Amendments
Claim amendments filed 6/30/2025 are acknowledged. Claims 1-16 are pending with claims 12-16 withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are:
Grip recognition unit in claim 1, and
Driver recognition unit in claim 3.
Grip recognition unit in claim 1 is taken to be a sensor as described in 0009, and
Driver recognition unit in claim 3 is taken to be a sensor as described in 0054.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR20060035399A) in view of Kong (US20150217794), Ishakawa (JP2011121554A) and Birgel (DE102017211515A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon teaches a sterilization system for a steering wheel comprising an ultraviolet lamp (10) installed on one side of the inside of a spoke (30) of a steering wheel (i.e. this reads on the claimed limitation “UV lamp disposed within the steering wheel”); and an optical fiber (42) installed along a moving hole (12) penetrated between the spoke (30) of the steering wheel and a rim (20), with one end positioned adjacent to the ultraviolet lamp (10) and the other end installed inside along the shape of the rim (20) (this reads on the claimed limitation “optical fiber disposed within the steering wheel along the rim”). The reference goes on to state that in addition, it is preferable that the rim (20) is formed in a circular ring shape so that the driver can hold it by hand and rotate it, and it is preferable that the spoke (30) connected to the rim (20) is formed so as to be connected to the center of the steering wheel (100). As shown in FIG. 4, it is preferable that the optical fiber (42) is positioned so that one end thereof is adjacent to the ultraviolet lamp (10), and that the covering of the end of the optical fiber (42) is exposed. It is preferable that the ultraviolet rays emitted from the ultraviolet lamp (10) are emitted at a wavelength in the range of 200 to 280 nm. The UV light is emitted through a plurality of emission holes (60) formed through the right side and the bottom side along the outer shape of the rim (20) so that ultraviolet rays emitted from the optical fiber (42) can be emitted to the outside of the steering wheel (this reads on the claimed limitation “configured to emit ultraviolet (UV) rays via the plurality of holes through the optical fiber”).
This reference fails to teach:
(1) a cover with holes positioned on the steering wheel
(2) a plurality of optical fibers
(3) grip recognition; and
(4) a controller
Regarding feature 1, Kong teaches in section [0036] and figure 4 a steering wheel cover comprises a core layer 60 having an outer surface 62, an annular channel configured to hold therein a steering wheel 49, and one or more holes 64 or other openings extending through the core layer 60.
Although Jeon does not specifically state that a cover (having holes) is provided over the steering wheel (rim), it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to cover the steering wheel rim of Jeon with the cover according to Kong because this would provide a steering wheel with which the gripping and the pleasant grip feel are improved (comfier grip). Kong specifically states in section [0037] that the holes 64 or other openings may improve grip on the steering wheel and/or add to the overall appearance of the steering wheel without adding significant bulk to the size of the steering wheel. With this being obvious this reads on the claimed limitation “a cover extending along and covering a rim of the steering wheel and having a plurality of holes distributed evenly over the cover” (as can be seen from figure 4 the holes are evenly distributed (pattern)).
Regarding feature 2, although Jeon does not teach a plurality of optical fibers, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to use multiple optical fibers because the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (2144.04VI B). The use of multiple optical fibers would allow optimum signal (light) transmittance.
Regarding feature 3 Ishikawa discloses a wheel grip detection device for a steering system (paragraph 0001). Ishikawa discloses typical contact sensors detect the contact portion of the steering wheel system (paragraph 0003). Ishikawa discloses the position of the hand is identified (paragraph 0006).
Although modified Jeon does not teach a grip recognition unit it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Jeon, as modified above, to incorporate the teaching of Ishikawa to provide a grip detection system to detect the position and portion of the steering wheel that is gripped because this would allow one to determine the sterilizer effectiveness remaining on the portions of the steering wheel and also when to start applying sterilization to the steering wheel/hands of the driver automatically once the steering wheel is gripped (this reads on the claimed “grip recognition unit).
Regarding feature 4, Birgel discloses a method for disinfecting at least one palm in a motor vehicle. Birgle discloses a sensor to detect when a hand or palm is in a suitable position (paragraph 0003). Birgle discloses the disinfection is controlled by control unit (paragraph 0033). Birgle discloses the disinfection is dispensed onto the contact surface of a steering wheel (paragraph 0015) because this would allow the most frequently contacted surface to be sterilized (disinfected) (paragraph 0015)).
Although modified Jeon does not teach a controller configured to control the sterilizing device to sterilize the steering wheel based on the detected grip position and/or grip time, it would be prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Birgle to provide a controller and sensor as way to control the operation of the sterilizing device of modified Jeon above based on the sensed detected position of the hand because this would allow the sterilization of the steering wheel/hands of the driver to occur automatically once the steering wheel is gripped (i.e. no need to manually operate the UV lights as is apparent from Jeon) and thus an automatic operation of the sterilizing system by way of a grip recognition unit/controller would be an improvement of the teachings of Jeon (this reads on the claimed “controller”).
With the modification as defined above being made, the plurality of optical fibers are indirectly connected to the cover by way of the rim thus reading on the claimed limitation “and connected to the cover”.
Further regarding features 3 and 4 above, “The court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art.” See MPEP 2144.04 III.
Regarding claim 2, Jeon disclose all the elements of claim 1 as indicated above but does not disclose the grip recognition unit is connected to a camera sensor positioned at the vehicle and/or a pressure sensor positioned at the steering wheel.
Ishikawa discloses a grip recognition unit including an imaging device composed of digital camera disposed a position in the vehicle interior (paragraph 0042). Doing so allows capture of an image of the space in the vehicle interior that includes the steering wheel.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Jeon by including an imaging system comprising a camera disposed in the vehicle interior because this would allow capture of an image of the space that includes the steering wheel.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, modified Jeon disclose all the elements of claim 1 as indicated above but does not discloses sterilization range based on detected grip position and sterilization intensity is based on grip time.
Ishikawa discloses a wheel grip detection device for a steering system (paragraph 0001). Ishikawa discloses typical contact sensors detect the contact portion of the steering wheel system (paragraph 0003). Ishikawa discloses the position of the hand is identified (paragraph 0006).
Birgel discloses a method for disinfecting at least one palm in a motor vehicle. Birgle discloses a sensor to detect when a hand or palm is in a suitable position (paragraph 0003). Birgle discloses the disinfection is controlled by control unit (paragraph 0033). Birgle discloses the disinfection is dispensed onto the contact surface of a steering wheel (paragraph 0015). Doing so allows the most frequently contacted surface to be disinfected (paragraph 0015).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Jeon by providing the sensors of Ishikawa and the method of Birgel to sterilize a range of the steering wheel based on grip position and sterilization time (based on griptime) because this would sterilize the steering wheel/hands based on the detected position of the hands and would prevent the UV light rays from going to places they should not go (i.e. areas other than the steering wheel) because if the steering wheel was not gripped, sterilization would not commence.
Regarding claim 10, modified Jeon disclose all the elements of claim 1 as indicated above but does not disclose a signal generator based on the detected grip position and/or griptime.
Ishikawa discloses a wheel grip detection device for a steering system (paragraph 0001). Ishikawa discloses typical contact sensors detect the contact portion of the steering wheel system (paragraph 0003). Ishikawa discloses the position of the hand is identified (paragraph 0006).
Birgel discloses a method for disinfecting at least one palm in a motor vehicle. Birgle discloses a sensor to detect when a hand or palm is in a suitable position (paragraph 0003). Birgle discloses the disinfection is controlled by control unit (paragraph 0033). Birgle discloses the disinfection is dispensed onto the contact surface of a steering wheel (paragraph 0015). Doing so allows the most frequently contacted surface to be disinfected (paragraph 0015).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Jeon by providing signal generators. Sensors inherently generate signals and sterilization based on grip position, as a result of the sensor signals, as is disclosed by Ishikawa and Birgel. This would sterilize the steering wheel/hands based on the detected position of the hands and would prevent the UV light rays from going to places they should not go (i.e. areas other than the steering wheel) because if the steering wheel was not gripped, sterilization would not commence.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR20060035399A) in view of Kong (US20150217794), Ishakawa (JP2011121554A) and Birgel (DE102017211515A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Mulinski (DE102014017616A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Jeon disclose all elements of claim 10 as indicated above but fails to disclose a status indicator (indication of the steering wheel sterilization request).
Mulinksi discloses a steering wheel sterilization system comprising: a sterilizing device configured to sterilize a steering wheel of a vehicle (paragraph 0001, device for cleaning vehicle steering wheel) and continues to teach (paragraph 0011) that status indicators, for example on an instrument panel, optical display (paragraph 0012) or acoustic signals, are used to indicate when bacterial prevention effectiveness is diminished and renewal is requested are known.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Jeon by providing a status indicator according to Mulinski because this would allow the operator to know when sterilization is requested to be performed.
Claims 3, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR20060035399A) in view of Kong (US20150217794), Ishakawa (JP2011121554A) and Birgel (DE102017211515A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of FURUSE (JP 3637169 B2).
Regarding claim 3, modified Jeon disclose all the elements of claim 1 as indicated above but does not teach disclose a driver recognition unit configured to detect (1) a driver status indicating whether a driver is in the vehicle, and/or (2) driver information of the driver, wherein the controller is further configured to control the sterilizing device to selectively sterilize the steering wheel based on the detected driver status or driver information.
Furuse discloses a vehicle interior sterilization device, where before sterilization, a control unit detects all passengers have exited before the sterilization is performed (paragraph 0008). Doing so provides measures that are taken to keep humans safe from sterilizing agents (paragraph 0004). This is accomplished by way of a sensor (paragraphs 0015 and 0022).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Jeon by providing an indicator that indicates when all passengers have exited the vehicle prior to initializing sterilization because this would prevent excess exposure of sterilizing agent to occupants.
Regarding claim 4, modified Jeon disclose all the elements of claim 3 as indicated above but does not disclose the controller is configured to control the sterilizing device to sterilize the steering wheel when the detected driver status indicates that the driver has alighted from the vehicle.
Furuse discloses a vehicle interior sterilization device, where before sterilization a control unit detects all passengers have exited before the sterilization is performed (paragraph 0008). Doing so provides measures that are taken to keep humans safe from sterilizing agents (paragraph 0004). This is accomplished by way of a sensor (paragraphs 0015 and 0022).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Jeon by providing a mechanism (see claim 3 above) for detection of passengers have exited the vehicle prior to initializing sterilization because this would prevent excess exposure of sterilizing agent to occupants.
Regarding claim 7, modified Jeon disclose all the elements of claim 3 as indicated above but does not disclose the driver recognition unit is connected to a camera sensor that is positioned at the vehicle and configured to recognize the driver status and/or driver information.
Ishikawa discloses camera sensor inside a vehicle (0045) used to recognize driver information of grip detection (0001). Doing so allows the system to determine whether steering wheel is being gripped.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Jeon by providing a camera sensor that is positioned inside a vehicle that is configured to recognize driver status and/or driver information because this would ensure that the system is able to recognize the driver’s hands on the steering wheel.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jeon (KR20060035399A) in view of Kong (US20150217794), Ishakawa (JP2011121554A), Birgel (DE102017211515A1) and FURUSE (JP 3637169 B2) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Gutowski (US-20210339712-A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Jeon discloses all the elements of claim 4 as indicated above but fails to disclose activating a heater when activating the sterilizing device.
Gutowski teaches in claim 1, when a request to activate the sterilization device, a heater is activated. Doing so eliminates heat sensitive bacteria (paragraph 0003) (Ln. 205-230).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have further modified Jeon by providing activating a heater simultaneous with sterilization because Gutowski teaches that this provides the elimination of heat sensitive bacteria. Performing this operation simultaneous with other sterilization efforts provides faster sterilization.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (KR20060035399A) in view of Kong (US20150217794), Ishakawa (JP2011121554A), Birgel (DE102017211515A1) and FURUSE (JP 3637169 B2) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20220193278).
Regarding claim 6, modified Jeon disclose all elements of claim 3 as indicated above. The modified disclosure to claim 3 teaches detecting grip position and/or grip time and is associated with detected driver information, such as the driver being in the vehicle, and selectively sterilizing the steering wheel based on the detected driver information and stored grip position or grip time associated with the detected driver information, as disclosed above. Modified Jeon does not disclose the controller is configured to: store, at a data storage, the grip information.
Lee (US 20220193278) teaches a control logic for automatically sterilizing a steering wheel (paragraph 0065). The control device includes control module, memory, and processor configured to execute steps in algorithm (paragraph 0060). The controller sterilizes based on information received from driver detection sensor (paragraph 0066).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Jeon by providing control logic according to Lee because this would allow the sterilization after the driver has left vehicle, as is disclosed by Furuse, as noted above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth above and because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A. MARCHESCHI/
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799