DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagnon (US 20130031799 A1) in view of Yamane (JP H08266610 A).
Regarding claim 1, Gagnon discloses a hand dryer comprising:
a housing (12, 112),
an air blower (28, 128) in the housing and arranged to deliver air through an outlet (26, 126) of the housing out of the housing to dry hands; and
an ozone generator (42, 44, 142, 144) within the housing, providing ozone to the air delivered through the outlet (paras. 23, 35).
Gagnon fails to disclose:
an ozone sensor for sensing the concentration of ozone in either the incoming air through the housing intake or the delivered air out of the outlet; and
a computer connected to the ozone generator and the ozone sensor, the computer turning off, or diminishing the output of, the ozone generator when the concentration of ozone reaches a pre-selected limit.
Yamane teaches an indoor air deodorizing and sterilizing device, comprising:
an ozone sensor (Fig. 3, 11) for sensing the concentration of ozone in either the incoming air through the housing intake (5) or the delivered air out of the outlet (see abstract); and
a computer (see Fig. 3 showing an electronic system with a CPU 19) connected to the ozone generator and the ozone sensor, the computer turning off, or diminishing the output of, the ozone generator (ozone lamp 8) when the concentration of ozone reaches a pre-selected limit (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Gagnon to include an ozone sensor for sensing the concentration of ozone in either the incoming air through the housing intake or the delivered air out of the outlet; and a computer connected to the ozone generator and the ozone sensor, the computer turning off, or diminishing the output of, the ozone generator when the concentration of ozone reaches a pre-selected limit. The motivation to combine is so that ozone levels do not exceed levels which might cause headaches in the users (see English translation of Yamane, para. 2).
With the modification, the controller 232 of Gagnon would be modified to be a computer for performing the various functions of the hand dryer. The motivation to make this modification is because computers can perform complex control and sensing functions.
Regarding claim 2, modified Gagnon discloses (see Gagnon for citations) the hand dryer according to claim 1, further comprising a hands time- of-flight sensor (Fig. 3, 230) mounted (i.e., connected directly or indirectly) to the housing (Fig. 3, 202) for detecting the presence of hands beneath the outlet (para. 38), the computer (controller 232, as modified for the rejection of claim 1) connected to the hands time-of-flight sensor and to the air blower (para. 38), the computer turning on the air blower when hands are present (para. 38).
Regarding claim 3, Gagnon discloses the hand dryer according to claim 1, further comprising a user time-of- flight sensor (Fig. 3, 230) for determining the presence of and duration of a user in front of the hand dryer, the computer (controller 232, as modified for the rejection of claim 1) connected to user hands time-of-flight sensor and collecting data (the computer receives a signal from the sensor) on the presence of users in front of the hand dryer (para. 38).
Claim(s) 4-6, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagnon (US 20130031799 A1) in view of Yamane (JP H08266610 A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Fadell (US 20180252589 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Gagnon fails to disclose the hand dryer according to claim 1, further comprising an air quality sensor mounted to the housing and signal-connected to the computer, data on air quality collected by the computer.
However, Fadell teaches a home monitoring and control system comprising, an air quality sensor (538) mounted to a housing and signal-connected to the computer (para. 128), data on air quality collected by the computer (para. 129).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Gagnon to include an air quality sensor mounted to the housing and signal-connected to the computer, data on air quality collected by the computer. The motivation to combine is that the operator can be informed of potentially harmful air pollutants (see para. 129 of Fadell).
Regarding claim 5, Gagnon fails to disclose the hand dryer according to claim 1, further comprising a WI-Fi module within the housing, communicating between user's devices and an external network.
However, Fadell teaches a home monitoring and control system comprising, a WI-Fi module within the housing (e.g., Fig. 10A shows a thermostat 102 with an internal WI-FI module 1066), communicating between user's devices and an external network (see para. 59).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Gagnon to include a WI-Fi module within the housing, communicating between user's devices and an external network. The motivation to combine is so that the hand dryer can send a remote operator important information [e.g., ozone concentration, air quality (see rejection of claim 4), operation status, and more].
Regarding claim 6, Gagnon fails to disclose the hand dryer according to claim 1, further comprising a Z-wave module communication with remote sensors and the computer, the computer collecting data from the remote sensors.
However, Fadell teaches a home monitoring and control system comprising, a Z-wave module communication with remote sensors and the computer (para. 75), the computer collecting data from the remote sensors (para. 75).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Gagnon to include a Z-wave module communication with remote sensors and the computer, the computer collecting data from the remote sensors. The motivation to combine is so that the hand dryer can send a remote operator important information [e.g., ozone concentration, air quality (see rejection of claim 4), operation status, and more].
Regarding claim 8, Gagnon fails to disclose the hand dryer according to claim 1, further comprising a BLUETOOTH capable of signal-connection between the computer and a user's held device.
However, Fadell teaches a home monitoring and control system comprising, a BLUETOOTH capable of signal-connection between the computer (computer of the smart device, e.g., smart doorbell) and a user's held device (para. 152).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Gagnon to include a BLUETOOTH capable of signal-connection between the computer and a user's held device. The motivation to combine is so that the hand dryer can send a remote operator important information [e.g., ozone concentration, operation status, and more].
Regarding claim 10, Gagnon fails to disclose the hand dryer according to claim 1, further comprising an RFID/NFC reader that reads RFID of NFC readable card and mobile phones.
However, Fadell teaches a home monitoring and control system comprising, an RFID/NFC reader that reads RFID of NFC readable card and mobile phones (para. 72).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Gagnon to include an RFID/NFC reader that reads RFID of NFC readable card and mobile phones. The motivation to combine is so that the hand dryer can have customizable settings (e.g., air speed, temperature) based on the individual user.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagnon (US 20130031799 A1) in view of Yamane (JP H08266610 A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim (KR 20150119748 A).
Regarding claim 7, Gagnon fails to disclose the hand dryer according to claim 1, further comprising a LTE/5G modem within the housing, communicating between the computer and an external network.
However, Kim teaches (see English translation for citations) a communication module for an electronic device comprising, a LTE/5G modem, communicating between the computer and an external network (see pg. 3 discussing where the communication module is for an electronic device) (see 3rd full paragraph on p. 4 discussing where the communication module has a LTE modem).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Gagnon to include an LTE/5G modem within the housing, communicating between the computer and an external network. The motivation to combine is so that the hand dryer can send a remote operator important information [e.g., ozone concentration, air quality, operation status, and more].
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gagnon (US 20130031799 A1) in view of Yamane (JP H08266610 A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lee (US 20200091617 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Gagnon fails to disclose the hand dryer according to claim 1, further comprising an mmWave sensor module using millimeter wave radar technology creating a mapping of the room and detecting movements throughout the room, detecting where users are within the room and when they enter or leave.
However, Lee teaches a lighting system for a building, comprising: mmWave sensor module using millimeter wave radar technology creating a mapping of the room and detecting movements throughout the room, detecting where users are within the room and when they enter or leave (para. 9).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Gagnon to include an mmWave sensor module using millimeter wave radar technology creating a mapping of the room and detecting movements throughout the room, detecting where users are within the room and when they enter or leave. The motivation to combine is so that the hand dryer has a low power standby mode when no occupants are detected, and a higher power active mode when occupants are detected. The result is reduced power consumption.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Claim 11 contains allowable subject matter because it would not have been obvious to modify the hand dryer of claim 1 to integrate all of the features recited in claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts on page 7 the following:
Examiner’s response:
Yamane is analogous art since it is pertinent to the problem faced by the Inventor. The ozone sensor and generator of the present invention is designed to output a regulated amount of ozone to purify the air from the hand dryer. Yamane teaches an air purifier comprising an ozone generator and sensor to regulate the amount of ozone outputted to purify the air.
Applicant asserts on page 7 the following:
Examiner’s response:
Applicant’s argument is directed to a feature that was not relied upon in the rejection. Yamane is used to teach an ozone sensor and controller that limits the ozone generated if the amount detected exceeds a threshold amount. Therefore, the modification would not render Gagnon unsatisfactory for its intended purpose, change the principle of operation of Gagnon, or teach away from the claimed invention. Moreover, the motivation for the combination was derived from Yamane; therefore, the modification is not impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762