DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The factual inquiries that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-7, 10-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsrud et al. (U.S 2020/0248351 A1), hereinafter “Monsrud”.
As for claim 1, Monsrud teaches a water management method comprising receiving by a reservoir device a volume of wastewater from a washing machine, the washing machine comprising: (a) a set of connections configured to couple to a waste water output and one or more water inputs of a washing machine (the line including reuse pump 64 connects to the wastewater output of the washer and line 44 connects to the washer input at 42); (b)storing by a reservoir (60) a volume of waste water from the washing machine; (c) converting by one or more treatment devices the volume of waste water into a volume of recycled water (e.g. the lint filter 70 or the antimicrobial additions of [0103]; (d) identifying by a processor (e.g. the programmable logic controller of [0115-0116; 0346; or controller of claim 9) a cycle type of a cycle being performed by the washing machine; (e) storing by the processor a water use sequence that identifies a plurality of cycle types and, for each of the plurality of cycle types, whether that cycle type uses recycled water or fresh water; and (f) based upon the cycle type and the water use sequence: (i) providing at least a portion of the volume of recycled water to the washing machine for the cycle; or (ii) provide a volume of
fresh water to the washing machine for the cycle. The controller communicates with the machine controller to identify the type of linen being washed [0325] and controls the proportion of reuse water or freshwater in each of the plurality of cycles of each type of load [0324-0326; see table 4 and figure 10].
As for the new limitations of “wherein the cycle type is one of a plurality of cycle types performed by the washing machine, said plurality of cycle types comprising a wash cycle type, a first rinse cycle type after the wash cycle type and a subsequent rinse cycle type after the first rinse cycle type”; the processor storing a water use sequence; and providing the recycled or fresh water in response to the identifying step of the cycle type:
Monsrud teaches a plurality of cycle types that include a wash cycle type (the wash phase of figure 10), a first rinse cycle type (the rinse phase of figure 10) after the wash cycle type and a subsequent rinse cycle type after the first rinse cycle type (see 0007 and 0068);
Monsrud isn’t specific that the processor identifies the cycle type but such would have been obvious in order to control the water reuse device as desired—e.g. as shown in figure 10 or indicated in 0316 “a PLC controller can accept programmable signals from the wash machine to instruct the relay when to fill from the tank and when to fill from the valve(s)”;
Such also would have been obvious since Monsrud teaches that the controller communicates with the machine controller to identify the type of linen being washed [0325] and controls the proportion of reuse water or freshwater in each of the plurality of cycles of each type of load [0324-0326; see table 4 and figure 10].
As for the limitations of claim 1 requiring a second point of use wherein the same steps (g) through (i) are performed as for a first point of use, it is pointed out that Monsrud already teaches (in 0087) that the reservoir can be connected to several washing machines (a plurality of points of use), such that the same steps performed for the first point of use would have been obvious.
As for the new limitations of claim 1 requiring a second point of use to be different than the first point of use, since Monsrud already teaches (in 0087) that the reservoir can be connected to several washing machines (a plurality of points of use), when the rinse water from a first washer is used in a different washer in the system, this represents a second point of use that is different from the first. Notice Applicant did not claim a different type of use as argued.
As for claim 2, Monsrud teaches wherein the one or more treatment devices comprise: (a) one or more filters configured to separate a contaminant from the volume of waste water [0080-0081]; (b) a treatment module (50) configured to introduce at least one treatment to the volume of waste water.
As for claim 4, Monsrud teaches introducing at least one treatment into the vol of wastewater via a the treatment module being configured to introduce at least one of the listed chemistries, e.g. bleach or subject the volume of the wastewater to UV light or ozone [0102-0103].
As for claim 5, Monsrud teaches (a) measuring by a first water sensor module (e.g. turbidity, pH sensor, etc. [0326]), configured to measure a set of pre-storage characteristics of the volume of waste water prior to storing the volume of waste water in the reservoir (the sensor can be located in the washer tank or at the drain of the washer tank); (b) a diverter valve (58) configured to selectively dispose of the volume of waste water via a drain outlet of the reservoir device prior to storing the volume of waste water in the reservoir; wherein the processor is further configured to: (i) determine whether the volume of waste water is usable based on the set of pre- storage characteristics; and (ii) when the volume of waste water is not usable, operate the diverter valve to cause the volume of waste water to be disposed of (see 0326 and figure 15).
As for claims 7 and 10-11, the machine controller providing an electrical communication signal to the controller of the reservoir device to identify the type of cycle (which would include cycle characteristics) thereof to operate the reservoir device as in 0322 and 0325 would necessarily require the limitations of claims 8 and 11. Also, it would be necessary for the reservoir device control to include matching data corresponding to the machine controller signal in order to identify the cycle.
As for claims 12-14, depending upon the selected cycle type, the corresponding water use sequence, as well as, the characteristics of the water in the washing tank via sensors [0326], the processor causes a volume of recycled water to be provided for use, wherein the volume of wastewater is disposed of or saved in the reservoir 60; causing the wastewater produced by the first rinse cycle type to be disposed or saved; and causing the volume of wastewater produced by the subsequent rinse cycle to be saved in the reservoir. See figure 10, table 4, and paragraphs 0133; 0285-0292; 0323-0326.
As for claims 19-20, Monsrud teaches programmable controller is programmed to rinse with hot and/or cole water depending upon what temperature is optimal for each linen type and soil type [0309-0310] such that the limitations of claim 18 would be obvious.
As for claim 18, Monstrud teaches using a volume of fresh water and/or recycled water depending upon what is programmed in the PLC [0301, 0310, table 4, and claim 18]. What proportion of reuse water and freshwater is used in a particular rinse phase would have been obvious depending upon what would be optimal for each linen type and soil type.
As for Claim 3, Monsrud teaches a plurality of filters including a filter at the outlet of the washing machine [0081] and that the reservoir tank may be equipped with a filter/strainer and a lint screen [0078]. He doesn’t specify the micron rating of each filter but such would have been within ordinary skill depending upon the size and amount of contaminants expected and desired to be removed in the environment of use.
As for Claim 6, Monsrud teaches measuring by a second water sensor module configured to measure a set of post-storage characteristics of the volume of recycled water prior to providing the volume of recycled water to the washing machine (Monsrud teaches a temperature sensor of water in the reservoir [0321]); (b) determining, by the processor, whether the volume of recycled water is usable based on the set of post-storage characteristics (e.g. whether the temperature has fallen between 20-30° C or lower [0093]) ; (c) when the volume of recycled water is not usable: (i) operating, by the reservoir device, a drain valve of the reservoir device to cause the volume of recycled water to be disposed of via a drain outlet (in this case the dump valve to drain) of the reservoir device.
Monsrud doesn’t specify activating a drain pump to remove water from the reservoir, but such would have been within ordinary skill when flow to the drain is not gravity driven. It also would have been obvious since Monsrud already teaches a pump 72 removing water from the reservoir.
As for step (ii) operating, by the reservoir device, a water feed valve to provide fresh water to the washing machine, Monsrud already teaches opening the freshwater feed valve when reservoir water is not available.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsrud in view of the Japanese reference JP 2013229009 A, hereinafter ‘009. Monsrud doesn’t specify a cycle sensor including an imaging device to capture images of the control panel. But such is taught by ‘009.
‘009 teaches a camera module 100 at a control module 200 of a washing machine 300. It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the camera module of ‘009 at the control panel of Monsrud since ‘009 teaches the benefit of recognizing gestures indicating desired operation of a washing machine.
Claims 9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsrud in view of Pollett (U.S. 2015/0368840 A1).
Monsrud doesn’t specify a cycle sensor comprising a microphone configured to capture audible sounds produced by the washing machine during the cycle but such is taught by Pollett. Pollett teaches a microphone for indicating the operation of a washing machine [0045] [as in claim 9]. He also teaches determining a cycle based on duration of a lapsed time of the cycle type [0045] [as in claims 15-16]. It is considered that it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the microphone or step of detecting an elapsed time of a cycle of Pollett in the invention of Monsrud, since Pollett teaches the benefit of sensing a characteristic and status of a wash cycle.
As for claim 17, upon modification it would have been obvious for the processor of the reservoir device of Monsrud to include the step of identifying the wash machine type in order to be configured to receive signals for the specific machine the reservoir device is being used with.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument that Monsrud does not teach the new limitation of claim 1 requiring a second point of use to be different than the first point of use, since Monsrud already teaches (in 0087) that the reservoir can be connected to several washing machines (a plurality of points of use), when the rinse water from a first washer is used in a different washer in the system, this represents a second point of use that is different from the first. Notice Applicant did not claim a different type of use as argued. However using used water from washer as flush water in a toilet (difference type of use) is well known. See e.g. paragraphs 0014, 0025, 0027 of Kawasaki (U.S. 20120261352) of record.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If repeated attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bobby Ramdhanie can be reached on (571) 270-3240. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TERRY K CECIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779