DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/15/26, and 7/1/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forster et al. (US 2017/0338755) in view of Rodrian (US 2006/0076913).
Regarding claim 1,
Forster discloses (Fig. 1):
A method of operating a controller (Fig. 1, 80) and a motor (28) operably coupled to a power source (91, 92), wherein the power source (91, 92) is adapted to supply power to the motor (¶0048), the method comprising: measuring current flowing from the power source through the controller to the motor (Fig. 7, 94, ¶0084); and
protecting the controller and power source from overcurrent pulse events (222, ¶0100) by
Forster does not disclose:
counting a number of current pulses in the current flowing from the power source through the controller to the motor; and causing the power source to stop supplying power to the motor when the number of current pulses meets or exceeds a pulse threshold
However, Rodrian teaches (fig. 2):
counting a number of current pulses in the current flowing from the power source (Fig. 2, 6V) through the controller (200) to the motor (120, ¶0031, shown in Figs. 3A-3B); and causing the power source to stop supplying power to the motor when the number of current pulses meets or exceeds a pulse threshold (¶0050-¶0052),
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the tool controller from Forsten which controls a motor, measures the current of the motor and turns off the power when a current limit is exceeded (¶0100) to prevent overheating, and utilize the pulse counter from Rodrian which stops a motor and lets it coast when a pulse number count exceeds a threshold to reduce costs and be easily configurable as taught by Rodrian (¶0057). This would also prevent the system from overheating due to too much current in the motor as taught by Forster (¶0102-¶0103).
Regarding claim 2,
Forster discloses the above elements from claim 1.
they do not disclose:
further comprising detecting the current pulses, wherein each of the current pulses is detected when the current meets or crosses a first current threshold and then meets or crosses a second current threshold.
However, Rodrian teaches (Fig. 7C):
further comprising detecting the current pulses, wherein each of the current pulses is detected when the current meets or crosses a first current threshold and then meets or crosses a second current threshold (¶0037).
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the tool controller from Forsten which controls a motor, measures the current of the motor and turns off the power when a current limit is exceeded (¶0100) to prevent overheating, and utilize the pulse counter from Rodrian which stops a motor and lets it coast when a pulse number count exceeds a threshold to reduce costs and be easily configurable as taught by Rodrian (¶0057). This would also prevent the system from overheating due to too much current in the motor as taught by Forster (¶0102-¶0103).
Regarding claim 3,
Forster discloses the above elements from claim 1.
they do not disclose:
wherein counting the number of current pulses includes incrementing a pulse counter.
However, Rodrian teaches (Fig. 7C):
wherein counting the number of current pulses includes incrementing a pulse counter (Fig. 7C, 734).
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the tool controller from Forsten which controls a motor, measures the current of the motor and turns off the power when a current limit is exceeded (¶0100) to prevent overheating, and utilize the pulse counter from Rodrian which stops a motor and lets it coast when a pulse number count exceeds a threshold to reduce costs and be easily configurable as taught by Rodrian (¶0057). This would also prevent the system from overheating due to too much current in the motor as taught by Forster (¶0102-¶0103).
Regarding claim 4,
Forster discloses the above elements from claim 1.
they do not disclose:
further comprising activating an indicator when the number of current pulses meets or exceeds the pulse threshold.
However, Rodrian teaches (Fig. 7C):
further comprising activating an indicator when the number of current pulses meets or exceeds the pulse threshold (stops motor, ¶0050-¶0052).
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the tool controller from Forsten which controls a motor, measures the current of the motor and turns off the power when a current limit is exceeded (¶0100) to prevent overheating, and utilize the pulse counter from Rodrian which stops a motor and lets it coast when a pulse number count exceeds a threshold to reduce costs and be easily configurable as taught by Rodrian (¶0057). This would also prevent the system from overheating due to too much current in the motor as taught by Forster (¶0102-¶0103).
Regarding claim 5,
Forster discloses the above elements from claim 4.
they do not disclose:
further comprising deactivating the indicator after a predetermined amount of time.
However, Rodrian teaches (Fig. 7C):
further comprising deactivating the indicator after a predetermined amount of time (¶0053).
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the tool controller from Forsten which controls a motor, measures the current of the motor and turns off the power when a current limit is exceeded (¶0100) to prevent overheating, and utilize the pulse counter from Rodrian which stops a motor and lets it coast when a pulse number count exceeds a threshold to reduce costs and be easily configurable as taught by Rodrian (¶0057). This would also prevent the system from overheating due to too much current in the motor as taught by Forster (¶0102-¶0103).
Regarding claim 6,
Forster discloses (Fig. 1):
further comprising: determining whether a trigger is actuated (trigger, ¶0086); and continuing to activate the indicator until the trigger is not actuated (can cut power, ¶0086).
Regarding claim 7,
Forster discloses (Fig. 10):
further comprising resetting the number of current pulses after causing the power source to stop supplying power to the motor (Fig. 10, starts at 110, then goes to 117, then 118, ¶0096-¶0097).
Regarding claim 8,
Forster discloses (Fig. 10):
further comprising: determining whether the current meets or exceeds a current threshold (fig. 10, 113); and initiating a current timer to measure a time value corresponding to an amount of time that the current meets or exceeds the current threshold (115, 116, ¶0095-¶0097).
Regarding claim 9,
Forster discloses (Fig. 1):
further comprising causing the power source to stop supplying power to the motor when the time value meets or exceeds a time threshold (¶0098).
Regarding claim 10,
Forster discloses (Fig. 1):
further comprising activating an indicator when the time value meets or exceeds the time threshold (¶0098).
Regarding claim 11,
Forster discloses (Fig. 1):
A tool (Fig. 1, 10) including a motor (Fig. 2, 28) and a power source (91, 92) adapted to supply power to the motor (28, ¶0048), comprising: a controller (Fig. 1, 80, , Fig 7, 94 measures current ¶0084) adapted to: measure current flowing from the power source through the controller to the motor (via 94, ¶0084);
Forster does not disclose:
count a number of current pulses; and cause the power source to stop supplying power to the motor when the number of current pulses meets or exceeds a pulse threshold.
However, Rodrian teaches (fig. 2):
count a number of current pulses (120, ¶0031, shown in Figs. 3A-3B); and cause the power source to stop supplying power to the motor when the number of current pulses meets or exceeds a pulse threshold (¶0050-¶0052),
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the tool controller from Forsten which controls a motor, measures the current of the motor and turns off the power when a current limit is exceeded (¶0100) to prevent overheating, and utilize the pulse counter from Rodrian which stops a motor and lets it coast when a pulse number count exceeds a threshold to reduce costs and be easily configurable as taught by Rodrian (¶0057). This would also prevent the system from overheating due to too much current in the motor as taught by Forster (¶0102-¶0103).
Regarding claim 12,
Forster discloses the above elements from claim 11.
they do not disclose:
wherein the controller is further adapted to detect the current pulses, wherein each of the current pulses is detected when the current meets or crosses a first current threshold and then meets or crosses a second current threshold
However, Rodrian teaches (Fig. 7C):
wherein the controller is further adapted to detect the current pulses, wherein each of the current pulses is detected when the current meets or crosses a first current threshold and then meets or crosses a second current threshold (¶0037).
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the tool controller from Forsten which controls a motor, measures the current of the motor and turns off the power when a current limit is exceeded (¶0100) to prevent overheating, and utilize the pulse counter from Rodrian which stops a motor and lets it coast when a pulse number count exceeds a threshold to reduce costs and be easily configurable as taught by Rodrian (¶0057). This would also prevent the system from overheating due to too much current in the motor as taught by Forster (¶0102-¶0103).
Regarding claim 13,
Forster discloses the above elements from claim 11.
they do not disclose:
further comprising a pulse counter, wherein the controller is further adapted to count the number of current pulses by incrementing the pulse counter.
However, Rodrian teaches (Fig. 7C):
further comprising a pulse counter, wherein the controller is further adapted to count the number of current pulses by incrementing the pulse counter (Fig. 7C, 734).
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the tool controller from Forsten which controls a motor, measures the current of the motor and turns off the power when a current limit is exceeded (¶0100) to prevent overheating, and utilize the pulse counter from Rodrian which stops a motor and lets it coast when a pulse number count exceeds a threshold to reduce costs and be easily configurable as taught by Rodrian (¶0057). This would also prevent the system from overheating due to too much current in the motor as taught by Forster (¶0102-¶0103).
Regarding claim 14,
Forster discloses the above elements from claim 11.
they do not disclose:
further comprising an indicator, wherein the controller is further adapted to activate the indicator when the number of current pulses meets or exceeds the pulse threshold.
However, Rodrian teaches (Fig. 7C):
further comprising an indicator, wherein the controller is further adapted to activate the indicator when the number of current pulses meets or exceeds the pulse threshold (stops motor, ¶0050-¶0052).
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the tool controller from Forsten which controls a motor, measures the current of the motor and turns off the power when a current limit is exceeded (¶0100) to prevent overheating, and utilize the pulse counter from Rodrian which stops a motor and lets it coast when a pulse number count exceeds a threshold to reduce costs and be easily configurable as taught by Rodrian (¶0057). This would also prevent the system from overheating due to too much current in the motor as taught by Forster (¶0102-¶0103).
Regarding claim 15,
Forster discloses the above elements from claim 14.
they do not disclose:
wherein the controller is further adapted to deactivate the indicator after a predetermined amount of time.
However, Rodrian teaches (Fig. 7C):
wherein the controller is further adapted to deactivate the indicator after a predetermined amount of time (¶0053).
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the tool controller from Forsten which controls a motor, measures the current of the motor and turns off the power when a current limit is exceeded (¶0100) to prevent overheating, and utilize the pulse counter from Rodrian which stops a motor and lets it coast when a pulse number count exceeds a threshold to reduce costs and be easily configurable as taught by Rodrian (¶0057). This would also prevent the system from overheating due to too much current in the motor as taught by Forster (¶0102-¶0103).
Regarding claim 16,
Forster discloses (fig. 10):
further comprising a trigger that, when actuated (trigger, ¶0086), causes the power source to supply the power to the motor, and wherein the controller is further adapted to: determine the trigger is actuated; and continue to activate the indicator until the trigger is not actuated (can cut power, ¶0086).
Regarding claim 17,
Forster discloses (fig. 10):
wherein the controller is further adapted to reset the number of current pulses after causing the power source to stop supplying power to the motor (Fig. 10, starts at 110, then goes to 117, then 118, ¶0096-¶0097).
Regarding claim 18,
Forster discloses (fig. 10):
wherein the controller is further adapted to: determine the current meets or exceeds a current threshold (fig. 10, 113; and initiate a current timer to measure a time value corresponding to an amount of time that the current meets or exceeds the current threshold (115, 116, ¶0095-¶0097).
Regarding claim 19,
Forster discloses (fig. 10):
wherein the controller is further adapted to cause the power source to stop supplying power to the motor when the time value meets or exceeds a time threshold (¶0098).
Regarding claim 20,
Forster discloses (fig. 10):
further comprising an indicator, wherein the controller is further adapted to activate the indicator when the time value meets or exceeds the time threshold (¶0098).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicants arguments pertaining to claim 1, applicant argues that Rodrian and Forster fail to disclose “counting a number of current pulses in current flowing from a power source through a controller to a motor, and protecting the controller and power source from overcurrent pulse events by causing the power source to stop supplying power to the motor when the number of current pulses meets or exceeds a pulse threshold.” And points to Rodrian as sampling a current as not protecting both a power source and controller from an overcurrent event, however, ¶0050-¶0053 from Rodrian, the motor current is measured to stop the motor in time by counting pulses (¶0050-¶0053).
As such, examiner is maintaining the rejections from claims 1-20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837