DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I and the species
in the reply filed on 4/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/13/26.
The species
were not found in the prior art and therefore, the search was expanded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xue et al. (J. Med. Chem. 1998, 41, 1745-1748).
Xue et al. (J. Med. Chem. 1998, 41, 1745-1748) teaches of the cyclic inhibitors of matrix metalloproteinases
(title; abstract; Scheme 2; p1747, Conclusion) which anticipates R = -NHR’ and R’ = C1-C6 alkyl of the instant claims.
SE205 has excellent water solubility (13 mg/mL) which makes it an attractive prototypical molecule for in vivo studies (p1747, right column, first paragraph) wherein the water anticipates the pharmaceutically acceptable carrier of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (US 6,281,352B1).
Xue et al. (US 6,281,352B1) discloses inhibitors of metalloproteinases and pharmaceutical compositions comprising such compounds and a pharmaceutical carrier used for the treatment of inflammatory diseases (abstract; column 22, lines 31-45; column 200, lines 41-52; column 201, lines 39+).
The compounds comprise novel hydroxamic acids and carboxylic acids and derivatives (column 4, lines 10-26 and 40-55), such as
(column 58, lines 55-65) wherein R2 comprises CONH-cyclopentyl, CONMe2, CONEt2, etc. (table 1) that encompass the compounds of the instant claims when R is –NHR’ or –NR’R’ and R’ is C3-C7 cycloalkyl or C1-C6 alkyl.
The pharmaceutical carrier encompasses the pharmaceutical carrier of the instant claims.
Xue et al. further discloses a pharmaceutical kit comprising a container, instructions, inserts, labels, etc. (column 206, lines 5-17) that encompasses the kit of the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1,2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (J. Med. Chem. 1998, 41, 1745-1748) in view of Xue et al. (US 6,281,352B1).
Xue et al. (J. Med. Chem. 1998, 41, 1745-1748) discloses the cyclic inhibitors of matrix metalloproteinases
as well as that stated above.
Xue et al. (J. Med. Chem. 1998, 41, 1745-1748) does not disclose a kit.
Xue et al. (US 6,281,352B1) discloses that stated above.
At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the compounds of Xue et al. (J. Med. Chem. 1998, 41, 1745-1748) in kits comprising instructions as Xue et al. (US 6,281,352B1) discloses analogous compounds provided in kits to provide instructions and/or guidelines for administration for the advantage of use of the compounds in treatment of a subject.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,2 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,286,251B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the U.S. Patent No. 11,286,251B2 comprises compounds, such as
,
,
, etc. that encompass the compounds of the instant claims when R is -NHR1; R1 is
, etc.; R3 is F,
, etc.
The U.S. Patent No. 11,286,251B2 comprises a kit comprising an applicator and instructions that encompasses the kit of the instant claims comprising an applicator and instructions.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed at this time.
examiner can normally be reached M9-3, T9-3, W9-3, Th9-2, F9-2.
/MELISSA J PERREIRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1618