DETAILED ACTION
Interview Request
In regards to interview request made by John T Lomenick (Reg No. 73744), applicant’s attorney of record, examiner made multiple attempts to fulfill interview request, including e-mail and voicemail left on 10/5/2026 to schedule interview. However, attorney did not return call, nor return email communication.
Authorization for Internet Communications
The examiner encourages Applicant to submit an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only be submitted via Central Fax, Regular postal mail, or EFS Web (PTO/SB/439).
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, recite ”maintaining code version information for each of the plurality of computing nodes during sequentially updating” is not disclosed in applicant’s specification. Applicant cited ¶ [0072] and ¶[0073] for support, however, it does not state the maintaining code version is during sequentially updating. ¶[[0072] mentions version information associated with computing nodes in metadata, but does not state this occurs during sequential updating or rolling upgrades. Applicant needs to clearly state where the support is, or remove the subject matter.
Claims 2-9, 11-18, and 21 are rejected for dependency to claims 1, 10 and 19 above.
Claims 1-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, recite “based at least in part on code version information for the set of computing nodes running the set of child jobs and code version information for the first computing node” and it is uncertain what effect the based at least in part on code version information” means? What is part of a code version? Examiner is not aware a version can be broken into a part, and what code version the workload scheduler scheduling job allocations? Examiner notified applicant that these terms were unclear in interview dated 11/6/2025, and applicant had acknowledged these terms were unclear. Examiner suggests to not use language similar to “based at least in part on”
Claims 2-9, 11-18, and 21 are rejected for dependency to claims 1, 10 and 19 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 10, 13, 17, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazawa (US PG PUB 2007/0106695) in view of Mattheis (U.S. PG PUB 2014/0317636) and Vaidya et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2013/0238768).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazawa teaches a method for managing code version dependencies, comprising:
the workload comprising a plurality of parallelized jobs (see ¶[0103] “FIG. 11 is a flowchart depicting processes executing tasks in parallel, according to a new version of job flow definition information according to the embodiment. If a given task is made capable of executing in parallel on a plurality of task processing apparatuses, i.e., personal computer, multi function peripheral, or the like, it becomes possible to reduce time taken to execute the task, even for tasks that demand large amounts of processing. For example, processing time for processes such as compressing a large graphics file or the like can be reduced by processing the graphics file with a plurality of tasks (task processing apparatuses) in parallel.”)
the plurality of parallelized jobs comprising a parent job and a plurality of child jobs, and wherein the parent job is configured to control a set of execution parameters for a set of child jobs of the plurality of parallelized jobs (see ¶[0112] “In Step S1602, a parent node task is sequentially extracted from job flow, and the display position of the task's icon is decided in Step S1603. In Step S1604, a determination is made whether the parent node task has a child node task or not. In the event that the parent node task does not have a child node task, processing proceeds to Step S1605, displaying a task icon for the relevant parent node in a first format. If, on the other hand, the parent node task does have a child node task, processing proceeds to Step S1606, displaying a task icon for the relevant parent node in a second format.”);
sequentially updating the plurality of computing nodes (see ¶ [0070] “parent node” and “child node”) of computing cluster from a first code version to a second code version while the computing cluster remains active (see ¶ [0063] “It is permissible for different tasks to possess multiple property information, depending on the task in question. "Order" dictates the sequence in which partitioned tasks are processed. For example, if Task2 were subdivided in a manner such as that shown in FIG. 5, order values would be assigned to describe an order that would made the order of processing proceed from Task2-1 to Task2-2 (see FIG. 13B)” see ¶[0082] “Beginning in Step S803, management server 11 compares tasks within the job flow definition information with tasks defined by updated task interface information (the task interface information received in Step S711). In this comparison, a determination is made as to whether the task being examined corresponds to a new version task, and whether there are changes in child node composition between the task being examined and the new version task. For example, "taskA" of task interface information in FIG. 13B and "task1" in the job flow definition information in FIG. 14A are corresponding tasks, because they both have id=0002 and application id=0001. Post-update taskA in FIG. 13B has two child nodes, task_A_1 and task_A_2, whereas job flow definition information in FIG. 14A has no child nodes. In other words, there are changes in child nodes. In the event that child node compositions have changed, processing proceed to Step S804.” See ¶[0083] “] In Step S804, management server 11 updates relevant tasks within the job flow definition information, according to updated task child nodes. In the foregoing example of FIGS. 14A and 13B, the child nodes in FIG. 13B, task_A_1 and task_A_2, have been added to task1 in FIG. 14A. In Step S805, management server 11 migrates property information to child nodes added in Step S804. That is, property information appended to each of the subdivided tasks is described in the updated task interface information. Then, in Step S806, an update flag is set for the task that was updated in Steps S804 and S805. To be more specific, an update flag (update="true") is set for the parent node task that has had updates to child nodes, as indicated by description 1411 in FIG. 14B.”),
maintaining code version information for each of the plurality of computing nodes during the sequentially updating (see ¶[0082] “In this comparison, a determination is made as to whether the task being examined corresponds to a new version task, and whether there are changes in child node composition between the task being examined and the new version task.” See ¶[0094] “Descriptions 1324 and 1326 describe property information of tasks in descriptions 1323 and 1325. It is permissible for different tasks to possess multiple property information, depending on the task in question.” Note: Version information is a property of the task and is maintained in the descriptions).
based at least in part on code version information for the set of computing nodes running the set of child jobs and code version information for the first computing node (see ¶[0082] “In this comparison, a determination is made as to whether the task being examined corresponds to a new version task, and whether there are changes in child node composition between the task being examined and the new version task.” See ¶[0094] “Descriptions 1324 and 1326 describe property information of tasks in descriptions 1323 and 1325. It is permissible for different tasks to possess multiple property information, depending on the task in question.”)
based at least in part on the code version information for the first computing node and code version information for the second computing node (see ¶[0082] “In this comparison, a determination is made as to whether the task being examined corresponds to a new version task, and whether there are changes in child node composition between the task being examined and the new version task.” See ¶[0094] “Descriptions 1324 and 1326 describe property information of tasks in descriptions 1323 and 1325. It is permissible for different tasks to possess multiple property information, depending on the task in question.”).
Miyazawa teaches while the plurality of computing nodes are being sequentially updated (see ¶ [0063] “It is permissible for different tasks to possess multiple property information, depending on the task in question. "Order" dictates the sequence in which partitioned tasks are processed. For example, if Task2 were subdivided in a manner such as that shown in FIG. 5, order values would be assigned to describe an order that would made the order of processing proceed from Task2-1 to Task2-2 (see FIG. 13B)”), the plurality of computing nodes (see ¶ [0070] “parent node” and “child node”).
Miyazawa does not expressly disclose, however, Mattheis teaches
the workload comprising a plurality of parallelized jobs to be executed on the plurality of computing nodes (see ¶[0046] “A runtime environment is provided to allocate resources such as processors and data structures and to provide a task interface. A parallel task runtime environment can be provided for parallel execution of dynamic multi-tasking computations.” See ¶[0047] “For that purpose, the task runtime environment TRE can create as many worker threads as processors can be used and pins each worker thread to exactly one processor.”),
executing, by one or more processors, a workload scheduler that schedules, according to a first job allocation configuration, a first job allocation for a first computing node of the plurality of computing nodes (see ¶[0046] “The scheduling of dynamic multi-tasking computations requires scheduling steps including processor mapping and execution ordering. Besides the mechanism to map the tasks to processors and to determine the execution order, a scheduler implementation requires a mechanism for resource allocation. A runtime environment is provided to allocate resources such as processors and data structures and to provide a task interface. A parallel task runtime environment can be provided for parallel execution of dynamic multi-tasking computations.”),
wherein the first computing node is scheduled to perform the parent job, and wherein the first job allocation configuration prevents scheduling the parent job on a computing node running a newer code version than a set of computing nodes running the set of child jobs, until the set of child jobs terminates (see ¶[0051] “The library function spawn takes the lambda function as an argument and generates a new task. After having generated the task, the library function executes the generated task parallel to the current task. The function sync waits until all generated child tasks have been finished. By means of the scheduler, the tasks are distributed during runtime to the different processor cores.” Note: This means the parent job is prevented from being ran until the child job has finished, new task is considered a new version); and
executing, by the one or more processors, a workload scheduler that schedules, according to a second job allocation configuration, a second job allocation for a second computing node of the plurality of computing nodes (see ¶[0046] “The scheduling of dynamic multi-tasking computations requires scheduling steps including processor mapping and execution ordering. Besides the mechanism to map the tasks to processors and to determine the execution order, a scheduler implementation requires a mechanism for resource allocation. A runtime environment is provided to allocate resources such as processors and data structures and to provide a task interface. A parallel task runtime environment can be provided for parallel execution of dynamic multi-tasking computations.”),
wherein the second computing node is scheduled to perform a child job of the set of child jobs, and wherein the second job allocation configuration prevents scheduling the child job on computing nodes having a newer code version than the first computing node performing the parent job (see ¶[0051] “The library function spawn takes the lambda function as an argument and generates a new task. After having generated the task, the library function executes the generated task parallel to the current task. The function sync waits until all generated child tasks have been finished. By means of the scheduler, the tasks are distributed during runtime to the different processor cores.” Note: This means the parent job is prevented from being ran until the child job has finished, new task is considered a new version).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa by adapting Mattheis for scheduling of tasks of a parallel computing system with several processor cores to increase the performance or throughput of the computing system (see ¶[0004] of Mattheis).
Miyazawa and Mattheis do not expressly disclose, however, Vaidya teaches receiving a workload related to performing a backup of data from a data source to one or more database instance running on a plurality of computing nodes of a computing cluster (see ¶[0148] “In another embodiment, multiple nodes may be a master node. In some cases, one node may be a backup master node to another node.”),
performing the backup of data from the data source to the one or more database instances by executing the parent job and the plurality of child jobs during the sequentially updating (see ¶[0141] “Any of the sites and appliances of the environment may be arranged, configured or deployed in any type and form of hierarchical or parent, child and/or peer relationship. Any one appliance or site may be a peer to another appliance or site. For example, appliance 200A may be a peer to appliance 200B for providing GSLB domain resolution services. Any one appliance or site may be a parent node of another appliance or site. For example, appliance 200A at Site A may be a parent site or appliance to appliance 200D of Site D. Any one appliance or site may be a child node of another appliance or site. For example appliance 200F at Site F may be a child node to Site B and appliance B.” see ¶ [0121] “The parser 530 may be designed, configured or adapted to translate a configuration of one format or version (e.g., compatible with one appliance) to a configuration of another format or version (e.g., compatible with another appliance).” See ¶[0149] “In some embodiments, the distributor may download, upload or file transfer a configuration file to an appliance. In other embodiments, the distributor may email a configuration to a computing device or appliance. In some embodiments, the distributor makes remote procedure calls, such as remote shell calls from one appliance to another appliance to distribute the configuration. In another embodiments, the distributor may write configuration to any type and form of computer readable medium. In another embodiments, the configuration is distributed via a connection and a protocol supported by the appliances, such as the Metric Exchange Protocol (MEP) described below. The distributor may distribute configuration via a secure call, command or connection, such as for example, a secure SSH, a secure copy SCP or a secure file transfer protocol (SFTP).”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa and Mattheis by adapting Vaidya to update configurations, or synchronize them with another configuration (see ¶ [0004] of Vaidya).
Regarding claim 4, Miyazawa does not expressly disclose, however, Mattheis teaches terminating, according to the second job allocation configuration, the child job on the second computing node based at least in part on the first computing node scheduled to perform the parent job being upgraded (see ¶[0051] “The library function spawn takes the lambda function as an argument and generates a new task. After having generated the task, the library function executes the generated task parallel to the current task. The function sync waits until all generated child tasks have been finished. By means of the scheduler, the tasks are distributed during runtime to the different processor cores.”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa by adapting Mattheis for scheduling of tasks of a parallel computing system with several processor cores to increase the performance or throughput of the computing system (see ¶[0004] of Mattheis).
Regarding claim 8, Miyazawa does not expressly disclose, however, Mattheis teaches wherein the second job allocation configuration prevents scheduling one or more queued child jobs on a computing node running a different code version than a computing node running the parent job (see ¶[0051] “The library function spawn takes the lambda function as an argument and generates a new task. After having generated the task, the library function executes the generated task parallel to the current task. The function sync waits until all generated child tasks have been finished. By means of the scheduler, the tasks are distributed during runtime to the different processor cores.”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa by adapting Mattheis for scheduling of tasks of a parallel computing system with several processor cores to increase the performance or throughput of the computing system (see ¶[0004] of Mattheis).
Regarding claim 9, Miyazawa does not expressly disclose, however, Mattheis teaches
wherein the plurality of parallelized jobs comprises a plurality of subtasks of a workload (see ¶[0051] “The library function spawn takes the lambda function as an argument and generates a new task. After having generated the task, the library function executes the generated task parallel to the current task. The function sync waits until all generated child tasks have been finished. By means of the scheduler, the tasks are distributed during runtime to the different processor cores.”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa by adapting Mattheis for scheduling of tasks of a parallel computing system with several processor cores to increase the performance or throughput of the computing system (see ¶[0004] of Mattheis).
Regarding claim 10, is an independent apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 1 above, and are rejected for the same reasons. In addition, Miyazawa teaches a processor (see ¶[0130] CPU); and memory coupled with the processor (see ¶[0133] memory); and instructions stored in memory and executable by the processor (see ¶[0132]).
Regarding claim 13, 17, and 18, correspond with claims 3, 8, 9 above, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, is an independent medium claim corresponding to method claim 1 above, and are rejected for the same reasons. In addition, Miyazawa teaches a non-transitory medium stored code (see ¶[0131]).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazawa (US PG PUB 2007/0106695) in view of Mattheis (U.S. PG PUB 2014/0317636) and Vaidya et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2013/0238768), as applied in claims 1, 10 above, further in view of Joshi et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2005/0267951).
Regarding claim 2, Miyazawa teaches the child job, the parent job (see ¶ [0083] “In Step S804, management server 11 updates relevant tasks within the job flow definition information, according to updated task child nodes. In the foregoing example of FIGS. 14A and 13B, the child nodes in FIG. 13B, task_A_1 and task_A_2, have been added to task1 in FIG. 14A. In Step S805, management server 11 migrates property information to child nodes added in Step S804. That is, property information appended to each of the subdivided tasks is described in the updated task interface information. Then, in Step S806, an update flag is set for the task that was updated in Steps S804 and S805. To be more specific, an update flag (update="true") is set for the parent node task that has had updates to child nodes, as indicated by description 1411 in FIG. 14B.”).
Miyazawa does not expressly disclose, however, Mattheis teaches executing, by the one or more processors, the workload scheduler that schedules, according to the second job allocation configuration (see ¶[0046] “The scheduling of dynamic multi-tasking computations requires scheduling steps including processor mapping and execution ordering. Besides the mechanism to map the tasks to processors and to determine the execution order, a scheduler implementation requires a mechanism for resource allocation. A runtime environment is provided to allocate resources such as processors and data structures and to provide a task interface. A parallel task runtime environment can be provided for parallel execution of dynamic multi-tasking computations.”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa by adapting Mattheis for scheduling of tasks of a parallel computing system with several processor cores to increase the performance or throughput of the computing system (see ¶[0004] of Mattheis).
Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya do not expressly disclose, however, Joshi teaches the job on a third computing node of the plurality of computing nodes based at least in part on the second computing node that is scheduled to perform the job being upgrade to the newer code version than the first computing node scheduled to perform the job (see ¶ [0005] “In one embodiment of the invention, a system and methods are provided for facilitating a rolling upgrade of distributed software from a relatively older version to a relatively newer version. In this embodiment, multiple versions of the software can operate on different nodes, and the rolling upgrade may take any amount of time to complete (e.g., hours, days, months, years).”), wherein the third computing node has a same code version as the first computing node (see ¶[0021] “However, all group nodes operate the software at a common level, termed the Acting Version (AV). The AV of the software is a version that can be supported by each node in the cluster.” See ¶ [0022] “Any node whose SV.gtoreq.AV (i.e., the node's software version is higher or newer than the acting version) will operate the software according to the AV, not its SV. Thus, it may continue to support functionality, data formats and other characteristics of the AV, and disable or suppress functionality provided in the SV that is not supported in the AV.”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya by adapting Joshi to avoid conflicts when performing rolling updates (see ¶ [0022] of Joshi).
Regarding claim 3, Miyazawa teaches migrating, according to the second job allocation configuration, the child job from the second computing node to a third computing node (see ¶ [0083] “In Step S804, management server 11 updates relevant tasks within the job flow definition information, according to updated task child nodes. In the foregoing example of FIGS. 14A and 13B, the child nodes in FIG. 13B, task_A_1 and task_A_2, have been added to task1 in FIG. 14A. In Step S805, management server 11 migrates property information to child nodes added in Step S804. That is, property information appended to each of the subdivided tasks is described in the updated task interface information. Then, in Step S806, an update flag is set for the task that was updated in Steps S804 and S805. To be more specific, an update flag (update="true") is set for the parent node task that has had updates to child nodes, as indicated by description 1411 in FIG. 14B.”); the child job, the parent job (see ¶ [0083] “In Step S804, management server 11 updates relevant tasks within the job flow definition information, according to updated task child nodes. In the foregoing example of FIGS. 14A and 13B, the child nodes in FIG. 13B, task_A_1 and task_A_2, have been added to task1 in FIG. 14A. In Step S805, management server 11 migrates property information to child nodes added in Step S804. That is, property information appended to each of the subdivided tasks is described in the updated task interface information. Then, in Step S806, an update flag is set for the task that was updated in Steps S804 and S805. To be more specific, an update flag (update="true") is set for the parent node task that has had updates to child nodes, as indicated by description 1411 in FIG. 14B.”).
Miyazawa does not expressly disclose, however, Mattheis teaches executing, by the one or more processors, the workload scheduler that schedules, according to the second job allocation configuration (see ¶[0046] “The scheduling of dynamic multi-tasking computations requires scheduling steps including processor mapping and execution ordering. Besides the mechanism to map the tasks to processors and to determine the execution order, a scheduler implementation requires a mechanism for resource allocation. A runtime environment is provided to allocate resources such as processors and data structures and to provide a task interface. A parallel task runtime environment can be provided for parallel execution of dynamic multi-tasking computations.”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa by adapting Mattheis for scheduling of tasks of a parallel computing system with several processor cores to increase the performance or throughput of the computing system (see ¶[0004] of Mattheis).
Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya do not expressly disclose, however, Joshi teaches a third computing node that has the newer code version as the upgraded first computing node based at least in part on the first computing node that is scheduled to perform the job (see ¶ [0005] “In one embodiment of the invention, a system and methods are provided for facilitating a rolling upgrade of distributed software from a relatively older version to a relatively newer version. In this embodiment, multiple versions of the software can operate on different nodes, and the rolling upgrade may take any amount of time to complete (e.g., hours, days, months, years).”) being to the newer code version than the second computing node scheduled to perform the job of the set of jobs, wherein the second job allocation configuration prevents scheduling the job on computing nodes having the newer code version than the first computing node (see ¶[0021] “However, all group nodes operate the software at a common level, termed the Acting Version (AV). The AV of the software is a version that can be supported by each node in the cluster.” See ¶ [0022] “Any node whose SV.gtoreq.AV (i.e., the node's software version is higher or newer than the acting version) will operate the software according to the AV, not its SV. Thus, it may continue to support functionality, data formats and other characteristics of the AV, and disable or suppress functionality provided in the SV that is not supported in the AV.”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya by adapting Kagami to allocate computing resources, which are specified by “node”“time”, to the plurality of jobs, thereby determining which nodes and what time to execute each job (see ¶ [0004] of Kagami).
Regarding claim 11, correspond with claim 2 above, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, correspond with claim 3 above, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 7, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazawa (US PG PUB 2007/0106695) in view of Mattheis (U.S. PG PUB 2014/0317636) and Vaidya et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2013/0238768), as applied in claims 1, 10 above, further in view of Deblaquiere et al. (U.S. PG PUB 20006/0184927).
Regarding claim 7, Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya do not expressly disclose, however, Deblaquiere teaches wherein the first job allocation configuration and the second job allocation configuration configure the parent job and the set of child jobs to run on a same code version (see ¶[0080] “In stage 504, update service 104 may identify one or more of the software updates as a parent update. For example, update module 206 may consider the update that was requested as the parent update. Update module 206 may also analyze the configuration of the installed software products and determine that one or more parent updates are required. For example, update module 206 may query update database 216 to determine if there are updates available for the installed software products. Update module 206 may then query dependency data 212 and determine the respective dependencies between any of the available updates. Based on these dependencies, update module 206 may then determine that one or more parent updates should be selected. Processing then flows to stage 506.”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya by adapting Deblaquiere for determining which software updates from various software vendors are available, determining which of those updates are applicable to a given user or enterprise, and installing selected updates on the user's or enterprise's system (see ¶ [0008] of Deblaquiere).
Regarding claim 16, correspond with claim 7 above, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 21, Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya do not expressly disclose, however, Deblaquiere teaches wherein executing the workload scheduler results in the parent job and the plurality of child jobs of the parent job being executed on computing nodes having a same code version, further comprising: storing data from the data source to the one or more database instances running on the plurality of computing nodes of the computing cluster in accordance with the parent job and the plurality of child jobs being executed on computing nodes having the same code version (see ¶[0068] “Update module 206 may make entries into update database 216 to include the URL or network location of servers for software vendors 102 that can provide the update, to store the software update itself, the file format of the software update, and the installation process. Also, a URL to a description about the software update, such as the problems that the update fixes or features added may be stored in update database 216. Of course, one skilled in the art will recognize that either software vendors 102 or update service 104 may specify the entries that are made into update database 216. Processing may then flow to stage 402.”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya by adapting Deblaquiere for determining which software updates from various software vendors are available, determining which of those updates are applicable to a given user or enterprise, and installing selected updates on the user's or enterprise's system (see ¶ [0008] of Deblaquiere).
Claim(s) 5, 6, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazawa (US PG PUB 2007/0106695) in view of Mattheis (U.S. PG PUB 2014/0317636) and Vaidya et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2013/0238768), as applied in claims 1, 10 above, further in view of Kagami et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2016/0299795).
Regarding claim 5, Mattheis teaches wherein the third computing node is scheduled to perform the parent job, and wherein the first job allocation configuration prevents scheduling additional child jobs until active child jobs of the set of child jobs are terminated (see ¶[0051] “The library function spawn takes the lambda function as an argument and generates a new task. After having generated the task, the library function executes the generated task parallel to the current task. The function sync waits until all generated child tasks have been finished. By means of the scheduler, the tasks are distributed during runtime to the different processor cores.”).
Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya do not expressly disclose, however, Kagami teaches further comprising:
executing, by the one or more processors, the workload scheduler that schedules, according to the first job allocation configuration, a second job allocation for a third computing node of the plurality of computing nodes based at least in part on interruption to the parent job during sequential updating of the plurality of computing nodes (see ¶[0012] “As described above, the efficiency of the use of nodes in a parallel computing system may be increased by performing job scheduling involving job interruptions. However, if a schedule plan involving transfer of data on a job between nodes is considered, a problem arises in the accuracy in the estimation of transfer period. In the case where there is a node located between a transfer source node and a transfer destination node, a transfer period may greatly vary due to other jobs running on the node and communication of the node for the other jobs. Therefore, if a transfer period is estimated on the basis of static information such as hardware performance, it is likely that there causes a big error between the estimated transfer period and the actual transfer period.”).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya by adapting Kagami to allocate computing resources, which are specified by “node”“time”, to the plurality of jobs, thereby determining which nodes and what time to execute each job (see ¶ [0004] of Kagami).
Regarding claim 6, Mattheis teaches wherein the first job allocation configuration prevents scheduling a child job callback until active child jobs of the set of child jobs are terminated (see ¶[0051] “The library function spawn takes the lambda function as an argument and generates a new task. After having generated the task, the library function executes the generated task parallel to the current task. The function sync waits until all generated child tasks have been finished. By means of the scheduler, the tasks are distributed during runtime to the different processor cores.”).
Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya do not expressly disclose, however, Kagami teaches further comprising:
executing, by the one or more processors, the workload scheduler that schedules, according to the first job allocation configuration, the second job allocation for a third computing node of the plurality of computing nodes based at least in part on an interruption to the parent job during sequential updating of the plurality of computing nodes, wherein the third computing node is scheduled to perform the parent job (see ¶[0012] “As described above, the efficiency of the use of nodes in a parallel computing system may be increased by performing job scheduling involving job interruptions. However, if a schedule plan involving transfer of data on a job between nodes is considered, a problem arises in the accuracy in the estimation of transfer period. In the case where there is a node located between a transfer source node and a transfer destination node, a transfer period may greatly vary due to other jobs running on the node and communication of the node for the other jobs. Therefore, if a transfer period is estimated on the basis of static information such as hardware performance, it is likely that there causes a big error between the estimated transfer period and the actual transfer period.”), and
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Miyazawa, Mattheis, and Vaidya by adapting Kagami to allocate computing resources, which are specified by “node” “time”, to the plurality of jobs, thereby determining which nodes and what time to execute each job (see ¶ [0004] of Kagami).
Regarding claims 14, 15, correspond with claims 5, and 6 above, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 112(a), applicant points to ¶[0072], ¶[0073], and ¶[0033] for support, and although the paragraph indicates code version information it does not stated it is during sequential updating.
The rolling update implements policies that executes on same versions but does not state maintaining anything during sequential updating/or during rolling updating. Applicant must provide precise support and explanation or remove the subject matter.
Regarding 112(b) it is unclear what code version the workload scheduler is scheduling job allocations?
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1, 10, and 19 do not clarify these issues. Examiner notified applicant that these terms were unclear in interview dated 11/6/2025, and applicant had acknowledged these terms were unclear. Applicants must provide precise explanation or remove the subject matter.
Regarding 103 rejections, applicant argues that Miyazawa’s is silent towards “computing nodes’ and “computing cluster” and does not teach “sequentially updating the plurality of computing nodes of the computing cluster.” Applicants argue Miyazawa describes tasks that are depicted as nodes, and further describes tasks as the parent node, and therefore Miyazawa fails to support jobs that are distinct from the nodes themselves.
Examiner disagrees. Examiner cited Vaidya as distinctly teaching computing nodes, including parent and child node (see ¶[0172] “The user may specify in the site hierarchy any number of levels of parent and child nodes”), computing cluster (see ¶[0172] “In some embodiments, the user defines a site hierarchy with a single top node. In other embodiments, the user defines a site hierarchy with multiple peers nodes at the top of the hierarchy.”) and tasks (see ¶[[0104] “The service 275 may comprise any program, application, process, task or set of executable instructions capable of connecting to and communicating to the appliance 200, client 102 or vServer 275”). Thus, examiner does not find the argument persuasive.
Applicants argue Matthesis does not disclose any parent child relationship and preventing a parent job from being run until the child has finished.
Examiner disagrees. Matthesis teaches preventing the parent job from being run until the child jobs have finished by waiting until all child tasks have been finished before a parent job can run. This is the same as preventing the parent job from running because it has to wait for all the child tasks to finish first (see ¶[0051] “The library function spawn takes the lambda function as an argument and generates a new task. After having generated the task, the library function executes the generated task parallel to the current task. The function sync waits until all generated child tasks have been finished. By means of the scheduler, the tasks are distributed during runtime to the different processor cores.” Note: This means the parent job is prevented from being ran until the child job has finished, new task is considered a new version.) Thus, examiner does not find the argument persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Acker et al. (U.S. PG PUB 2016/0342409) teaches performing a rolling upgrade to a distributed runtime environment that includes a cluster of computing systems. A first of a plurality of computing nodes executing a first version of a runtime environment determines a second version of the runtime environment via a registry. Upon determining that the second version is a more recent version, the first computing node retrieves an install package for the second version from a second one of the computing nodes. The first computing node installs the second version using the install package.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Carina Yun
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2194
/CARINA YUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2194
/KEVIN L YOUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2194