DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed on 05/06/2026
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-12 of remarks, filed 05/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Kopko ( (US20190186801A1) in view of Song (US20200370794A1).
Applicant in page 11 argues in part, “Song fails to disclose "a control system configured to: ... activate the base stage of the plurality of stages and an additional stage of the plurality of stages in a second operating mode such that the base stage receives the return portion of the heat transfer fluid, the additional stage receives the heat transfer fluid from the base stage," as recited by amended independent claim 1”
Examiner agrees. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Kopko ( (US20190186801A1) in view of Song (US20200370794A1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10, 12-16 and 18-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Amended claim 10 recites,
A multi-stage thermal management system, comprising:
a fluid loop configured to supply a chilled heat transfer fluid to a plurality of thermal loads having different cooling demands, wherein each thermal load of the plurality of thermal loads comprises a respective heat exchanger configured to reject heat to the chilled heat transfer fluid to produce return heat transfer fluid;
a plurality of heat rejection components arranged in a plurality of stages, wherein the plurality of heat rejection components is fluidly coupled to the fluid loop, wherein the plurality of heat rejection components is configured to extract thermal energy from the return heat transfer fluid to produce the chilled heat transfer fluid; and
a control system configured to:
receive, from a first sensor, data indicative of a return temperature of a portion of the return heat transfer fluid;
receive, from a second sensor, data indicative of a first temperature of the chilled heat transfer fluid discharged from a heat rejection component of the plurality of heat rejection components associated with a selected stage of the plurality of stages via a conduit; and
adjust a valve system of the fluid loop to direct the portion of the return heat transfer fluid along the fluid loop and into the conduit in response to a determination that the return temperature is less than the first temperature
A thorough search has been conducted for the subject matter with the most relevant prior art found to be discussed.
Kopko (US20190186801A1) in fig. 3 and ¶0027-¶0031 teaches a fluid loop configured to supply cooling fluid 58 to load 62. ¶0027 teaches, The free cooling system 52 may include an air-cooled heat exchanger 56 that may receive and cool a cooling fluid 58. ¶0030 teaches, When free cooling is able to provide substantially all of the cooling load demand cooling fluid bypasses the evaporator 66 via a bypass valve 67. ¶0036 teaches, During hybrid mode, cooling fluid 58 may be directed toward the air-cooled heat exchanger 56 of the free cooling system 52, where the cooling fluid 58 may decrease in temperature from a first temperature to a second temperature. Additionally, the cooling fluid 58 may be directed toward the evaporator 66 of the mechanical cooling system 54 upon exiting the air-cooled heat exchanger 56. Upon exiting the evaporator 66, the cooling fluid 58 may be directed toward the load 62, where the cooling fluid 58 may be utilized to cool the load 62. However it doesn’t teach, receive, from a first sensor, data indicative of the return temperature; receive, from a second sensor, data indicative of a first temperature of the chilled heat transfer fluid discharged from the heat rejection component associated with the selected stage of the plurality of stages via a conduit; and adjust the valve system to direct the portion of the return heat transfer fluid along the fluid loop and into the conduit in response to a determination that the return temperature is less than the first temperature, in view of the rest limitations of claim 10.
Song (US20200370794A1) in ¶0101 teaches inflow pipes 41 and 45 guiding water to flow into the heat exchangers 101 and 102 and outflow pipes 31 and 35 guiding water discharged from the heat exchangers 101 and 102. ¶0077 teaches, the heat exchangers 101 and 102 may be provided so that a refrigerant flow path and the water flow path exchange heat with each other. For example, the heat exchangers 101 and 102 may include a plate heat exchanger capable of exchanging heat between water and a refrigerant. ¶0245 teaches the water cooled while passing through the first heat exchanger 101 and the second heat exchanger 102 may circulate in the indoor units 51, 52, 53, and 54 operating in the cooling mode. However it doesn’t teach, receive, from a first sensor, data indicative of the return temperature; receive, from a second sensor, data indicative of a first temperature of the chilled heat transfer fluid discharged from the heat rejection component associated with the selected stage of the plurality of stages via a conduit; and adjust the valve system to direct the portion of the return heat transfer fluid along the fluid loop and into the conduit in response to a determination that the return temperature is less than the first temperature, in view of the rest limitations of claim 10.
Martin (US20090120117A1) in ¶0046 and Fig. 6 teaches, controlling valve 644 to provide un-chilled (return heat transfer fluid) liquid coolant through a return portion 640 of low temperature storage devices 650 to medium temperature storage devices 660. It also teaches the valve 644 is controlled to ensure the mixed liquid has temperature of 25° F. ¶0013 teaches set-temperature for medium temperature storage device is 25° F. However it doesn’t teach, receive, from a first sensor, data indicative of the return temperature; receive, from a second sensor, data indicative of a first temperature of the chilled heat transfer fluid discharged from the heat rejection component associated with the selected stage of the plurality of stages via a conduit; and adjust the valve system to direct the portion of the return heat transfer fluid along the fluid loop and into the conduit in response to a determination that the return temperature is less than the first temperature, in view of the rest limitations of claim 10.
Hamada (US20230065130A1) ¶0035 teaches The heat source unit controller 31 performs flow control of the three-way valve 22 based on temperature information obtained from the supply water temperature sensor 14, the return water temperature sensor 23. ¶0047-0048 and Fig. 8-9 teaches three-way valve 22 controls direction of the return fluid through heat exchanger 21). However it doesn’t teach, receive, from a first sensor, data indicative of the return temperature; receive, from a second sensor, data indicative of a first temperature of the chilled heat transfer fluid discharged from the heat rejection component associated with the selected stage of the plurality of stages via a conduit; and adjust the valve system to direct the portion of the return heat transfer fluid along the fluid loop and into the conduit in response to a determination that the return temperature is less than the first temperature, in view of the rest limitations of claim 10.
Kopko (US20100242532A1) in ¶0038 teaches, Control circuitry 72 may be configured to switch chiller 12 between the first, second, and third modes of operation based on input received from temperature sensors 74 and 76. Temperature sensor 74 may sense the temperature of the ambient outside air and temperature sensor 76 may sense the temperature of the cooling fluid returning from the cooling load. In certain embodiments, when the ambient air temperature sensed by sensor 74 is below the cooling fluid temperature sensed by temperature sensor 76, control circuitry 72 may set chiller 12 to operate in a first mode of operation that employs free cooling by circulating the cooling fluid through the first circuit 30 of free cooling system 28. However it doesn’t teach, receive, from a first sensor, data indicative of the return temperature; receive, from a second sensor, data indicative of a first temperature of the chilled heat transfer fluid discharged from the heat rejection component associated with the selected stage of the plurality of stages via a conduit; and adjust the valve system to direct the portion of the return heat transfer fluid along the fluid loop and into the conduit in response to a determination that the return temperature is less than the first temperature, in view of the rest limitations of claim 10.
No other art could be found which alone or in combination teaches all the limitations of claim 10.
Claim 10 is therefore allowed.
Claims 12-15 depend on claim 10 and are therefore allowed due to their dependency.
Amended claim 16 recites,
A multi-stage thermal management system, comprising:
a fluid loop configured to supply a chilled heat transfer fluid to a plurality of heat exchangers, wherein the plurality of heat exchangers is configured to reject heat to the chilled heat transfer fluid to produce and discharge a return heat transfer fluid;
a plurality of stages of heat rejection components fluidly coupled to the fluid loop, wherein the plurality of stages of heat rejection components is configured to extract thermal energy from the return heat transfer fluid to generate the chilled heat transfer fluid, the plurality of stages of heat rejection components comprise a base stage configured to receive a first flow of the return heat transfer fluid from the plurality of heat exchangers and to discharge a second flow of the chilled heat transfer fluid, and the plurality of stages of heat rejection components comprise a first stage configured to receive the second flow of the chilled heat transfer fluid; and
a control system configured to adjust a valve system of the fluid loop to selectively direct a portion of the return heat transfer fluid to a selected stage of the plurality of stages of heat rejection components based on a return temperature of the portion of the return heat transfer fluid and respective temperatures of the chilled heat transfer fluid discharged from the plurality of stages of heat rejection components, and the control system is configured to adjust the valve system of the fluid loop to mix the portion of the return heat transfer fluid with the first flow of the return heat transfer fluid in response to a determination that the return temperature exceeds a corresponding temperature of the second flow of the chilled heat transfer fluid.
Prior art cited above fails to teach, “the control system is configured to adjust the valve system of the fluid loop to mix the portion of the return heat transfer fluid with the first flow of the return heat transfer fluid in response to a determination that the return temperature exceeds a corresponding temperature of the second flow of the chilled heat transfer fluid” in view of the rest of the limitations of claim 16.
No other art could be found which alone or in combination teaches all of the limitations of claim 16.
Claim 16 is therefore allowed.
Claims 18-20 depend on claim 16 and are therefore allowed due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopko ( (US20190186801A1) in view of Song (US20200370794A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Kopko teaches, A multi-stage thermal management system, comprising:
a fluid loop configured to supply a chilled portion of a heat transfer fluid to a …. thermal load(s) ….; (fig. 3 and ¶0027-¶0031 teaches a fluid loop configured to supply cooling fluid 58 to load 62)
a plurality of heat rejection components arranged in a plurality of stages and fluidly coupled to the fluid loop; and (¶0027-¶0031 and fig. 3 teaches free cooling system 52 and evaporator 66 fluidly coupled to the fluid loop)
a control system configured to: (¶0038 teaches controller 78)
activate a base stage of the plurality of stages in a first operating mode such that the base stage receives a return portion of the heat transfer fluid and outputs the chilled portion of the heat transfer fluid toward the … thermal load(s); and (¶0027 teaches, The free cooling system 52 may include an air-cooled heat exchanger 56 that may receive and cool a cooling fluid 58. Also teaches, the cooling fluid 58 may ultimately be re-directed toward the load 62 to lower a temperature of the load 62. ¶0030 teaches, When free cooling is able to provide substantially all of the cooling load demand cooling fluid bypasses the evaporator 66 via a bypass valve 67)
activate the base stage of the plurality of stages and an additional stage of the plurality of stages in a second operating mode such that the base stage receives the return portion of the heat transfer fluid, the additional stage receives the heat transfer fluid from the base stage, and the additional stage outputs the chilled portion of the heat transfer fluid toward the …thermal load(s). (¶0036 teaches, when a cooling load demand exceeds an amount that the free cooling system 52 may provide alone, the free cooling system 52 and the mechanical cooling system 54 may operate simultaneously (e.g., a hybrid cooling mode). During this mode, cooling fluid 58 may be directed toward the air-cooled heat exchanger 56 of the free cooling system 52, where the cooling fluid 58 may decrease in temperature from a first temperature to a second temperature (e.g., the second temperature is less than the first temperature). Additionally, the cooling fluid 58 may be directed toward the evaporator 66 of the mechanical cooling system 54 upon exiting the air-cooled heat exchanger 56. The cooling fluid 58 may further decrease in temperature from the second temperature to a third temperature (e.g., the third temperature is less than the second temperature, and thus, the first temperature) during the hybrid cooling mode. Upon exiting the evaporator 66, the cooling fluid 58 may be directed toward the load 62, where the cooling fluid 58 may be utilized to cool the load 62.)
Kopko doesn’t explicitly teach, a plurality of thermal loads having different cooling demands; and …plurality of thermal loads… (Kopko in fig. 3 and ¶0027-¶0031 teaches load 62. However, it doesn’t teach plurality of loads having different cooling demands. Song in ¶0078 teaches, The indoor unit 50 may include a plurality of indoor units 51, 52, 53, and 54. ¶0291 teaches, indoor units 50 may have different capacities)
Song is an art in the area of interest as it relates to an air conditioning apparatus and a control method thereof (see ¶0002). Kopko teaches supplying chilled heat transfer fluid to cooling load. Song teaches a plurality of cooling load having different cooling demands. A combination of Song with Kopko would allow the system to include plurality of cooling loads having different cooling demands. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the system of Kopko, a plurality of cooling load having different cooling demand as taught by Song since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 8,
Kopko and Song teaches, The multi-stage thermal management system of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to:
activate the base stage without operating the additional stage in the first operating mode to supply the chilled portion of the heat transfer fluid to the plurality of thermal loads; and (Kopko in ¶0030 teaches, When free cooling is able to provide substantially all of the cooling load demand (e.g., when ambient air temperature is below a threshold temperature), the mechanical cooling system 54 does not operate and cooling fluid bypasses the evaporator 66 via a bypass valve 67. Song in ¶0078 teaches, The indoor unit 50 may include a plurality of indoor units 51, 52, 53, and 54. ¶0291 teaches, indoor units 50 may have different capacities)
activate the base stage and the additional stage in the second operating mode based on a determination that the heat transfer fluid discharged by a heat rejection component of the plurality of heat rejection components within the base stage does not satisfy the different cooling demands of the plurality of thermal loads. (¶0036 teaches, when a cooling load demand exceeds an amount that the free cooling system 52 may provide alone, the free cooling system 52 and the mechanical cooling system 54 may operate simultaneously (e.g., a hybrid cooling mode). Song in ¶0078 teaches, The indoor unit 50 may include a plurality of indoor units 51, 52, 53, and 54. ¶0291 teaches, indoor units 50 may have different capacities)
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopko ( (US20190186801A1) in view of Song (US20200370794A1) and further in view of Zhuo (US20200256573A1)
Regarding claim 2,
Kopko and Song doesn’t teach, The multi-stage thermal management system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of thermal loads comprises one or more low temperature thermal loads having a first target temperature set-point and one or more high temperature thermal loads having a second target temperature set-point different than the first target temperature set-point. (Song in ¶0078 teaches a plurality of indoor units. However, it teach the indoor units having different set-points. Zhuo in ¶0138 and table I teaches a plurality of indoor units with different target temperature.)
Zhuo is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, multi-split air conditioner (see Abstract). A combination of Zhuo with Kopko and Song would teach the indoor units having different set point temperatures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Zhuo with Kopko and Song. Different indoor units having different target temperature is known in the art as evident by Zhuo in ¶0004 (“the target temperatures of different rooms may vary”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in the indoor units of Song the ability to have different set-point temperature as taught by Zhuo since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3,
Kopko, Song and Zhuo teaches, The multi-stage thermal management system of claim 2, comprising a plurality of valves fluidly coupled to the plurality of heat rejection components, the one or more low temperature thermal loads, and the one or more high temperature thermal loads, wherein the control system is configured to control the plurality of valves to selectively direct, in at least the first operating mode, the chilled portion of the heat transfer fluid discharged from a first heat rejection component of the plurality of heat rejection components associated with the base stage of the plurality of stages to a first heat exchanger of the one or more low temperature thermal loads based on the first target temperature set-point. (Song in Fig. 2 and ¶0138, ¶0063, ¶0131 teaches a plurality of valves fluidly coupled to plurality of heat exchangers and plurality of indoor units. ¶0305 teaches, the air conditioning apparatus 1 may perform valve control so that the refrigerant and water may circulate according to the result of matching the heat exchangers 101 and 102 and the operated indoor units (S50). Zhuo in ¶0138 and table I teaches a plurality of indoor units with different target temperatures including a low temperature and high temperature)
Regarding claim 4,
Kopko, Song and Zhuo teaches, The multi-stage thermal management system of claim 3, wherein the control system is configured to control the plurality of valves to selectively direct, in at least the second operating mode, the chilled portion of the heat transfer fluid discharged from a second heat rejection component of the plurality of heat rejection components associated with the additional stage of the plurality of stages to a second heat exchanger of the one or more high temperature thermal loads based on the second target temperature set-point. (Song in Fig. 2 and ¶0138, ¶0063, ¶0131 teaches a plurality of valves fluidly coupled to plurality of heat exchangers and plurality of indoor units. ¶0305 teaches, the air conditioning apparatus 1 may perform valve control so that the refrigerant and water may circulate according to the result of matching the heat exchangers 101 and 102 and the operated indoor units (S50). Zhuo in ¶0138 and table I teaches a plurality of indoor units with different target temperatures including a low temperature and high temperature)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopko ( (US20190186801A1) in view of Song (US20200370794A1) and further in view of Zhuo (US20200256573A1) and further in view of Martin (US20090120117A1)
Regarding claim 5,
Kopko, Song and Zhuo doesn’t teach, The multi-stage thermal management system of claim 4, wherein the first heat exchanger of the one or more low temperature thermal loads is configured to reject heat to the chilled portion of the heat transfer fluid and wherein the control system is configured to control the plurality of valves based on the second target temperature set-point of the one or more high temperature thermal loads to direct the heat transfer fluid discharged from the first heat exchanger of the one or more low temperature thermal loads to the second heat exchanger of the one or more high temperature thermal loads. (Martin in ¶0046 and Fig. 6 teaches, controlling valve 644 to provide un-chilled (return heat transfer fluid) liquid coolant through a return portion 640 of low temperature storage devices 650 to medium temperature storage devices 660. It also teaches the valve 644 is controlled to ensure the mixed liquid has temperature of 25° F. ¶0013 teaches set-temperature for medium temperature storage device is 25° F.)
Martin is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, a refrigeration system (Abstract). A combination of Martin with Kopko, Song and Zhuo would allow controlling the plurality of valves based on the second target temperature set-point of the one or more high temperature thermal loads to direct a portion of the return heat transfer fluid discharged from the first heat exchanger of the one or more low temperature thermal loads to the second heat exchanger of the one or more high temperature thermal loads. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Martin with Kopko, Song and Zhuo. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow using a single primary loop to provide cooling to loads having both low and medium temperature requirements, as taught by Martin in ¶0047.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopko ( (US20190186801A1) in view of Song (US20200370794A1) and further in view of Spethmann (US4463574A)
Regarding claim 6,
Kopko and Song doesn’t teach, The multi-stage thermal management system of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to selectively activate one or more heat rejection components of the plurality of heat rejection components based on one or more efficiency parameters, wherein the one or more efficiency parameters comprise a cost of electrical energy, a cost of water, a temperature of ambient air surrounding the multi-stage thermal management system, a humidity level of the ambient air, or a combination thereof. (Spethmann in Fig. 6 and Column 6 Line 56 – Column 7 Line 42 teaches selectively activating chillers based on cost)
Spethmann is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, selecting a combination of chillers (Abstract). A combination of Spethmann with Kopko and Song would allow the system to selectively activating chillers based on cost. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Spethmann with Kopko and Song. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow the system to select a combination of the chillers which will require a minimum energy input to meet building load conditions, as taught by Spethmann in Column 2 Line 44-55.
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopko ( (US20190186801A1) in view of Song (US20200370794A1) and further in view of Hamada (US20230065130A1)
Regarding claim 7,
Kopko and Song doesn’t teach, The multi-stage thermal management system of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to adjust a valve system of the fluid loop to selectively direct the return portion of the heat transfer fluid to a selected stage of the plurality of stages of heat rejection components based on a return temperature of the return portion of the heat transfer fluid and respective temperatures of the chilled portion of the heat transfer fluid discharged from the plurality of stages of heat rejection components. (Hamada in ¶0035 teaches The heat source unit controller 31 performs flow control of the three-way valve 22 based on temperature information obtained from the supply water temperature sensor 14, the return water temperature sensor 23. ¶0047-0048 and Fig. 8-9 teaches three-way valve 22 controls direction of the return fluid through heat exchanger 21)
Hamada is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, an air conditioning system (Abstract). A combination of Hamada with Kopko and Song would allow controlling a valve system of the fluid loop to selectively direct a portion of the return heat transfer fluid to a heat rejection component of the plurality of heat rejection components associated with a selected stage of the plurality of stages based on a return temperature of the portion of the return heat transfer fluid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Hamada with Kopko and Song because doing so would allow the system to use free-cooling and minimize total power consumed by a heat source unit and a pump and suppress increase in cost of the system, as taught by Hamada in ¶0007.
Regarding claim 9,
Kopko and Song doesn’t teach, The multi-stage thermal management system of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to adjust a valve system of the fluid loop to selectively direct the return portion of the heat transfer fluid to a heat rejection component of the plurality of heat rejection components associated with a selected stage of the plurality of stages based on a return temperature of the return portion of the heat transfer fluid. (Hamada in ¶0035 teaches The heat source unit controller 31 performs flow control of the three-way valve 22 based on temperature information obtained from the supply water temperature sensor 14, the return water temperature sensor 23. ¶0047-0048 and Fig. 8-9 teaches three-way valve 22 controls direction of the return fluid through heat exchanger 21)
Hamada is an art in the area of interest as it teaches, an air conditioning system (Abstract). A combination of Hamada with Kopko and Song would allow controlling a valve system of the fluid loop to selectively direct a portion of the return heat transfer fluid to a heat rejection component of the plurality of heat rejection components associated with a selected stage of the plurality of stages based on a return temperature of the portion of the return heat transfer fluid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Hamada with Kopko and Song because doing so would allow the system to use free-cooling and minimize total power consumed by a heat source unit and a pump and suppress increase in cost of the system, as taught by Hamada in ¶0007.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISTIAQUE AHMED/ Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116