DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 12, 13, and 15-25 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 5, 12, 16, 18, and 21 are amended.
Claims 3, 7-11, and 14 are canceled.
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pre-Brief Conference Request filed on 03/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 12, 13, and 15-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nuggehalli, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0104560.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 12, 13, and 15-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al., (hereinafter Ozturk), U.S. Publication No. 2016/0262066, in view of Kim, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0058550, and in further view of Nuggehalli, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0104560.
As per claim 1, Ozturk discloses a data transmission method, performed by a terminal [fig. 3, 12, paragraphs 0112-0114, a data transmission method, performed by a terminal (a method 1200; UE 115 may receive a data transmission from the source base station)], comprising:
performing a first operation when an uplink transmission path of the terminal in a dual-connection mobility management process changes [fig. 2, 3, 12, paragraphs 0040, 0052, 0056, 0061, 0063, 0064, 0089, performing a first operation when an uplink transmission path of the terminal in a dual-connection mobility management process changes (UE 115-a may signal that it is capable of participating in a dual link handover; that is, it may be capable of communicating with both base stations 105 during the handover transition period between receiving the handover command from source base station 105-a)]; and
wherein performing the first operation comprises continuing a data transmission of a source connection [fig. 3, 12, paragraphs 0052, 0059, 0060, 0063, 0064, 0065, 0088, wherein performing the first operation comprises continuing a data transmission of a source connection (UE 115-b may transmit an indication of a dual link handover capability to the source base station 105-c)].
Ozturk does not explicitly disclose retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to a first radio link control (RLC) entity, and the first RLC entity is an RLC entity corresponding to a source connection of the terminal.
However, Kim teaches retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity [fig. 1D, 1M, paragraphs 0078, 0115, 0138, 0139, 0184, 0200, 0208, 0221, retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity (a transmitting apparatus may be a base station or a UE; the transmitting apparatus sets up one more transmitting RLC entity 1h-35 and 1h-50 connected to one transmitting PDCP layer; checking the mapping table (or checking information indicated by the PDCP layer) and may indicate via the RLC status report that second RLC SN 4 has been lost and needs to be retransmitted)], wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node [fig. 1G, 1N, 1O, paragraphs 0128, 0135, 0145, 0146, 0155, 0165, 0224, 0226, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node (the retransmitting starts with the first data that is not acknowledged (RLC status report may include a request for retransmission of the lost data corresponding to RLC SN 2))] and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node [fig. 1G, 1N, 1O, paragraphs 0128, 0135, 0145, 0146, 0155, 0165, 0224, 0226, ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node (retransmit the lost data and move the window to the last data that was transmitted (RLC SNs 0, 1, 2, and 3 … move the window lower edge to 4))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Ozturk by retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by the source network node as taught by Kim because it would provide the Ozturk’s method with the enhanced capability of efficiently receiving RLC-layer entities of the disclosure for preventing unnecessary retransmission [Kim, paragraph 0026, 0158, 0167].
Kim does not disclose retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node.
However, Nuggehalli teaches retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal [fig. 1, 2, paragraphs 0007, 0026, 0028-0030, retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal (a UE comprises a PDCP entity 310, a first RLC entity RLC #1 320 served by an MeNB, a second RLC entity RLC #2 330 served by an SeNB; UE retransmits a subset of PDCP PDUs of the second plurality of PDCP PDUs to the first RLC entity)], wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node [fig. 3, paragraphs 0021, 0023, 0027-0029, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node (PDCP data recovery module 224 retransmits packets under certain condition; RLC #1 applies RLC acknowledgement mode and sends the unsent PDCP PDUs in an ascending order of associated COUNT values; the PDCP entity performs retransmission of PDCP PDUs previously submitted to the RLC #2 but has not been successfully delivered yet, PDCP PDUs will be retransmitted by the PDCP entity to the active leg RLC #1 to prevent unnecessary data loss and/or PDCP SN gaps)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Ozturk by retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal as taught by Nuggehalli because it would provide the Ozturk’s method with the enhanced capability of preventing unnecessary data loss [Nuggehalli, paragraphs 0023, 0028].
As per claim 2, Ozturk discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein continuing the data transmission of the source connection comprises at least one of the following:
starting to transfer a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) data protocol unit (PDU) to a second radio link control (RLC) entity by using the PDCP entity of the terminal [paragraphs 0003, 0054, 0056, 0057, 0059, 0060, 0068, starting to transfer a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) data protocol unit (PDU) to a second radio link control (RLC) entity by using the PDCP entity of the terminal (… transmitting PDCP SDUs to UE 115-a, and … source base station 105-a stops transmitting to UE 115-a; dual RLC/PDCP may be used and UE 115-a may receive data from both cells during handover using different protocol stacks)]; wherein the second RLC entity is an RLC entity corresponding to a target connection of the terminal [fig. 3, 12, paragraphs 0040, 0048, 0056, 0059, 0075, wherein the second RLC entity is an RLC entity corresponding to a target connection of the terminal (UE 115-a may have RRC, PDCP, RLC, and MAC layer configurations; dual RLC/PDCP may be used and UE 115-a may receive data from both cells during handover using different protocol stacks)].
As per claim 4, Ozturk discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a PDCP entity of the terminal further comprises:
retransmitting data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to a preset rule [paragraphs 0042, 0048, 0049, 0051-0053, 0056, retransmitting data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to a preset rule (continue retransmission of each PDU; base stations 105 may perform radio configuration and scheduling for communication with the UEs 115; PDCP configuration until after a successful RACH procedure is performed with target base station)].
As per claim 5, Ozturk discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the retransmitted data further comprise:
third data [paragraphs 0011, 0071, 0084, third data (data transmission and the subsequent data transmission; UE 115-b may receive a data transmission)];
wherein the third data is data that is not acknowledged to be successfully received [paragraphs 0040, 0049, 0057, 0060, 0068, 0084, wherein the third data is data that is not acknowledged to be successfully received (source base station 105-c may continue to send data transmissions (corresponding to RLC PDUs); subsequent data transmission)].
As per claim 6, Ozturk discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein retransmitting the data occurs when any one of the following occurs:
the uplink transmission path changes; the uplink transmission path has been changed; or the source connection has been released [fig. 1, 2, paragraphs 0040, 0081, 0095, the uplink transmission path has been changed (wireless device 500 that supports dual link handover)].
As per claim 12, Ozturk discloses a terminal, comprising:
a memory storing instructions; and a processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor [fig. 7, paragraphs 0091-0092, a memory storing instructions; and a processor, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor (UE 115-c may also include a processor 705, and memory 715, instructions that, when executed, cause the processor 705)], cause the processor to
perform a first operation when an uplink transmission path of the terminal in a dual-connection mobility management process changes [fig. 2, 3, 12, paragraphs 0040, 0052, 0056, 0061, 0063, 0064, 0089, perform a first operation when an uplink transmission path of the terminal in a dual-connection mobility management process changes (UE 115-a may signal that it is capable of participating in a dual link handover; that is, it may be capable of communicating with both base stations 105 during the handover transition period between receiving the handover command from source base station 105-a)]; and
wherein performing the first operation comprises continuing a data transmission of a source connection [fig. 3, 12, paragraphs 0052, 0059, 0060, 0063, 0064, 0065, 0088, wherein performing the first operation comprises continuing a data transmission of a source connection (UE 115-b may transmit an indication of a dual link handover capability to the source base station 105-c; stopping transmission to the wireless device in response to receiving the handover execution message)].
Ozturk does not explicitly disclose retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to a first radio link control (RLC) entity, and the first RLC entity is an RLC entity corresponding to a source connection of the terminal.
However, Kim teaches retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity [fig. 1D, 1M, paragraphs 0078, 0115, 0138, 0139, 0184, 0200, 0208, 0221, retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity (a transmitting apparatus may be a base station or a UE; the transmitting apparatus sets up one more transmitting RLC entity 1h-35 and 1h-50 connected to one transmitting PDCP layer; checking the mapping table (or checking information indicated by the PDCP layer) and may indicate via the RLC status report that second RLC SN 4 has been lost and needs to be retransmitted)], wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node [fig. 1G, 1N, 1O, paragraphs 0128, 0135, 0145, 0146, 0155, 0165, 0224, 0226, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node (the retransmitting starts with the first data that is not acknowledged (RLC status report may include a request for retransmission of the lost data corresponding to RLC SN 2))] and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node [fig. 1G, 1N, 1O, paragraphs 0128, 0135, 0145, 0146, 0155, 0165, 0224, 0226, ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node (retransmit the lost data and move the window to the last data that was transmitted (RLC SNs 0, 1, 2, and 3 … move the window lower edge to 4))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the terminal described in Ozturk by retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by the source network node as taught by Kim because it would provide the Ozturk’s terminal with the enhanced capability of efficiently receiving RLC-layer entities of the disclosure for preventing unnecessary retransmission [Kim, paragraph 0026, 0158, 0167].
Kim does not disclose retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node.
However, Nuggehalli teaches retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal [fig. 1, 2, paragraphs 0007, 0026, 0028-0030, retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal (a UE comprises a PDCP entity 310, a first RLC entity RLC #1 320 served by an MeNB, a second RLC entity RLC #2 330 served by an SeNB; UE retransmits a subset of PDCP PDUs of the second plurality of PDCP PDUs to the first RLC entity)], wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node [fig. 3, paragraphs 0021, 0023, 0027-0029, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node (PDCP data recovery module 224 retransmits packets under certain condition; RLC #1 applies RLC acknowledgement mode and sends the unsent PDCP PDUs in an ascending order of associated COUNT values; the PDCP entity performs retransmission of PDCP PDUs previously submitted to the RLC #2 but has not been successfully delivered yet, PDCP PDUs will be retransmitted by the PDCP entity to the active leg RLC #1 to prevent unnecessary data loss and/or PDCP SN gaps)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the terminal described in the modified Ozturk by retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal as taught by Nuggehalli because it would provide the modified Ozturk’s terminal with the enhanced capability of preventing unnecessary data loss [Nuggehalli, paragraphs 0023, 0028].
As per claim 13, Ozturk discloses the terminal according to claim 12, wherein continuing the data transmission of the source connection comprises at least one of the following:
starting to transfer a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) data protocol unit (PDU) to a second radio link control (RLC) entity by using the PDCP entity of the terminal [paragraphs 0003, 0054, 0056, 0057, 0059, 0060, 0068, starting to transfer a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) data protocol unit (PDU) to a second radio link control (RLC) entity by using the PDCP entity of the terminal (… transmitting PDCP SDUs to UE 115-a, and … source base station 105-a stops transmitting to UE 115-a; dual RLC/PDCP may be used and UE 115-a may receive data from both cells during handover using different protocol stacks)]; wherein the second RLC entity is an RLC entity corresponding to a target connection of the terminal [fig. 3, 12, paragraphs 0040, 0048, 0056, 0059, 0075, wherein the second RLC entity is an RLC entity corresponding to a target connection of the terminal (UE 115-a may have RRC, PDCP, RLC, and MAC layer configurations; dual RLC/PDCP may be used and UE 115-a may receive data from both cells during handover using different protocol stacks)].
As per claim 15, Ozturk discloses the terminal according to claim 12, comprising:
a transmitter, configured to:
retransmit data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to a preset rule [paragraphs 0042, 0048, 0049, 0051-0053, 0056, retransmit data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to a preset rule (continue retransmission of each PDU; base stations 105 may perform radio configuration and scheduling for communication with the UEs 115; PDCP configuration until after a successful RACH procedure is performed with target base station)].
As per claim 16, Ozturk discloses the terminal according to claim 15, wherein the retransmitted data further comprise:
third data [paragraphs 0011, 0071, 0084, third data (data transmission and the subsequent data transmission; UE 115-b may receive a data transmission)];
wherein the third data is data that is not acknowledged to be successfully received [paragraphs 0040, 0049, 0057, 0060, 0068, 0084, wherein the third data is data that is not acknowledged to be successfully received (source base station 105-c may continue to send data transmissions (corresponding to RLC PDUs); subsequent data transmission)].
As per claim 17, Ozturk discloses the terminal according to claim 15, wherein the transmitter is configured to retransmit the data when any one of the following occurs:
the uplink transmission path changes; the uplink transmission path has been changed; or the source connection has been released [fig. 1, 2, paragraphs 0040, 0081, 0095, the uplink transmission path has been changed (wireless device 500 that supports dual link handover)].
As per claim 18, Ozturk discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, implements a data transmission method comprising
performing a first operation when an uplink transmission path of the terminal in a dual-connection mobility management process changes [fig. 2, 3, 12, paragraphs 0040, 0052, 0056, 0061, 0063, 0064, 0089, performing a first operation when an uplink transmission path of the terminal in a dual-connection mobility management process changes (UE 115-a may signal that it is capable of participating in a dual link handover; that is, it may be capable of communicating with both base stations 105 during the handover transition period between receiving the handover command from source base station 105-a)]; and
wherein performing the first operation comprises continuing a data transmission of a source connection [fig. 3, 12, paragraphs 0052, 0059, 0060, 0063, 0064, 0065, 0088, wherein performing the first operation comprises continuing a data transmission of a source connection (UE 115-b may transmit an indication of a dual link handover capability to the source base station 105-c; stopping transmission to the wireless device in response to receiving the handover execution message)].
Ozturk does not explicitly disclose retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to a first radio link control (RLC) entity, and the first RLC entity is an RLC entity corresponding to a source connection of the terminal.
However, Kim teaches retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity [fig. 1D, 1M, paragraphs 0078, 0115, 0138, 0139, 0184, 0200, 0208, 0221, retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity (a transmitting apparatus may be a base station or a UE; the transmitting apparatus sets up one more transmitting RLC entity 1h-35 and 1h-50 connected to one transmitting PDCP layer; checking the mapping table (or checking information indicated by the PDCP layer) and may indicate via the RLC status report that second RLC SN 4 has been lost and needs to be retransmitted)], wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node [fig. 1G, 1N, 1O, paragraphs 0128, 0135, 0145, 0146, 0155, 0165, 0224, 0226, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node (the retransmitting starts with the first data that is not acknowledged (RLC status report may include a request for retransmission of the lost data corresponding to RLC SN 2))] and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node [fig. 1G, 1N, 1O, paragraphs 0128, 0135, 0145, 0146, 0155, 0165, 0224, 0226, ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node (retransmit the lost data and move the window to the last data that was transmitted (RLC SNs 0, 1, 2, and 3 … move the window lower edge to 4))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Ozturk by retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by the source network node as taught by Kim because it would provide the Ozturk’s medium with the enhanced capability of efficiently receiving RLC-layer entities of the disclosure for preventing unnecessary retransmission [Kim, paragraph 0026, 0158, 0167].
Kim does not disclose retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node.
However, Nuggehalli teaches retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal [fig. 1, 2, paragraphs 0007, 0026, 0028-0030, retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal (a UE comprises a PDCP entity 310, a first RLC entity RLC #1 320 served by an MeNB, a second RLC entity RLC #2 330 served by an SeNB; UE retransmits a subset of PDCP PDUs of the second plurality of PDCP PDUs to the first RLC entity)], wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node [fig. 3, paragraphs 0021, 0023, 0027-0029, wherein the retransmitting starts with retransmitting the first data that is not acknowledged as received by a first radio link control (RLC) of the source network node and ends after retransmitting the last data that had been transmitted to the first RLC of the source network node (PDCP data recovery module 224 retransmits packets under certain condition; RLC #1 applies RLC acknowledgement mode and sends the unsent PDCP PDUs in an ascending order of associated COUNT values; the PDCP entity performs retransmission of PDCP PDUs previously submitted to the RLC #2 but has not been successfully delivered yet, PDCP PDUs will be retransmitted by the PDCP entity to the active leg RLC #1 to prevent unnecessary data loss and/or PDCP SN gaps)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in the modified Ozturk by retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal as taught by Nuggehalli because it would provide the modified Ozturk’s medium with the enhanced capability of preventing unnecessary data loss [Nuggehalli, paragraphs 0023, 0028].
As per claim 19, Ozturk discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 18, wherein continuing the data transmission of the source connection comprises at least one of the following:
starting to transfer Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) data PDU to a second RLC entity by using the PDCP entity of the terminal; continuing to transmit uplink data by using the first RLC entity; or continuing to transmit uplink data by using a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) entity corresponding to a source connection cell [paragraphs 0040, 0054, 0059, 0060, starting to transfer Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) data PDU to a second RLC entity by using the PDCP entity of the terminal (… transmitting PDCP SDUs to UE 115-a, and … source base station 105-a transmitting to UE 115-a; dual RLC/PDCP may be used and UE 115-a may receive data from both cells during handover using different protocol stacks)]; wherein the first RLC entity is an RLC entity corresponding to a source connection of the terminal, and the second RLC entity is an RLC entity corresponding to a target connection of the terminal [fig. 3, 12, paragraphs 0040, 0048, 0056, 0059, 0075, wherein the first RLC entity is an RLC entity corresponding to a source connection of the terminal, and the second RLC entity is an RLC entity corresponding to a target connection of the terminal (UE 115-a may have RRC, PDCP, RLC, and MAC layer configurations; dual RLC/PDCP may be used and UE 115-a may receive data from both cells during handover using different protocol stacks)].
As per claim 20, Ozturk discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 18, wherein retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a PDCP entity of the terminal further comprises:
retransmitting data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to a preset rule [paragraphs 0042, 0048, 0049, 0051-0053, 0056, retransmitting data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to a preset rule (continue retransmission of each PDU; base stations 105 may perform radio configuration and scheduling for communication with the UEs 115; PDCP configuration until after a successful RACH procedure is performed with target base station)].
As per claim 21, Ozturk discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 20, wherein the retransmitted data comprise either:
third data [paragraphs 0011, 0071, 0084, third data (data transmission and the subsequent data transmission; UE 115-b may receive a data transmission)];
wherein the third data is data that is not acknowledged to be successfully received [paragraphs 0040, 0049, 0057, 0060, 0068, 0084, wherein the third data is data that is not acknowledged to be successfully received (source base station 105-c may continue to send data transmissions (corresponding to RLC PDUs); subsequent data transmission)].
As per claim 22, Ozturk discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 20, wherein retransmitting the data occurs when any one of the following occurs:
the uplink transmission path changes; the uplink transmission path has been changed; or the source connection has been released [fig. 1, 2, paragraphs 0040, 0081, 0095, the uplink transmission path has been changed (wireless device 500 that supports dual link handover)].
As per claim 23, Ozturk discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein retransmitting data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to the preset rule [paragraphs 0042, 0048, 0049, 0051-0053, 0056, retransmitting data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to a preset rule (continue retransmission of each PDU; base stations 105 may perform radio configuration and scheduling for communication with the UEs 115; PDCP configuration until after a successful RACH procedure is performed with target base station)].
Ozturk does not explicitly disclose retransmitting data in ascending order of a COUNT value associated with the PDCP SDU before the retransmission.
However, Nuggehalli teaches retransmitting data in ascending order of a COUNT value associated with the PDCP SDU before the retransmission [paragraphs 0027-0029, retransmitting data in ascending order of a COUNT value associated with the PDCP SDU before the retransmission (the PDCP entity performs retransmission of PDCP PDUs previously submitted; sends the unsent PDCP PDUs in an ascending order of associated COUNT values)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in the modified Ozturk by retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal as taught by Nuggehalli because it would provide the modified Ozturk’s method with the enhanced capability of preventing unnecessary data loss [Nuggehalli, paragraphs 0023, 0028].
As per claim 24, Ozturk discloses the terminal according to claim 15, wherein retransmitting data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to the preset rule [paragraphs 0042, 0048, 0049, 0051-0053, 0056, retransmitting data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to a preset rule (continue retransmission of each PDU; base stations 105 may perform radio configuration and scheduling for communication with the UEs 115; PDCP configuration until after a successful RACH procedure is performed with target base station)].
Ozturk does not explicitly disclose retransmitting data in ascending order of a COUNT value associated with the PDCP SDU before the retransmission.
However, Nuggehalli teaches retransmitting data in ascending order of a COUNT value associated with the PDCP SDU before the retransmission [paragraphs 0027-0029, retransmitting data in ascending order of a COUNT value associated with the PDCP SDU before the retransmission (the PDCP entity performs retransmission of PDCP PDUs previously submitted; sends the unsent PDCP PDUs in an ascending order of associated COUNT values)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the terminal described in the modified Ozturk by retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal as taught by Nuggehalli because it would provide the modified Ozturk’s terminal with the enhanced capability of preventing unnecessary data loss [Nuggehalli, paragraphs 0023, 0028].
As per claim 25, Ozturk discloses the terminal according to claim 20, retransmitting data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to the preset rule [paragraphs 0042, 0048, 0049, 0051-0053, 0056, retransmitting data to the target network node by using the PDCP entity of the terminal according to a preset rule (continue retransmission of each PDU; base stations 105 may perform radio configuration and scheduling for communication with the UEs 115; PDCP configuration until after a successful RACH procedure is performed with target base station)].
Ozturk does not explicitly disclose retransmitting data in ascending order of a COUNT value associated with the PDCP SDU before the retransmission.
However, Nuggehalli teaches retransmitting data in ascending order of a COUNT value associated with the PDCP SDU before the retransmission [paragraphs 0027-0029, retransmitting data in ascending order of a COUNT value associated with the PDCP SDU before the retransmission (the PDCP entity performs retransmission of PDCP PDUs previously submitted; sends the unsent PDCP PDUs in an ascending order of associated COUNT values)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the terminal described in the modified Ozturk by retransmitting data to a target network node different from a source network node by using a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity of the terminal as taught by Nuggehalli because it would provide the modified Ozturk’s terminal with the enhanced capability of preventing unnecessary data loss [Nuggehalli, paragraphs 0023, 0028].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Agiwal et al., U.S. Publication No. 2018/0083688 discloses retransmitting all the PDCP SDUs of an AM DRB which are already associated with the PDCP SNs in ascending order of the COUNT values associated to the PDCP SDU.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469