Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Applicant’s filing of claims 4/15/26 is acknowledged. Claim 7 was canceled. Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are pending and are under examination.
Claim Interpretation
The Office asserts that a “wherein” clause may have a limiting effect on a claim if the language limits the claim to a particular structure. MPEP 2111.04. The determination of whether a “wherein” clause is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. While all words in each claim are considered in judging the patentability of the claim language, including functional claim limitations, not all limitations provide a patentable distinction.
During patent examination, the examined claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, unless a term has been given a special definition in the specification (“BRI”). See MPEP 2111.
Prior Art Rejections
In light of applicant’s claim amendments, the prior art rejections are withdrawn, and new rejection follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameno (WO 2020/175119 A1, previously cited). Prior art rejection is based on the English translation of Kameno filed 6/25/25.
As to claims 1 and 12-14, Kameno discloses a magnetic sensor comprising: a sensor chip (20, Fig. 1) having an element formation surface (20a, fig. 2)), a back surface (see back surface of 20 which is adjacent to fixing jig 82 in fig. 6) opposite to the element formation surface, and a side surface (see side surface of 20 below reference numeral 20 in fig. 6) perpendicular to the element formation surface and the back surface, the sensor chip further having a first magnetic layer (21, 22 and/or 23 in fig. 2) and a second magnetic layer (21, 22 and/or 23 in fig. 2) formed on the element formation surface, and a magnetosensitive element (R1, R2, R2 and/or R4 in fig. 2) formed on the element formation surface and positioned on a magnetic path (see fig. 2, [0027] et seq.) formed by a magnetic gap (see fig. 2, [0027] et seq.) between the first and second magnetic layers; a first magnetism collecting member (30, 41 and/or 42 in figs. 1 and 2) covering the first magnetic layer; and a second magnetism collecting member (30, 41 and/or 42 in figs. 1 and 2) having a body part covering the back surface of the sensor chip, a first protruding part (part of 41 covering the side of 20 in fig. 2) connected to the body part and covering the side surface of the sensor chip, and a second protruding part (OH1 in fig. 2) connected to the first protruding part and covering the second magnetic layer, wherein the second protruding part has a first surface (the surface of OH1 facing 22 in fig. 2) facing the second magnetic layer.
With regard to claims 1 and 12-14, Kameno does not specifically disclose the first surface has a higher degree of flatness than that of at least one of other surfaces of the second magnetism collecting member. However, Kameno discloses the flatness of surfaces 31 and 32 of the magnetism collector 30 is higher than the flatness of other surfaces 33 to 36 (e.g., [0033] et seq.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the flatness of the surfaces of OH1 and OH2 contacting magnetic layers 22 and 23 to ensure the surfaces adhere to each other with almost no space, which would reduce fluctuations in detection sensitivity (Kameno, [0033] et seq.).
As to claim 2, Kameno discloses the surfaces of OH1 and OH2 are in direct contact with the magnetic layers 22 and 23 forming part of the sensor chip 20, and thus, the distance is essentially zero.
As to claim 3, Kameno discloses the surface roughness is flattened to about 30 nm. Thus, a persons skilled in the art would modify the surface roughness for OH1 and OH2 surfaces, which would result in a waviness in the claimed range.
As to claim 4, Kameno discloses a substrate 2 in fig. 1. Persons skilled in the art would modify the flatness of the surfaces of 41, 42 to improve its adhesion to the substrate.
As to claim 5, Kameno discloses a ferrite material in e.g., [0023] et seq.
As to claim 6, Kameno discloses a magnetic sensor comprising: a sensor chip (20, fig. 2) having an element formation surface (20a, fig. 2) on which a magnetosensitive element (R1, R2, R2 and/or R4 in fig. 2) is formed, a back surface (see back surface of 20 which is adjacent to fixing jig 82 in fig. 6) opposite to the element formation surface, and a side surface (see side surface of 20 below reference numeral 20 in fig. 6) perpendicular to the element formation surface and the back surface; and a magnetism collecting member (30, 41 and/or 42 in figs. 1 and 2) having a body part covering the back surface of the sensor chip, a first protruding part (part of 41 covering the side of 20 in fig. 2) connected to the body part and covering the side surface of the sensor chip, and a second protruding part (OH1 in fig. 2) connected to the first protruding part and covering the element formation surface of the sensor chip, wherein the body part of the magnetism collecting member has a first inner surface (inner surface of 41 or 42 facing sensor chip in fig. 2) facing the back surface of the sensor chip, wherein the first protruding part of the magnetism collecting member has a second inner surface (inner surface of 41 or 42 facing the side surface of sensor chip in fig. 2) facing the side surface of the sensor chip, wherein the second protruding part of the magnetism collecting member has a third inner surface (inner surface of 41 or 42 facing the element formation surface 20a in fig. 2) facing the element formation surface of the sensor chip.
Regarding claim 6, Kameno does not specifically disclose a gap between the third inner surf ace of the second protruding part and the element formation surface of the sensor chip is smaller than a gap between the first inner surface of the body part and the back surf ace of the sensor chip and a gap between the second inner surface of the first protruding part and the side surface of the sensor chip. Kameno discloses in e.g., [0008], the present invention minimizes the gap between the element forming surface of the sensor chip and the magnetism collector while suppressing an increase in manufacturing cost, and at the same time, keeps the gap between the products within a certain range. An object of the present invention is to provide a magnetic sensor whose size can be controlled and a manufacturing method thereof. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a particular gap size between the surfaces because it would reduce fluctuations in detection sensitivity (Kameno, [0033]).
As to claims 8-10, Kameno does not specifically disclose a particular surface has a higher degree of flatness than the other surfaces. However, Kameno discloses the flatness of surfaces 31 and 32 of the magnetism collector 30 is higher than the flatness of other surfaces 33 to 36 (e.g., [0033] et seq.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the flatness of the surfaces of OH1 and OH2 contacting magnetic layers 22 and 23 to ensure the surfaces adhere to each other with almost no space, which would reduce fluctuations in detection sensitivity (Kameno, [0033] et seq.).
As to claims 11 and 15, Kameno discloses a protective film in e.g., [0027] et seq.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 8-15 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
6/13/2026