Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 13 pertaining to “However, Brun's "ratio" merely refers to the ratio of these capacitive quantities-for example, a ratio of a current or capacity of an accumulator to its nominal capacity (see eq. (3) and paragraph [0041])-in order to estimate the SOH in terms of total stored energy or charge. By contrast, the claimed invention does not use capacities or energies. Instead, Applicant's Claim 1 sets forth that the maximum/minimum voltage SoH be calculated by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage (during charging) or minimum voltage (during discharging) among voltages applied to the internal cells or subunits. This feature is entirely absent from Brun. Brun does not disclose or suggest analyzing voltages of individual cells within a battery unit, nor does Brun replace the unit voltage with a cell-level extreme voltage (a maximum voltage or a minimum voltage). Therefore, Brun does not (and cannot) teach or suggest the claimed "maximum/minimum voltage SoH" that specifically reflects the state of a most deteriorated cell or subunit within a unit.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this Office Action (OA) regarding amended claim 1, Brun teaches, the maximum/minimum voltage SoH (Fig. 4, ¶ 14 computation of the state of health SOH) is calculated using maximum/minimum voltages (Fig. 4, ¶ 18 maximum voltage at the end of the charging phase), (Fig. 4, ¶ 18 minimum voltage at the end of the discharging phase). Brun further discloses analyzing voltages of individual cells due to the state of a most deteriorated cell (Fig. 4, ¶ 37 variable state, such as their different aging).
In response to Applicant's argument on page 13 pertaining to “Moreover, Brun's "ratio" is a capacity ratio, not a ratio between two different types of SOH values. Meanwhile, Applicant's "SoH ratio" is a ratio between (i) the maximum/minimum voltage SoH representing the most deteriorated cell, and (ii) the SoH based on the statistical indicator (standard deviation or variance) representing the entire unit. Brun is silent with respect to comparing such heterogeneous SOH indices derived from distinct sources (extreme voltage-based versus statistical average-based).”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this OA, the Examiner does not rely on Brun to teach the “SoH ratio" is a ratio between (i) the maximum/minimum voltage SoH representing the most deteriorated cell, and (ii) the SoH based on the statistical indicator (standard deviation or variance) representing the entire unit.” The Examiner relies on Yen. Yen teaches, “SoH ratio (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 – 29 the state of health ("SOH") of the cell pack 7 is determined according to a ratio of the statistical parameters)" is a ratio between (i) the maximum/minimum voltage SoH representing the most deteriorated cell (Fig. 1, ¶ 37 data provided by the BMS 71 of the cell pack 7 and related to voltage, used to determine the SOH and aging of the cell pack 7), and (ii) the SoH based on the statistical indicator (standard deviation or variance) (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 standard deviation ("σ") of the measured voltage) representing the entire unit.”
In response to Applicant's argument on page 14 pertaining to “Hwang calculates a "standard-deviation-trough-value" of a discrete curve of standard deviations versus discharge capacities, and determines an overall SOH of the entire battery set from this trough value. The standard deviation in Hwang thus serves as a single global indicator for the entire set, not for each individual unit, and is thus unrelated to any ratio between different SOH indices. In contrast, Applicant's Claim 1 employs a dual-layer architecture: (i) a first SOH (the "maximum/minimum voltage SOH") corresponding to the most deteriorated cell or subunit (local deterioration), and (ii) a second SOH (the "statistical SOH") derived from the time-series voltage variance of the entire unit (overall condition).”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this OA, the Examiner does not rely on Hwang to teach the dual layer architecture. The Examiner relies on Yen. Yen teaches, (i) a first SOH (the "maximum/minimum voltage SOH") corresponding to the most deteriorated cell or subunit (local deterioration) (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 the aging of the cell pack 7 is determined), and (ii) a second SOH (the "statistical SOH") derived from the time-series voltage variance of the entire unit (overall condition) (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 standard deviation ("σ") of the measured voltage). The data from the cell/subunit is stored in memory and used to compute the ratio
In response to Applicant's argument on page 14 pertaining to “In Claim 1, the SoH ratio between these two SOHs is used to quantitatively indicate internal deterioration unevenness - that is, to identify non-uniform deterioration within each battery unit. The Hwang reference does not disclose or suggest such a comparison between an extreme-cell SOH and an overall-unit SOH, nor does it discuss or suggest any concept of internal unevenness diagnosis. Hwang's statistical treatment produces only one kind of SOH; Hwang does not yield two distinct SOHs whose ratio is computed.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this OA, the Examiner does not rely on Hwang to disclose a comparison between an extreme-cell SOH and an overall-unit SOH, or discuss or suggest any concept of internal unevenness diagnosis. The Examiner relies Yen. Yen discloses, comparison between an extreme-cell SOH and an overall-unit SOH (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 – 29 the state of health ("SOH") of the cell pack 7 is determined according to a ratio of the statistical parameters), or discuss or suggest any concept of internal unevenness diagnosis (Fig. 1, ¶ 37 data provided by the BMS 71 of the cell pack 7 and related to voltage, used to determine the SOH and aging of the cell pack 7).
In response to Applicant's argument on pages 14 – 15 pertaining to “Kim '646 does not calculate any SOH based on voltage variance, nor does Kim '646 compute a ratio of different SOHs. Therefore, the Kim '646 reference provides no teaching, suggestion, or motivation for the dual-SOH structure of Applicant's Claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this OA, the examiner does not rely Kim ‘646 to teach calculating any SOH based on voltage variance or to teach computing a ratio of different SOHs. The Examiner relies on Yen. Yean teaches, calculating SOH based on voltage variance (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 standard deviation ("σ") of the measured voltage) and computing a ratio of different SOHs (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 – 29 the state of health ("SOH") of the cell pack 7 is determined according to a ratio of the statistical parameters).
In response to Applicant's argument on page 15 pertaining to “Consequently, the combination of Kim '646, Brun, and Hwang fails to disclose, suggest, or somehow render obvious the claimed features.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this OA, the Examiner does not rely on the combination of Kim '646, Brun, and Hwang. The Examiner relies on the combination of Kim `646, Brun, and Yen. It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kim `646 with Brun for the benefit of improving the carrying out of the diagnosis of the state of the battery. It would further be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kim `646 in view of Brun with Yen for the benefit of measuring battery statistical parameters without taking the batteries apart.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 15 pertaining to “Additionally, it is respectfully noted that the art does not describe, suggest, or render obvious the features of independent Claims 18-20, for reasons similar to those discussed above.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Same response as the response to independent claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 2021/0031646 A1) (herein after Kim `646) in view of Brun-Buisson (US 2014/0077764 A1) (herein after Brun), and further in view of Yen et al (US 2013/0158912 A1) (herein after Yen).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim `646 teaches, an information processing apparatus (Fig. 2, wireless power receiver 142) comprising: an SoH calculator (Fig. 2, charging controller 202) to calculate an SoH (State of Health) (Fig. 2, ¶ 16 charging controller is configured to variably apply a magnitude of the threshold voltage based on a state of health (SOH)) for each of a plurality of battery units (Fig. 2, battery cell 262) on the basis of time-series measurement data related to an electric power applied to each of the plurality of battery units in a rechargeable battery (Fig. 2, ¶ 14 battery cell of a plurality of battery cells), each of the plurality of battery units comprising a plurality of cells or a plurality of battery subunits (Fig. 2, battery cell 262); a maximum/minimum voltage SoH calculator (Fig. 2, cell balancing unit 252) to detect, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum voltage or a minimum voltage (Fig. 2, ¶ 69 gives higher priority to a battery cell 262 having a small SOH) among voltages applied to the plurality of cells or the plurality of battery subunits in the corresponding battery unit on the basis of the measurement data (Fig. 2, ¶ 69 gives higher priority to a battery cell 262 having a small SOH),—
Kim `646 fails to teach, — and calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit, by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed; and an SoH ratio calculator to calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits.
In analogous art, Brun teaches, — and calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH (Fig. 4, ¶ 14 computation of the state of health SOH) which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit (Fig. 4, ¶ 37 variable state, such as their different aging), by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed (Fig. 4, ¶ 18 maximum voltage at the end of the charging phase) and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed (Fig. 4, ¶ 18 minimum voltage at the end of the discharging phase); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 by combining the information processing apparatus comprising an SOH calculator taught by Kim `646 with an SOH calculator to calculate, for each of a plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit, by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed; taught by Brun for the benefit of improving the carrying out of the diagnosis of the state of the battery [Brun: ¶ 5].
Kim `646 in view of Brun fail to teach, — and an SoH ratio calculator to calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits.
In analogous art, Yen teaches, — and an SoH ratio calculator (Fig. 1, control unit 1) to calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 – 29 the state of health ("SOH") of the cell pack 7 is determined according to a ratio of the statistical parameters) which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 the aging of the cell pack 7 is determined), the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit (Fig. 1, ¶ 37 data provided by the BMS 71 of the cell pack 7 and related to voltage, used to determine the SOH and aging of the cell pack 7), and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 standard deviation ("σ") of the measured voltage) of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 cell pack 7 is charged and made to discharge time after time), which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 change in the data of the charge of and discharge; ”the ratio decreases as the battery is charged and discharged”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun by combining the information processing apparatus comprising an SOH calculator taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun with an SoH ratio calculator to calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits; taught by Yen for the benefit of measuring battery statistical parameters without taking the batteries apart [Yen: ¶ 31].
Regarding Claim 3, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 further teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a detector (Fig. 2, comparator 214) to detect an alert target battery unit (Fig. 2, ¶ 53 charge the other battery cell 262) from the plurality of battery units on the basis of the SoH ratio of each of the plurality of battery units (Fig. 2, ¶ 53 reset the comparator 214 to charge the other battery cell 262).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 further teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the detector detects the alert target battery unit from the plurality of battery units, based on a degree of how much each SoH ratio deviates from a value "1" (Fig. 2, ¶ 25 a ratio of less than 100% proportional to the SOH of the battery cell).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 further teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim3, wherein the detector determines the rechargeable battery to be the alert target when the alert target battery unit is detected (Fig. 2, ¶ 69 higher priority to a battery cell 262).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 further teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim3, wherein the detector detects a deteriorated battery unit (Fig. 2, ¶ 69 small SOH) from the plurality of battery units on the basis of the first SoH or the second SoH (Fig. 2, ¶ higher priority to a battery cell 262 having a small SOH).
Regarding Claim 18, Kim `646 teaches, an information processing method (Abstract: charging control method) comprising: calculating an SoH (State of Health) (Fig. 2, ¶ 16 charging controller is configured to variably apply a magnitude of the threshold voltage based on a state of health (SOH)) for each of a plurality of battery units (Fig. 2, battery cell 262) on the basis of time-series measurement data related to an electric power applied to each of the plurality of battery units in a rechargeable battery (Fig. 2, ¶ 14 battery cell of a plurality of battery cells), each of the plurality of battery units comprising a plurality of cells or a plurality of battery subunits (Fig. 2, battery cell 262); detecting, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum voltage or a minimum voltage among voltages applied to the plurality of cells (Fig. 2, ¶ 69 gives higher priority to a battery cell 262 having a small SOH) or the plurality of battery subunits in the corresponding battery unit on the basis of the measurement data (Fig. 2, ¶ 69 gives higher priority to a battery cell 262 having a small SOH), —
Kim `646 fails to teach, — and calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit, by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed; and calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio is being a ratio of:(i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits.
In analogous art, Brun teaches, — and calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH (Fig. 4, ¶ 14 computation of the state of health SOH) which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit (Fig. 4, ¶ 37 variable state, such as their different aging), by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed (Fig. 4, ¶ 18 maximum voltage at the end of the charging phase) and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed (Fig. 4, ¶ 18 minimum voltage at the end of the discharging phase); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 by combining the information processing method taught by Kim `646 with an information processing method comprising: calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit, by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed; taught by Brun for the benefit of improving the carrying out of the diagnosis of the state of the battery [Brun: ¶ 5].
Kim `646 in view of Brun fail to teach, — and calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio is being a ratio of:(i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits.
In analogous art, Yen teaches, — and calculating (Fig. 1, control unit 1), for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 – 29 the state of health ("SOH") of the cell pack 7 is determined according to a ratio of the statistical parameters) which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 the aging of the cell pack 7 is determined), the SoH ratio is being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit (Fig. 1, ¶ 37 data provided by the BMS 71 of the cell pack 7 and related to voltage, used to determine the SOH and aging of the cell pack 7), and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 standard deviation ("σ") of the measured voltage) of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 cell pack 7 is charged and made to discharge time after time), which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 change in the data of the charge of and discharge; ”the ratio decreases as the battery is charged and discharged”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun by combining the information processing method taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun with an information processing method comprising: calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio is being a ratio of:(i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits; taught by Yen for the benefit of measuring battery statistical parameters without taking the batteries apart [Yen: ¶ 31].
Regarding Claim 19, Kim `646 teaches, a non-transitory computer readable medium having a computer program stored therein which when executed by a computer (Fig. 2, ¶ 52 stored in the memory 204), causes the computer to perform processes comprising: calculating an SoH (State of Health) (Fig. 2, ¶ 16 charging controller is configured to variably apply a magnitude of the threshold voltage based on a state of health (SOH)) for each of a plurality of battery units (Fig. 2, battery cell 262) on the basis of time-series measurement data related to an electric power applied to each of the plurality of battery units in a rechargeable battery (Fig. 2, ¶ 14 battery cell of a plurality of battery cells), each of the plurality of battery units comprising a plurality of cells or a plurality of battery subunits (Fig. 2, battery cell 262); detecting, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum voltage or a minimum voltage among voltages applied to the plurality of cells (Fig. 2, ¶ 69 gives higher priority to a battery cell 262 having a small SOH) or the plurality of battery subunits in the corresponding battery unit on the basis of the measurement data (Fig. 2, ¶ 69 gives higher priority to a battery cell 262 having a small SOH), —
Kim `646 fails to teach, — and calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit, by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed; and calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits.
In analogous art, Brun teaches, — and calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH (Fig. 4, ¶ 14 computation of the state of health SOH) which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit (Fig. 4, ¶ 37 variable state, such as their different aging), by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed (Fig. 4, ¶ 18 maximum voltage at the end of the charging phase) and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed (Fig. 4, ¶ 18 minimum voltage at the end of the discharging phase); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 by combining the non-transitory computer readable medium taught by Kim `646 a non-transitory computer readable medium to perform the process comprising: calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit, by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed; taught by Brun for the benefit of improving the carrying out of the diagnosis of the state of the battery [Brun: ¶ 5].
Kim `646 in view of Brun fail to teach, — and calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits.
In analogous art, Yen teaches, — and calculating (Fig. 1, control unit 1), for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 – 29 the state of health ("SOH") of the cell pack 7 is determined according to a ratio of the statistical parameters) which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 the aging of the cell pack 7 is determined), the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit (Fig. 1, ¶ 37 data provided by the BMS 71 of the cell pack 7 and related to voltage, used to determine the SOH and aging of the cell pack 7), and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 standard deviation ("σ") of the measured voltage) of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 cell pack 7 is charged and made to discharge time after time), which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 change in the data of the charge of and discharge; ”the ratio decreases as the battery is charged and discharged”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun by combining the non-transitory computer readable medium to perform processes taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun a non-transitory computer readable medium to perform processes comprising: calculating, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits; taught by Yen for the benefit of measuring battery statistical parameters without taking the batteries apart [Yen: ¶ 31].
Regarding Claim 20, Kim `646 teaches, an information processing system (Fig. 1, ¶ 40 wireless charging system) comprising: a rechargeable battery (Fig. 2, ¶ 14 battery cell of a plurality of battery cells); and an information processing apparatus (Fig. 2, wireless power receiver 142), wherein the rechargeable battery comprises a plurality of battery units (Fig. 2, battery cell 262), each of the battery units comprises a plurality of cells or a plurality of battery subunits (Fig. 2, battery cell 262), and the information processing apparatus comprises an SoH calculator (Fig. 2, charging controller 202) to calculate an SoH (State of Health) (Fig. 2, ¶ 16 charging controller is configured to variably apply a magnitude of the threshold voltage based on a state of health (SOH)) for each of the plurality of battery units on the basis of time-series measurement data related to an electric power applied to each of the plurality of battery units in the rechargeable battery (Fig. 2, ¶ 14 battery cell of a plurality of battery cells); a maximum/minimum voltage SoH (Fig. 2, cell balancing unit 252) calculator to detect, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum voltage or a minimum voltage among voltages applied to the plurality of cells or the plurality of battery subunits (Fig. 2, ¶ 69 gives higher priority to a battery cell 262 having a small SOH) in the corresponding battery unit on the basis of the measurement data (Fig. 2, ¶ 69 gives higher priority to a battery cell 262 having a small SOH), —
Kim `646 fails to teach, — and calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit, by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed; and an SoH ratio calculator to calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits.
In analogous art, Brun teaches, and calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH (Fig. 4, ¶ 14 computation of the state of health SOH) which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit (Fig. 4, ¶ 37 variable state, such as their different aging), by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed (Fig. 4, ¶ 18 maximum voltage at the end of the charging phase) and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed (Fig. 4, ¶ 18 minimum voltage at the end of the discharging phase); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 by combining the information processing system comprising an SOH calculator taught by Kim `646 with an SOH calculator to calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, a maximum/minimum voltage SoH which represents an SoH of a most deteriorated cell or battery subunit within the battery unit, by replacing a voltage of the battery unit with the maximum voltage when charging of the battery unit is performed and the minimum voltage when discharging of the battery unit is performed; taught by Brun for the benefit of improving the carrying out of the diagnosis of the state of the battery [Brun: ¶ 5].
Kim `646 in view of Brun fail to teach, — and an SoH ratio calculator to calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits. —
In analogous art, Yen teaches, — and an SoH ratio calculator (Fig. 1, control unit 1) to calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 – 29 the state of health ("SOH") of the cell pack 7 is determined according to a ratio of the statistical parameters) which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 the aging of the cell pack 7 is determined), the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit (Fig. 1, ¶ 37 data provided by the BMS 71 of the cell pack 7 and related to voltage, used to determine the SOH and aging of the cell pack 7), and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 standard deviation ("σ") of the measured voltage) of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data (Fig. 1, ¶ 33 cell pack 7 is charged and made to discharge time after time), which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits (Fig. 1, ¶ 34 change in the data of the charge of and discharge; ”the ratio decreases as the battery is charged and discharged”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun by combining the information processing system comprising an SOH calculator taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun with an SOH calculator to calculate, for each of the plurality of battery units, an SoH ratio which indicates a degree of internal deterioration unevenness within the battery unit, the SoH ratio being a ratio of: (i) a first SoH, being the maximum/minimum voltage SoH reflecting the most deteriorated cell or battery subunit, and (ii) a second SoH, calculated based on a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values of the battery unit derived from time-series measurement data, which depends on all of the cells or the battery subunits in the battery unit, wherein the SoH ratio decreases as the deterioration of a part of the cells or battery subunits in the battery unit progresses more than other cells or battery subunits; taught by Yen for the benefit of measuring battery statistical parameters without taking the batteries apart [Yen: ¶ 31].
Claim(s) 2, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 2021/0031646 A1) (herein after Kim `646) in view of Brun-Buisson (US 2014/0077764 A1) (herein after Brun) in view of Yen et al (US 2013/0158912 A1) (herein after Yen), and further in view of Kim et al (US 2020/0282861 A1) (herein after Kim `861).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen fail to teach, he information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the calculated SoH ratio of the battery unit represents how much the cell or the battery subunit in which deterioration most progresses in the battery unit progresses in deterioration compared with other cells or battery subunits in the battery unit.
In analogous art, Kim `861 teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the calculated SoH ratio of the battery unit represents how much the cell or the battery subunit in which deterioration (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 aging) most progresses in the battery unit progresses in deterioration compared with other cells or battery subunits in the battery unit (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 aging of each of the battery cells 112 is differentiated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen by combining the information processing apparatus taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen with an information processing apparatus wherein, the calculated SoH ratio of the battery unit represents how much the cell or the battery subunit in which deterioration most progresses in the battery unit progresses in deterioration compared with other cells or battery subunits in the battery unit; taught by Kim `861 for the benefit of setting the charging/discharging time according to the consumption patterns of the plurality of batteries in order to minimize capacity loss. [Kim `861: ¶ 41].
Regarding Claim 15, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen fail to teach, the information processing apparatus according to claim1, wherein the SoH is a ratio of a full-charge capacity at an evaluation time point to a full-charge capacity defined in specification of the battery unit.
In analogous art, Kim `861 teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim1, wherein the SoH is a ratio of a full-charge capacity at an evaluation time point (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 'a decreased value') to a full-charge capacity defined in specification (Fig. 1, ¶ 36 'an initial value') of the battery unit (Fig. 1, ¶ 36 ratio of 'a decreased value' to 'an initial value').
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen by combining the information processing apparatus taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen with an information processing apparatus wherein, the SoH is a ratio of a full-charge capacity at an evaluation time point to a full-charge capacity defined in specification of the battery unit; taught by Kim `861 for the benefit of setting the charging/discharging time according to the consumption patterns of the plurality of batteries in order to minimize capacity loss. [Kim `861: ¶ 41].
Regarding Claim 16, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen fail to teach, the information processing apparatus according to claim1, wherein the SoH is a ratio of a full-charge capacity at a second time point to a full-charge capacity at a first time point of the battery unit.
In analogous art, Kim `861 further teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the SoH is a ratio of a full-charge capacity at a second time point (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 charging/discharging at a proper ratio, turn-on time (pulse width)) to a full-charge capacity at a first time point (Fig. 1, ¶ 39 charging/discharging at a proper ratio, turn-on time (pulse width)) of the battery unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen by combining the information processing apparatus taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen with an information processing apparatus wherein, the SoH is a ratio of a full-charge capacity at a second time point to a full-charge capacity at a first time point of the battery unit; taught by Kim `861 for the benefit of setting the charging/discharging time according to the consumption patterns of the plurality of batteries in order to minimize capacity loss. [Kim `861: ¶ 41].
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 2021/0031646 A1) (herein after Kim `646) in view of Brun-Buisson (US 2014/0077764 A1) (herein after Brun) in view of Yen et al (US 2013/0158912 A1) (herein after Yen), and further in view of HWANG et al (US 2015/0168498 A1) (herein after Hwang).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen fail to teach, the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the detector calculates a standard deviation of SoH ratios calculated at a plurality time points within a predetermined period for each of the battery units, determines a threshold value on the basis of the standard deviation, and detects the alert target battery unit by comparing the SoH ratio with the threshold value after an elapse of the predetermined period.
Hwang further teaches, the information processing apparatus (Fig. 1, operating module 140) according to claim 3, wherein the detector calculates a standard deviation of SoH ratios (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 standard- deviation-trough-value according to a SOH) calculated at a plurality time points within a predetermined period (Fig. 4, ¶ 24 predetermined sampling; Note: Fig. 4 illustrates Fig 2, see ¶ 20; Fig 2 is part of Fig 1, see ¶ 18) for each of the battery units, determines a threshold value (Fig. 2, ¶ 40 AHvalley) on the basis of the standard deviation, and detects the alert target battery unit by comparing the SoH ratio with the threshold value after an elapse of the predetermined period (Fig. 2, ¶ 10 AHvalley, AHoriginal; Examiner interpretation: AHvalley compared with AHoriginal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen by combining information processing apparatus taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen with the information processing apparatus wherein, the detector calculates a standard deviation of SoH ratios calculated at a plurality time points within a predetermined period for each of the battery units, determines a threshold value on the basis of the standard deviation, and detects the alert target battery unit by comparing the SoH ratio with the threshold value after an elapse of the predetermined period; taught by Hwang for the benefit of obtaining a battery SOH and amending the battery set SOC without a lot of time for building a database. [Hwang: ¶ 44].
Regarding Claim 6, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen in view of Hwang teaches the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen fail to teach, the information processing apparatus according to claim 5 wherein the detector determines the threshold value by multiples of the standard deviation.
Hwang further teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the detector determines the threshold value by multiples of the standard deviation (Fig. 4, ¶ 41 standard deviation- trough-values, degraded 20 times, 30 times, 40 times, and 50 times).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen by combining the information processing apparatus taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen with the information processing apparatus wherein, the detector determines the threshold value by multiples of the standard deviation; taught by Hwang for the benefit of obtaining a battery SOH and amending the battery set SOC without a lot of time for building a database. [Hwang: ¶ 44].
Regarding Claim 17, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen fail to teach, the information processing apparatus according to claim1, wherein the SoH calculator calculates the SoH on the basis of a general relationship between an SoH and a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values for a unit period with respect to the battery unit.
In analogous art, Hwang further teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim1, wherein the SoH calculator calculates the SoH on the basis of a general relationship between an SoH and a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 standard- deviation-trough-value according to a SOH) for a unit period (Fig. 4, ¶ 24 predetermined sampling; Note: Fig. 4 illustrates Fig 2, see ¶ 20; Fig 2 is part of Fig 1, see ¶ 18) with respect to the battery unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen by combining the information processing apparatus taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen with an information processing apparatus wherein, the SoH calculator calculates the SoH on the basis of a general relationship between an SoH and a standard deviation or a variance of voltage values for a unit period with respect to the battery unit; taught by Hwang for the benefit of obtaining a battery SOH and amending the battery set SOC without a lot of time for building a database. [Hwang: ¶ 44].
Claim(s) 9 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US 2021/0031646 A1) (herein after Kim `646) in view of Brun-Buisson (US 2014/0077764 A1) (herein after Brun) in view of Yen et al (US 2013/0158912 A1) (herein after Yen), and further in view of Subbaraman et al (US 2019/0036356 A1) (herein after Subbaraman).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen fail to teach, the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, further comprising an output circuit to output information indicating an alert corresponding to the deteriorated battery unit when the deteriorated battery unit is detected based on the SoH, and to output information indicating an alert corresponding to the cell or the battery subunit in the alert target cell when the alert target battery unit is detected based on the SoH ratio.
In analogous art, Subbaraman teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, further comprising an output circuit (Fig. 1, display device 180) to output information indicating an alert (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 lifetime of the battery pack 104) corresponding to the deteriorated battery unit when the deteriorated battery unit is detected based on the SoH (Fig. 1, ¶ 44 the SoH as a numeric capacity value, of the battery pack 104), and to output information indicating an alert corresponding to the cell or the battery subunit in the alert target cell when the alert target battery unit is detected based on the SoH ratio (Fig. 1, ¶ 44 the SoH as a percentage of the nominal capacity of the battery pack 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen by combining the information processing apparatus taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen with an output circuit to output information indicating an alert corresponding to the deteriorated battery unit when the deteriorated battery unit is detected based on the SoH, and to output information indicating an alert corresponding to the cell or the battery subunit in the alert target cell when the alert target battery unit is detected based on the SoH ratio; taught by Subbaraman for the benefit of being able to accurately estimate the SOH of a battery while connected to a load [Subbaraman: ¶ 6 ].
Regarding Claim 10, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen view of Subbaraman teaches the limitations of claim 9, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen fail to teach, the information processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the output circuit outputs information indicating that at least any one of the rechargeable battery, the battery unit, the battery subunit and the cell is normal when the deteriorated battery unit is not detected based on the SoH and when the alert target battery unit is not detected based on the SoH ratio.
Subbaraman further teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the output circuit outputs information indicating that at least any one of the rechargeable battery, the battery unit, the battery subunit and the cell is normal (Fig. 1, ¶ 44 output of the status of the battery cells 112 in the battery pack 104) when the deteriorated battery unit is not detected based on the SoH (Fig. 1, ¶ 44 the SoH as a numeric capacity value, of the battery pack 104) and when the alert target battery unit is not detected based on the SoH ratio (Fig. 1, ¶ 44 the SoH as a percentage of the nominal capacity of the battery pack 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen view of Subbaraman by combining the information processing apparatus taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen view of Subbaraman with an output circuit wherein, the output circuit outputs information indicating that at least any one of the rechargeable battery, the battery unit, the battery subunit and the cell is normal when the deteriorated battery unit is not detected based on the SoH and when the alert target battery unit is not detected based on the SoH ratio; taught by Subbaraman for the benefit of being able to accurately estimate the SOH of a battery while connected to a load [Subbaraman: ¶ 6 ].
Regarding Claim 11, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen fail to teach, the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, further comprising an output circuit to output information indicating that at least any one of the rechargeable battery, the battery unit, the battery subunit and the cell is normal when the deteriorated battery unit is not detected based on the SoH and when the alert target battery unit is not detected based on the SoH ratio.
In analogous art, Subbaraman teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, further comprising an output circuit (Fig. 1, display device 180) to output information indicating that at least any one of the rechargeable battery, the battery unit, the battery subunit and the cell is normal (Fig. 1, ¶ 44 output of the status of the battery cells 112 in the battery pack 104) when the deteriorated battery unit is not detected based on the SoH (Fig. 1, ¶ 44 the SoH as a numeric capacity value, of the battery pack 104) and when the alert target battery unit is not detected based on the SoH ratio (Fig. 1, ¶ 44 the SoH as a percentage of the nominal capacity of the battery pack 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen by combining the information processing apparatus taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen with an information processing apparatus further comprising, an output circuit to output information indicating that at least any one of the rechargeable battery, the battery unit, the battery subunit and the cell is normal when the deteriorated battery unit is not detected based on the SoH and when the alert target battery unit is not detected based on the SoH ratio; taught by Subbaraman for the benefit of being able to accurately estimate the SOH of a battery while connected to a load [Subbaraman: ¶ 6 ].
Regarding Claim 12, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen teaches the limitations of claim 3, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen fail to teach, the information processing apparatus according to claim3, further comprising an output circuit to output information on a processing result of at least any one of the SoH calculator, the maximum/minimum voltage SoH calculator, the SoH ratio calculator and the detector.
In analogous art, Subbaraman teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising an output circuit (Fig. 1, display device 180) to output information on a processing result of at least any one of the SoH calculator, the maximum/minimum voltage SoH calculator, the SoH ratio calculator and the detector (Fig. 1, ¶ 44 the SoH as a numeric capacity value, of the battery pack 104; ¶ 44 the SoH as a percentage of the nominal capacity of the battery pack 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen by combining the information processing apparatus taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen with an output circuit to output information on a processing result of at least any one of the SoH calculator, the maximum/minimum voltage SoH calculator, the SoH ratio calculator and the detector; taught by Subbaraman for the benefit of being able to accurately estimate the SOH of a battery while connected to a load [Subbaraman: ¶ 6].
Regarding Claim 13, Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen view of Subbaraman teaches the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen fail to teach, the information processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the detector selects one of categories corresponding to a plurality of alerts for at least any one of the rechargeable battery, the battery unit, the battery subunit and the cell on the basis of at least any one of the first SoH, the second SoH, and the SoH ratio, and the output circuit outputs information indicating the selected category.
Subbaraman further teaches, the information processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the detector (Fig. 1, vehicle range/device remaining runtime estimation 172) selects one of categories corresponding to a plurality of alerts for at least any one of the rechargeable battery, the battery unit, the battery subunit and the cell (Fig. 1, ¶ 44 status of the battery cells 112) on the basis of at least any one of the first SoH, the second SoH, and the SoH ratio, and the output circuit outputs information indicating the selected category (Fig. 1, ¶ 44 the SoH as a numeric capacity value, of the battery pack 104; ¶ 44 the SoH as a percentage of the nominal capacity of the battery pack 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen view of Subbaraman by combining the detector taught by Kim `646 in view of Brun in view of Yen view of Subbaraman with a detector wherein, the detector selects one of categories corresponding to a plurality of alerts for at least any one of the rechargeable battery, the battery unit, the battery subunit and the cell on the basis of at least any one of the SoH, the maximum/minimum voltage SoH and the SoH ratio, and the output circuit outputs information indicating the selected category; taught by Subbaraman for the benefit of being able to accurately estimate the SOH of a battery while connected to a load [Subbaraman: ¶ 6 ].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Basu et al (US 2016/0187428 A1) teaches, an information processing apparatus to calculate an SoH (State of Health) (Fig. 1, system 100 for estimating a state of health (SOH) of a battery 110).
JUNG et al (US 2018/0145531 A1) teaches, an information processing apparatus to calculate an SoH (State of Health) (Fig. 1, the battery charging apparatus estimates a state of charge (SOC) and a state of health (SOH)).
Jiang et al (US 2018/0364312 A1) teaches, an information processing apparatus to calculate an SoH (State of Health) (Fig. 1, BMU 104 obtains the battery SOH).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 2/20/2026