DETAILED ACTION
The receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed 11/20/2025.
Claims 1, 8, 10-11, 23-25, and 32-41 are pending.
Claims 8, 10, 23-25, and 32-41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention II and species of the claimed device, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/30/2025.
Claims 1 and 11 are subject of this office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 14 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,318. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed and claimed in the issued patent and would be covered by the issued claims since the issued claims and the instant application are claiming common subject matter as follows: device for the topical delivery of a topical formulation, the device comprising: a flexible material and a compartment configured to contain the topical formulation, wherein the compartment comprises a side wall, a top, and an opening that is opposite the top, wherein the flexible material comprises a front side and a back side, wherein the flexible material surrounds the-side wall opening, and the side wall protrudes from the front side of the flexible material, and wherein, when the device is placed onto the skin of a patient, the device is on top of the skin, the back side of the flexible material is in contact with the patient's skin, and the surface of the top that faces the opening is exposed to the patient's skin via the opening. The issued claims anticipate the current claims.
Claims 1 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/896,312 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the referenced copending applications and would be covered by any patent granted on the copending applications since the referenced copending applications and the instant application are claiming common subject matter as follows: device for the topical delivery of a topical formulation, the device comprising: a flexible material and a compartment configured to contain the topical formulation, wherein the compartment comprises a side wall, a top, and an opening that is opposite the top, wherein the flexible material comprises a front side and a back side, wherein the flexible material surrounds the-side wall opening, and the side wall protrudes from the front side of the flexible material, and wherein, when the device is placed onto the skin of a patient, the device is on top of the skin, the back side of the flexible material is in contact with the patient's skin, and the surface of the top that faces the opening is exposed to the patient's skin via the opening. The copending claims and the current claims anticipate each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is confusing because claim 1 does not set forth the metes and bounds of the claim. The claim recites “the surface of the top that faces the opening….”, the claim is not clear regarding what is the top? Top of what? It seems that the claims recite different parts from different embodiments. The examiner suggests to claim one embodiment and not different parts from different embodiments. The boundaries of coverage is not imposed by the disclosure. It is important that a person of ordinary skill in the art be able to interpret the metes and bounds of the claims so as to understand how to avoid
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable overhang et al. (US 2006/0105028, currently cited on PTO 892).
Applicant Claims
Claim 1 is directed to a device for the topical delivery of a topical formulation, the device comprising:
a flexible material and a compartment configured to contain the topical formulation,
wherein the compartment comprises a side wall, a top, and an opening that is opposite the top,
wherein the flexible material comprises a front side and a back,
wherein the flexible material surrounds the opening, and the side wall protrudes from the front side of the flexible material, and
wherein, when the device is placed onto the skin of a patient, the device is on top of the
skin, the back side of the flexible material is in contact with the patient's skin, and the surface of
the top that faces the opening is exposed to the patient's skin via the opening.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Zhang teaches patch comprising an open cavity being configured to become a closed cavity upon application and adherence to a skin surface. The cavity is configured to contain topical formulation to contact skin upon application of the patch. The cavity is a drug reservoir and defined by the patch wall forming a ring. The ring is covered with adhesive on the side facing the skin for adhering the ring surrounding the open cavity patch to the skin. The material of the patch is flexible, and the patch is a single structure. The adhesive layer that attach the side wall to the skin reads on the claimed flexible layer wherein the side wall protrudes from the flexible material (see the entire document, and in particular: abstract; ¶¶ 0006, 0007, 0022, 0023, 0025, 0030, 0032, 0035, 0038, 0041; figures; examples; and claims).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012) &
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 1, while the reference teaches patch comprising side wall surrounding cavity containing active material, and teaches the side wall is covered at its lower side by an adhesive layer, that reads on the side wall protrudes from the flexible layer, and teaches the material of the patch is flexible including the skin adhesive layer is flexible, the reference does not teach the flexible layer, i.e. adhesive, surrounds the side wall as claimed by claim 1.
However, it would have been obvious to increase the size and thickness of the adhesive layer and extend it to surround part of the side wall for better adherence to the skin, and in this case the side wall that is protruded from the flexible adhesive will be surrounded partially by the flexible adhesive as instantly claimed. in any event, applicant failed t show any unexpected result obtained from extending side wall being protruding from the front side of the flexible material.
Regarding claim 11 that the compartment is a unitary piece, this is taught by the Zhang and as also shown by the figures of the reference.
Absent any evidence to the contrary, and based upon the teachings of the prior art, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the instantly claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISIS A GHALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611 /I.G./