DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7, 9-11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (US 2009/0091925 A1) in view of Sooferian (US 8,840,273 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Hesse et al. teaches a lighting apparatus comprising:
a housing (first housing 12; see at least figures 1-5);
an LED light source (16; see at least figures 4 and 5) in the housing (12; see at least figure 1-5);
a beam-angle changing lens (32; see figure 1-5);
a hollow slotted cylinder (see 14 in at least figures 4 and 5 where a portion is threaded; the threaded portion is interpreted as the slotted portion of the cylinder 14) in the housing (12); and
wherein:
the beam-angle changing lens (32) is:
inside the housing (12); and outside the slotted cylinder (14), and
the beam-angle changing lens (32), is movable from a first position in front of the slotted cylinder to a second position in front of the slotted cylinder (see paragraph [0034] and at least figure 4 and 5); and the hollow slotted cylinder (14) is rotatable relative to the housing (12).
Hesse et al. does not explicitly teach an actuator that is configured to cause a change in a distance between the beam- angle changing lens and the LED light source in the relied upon embodiment.
However in paragraph [0005], known flashlights includes a movable lens system and a motor that moves the lens system for focus is disclosed. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the relied upon embodiment of Hesse et al. to include an actuator as an alternative way to change the distance of the lens and the LED light source as it is well known in the art that flashlights include movable lens systems and motors to move the lens system of the flashlight for focus as disclosed in paragraph [0005] of Hesse et al.
Hesse et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first position is at a first distance from the slotted cylinder and the second position is at a second distance from the slotted cylinder and the second distance is different from the first distance and when rotated, remains fixed in position, relative to the housing along a central axis of the housing.
In regard to the first position and second position of the slotted cylinder, Sooferian teaches the lens 166 is in a first position at a first distance (figs. 8-9) from the slotted cylinder (base housing 152 combined with cylindrical threaded portion 156 is interpreted as the recited slotted cylinder), and the lens 166 is in a second position at a second distance (figs. 8-9) from the slotted cylinder (base housing 152 combined with cylindrical threaded portion 156 is interpreted as the recited slotted cylinder).
It would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the relied upon embodiment of Hesse et al. to move the lens a first position at a first distance from the slotted cylinder and a second position at a second distance as taught by Sooferian et al. so that the light emanating from the light fixture can be appropriately adjusted and controlled so that it may selectively be anything between a more focused beam and a more diffuse light (see paragraph [0049] of Sooferian et al.).
In regard to the slotted cylinder being rotated and remaining in a fixed position, Sooferian et al. teaches a slotted cylinder (figure 12; threaded shaft 228 is interpreted as the recited slotted cylinder) when rotated, remains fixed in position (see figure 12 where 228 is rotated and remains in fixed position), relative to the housing (see figure 12 where a light source 222 and lens 224are positioned.
It would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the slotted cylinder of Hesse et al. so when rotated, remains fixed in position, relative to the housing along a central axis of the housing as taught by as taught by Sooferian et al. as an alternative design choice and way to adjust the nature of the bam emanating from the lighting apparatus (see paragraph [0054] of Sooferian et al.).
Regarding claim 3, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Hesse et al. further teaches wherein the slotted cylinder (14) is configured to move the beam-angle changing lens (32) from the first position to the second position when the slotted cylinder (14) is rotated (see paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian et al. teaches the apparatus of claim . Hesse et al. teaches further comprising a support (34; figure 4 and 5) that is configured to support lens (32) in the first and second positions (see figures 4 and 5);
wherein the slotted cylinder (14) is configured to displace the support (34) to move the lens (32) from the first position to the second position (see figure 4 and 5 where lens 32 has been displaced; see at least paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and Hesse et al. further teaches wherein the LED light source (16) is fixed in place relative to the housing (12).
Regarding claim 9, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and Hesse et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the actuator includes: the slotted cylinder, a rotatable shaft and an adjustment dial.
Sooferian teaches the actuator includes; the slotted cylinder, a rotatable shaft (the threaded shaft 228 is interpreted as the slotted cylinder specifically the portion comprising threaded portion and the shaft is rotatable) and an adjustment dial (230, interpreted as adjustment dial; figures 10-12) to adjust the lens (224) or the light source (222).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Hesse et al. to include an adjustment dial as taught by Sooferian as an alternative design choice and way to adjust the nature of the beam emanating from the lighting apparatus (see paragraph [0054] of Sooferian et al.).
Regarding claim 10, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian teaches the apparatus of claim 9 and Hesse et al. further teach wherein the housing (12; figures 4 and 5) includes a first support (22) configured to:
support the LED light source (16); and
prevent the slotted cylinder (14) from moving along a central axis of the housing (12) in the direction of the first support (22).
Regarding claim 11, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian teaches the apparatus of claim 10 and Hess et al. further teaches wherein the housing (12; figure 4 and 5) includes a second support (24) that is configured to prevent the slotted cylinder (14) from moving along the central axis in the direction of the second support (24; fig. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 14, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Hesse et al. further teaches wherein the beam-angle changing lens (32) is mounted on a lens support (34).
Regarding claim 15, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 14, and Hesse et al. teaches further comprising an annular H-beam that:
includes columns, fixed to the annular H-beam (see at least figures 4 and 5)), that support the lens support (34); and
is configured to provide, to the columns, linear motion, parallel to a central axis of the housing (12), when the slotted cylinder (14) is rotated.
Regarding claim 16, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 15, and Hesse et al. teaches further comprising a first support (22) that, is configured to:
support the LED light source (12); and
prevent the slotted cylinder (14) from moving along the central axis in the direction of the first support (22); wherein the columns extend through the first support (22; see at least figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 17, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 9 but Hesse et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a diameter of the adjustment dial is larger than a diameter of the slotted cylinder.
However, Sooferian et al. teaches wherein a diameter of the adjustment dial (230; figures 10-12) is larger than a diameter of the slotted cylinder (228; figures 10-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Hesse et al. to include an adjustment dial having a diameter larger than that of the slotted cylinder as taught by Sooferian et al. as an alternative design choice.
Regarding claim 18, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 9 but Hesse et al. does not explicitly teach wherein: an outer surface of the adjustment dial has a first diameter; an outer surface of the housing has a second diameter; and the first diameter is coextensive with the second diameter.
Sooferian et al. teaches wherein an outer surface of the adjustment dial (230; figure 10-12) has a first diameter; an outer surface of the housing ( figure 10-12) has a second diameter; and the first diameter is coextensive with the second diameter (see figure 10-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Hesse et al. to include an adjustment dial having a diameter larger than that of the slotted cylinder as taught by Sooferian et al. as an alternative design choice.
Regarding claim 19, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian teaches the apparatus of claim 9 and Hesse et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the adjustment is disposed at an end of the housing opposite an end of the housing in which the beam-angle changing lens is disposed.
Sooferian further teaches wherein the adjustment dial (230; figures 10-12) is disposed at an end of the housing (220) opposite an end of the housing in which the beam-angle changing lens (224; see figure 11 where lens 224 and dial 230 are at opposite ends of the housing 220) is disposed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Hesse et al. to include an adjustment dial disposed at an opposite end of the housing from the beam-angle changing lens as taught by Sooferian as an alternative design choice and way to adjust the nature of the beam emanating from the lighting apparatus (see paragraph [0054] of Sooferian et al.).
Regarding clam 20, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 4, and Hesse et al. further teaches wherein the first position is spaced apart from the second position (see at least figures 4 and 5 where the first position is spaced from the second position).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (US 2009/0091925 A1) in view of Sooferian (US 8,840,273 B2) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Sommers et al. (US 6,866,401 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian teaches the apparatus of claim 1 but Hesse et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising a guide pin; wherein:
rotation of the slotted cylinder displaces the guide pin linearly; and motion of the guide pin moves the lens.
Sommers et al. teaches a lamp comprising a guide pin (projection 46; figure 3) in the cylinder (44) wherein the rotation of the cylinder displaces the guide pin (46) and moves lens (38; figure 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Hesse et al. to include guide pins as taught by Sommers et al. as an alternative design choice to guide the lens as it is repositioned when the cylinder is rotated.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (US 2009/0091925 A1) modified by Sooferian (US 8,840,273 B2) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Rutherford (US 5,625,148).
Regarding claim 6, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and Hesse et al. teaches further comprising a rotatable shaft (14) that: is configured to rotate the slotted cylinder (12; figure 2). However, Hesse et al. is silent about the rotatable shaft extending through a potted chamber. Rutherford teaches a rotatable shaft extending through a potted chamber (see column 4, lines 3-19 potted chamber and rotatable shaft are disclosed). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art before the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Hesse et al. to include a potting material in the chamber as taught by Rutherford to rotate the slotted cylinder while maintaining the ability to produce electrical pulses (see column 4, lines 3-19 of Rutherford).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hesse et al. (US 2009/0091925 A1) modified by Sooferian (US 8,840,273 B2) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Nemeyer (US 2013/0182441 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Hesse et al. further teaches a slotted cylinder (figure 4 and 5: the threaded portion of 14 are interpreted as slots), wherein the slotted cylinder (see figures 4 and 5) defines a slot that is angled relative to a central axis of the slotted cylinder (see figure 4 and 5); but does not explicitly teach the slot extends through a wall of the cylinder.
Nemeyer teaches an adjustable focus light comprising a slotted cylinder defining a slot (spiral groove 85; see at least figure 2; paragraph [0036]) that is angled relative to a central axis of the slotted cylinder (see at least figure 2) and the slot (85; figure 2) extends through the wall of the cylinder (60; see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the slotted cylinder of Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian to define a slot that is angled relative to the central axis of the slotted cylinder as taught by Nemeyer as an alternative design choice.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesse et al. (US 2009/0091925 A1) in view of Sooferian (US 2013/0208481 A1) as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Winstanley et al. (US 2010/0265715 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian teaches the apparatus of claim 9 and Hesse et al. teaches wherein: the housing (12) defines a first chamber and second chamber,
the LED light source (16; figure 4 and 5) is disposed in the first chamber (see at least figure 4 and 5);
the slotted cylinder (14) is disposed in the second chamber (see figure 4 and 5).
Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian does not explicitly teach a third chamber; and the rotatable shaft transverses the third chamber.
Winstanley et al. teaches an adjustable lighting unit comprising a rotatable shaft (70/72 combined; figure 3) that transverses the housing of the lighting unit (see at least figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hesse et al. modified by Sooferian to have the rotatable shaft transverse the third chamber as taught by Winstanley et al. as an alternative design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 12 recites, inter alia, the slotted cylinder is positioned between the first support and the second support.
The references of record do not teach or suggest the aforementioned limitation, nor would it be obvious to modify those references to include such limitation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the prior art of record Sooferian, specifically figure 12, does not teach or disclose a slotted cylinder that, when rotated, remains fixed in position, relative to the housing along a central axis of the housing as recited in independent claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The cylinder (228) of Sooferian is attached to knob (230) and rotates but does not appear to move up and down. The LED, lens and reflector in figures 10-12, respectively, are what moves up and down as indicated by the arrows in figures 10-12, when the cylinder (228) is rotated. Applicant does not specifically point out nor explain how the cylinder of Sooferian does not remain in a fixed position.
Therefore, claims 1, 3-11 and 13-20 remain rejected. Claim 12 remains objected to as allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875