image analysis techniques of the claims of ‘359 and Li et al. by use of the sample IDs of Ohsaka et al. wherein the motivation would have been that identifying the sample facilitates data analysis [Figure 4 of Ohsaka et al.].
Response to arguments:
Applicant has no arguments with regard to the double patenting rejections.
Double Patenting Rejection #2:
Claims [17, 22, 26-29, 32-33, 36-39, or 40], 23, 24, 25, 30, 31, 34, and 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims [1 or 12], [2 or 13], [3 or 14], [4 or 15], and 8-11, respectively, of U.S. Patent 12,437,563 in view of Li et al. in view of Ohsaka et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both studies are analogously applicable to using deep learning to analyze cellular features and images.
Application ‘563 does not teach the probability analysis or sample IDs.
The document of Li et al. studies deep cytometry as deep learning with real-time inference in cell sorting and flow cytometry [title]. Figure 6 on page 8 of Li et al. illustrates the apparatus limitations including the sample preparator, a detector, and a signal processor. Figure 1b on page 3 of Li et al. illustrates an application of the deep learning as assigning probabilities to SW-480 colorectal cancer cells and OT-II hybridoma white blood cells. Figures 2a and 2b on page 5 of Li et al. illustrate different probabilities of cells being correctly classified as belonging to the plotted cell type (Figure 2a of Li et al. is probability of correctly belonging to and being properly classified to SW-480, and Figure 2b of Li et al. is probability of correctly belonging and being properly classified to OT-II). In Figures 1b, 2a, and 2b of Li et al, SW-480 is the first cell type, and OT-II is the second cell type.
The document of Ohsaka et al. studies an image analysis method, apparatus, non-transitory computer readable medium, and deep learning algorithm generation method [title]. Figures 5 and 13 of Ohsaka et al. illustrates the computer for signal processing and computerized optical detector for optical analysis and optical interrogation of a sample. Figure 4 of Ohsaka et al. illustrates the cellular images with specimen IDs 70, 72Y, 72Cb, and 72Cr. Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that deep learning successfully classifies a segmented neutrophil with a probability of 97.6%. Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that deep learning successfully classifies a bone marrow cell with a probability of 94%.
With regard to claim 22, Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches an example of output of the classification that results from the deep learning algorithm. For example, deep learning successfully classifies a segmented neutrophil with a success rate of 97.6% (i.e. the first analysis result). The statistic of Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that the segmented neutrophil is classified as at least a second cell type with a rate of 2.4% (i.e. the second analysis result). Consequently, with a rate of 2.4%, at least one processor provides a different result from the first analysis result.
With regard to claim 23-28, Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. teach normal cell types, abnormal cell types, lymphocytes, monocytes, eosinophils, neutrophils, basophils, blast cells, and abnormal lymphocytes. The tables in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. label/flag each cell type with an identifier. The tables in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. at least suggest results capable of being ranked.
With regard to claims 29-30, paragraphs 51-54 of Ohsaka et al. teach training based on features of the cells, including morphological features.
With regard to claims 31-33, Figure 6 of Li et al. illustrates the structure of the optical detection device with a flow cell for measuring cellular features, and signal/waveform/data matrix processing.
With regard to claims 34-35, paragraphs 84 and 88 of Ohsaka et al. teach parallel processors for simultaneous processing of portions of arithmetic/matrix signal data.
With regard to claims 36-40, Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches an example of output of the classification that results from the deep learning algorithm. For example, deep learning classifies a segmented neutrophil as a segmented neutrophil with a success rate of 97.6%. The statistic of Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that the segmented neutrophil is classified as at least a second cell type with a rate of 2.4%. Consequently, with a rate of 2.4%, at least one processor provides a different result from the first analysis result. Even though the results and probabilities regarding cell type in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. are tabulated, it is obvious to convert the tabulated results into graphs. It is obvious to extract only results in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. that meet a threshold accuracy.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the deep learning and image analysis techniques of the claims of ‘563 by use of the deep learning probability analysis of Li et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the mathematical techniques of Li et al. facilitate the analysis of the claims of ‘563 [Figure 1b of Li et al.].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the deep learning and image analysis techniques of the claims of ‘563 and Li et al. by use of the sample IDs of Ohsaka et al. wherein the motivation would have been that identifying the sample facilitates data analysis [Figure 4 of Ohsaka et al.].
Response to arguments:
Applicant has no arguments with regard to the double patenting rejections.
Double Patenting Rejection #3:
Claims [17, 26-28, or 32], 22-25, 29-31, and 33-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20, 22-28, and 30-37, respectively, of copending Application No. 17/691,739 (reference application) in view of Ohsaka et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both studies are analogously applicable to using deep learning to analyze cellular features and images.
Application ‘739 does not teach sample IDs.
The document of Ohsaka et al. studies an image analysis method, apparatus, non-transitory computer readable medium, and deep learning algorithm generation method [title]. Figures 5 and 13 of Ohsaka et al. illustrates the computer for signal processing and computerized optical detector for optical analysis and optical interrogation of a sample. Figure 4 of Ohsaka et al. illustrates the cellular images with specimen IDs 70, 72Y, 72Cb, and 72Cr.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the deep learning and image analysis techniques of the claims of ‘739 by use of the sample IDs of Ohsaka et al. wherein the motivation would have been that identifying the sample facilitates data analysis [Figure 4 of Ohsaka et al.].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to arguments:
Applicant has no arguments with regard to the double patenting rejections.
Double Patenting Rejection #4:
Claim [17, 22-39, or 40] is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/393,197 (reference application) in view of Li et al. in view of Ohsaka et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both studies are analogously applicable to using deep learning to analyze cellular features and images.
Application ‘197 does not teach the probability analysis or sample IDs.
The document of Li et al. studies deep cytometry as deep learning with real-time inference in cell sorting and flow cytometry [title]. Figure 6 on page 8 of Li et al. illustrates the apparatus limitations including the sample preparator, a detector, and a signal processor. Figure 1b on page 3 of Li et al. illustrates an application of the deep learning as assigning probabilities to SW-480 colorectal cancer cells and OT-II hybridoma white blood cells. Figures 2a and 2b on page 5 of Li et al. illustrate different probabilities of cells being correctly classified as belonging to the plotted cell type (Figure 2a of Li et al. is probability of correctly belonging to and being properly classified to SW-480, and Figure 2b of Li et al. is probability of correctly belonging and being properly classified to OT-II). In Figures 1b, 2a, and 2b of Li et al, SW-480 is the first cell type, and OT-II is the second cell type.
The document of Ohsaka et al. studies an image analysis method, apparatus, non-transitory computer readable medium, and deep learning algorithm generation method [title]. Figures 5 and 13 of Ohsaka et al. illustrates the computer for signal processing and computerized optical detector for optical analysis and optical interrogation of a sample. Figure 4 of Ohsaka et al. illustrates the cellular images with specimen IDs 70, 72Y, 72Cb, and 72Cr. Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that deep learning successfully classifies a segmented neutrophil with a probability of 97.6%. Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that deep learning successfully classifies a bone marrow cell with a probability of 94%.
With regard to claim 22, Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches an example of output of the classification that results from the deep learning algorithm. For example, deep learning successfully classifies a segmented neutrophil with a success rate of 97.6% (i.e. the first analysis result). The statistic of Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that the segmented neutrophil is classified as at least a second cell type with a rate of 2.4% (i.e. the second analysis result). Consequently, with a rate of 2.4%, at least one processor provides a different result from the first analysis result.
With regard to claim 23-28, Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. teach normal cell types, abnormal cell types, lymphocytes, monocytes, eosinophils, neutrophils, basophils, blast cells, and abnormal lymphocytes. The tables in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. label/flag each cell type with an identifier. The tables in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. at least suggest results capable of being ranked.
With regard to claims 29-30, paragraphs 51-54 of Ohsaka et al. teach training based on features of the cells, including morphological features.
With regard to claims 31-33, Figure 6 of Li et al. illustrates the structure of the optical detection device with a flow cell for measuring cellular features, and signal/waveform/data matrix processing.
With regard to claims 34-35, paragraphs 84 and 88 of Ohsaka et al. teach parallel processors for simultaneous processing of portions of arithmetic/matrix signal data.
With regard to claims 36-40, Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches an example of output of the classification that results from the deep learning algorithm. For example, deep learning classifies a segmented neutrophil as a segmented neutrophil with a success rate of 97.6%. The statistic of Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that the segmented neutrophil is classified as at least a second cell type with a rate of 2.4%. Consequently, with a rate of 2.4%, at least one processor provides a different result from the first analysis result. Even though the results and probabilities regarding cell type in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. are tabulated, it is obvious to convert the tabulated results into graphs. It is obvious to extract only results in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. that meet a threshold accuracy.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the deep learning and image analysis techniques of the claims of ‘197 by use of the deep learning probability analysis of Li et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the mathematical techniques of Li et al. facilitate the analysis of the claims of ‘197 [Figure 1b of Li et al.].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the deep learning and image analysis techniques of the claims of ‘197 and Li et al. by use of the sample IDs of Ohsaka et al. wherein the motivation would have been that identifying the sample facilitates data analysis [Figure 4 of Ohsaka et al.].
Response to arguments:
Applicant has no arguments with regard to the double patenting rejections.
Double Patenting Rejection #5:
Claim [17, 22-39, or 40] is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/593,960 (reference application) in view of Li et al. in view of Ohsaka et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both studies are analogously applicable to using deep learning to analyze cellular features and images.
Application ‘960 does not teach the probability analysis or sample IDs.
The document of Li et al. studies deep cytometry as deep learning with real-time inference in cell sorting and flow cytometry [title]. Figure 6 on page 8 of Li et al. illustrates the apparatus limitations including the sample preparator, a detector, and a signal processor. Figure 1b on page 3 of Li et al. illustrates an application of the deep learning as assigning probabilities to SW-480 colorectal cancer cells and OT-II hybridoma white blood cells. Figures 2a and 2b on page 5 of Li et al. illustrate different probabilities of cells being correctly classified as belonging to the plotted cell type (Figure 2a of Li et al. is probability of correctly belonging to and being properly classified to SW-480, and Figure 2b of Li et al. is probability of correctly belonging and being properly classified to OT-II). In Figures 1b, 2a, and 2b of Li et al, SW-480 is the first cell type, and OT-II is the second cell type.
The document of Ohsaka et al. studies an image analysis method, apparatus, non-transitory computer readable medium, and deep learning algorithm generation method [title]. Figures 5 and 13 of Ohsaka et al. illustrates the computer for signal processing and computerized optical detector for optical analysis and optical interrogation of a sample. Figure 4 of Ohsaka et al. illustrates the cellular images with specimen IDs 70, 72Y, 72Cb, and 72Cr. Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that deep learning successfully classifies a segmented neutrophil with a probability of 97.6%. Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that deep learning successfully classifies a bone marrow cell with a probability of 94%.
With regard to claim 22, Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches an example of output of the classification that results from the deep learning algorithm. For example, deep learning successfully classifies a segmented neutrophil with a success rate of 97.6% (i.e. the first analysis result). The statistic of Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that the segmented neutrophil is classified as at least a second cell type with a rate of 2.4% (i.e. the second analysis result). Consequently, with a rate of 2.4%, at least one processor provides a different result from the first analysis result.
With regard to claim 23-28, Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. teach normal cell types, abnormal cell types, lymphocytes, monocytes, eosinophils, neutrophils, basophils, blast cells, and abnormal lymphocytes. The tables in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. label/flag each cell type with an identifier. The tables in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. at least suggest results capable of being ranked.
With regard to claims 29-30, paragraphs 51-54 of Ohsaka et al. teach training based on features of the cells, including morphological features.
With regard to claims 31-33, Figure 6 of Li et al. illustrates the structure of the optical detection device with a flow cell for measuring cellular features, and signal/waveform/data matrix processing.
With regard to claims 34-35, paragraphs 84 and 88 of Ohsaka et al. teach parallel processors for simultaneous processing of portions of arithmetic/matrix signal data.
With regard to claims 36-40, Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches an example of output of the classification that results from the deep learning algorithm. For example, deep learning classifies a segmented neutrophil as a segmented neutrophil with a success rate of 97.6%. The statistic of Figure 17 of Ohsaka et al. teaches that the segmented neutrophil is classified as at least a second cell type with a rate of 2.4%. Consequently, with a rate of 2.4%, at least one processor provides a different result from the first analysis result. Even though the results and probabilities regarding cell type in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. are tabulated, it is obvious to convert the tabulated results into graphs. It is obvious to extract only results in Figures 17 and 18 of Ohsaka et al. that meet a threshold accuracy.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the deep learning and image analysis techniques of the claims of ‘960 by use of the deep learning probability analysis of Li et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the mathematical techniques of Li et al. facilitate the analysis of the claims of ‘960 [Figure 1b of Li et al.].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the deep learning and image analysis techniques of the claims of ‘960 and Li et al. by use of the sample IDs of Ohsaka et al. wherein the motivation would have been that identifying the sample facilitates data analysis [Figure 4 of Ohsaka et al.].
Response to arguments:
Applicant has no arguments with regard to the double patenting rejections.
E-mail Communications Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Larry Riggs, Supervisory Patent Examiner, can be reached at (571) 270-3062.
/RUSSELL S NEGIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1686 12 October 2026