DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Claims 2-4 are cancelled. Claims 1, and 5-22 are pending and under examination. Claims 18-22 are found at the beginning of applicant’s arguments/remarks filed on 2/10/2026.
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of 15/135,998 filed on 4/22/2016, which claims priority from US provisional application 62/151,702 filed on 4/23/2015.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection under USC 112(b) over claims 6 and 8 is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments to the claims.
The rejection under USC 112(b) over claims 7 and 9 is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments to claims 6 and 8.
As these rejections are withdrawn, applicant’s arguments to these rejections are moot.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8-11, 13-14, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan US 4867971 A and Ecology Center (Shampoo: What to Look For, What to Avoid, June 6, 2012, https://ecologycenter.org/blog/shampoo-what-to-look-for-what-to-avoid/).
Ryan teaches a stable homogenous liquid antidandruff shampoo with 0.1 to 2% climbazole and a major amount of anionic surfactant with minor amounts of either nonionic, cationic, amphoteric surfactant or a mixture thereof (abstract). Ryan teaches an aqueous vehicle (abstract). Ryan teaches a water soluble sulfate or sulfonate salt having an alkyl group of 10-18 carbons (claim 9 of Ryan). Ryan teaches primary surfactant (the anionic surfactant) as being 6-25% of the composition (column 6, lines 50-65). Ryan teaches 1-7% of a supplemental surfactant being 1-7% by weight (column 7, lines 8-22). Ryan teaches significantly greater deposition of climbazole and adhering to skin (first paragraph of summary of invention). Ryan teaches SLES surfactants with nonionic surfactant (column 3, lines 51-59). Ryan teaches with or without cationic polymer (column 4, lines 5-9). Ryan teaches quaternized ammonium compounds provide excellent conditioning properties (column 8, lines 5-16). Ryan teaches zinc pyrithione in a formulation (bottom of column 9). Ryan teaches perfumes (see example 5 and other examples). Ryan teaches perfumes as an adjuvant that would not exceed 5% of the shampoo (column 8, lines 20-35). Ryan teaches applying the composition to hair in example 1. Thus, a using any device that would apply the composition (an applicator) would be envisioned.
Ryan does not provide a reason to get rid of sulfate surfactants, although it provides sulfonates as an alternative.
Ecology Center teaches that sulfates are a strong skin irritants and produce nitrosamine linked to cancer formation (Sulfates). Ecology Center teaches they aren’t necessary as there are other surfactant alternatives for cleaning hair.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the application would combine anionic surfactants and an antidandruff agent, climbazole, to provide formulations that have better deposition of the climbazole onto the scalp (skin under hair) by teachings of Ryan. Ecology Center motivates the removing of sulfate surfactants which would lead one toward other anionic surfactants (e.g. sulfonates or others) provided by Ryan. Ryan provides for lauryl sulfates, which are C12, but also has a range of alkyl sulfates that extends to C10. Ryan provides the alternative of sulfonates which allows for use of sulfonate surfactants rather than sulfate versions. Thus, Ryan sees this group as functionally equivalent for its purpose. That is, C10 alkyl sulfate (or sulfonate) will be similar in function to a C12 alkyl sulfate like lauryl sulfate. Ryan also sees the anionic surfactant as being the major surfactant in the formulation with allowing a range of 6-25% of anionic surfactant while only 1-7% of supplemental surfactants. Thus, one would provide compositions of the claims with a reasonable expectation of success when considering the teachings of Ryan with obtaining formulations that deposit climbazole (the antidandruff agent) more successfully. In the instant application, the increased deposition is due to the combination of the surfactant(s) and the surfactant soluble antidandruff agent that provides the ratio of diffusion coefficients as in the claim. Since a composition and its properties are inseparable, the composition of example 5 has such a ratio in the range of the instant claims (see MPEP 2112). One would expect to provide other closely related surfactants with alkyl groups less than 12 carbons such as 10 or 11 with the expectation of similar results. In making such compositions, applicant would provide diffusion coefficient ratios of the claims.
Claims 6, 7, 12, and 15 in addition to Claims 1, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan US 4867971 A, Ecology Center (Shampoo: What to Look For, What to Avoid, June 6, 2012, https://ecologycenter.org/blog/shampoo-what-to-look-for-what-to-avoid/) and Dunlop US 6649155.
Ryan and Ecology Center teach the claims as discussed above.
Ryan and Ecology Center do not teach a hydroxyl pyridone, a silicone or salicylic acid.
Dunlop teaches anti-dandruff shampoo compositions (abstract) to be applied to hair. Dunlop teaches example compositions (see examples I-V) with ammonium laureth sulphate (11 or 10%), ammonium lauryl sulphate (6 or 8%), Guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (a cationic polymer), dimethicone (silicone), zinc pyrithione (1%) and water (also see examples VI-XV). Dunlop teaches antidandruff agents including piroctone olamine in concentrations of 0.1 to 0.4% by weight (see optional ingredients section). Thus, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include piroctone olamine in compositions taught by Dunlop to help provide increased anti-dandruff properties by the teachings of Dunlop. Dunlop also teaches perfumes as optional agents. Optional agents may be present in concentrations of 0.1 to 15%. Dunlop teaches salicylic acid as an anti-inflammatory in the section of Hair Growth Regulating Agents. Dunlop provides for A. Anionic surfactants and a section 1 subheading for sulfates, 2. Sulfonates, and 3. Sarcosinates. Dunlop provides for about 1% to about 10% other surfactants including amphoteric, nonionic and others (section A. Other surfactants under II. Optional components). Dunlop teaches hair growth regulating antimicrobials including ketoconazole and itraconazole under E. Hair growth regulating agents (0.1 to 10% by weight). Dunlop teaches addition of foam boosters (optional ingredients, also see examples section), and thus, envisions foaming products. Dunlop teaches anionic surfactants like sulfates and sulfonates (section A). Dunlop teaches straight and branched chains in sulfonate surfactants with C8 to C24 hydrocarbon radicals (columns 4 and 5). Dunlop teaches other types of anionic surfactants like sarcosinates (column 5). Dunlop teaches branched chain sulfonates (2. Sulfonates).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have included other suitable agents for antidandruff shampoos to make an acceptable antidandruff shampoo by the teachings of the prior art where silicone/dimethicone, anti-inflammatory salicylic acid and antidandruff piroctone olamine are seen as acceptable ingredients for an antidandruff hair formulation. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in combining the ingredients and obtaining new antidandruff hair products that have antidandruff functions.
Claims 16, 18-19 and 21 in addition to 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan US 4867971, Ecology Center (Shampoo: What to Look For, What to Avoid, June 6, 2012, https://ecologycenter.org/blog/shampoo-what-to-look-for-what-to-avoid/) and Kitko US 2009/0155383.
Ryan and Ecology Center teach the claims as discussed above.
Ryan and Ecology Center do not teach the limitations of claims 16, 18-19 and 21.
Regarding the claims, Kitko teaches a personal care composition comprising anionic surfactants such as undecyl sulfate, sodium lauryl sulfate and sodium laureth sulfate, perfumes, active agents such as zinc pyrithione and selenium sulfide, menthol and menthyl lactate ([0014], [0037]-[0042], [0073], [0095], [0098], [0100], [0114], [0129], [0131] and [0141]). Kitko teaches the composition is in the form of a foam and is dispensed from a pump foamer/pump dispenser that can include gas such as propellant to impart mechanism to form the foam ([0016], [0020], [0021], [0138], [0142] and [0145]). Forms with the propellant are aerosols. Kitko teaches anti-dandruff agents including climbazole (paragraph 99).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant filing would have included salicylic acid as an anti-dandruff agent, active agents like menthol or menthyl lactate, and provide the composition as a form of a foam for pump foams as Kitko teaches anti-dandruff compositions and Ryan also provides for anti-dandruff/personal care hair compositions (see MPEP 2144.06). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making topical hair products in the form of foams and including salicylic acid to improve anti-dandruff ability by the teachings of the prior art. Kitko also provides for addition of menthol and menthyl lactate to personal care compositions.
Claims 18-20 in addition to claim 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan US 4867971, Ecology Center (Shampoo: What to Look For, What to Avoid, June 6, 2012, https://ecologycenter.org/blog/shampoo-what-to-look-for-what-to-avoid/) and Samain US 6039933.
Ryan and Ecology Center teach the claims as discussed above.
Ryan and Ecology Center do not teach the limitations of claims 20-23.
Samain teaches a pressurized cosmetic composition provided in a pressurized form in an aerosol device in the presence of a propellant that is capable of forming a foam (abstract). Samain teaches conventional propellants including butane, propane, chlorinated and/or fluorinated hydrocarbons and their mixtures in the detailed description. Samain teaches agents for combatting dandruff and surface-active agents.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant filing would have produced the antidandruff shampoo/haircare compositions in the form of aerosol foams by the teachings of the references as both references teach cosmetic compositions that combat dandruff and include surface active agents (MPEP 2144.06). Thus, there is a reasonable expectation of success in producing the instantly claimed formulations and making them into a form that foams as recognized by the prior art. Aerosol foams are a recognized form of such compositions.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments over the Rejection under USC 103
Applicant argues that Ryan’s examples do not assert non-sulfate anionic surfactants in the examples. In regards to this argument, the alternative and non-preferred embodiments are considered in the prior art (MPEP 2123). Note from MPEP 2123 II – “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi”. Ryan allows for sulfonates as an alternative to sulfates as well as teaches a water soluble sulfate or sulfonate salt having an alkyl group of 10-18 carbons. This allows for non-sulfate compounds that are viewed by Ryan to be acceptable alternatives to the sulfate version. Therefore, these teachings of the prior art are applicable.
Applicant argues that they have found that surfactant (alkyl) chain lengths below 12 provide a novel and nonobvious invention. In figure 1 of applicant’s drawing the surfactant SLE1S (a sulfate with lauryl (C12) chain is test against what is termed C11. The description It is not clear what particular compound C11 refers to for this figure, but it is likely one particular compound having a C11 alkyl group. Thus, although there is a difference between these two compounds tested in the figure, it cannot be said that all C12 chain anionic surfactants will have the same difference with all C11 chain anionic surfactants, let alone all chains under C12 (C11, C10, C9, etc). Examples 14 and 15 on pages 46-47 in applicant’s specification compare SLE1S to sodium undecyl sulfate (a C11 chain anionic surfactant). A difference is observed in examples 14-15 when considering the amount of piroctone olamine deposited and deposition efficiency. However, these are both sulfates, which applicant’s claim excludes. The data was applicable to those sulfate surfactants. It cannot be said which anionic surfactants that are not sulfates (sulfonates or others) are capable of the same results by this data. As applicant’s data is not sufficient to show that all C11 (or less than C11) alkyl non-sulfate anionic surfactants would be improved over all C12 alkyl anionic non-sulfate surfactants in depositing surfactant soluble antidandruff agents, the subgenus of water soluble sulfate or sulfonate salt having an alkyl group of 10-18 carbons in Ryan allows for overlap with C10-C11 alkyl sulfonates is sufficient to obviate applicant’s claim. Note that the claims would need to be commensurate in scope with the data that applicant considers unexpected (see MPEP 716.02(d)). Right now, the claims remain very broad to what the anionic surfactants can be (anionic surfactants either have an alkyl group less than C12 or a branched alkyl chain (any length), and also cannot be sulfates, but may be many other types).
Applicant discusses the surfactant diffusion coefficients with indication that such coefficients are an indicator of whether the surfactant soluble antidandruff agent is within or not within the surfactant micelles. Such coefficient ratios of 1 or very close to 1 is indicative of the agent being in the surfactant micelles while surfactant diffusion coefficient ratios significantly more or less than 1 are indicative of the agent not being within the micelle. It is noted that the individual surfactant diffusion coefficients are associated with each the antidandruff agent and the surfactant while the coefficient ratio signifies a relation of one coefficient to the other. Applicant’s specification notes that this was important to finding systems that provide better deposition of the surfactant soluble antidandruff agents when applied. Importantly, “Ryan teaches significantly greater deposition of climbazole and adhering to skin (first paragraph of summary of invention)” with use of composition in Ryan having both climbazole (antidandruff agent which is also in applicant’s claims) and “primary surfactant (the anionic surfactant) as being 6-25% of the composition (column 6, lines 50-65)”. The teachings of Ryan does recognize an effect that is also of importance in applicant’s work (increased deposition). Thus, there is a reasonable expectation that Ryan’s formulations also had such surfactant diffusion coefficient ratios as in applicant’s claims and the climbazole was less soluble in the surfactant as Ryan also achieve improved deposition of climbazole (a surfactant soluble antidandruff agent). It should be noted that in MPEP 2112, it is provide that something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property and that an inherent feature need not be recognized at the relevant time. One working within the context of Ryan will be working to achieve other formulations with each of its anionic surfactants and climbazole antidandruff agent to produce formulations that also offer enhanced deposition to the skin. In doing so, formulations having these coefficient ratios will be achieved. The teachings of Ecology Center would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to mainly consider the non-sulfate surfactant alternatives of the prior art when making hair formulations.
Applicant asserts this choosing of anionic surfactant/surfactant soluble antidandruff combinations based of their surfactant diffusion coefficients is what provides a non-obvious invention, however, it does not matter how the prior art arrived at their formulation(s) and ingredients therefor as long as they are provided by the reference with reasoning for their incorporation. As noted above, Ryan provides for anionic sulfonate surfactants, antidandruff agents and concentration ranges/overlapping ranges of applicant’s claimed invention with Ryan also recognizing increased deposition of the antidandruff agent on skin. Therefore, Ryan has a capability to make such formulations with such ingredients, concentrations and properties.
Applicant argues that without being bound by theory, additionally incorporating an oil which phase separates upon dilution in a cationic polymer which forms coacervate upon dilution aids in deposition of the oil within which the surfactant soluble agent should be at least partially soluble. Applicant’s claim 1 has neither an oil or a cationic polymer. Cationic polymer is in dependent claim 10, which is dependent on claim 1 and there is no apparent oil in the claims unless silicone conditioning agent in claim 12 is meant to be an silicone oil, but that is not stated. This has no dependency to claim 1. These items are not presented in a manner where the combination would be deemed important for an effect. Thus, this claimed feature is not relevant to applicant’s claims as presented. Additionally, if the result is based on an educated guess of applicant, it may not be supported by applicant’s data. It should be noted that cationic polymer is within the teachings of Ryan while silicone is provided in Dunlop, and so, they are recognized items in the prior art for hair formulations.
Applicant argues that nothing in Ryan or Ecology Center leads one to provide the claimed invention with particularly noting the surfactant being free of sulfates and the ratio of surfactant diffusion coefficients of the claim. As provided above, Ryan provides reasoning that would lead to combinations of such anionic surfactants in claimed concentration and surfactant soluble antidandruff agents that would allow for combinations with such ratios especially as Ryan also notes the same benefit of increased agent deposition on skin with its combinations.
Applicant argues that examiner’s rejection is conclusory with no rational underpinning to make the leap for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the presently claimed invention. As explained above, there was such reasoning and motivations provided by the teachings of the prior art with many of the teachings coming from Ryan itself.
Applicant reiterates the arguments for each of the other rejections under USC 103 from the office action. As each of these rejections to teach dependent claims includes the combination of Ryan and Ecology Center and this rejection is maintained for reasons above, each of these rejections are maintained for the claims they teach. It had been noted that Dunlop also provides for additional non-sulfate anionic surfactants such as “straight and branched chains in sulfonate surfactants with C8 to C24 hydrocarbon radicals (columns 4 and 5)” for use with hair compositions.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 13-48 of copending Application No. 15/962,327.
‘327 is a later filed applicant, but in the case where a patent would issue on '327 before the instant application, then a terminal disclaimer could be needed depending the scope of such possible claims.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the copending application '327 significantly overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims, i.e., a composition comprising (a) from about 14% to about 40% of one or more surfactants; and from about 0.1% to about 10% of one or more surfactant soluble agents, wherein when the composition is diluted to about 1% surfactant concentration, it has a ratio of surfactant diffusion coefficient to soluble agent diffusion coefficient of greater than 1.2.
It is noted that the instant specification further defines the surfactant soluble agents as encompassing hair health actives and anti-inflammatory agents, which include surfactant soluble antidandruff agents of the instant claims are the same surfactant soluble agents (see disclosure of '327).
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over copending Application No.: 15/962,327.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 5-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18, 21-29, 31-48 of copending Application No. 15/962,351.
‘351 is a later filed applicant, but in the case where a patent would issue on '351 before the instant application, then a terminal disclaimer could be needed depending the scope of such possible claims.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the copending application '351 significantly overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims, i.e., a composition comprising (a) from about 14% to about 40% of one or more surfactants; and from about 0.1% to about 10% of one or more surfactant soluble agents, wherein when the composition is diluted to about 1% surfactant concentration, it has a ratio of surfactant diffusion coefficient to soluble agent diffusion coefficient of greater than 1.2.
It is noted that the instant specification further defines the surfactant soluble agents as encompassing hair health actives and anti-inflammatory agents, which include surfactant soluble antidandruff agents of the instant claims are the same surfactant soluble agents (see disclosure of '351).
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over copending Application No.: 15/962,351.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 5-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1. 3-8, 10, 13-24 of copending Application No. 18680005.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the copending application '005 significantly overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims, i.e., a composition comprising (a) from about 14% to about 40% of one or more surfactants; and from about 0.1% to about 10% of one or more surfactant soluble agents, wherein when the composition is diluted to about 1% surfactant concentration, it has a ratio of surfactant diffusion coefficient to soluble agent diffusion coefficient of greater than 1.2.
The difference is in the amount of anionic surfactant by proportion of the total surfactant, but claims of ‘005 would allow for all anionic surfactant or one of ordinary skill in the art would have routinely adjusted amounts of anionic surfactant and other surfactants when preparing a composition with anti-dandruff agent of the applicant’s examined claims.
It is noted that the instant specification further defines the surfactant soluble agents as encompassing hair health actives and anti-inflammatory agents, which include surfactant soluble antidandruff agents of the instant claims are the same surfactant soluble agents (see disclosure of '005).
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instantly claimed subject matter over copending Application No.: ‘005.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Statement to Double Patenting Rejections
Applicant asks to all these rejections under abeyance. As the applicant does not argue these rejections or provide a terminal disclaimer to obviate each rejection, the rejections are maintained over currently copending applications and mentioned Patents.
Conclusions
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613