Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/2/2026, with respect to claim objections for claims 9 and 24 have been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The objections of 12/3/2025 have been withdrawn because the claims were cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/2/2026, with respect to drawing objections have been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The objection of 12/3/2025 have been withdrawn because the claims were cancelled and amended accordingly to overcome the drawing rejections.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/2/2026, with respect to the double patenting rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration and in light of the claim amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as a nonstatutory statutory double patenting rejection.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/2/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(b) for claims 7, 8, and 16 have been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The rejections of 12/3/2025 have been withdrawn because the claims were cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/2/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(b) for claims 14 have been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The rejections of 12/3/2025 have been withdrawn because the claims were amended.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/2/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(d) for claims 24 have been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The rejections of 12/3/2025 have been withdrawn because the claims were cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/2/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of under 35 USC 103 with respect to the unexamined amended claim language of an electronic simulated fire bed assembly received on the foundation, said electronic simulated firebed projecting visually simulated flames and fire effects onto the rear imaging screen portion have been fully considered and are persuasive. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of GB2275105A O’Niell.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/2/2026, with respect to 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive regarding that Miles glass panel 38 is not a decorative grill. The rejection of 12/3/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/2/2026, with respect to the issues below, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Regarding applicant’s arguments that Miles fender 16 is not a decorative grill, filed 4/2/2026, the fender 16 is a grille shape and is interpreted by the examiner to be decorative.
Regarding claim 25, applicant’s arguments that Milnes does not teach a rear imaging screen being received in a lip channel, the examiner respectfully disagrees. In the interest of compact prosecution fig. 5 of Milnes is added below in further detail.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6 of copending Application No. 17/694,403 (reference application) in view of US8166965B2 Miles in view of Claim(s) in view of GB2275105A O’Niell (see rejections below).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant application 17/694,403
Application 17/694,424
1. (currently amended)
A ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit comprising:
a firebox panel having a rear imaging screen portion and [[a]] forwardly extending left and right side portions;
a foundation having a front, a top, opposing left and right sides, and a rear;
said firebox panel having a lower peripheral edge removably secured to said foundation, first and second upright structural supports each having a lower end secured to said foundation adjacent to said front, said forwardly extending side panel portions of said firebox panel engaging said upright[[s]] structural supports whereby said foundation and said upright structural supports transfer structural rigidity to said firebox panel;
and an electronic simulated firebed assembly received on the foundation, said electronic simulated firebed projecting visually simulated flames and fire effects onto the rear imaging screen portion.
1. (Currently amended)
A furniture assembly comprising, in combination:
a ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit comprising:
a firebox panel having a rear imaging screen portion and a forwardly extending portion;
a foundation having a front, a top, opposing left and right sides, and a rear;
said firebox panel having a lower peripheral edge configured to be secured to said foundation, first and second upright structural supports each having a lower end configured to be secured to said foundation adjacent to said front, said forwardly extending panel portion of said firebox panel engaging said upright[[s]] structural supports whereby said foundation and said upright structural supports transfer structural rigidity to said firebox panel;
and an electronic simulated firebed assembly configured to be received on the foundation;
and a furniture piece comprising:
a furniture base having an upper surface, a furniture top having a lower surface, left and right furniture sides extending between the upper surface of the furniture base and the lower surface of the top and structurally supporting said top above said base when assembled therewith to form an insert cavity within said furniture assembly, wherein said assembled simulated fireplace kit is slidably received into said insert cavity.
Claim 3
wherein said forwardly extending panel portion comprises left and right side panel portions extending forwardly from side edges of said rear imaging screen portion
2. (currently amended)
wherein each of said upright supports has a rearwardly facing panel receiving channel, said left and right forwardly extending side panel portion of said firebox panel having a respective forward edge portion secured to said rearwardly facing panel receiving channel of said upright structural supports.
Claim 2
wherein each of said upright supports has a rearwardly extending firebox panel attachment structure, said forwardly extending portion of said firebox panel having a respective forward edge portion configured to be secured to said rearwardly extending firebox panel attachment structures of said upright structural supports.
Claim 4 (currently amended)
wherein said rearwardly extending firebox panel attachment structures facing panel receiving channel comprises a planar flange extending along at least a portion of said upright support
Claim 4
wherein said rearwardly extending firebox panel attachment structures comprise a planar flange extending along at least a portion of said upright supports
Claim 6 (currently amended)
wherein said left and right forwardly extending side panel portions of said firebox panel each have a lower peripheral edge secured to said foundation.
Claim 6
wherein said left and right side panel portions of said firebox panel each have a lower peripheral edge removably secured to said foundation.
Thus, it is apparent that the more specific patent claims 1-8 encompass application claims 1-8, respectively. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer. Note that since application claims 1-8 are anticipated by patent claims 1-8, respectively, and since anticipation is the epitome of obviousness, then application claims 1-8 are obvious over patent claims 1-8, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US8166965B2 Miles in view of Claim(s) in view of GB2275105A O’Niell.
Regarding claim 1,
Miles teaches, except where struck through,
A ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit (insert assembly 10) comprising:
a firebox panel having a rear imaging screen portion (firebox 18, specifically rear wall 22) and forwardly extending portion (opposed side walls 24 and 26);
a foundation (burner plate 56) having a front, a top, opposing left and right sides, and a rear (figs. 2, 3, 4, 5);
said firebox panel having a lower peripheral edge removably secured to said foundation (base rim 20 has bores 120),
first and second upright structural supports each having a lower end secured to said foundation adjacent to said front (see annotated fig. 3 below),
said forwardly extending panel portion of said firebox panel engaging said upright structural supports (figs. 1-7) whereby said foundation and said upright structural supports transfer structural rigidity to said firebox panel (the result of being attached to each other is inherent to create greater structural rigidity);
While Miles does teach a firebed (burner 32) assembled on a foundation (56), the difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Miles does not teach: and an electronic simulated fire bed assembly received on the foundation, said electronic simulated firebed projecting visually simulated flames and fire effects onto the rear imaging screen portion.
O’Niell teaches Specifically, O’Niell teaches an electronic simulated fire bed assembly (page 1 lines 1 to 11 and bracket 18, fuel 9, reflector 3, bulbs 10 and 11, electrically driven fan 16, sparks 25, color generating members 6, and simulated fuel 5) received on the foundation (30, 31, 33, and 32 make up a foundation as seen in figs. 1 and 2), said electronic simulated firebed projecting visually simulated flames and fire effects onto the rear imaging screen portion (page 15 lines 10 to 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the gas burner 32 and pilot 34 of Miles with the simulated flame parts (previously discussed) of O’Niell as made obvious by O’Niell’s teachings that gas or electric fires may be used interchangeably to create a fire image (O’Niell page 1 lines 1 to 11).
Regarding claim 2,
Miles as modified teaches,
The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of claim 1 (as discussed above)
wherein each of said upright supports has a rearwardly facing panel receiving channel, said left and right forwardly extending portion of said firebox panel having a respective forward edge portion secured to said rearwardly facing panel receiving channel of said upright structural supports (See annotated fig. 3 below and fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4,
Miles as modified teaches,
The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of (as discussed above)
wherein said rearwardly facing panel receiving channel comprise a planar flange extending along at least a portion of said upright supports (see the annotated fig. 3 of claim 2, the rearwardly extending firebox panel attachments are a flange).
Regarding claim 6,
Miles as modified teaches,
The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of claim 2 (as discussed above)
wherein said left and right forwardly extending side panel portions of said firebox panel each have a lower peripheral edge (rim 20) removably secured to said foundation (column 7 lines 15 through 26).
Regarding claim 11,
Miles as modified teaches,
The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of claim 1 (as discussed above)
wherein said kit further comprises a heater unit located in an interior space defined within the foundation (burner 34 is on top of burner plate 56 and is therefore within the foundation as it is part of it).
Regarding claim 12,
Miles as modified teaches,
The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of claim 1 (as discussed above)
wherein said kit further comprises a decorative grill secured to the front of the foundation (see fig. 5, is a decorative face frame, decorative fender 16).
Regarding claim 13,
Miles as modified teaches,
The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of claim 1 (as discussed above)
wherein said kit further comprises a transparent viewing panel received and supported at the front of the foundation between said first and second upright supports (window and glass panel 38 see figs. 4 and 5 column 6 lines 12 to 23).
Regarding claim 14,
Miles as modified teaches,
The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of claim 13 (as discussed above)
wherein each of said upright structural supports each has an inwardly facing glass receiving channel (the glass of glass panel 38 is taught in Miles to be integral to glass panel 38 and therefore the box created by the opening of glass panel 38 contains attachment structures to contain the glass which are inwardly extending see annotated fig. 2 below and therefore inherently contains the glass of glass panel 38 per column 6 lines 12 to 23), said transparent viewing panel having opposing side edges received within said glass receiving channel (see annotated fig.2 below).
Regarding claim 15,
Miles as modified teaches,
The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of 14 (as discussed above) and further teaches wherein said transparent viewing panel comprises glass (glass panel 38 per column 6 lines 12 to 23).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Miles does not teach: and said viewing panel attachment structures comprise inwardly extending channels.
Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, O’Niell teaches a simulated flame fireplace insert (page 1 lines 1 to 11) and said viewing panel attachment structures comprise inwardly extending channels (27 front glass panel retaining bracket, retaining side brackets 28, and 29 front glass channel and 29 front glass channel is a channel).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the front glass panel 38 of Miles with the 29 front glass channel of O’Niell for the purpose of retaining glass and other structural members (Miles page 11 lines 25 through 37).
Regarding claims 17 and 19,
Miles as modified teaches,
The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of claims 1 and 2 respectively (as discussed above)
wherein said kit further comprises a horizontal structural support extending between upper ends of said first and second upright structural supports (see annotated fig.2 below).
Regarding claims 18, and 20,
Miles as modified teaches,
The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of claims 17 and 19 respectively (as discussed above)
wherein said horizontal structural support comprises a structural connector secured between respective upper ends of said first and second upright structural supports (see annotated fig. 5 below).
Regarding claims 25,
Miles as modified teaches,
The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of claim 1 (as discussed above)
wherein said foundation includes an upwardly facing lip channel, said lower peripheral edge of said rear imaging screen of said firebox panel received in said lip channel (see fig. 5 the upward facing channel is formed by burner plate 56 and short inlet pipes 74 to meet with rear wall 22).
Regarding claims 27,
Miles teaches,
A ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit (insert assembly 10) comprising:
a firebox panel structure comprising a rear imaging screen (firebox 18, specifically rear wall 22), and left and right side panels (see annotated fig. 3 below);
a foundation (burner plate 56) having a front, a top, opposing left and right sides, and a rear (figs. 2, 3, 4, 5);
said left and right side panels of said firebox panel structure each having a lower peripheral edge secured to said foundation (base rim 20 has bores 120),
first and second upright structural supports each having a lower end removably secured to said foundation (figs. 1-7),
said left and right side panel portions of said firebox engaging said rear imaging screen and said upright structural supports whereby said foundation and said upright structural supports transfer structural rigidity to said firebox panel structure (the result of being attached to each other is inherent to create greater structural rigidity);
While Miles does teach a firebed (burner 32) assembled on a foundation (56), the difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Miles does not teach: an electronic simulated firebed assembly received on the foundation, said electronic simulated firebed assembly projecting visually simulated flames and fire effects onto a rear imaging screen portion.
O’Niell teaches Specifically, O’Niell teaches an electronic simulated fire bed assembly (page 1 lines 1 to 11 and bracket 18, fuel 9, reflector 3, bulbs 10 and 11, electrically driven fan 16, sparks 25, color generating members 6, and simulated fuel 5) received on the foundation (30, 31, 33, and 32 make up a foundation as seen in figs. 1 and 2), said electronic simulated firebed projecting visually simulated flames and fire effects onto the rear imaging screen portion (page 15 lines 10 to 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the gas burner 32 and pilot 34 of Miles with the simulated flame parts (previously discussed) of O’Niell as made obvious by O’Niell’s teachings that gas or electric fires may be used interchangeably to create a fire image (O’Niell page 1 lines 1 to 11).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US8166965B2 Miles in view of GB2275105A O’Niell in view of US 20060230656 A1 Spengler
Regarding claim 26,
Miles as modified teaches, The ready to assemble simulated fireplace insert kit of claim 4 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Miles does not teach: wherein said foundation includes left and right upwardly facing side channels, said side panel portions of said firebox panel received in said side channels.
Spengler teaches an artificial portable fireplace (Spengler abstract claim 1).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art to solve the problem of providing structures for attaching parts of a portable fireplace to each other (Spengler par. 8).
There were a finite number of identified and predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem evidenced by Spengler teaching structure to connect parts together as is evident by locking channels 80 and 62 of Spengler.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try using channels to connect and retain parts (Spengler par. 5 and 8) of firebox 18, specifically rear wall 22 and opposed side walls 24 and 26 to the burner plate 56 of Miles.
The results would have been predictable, since Spengler teaches the attached lock channels 80 and 62 to secure and retain parts (Spengler par. 5 and 8).
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ADAM MICHAEL. ECKARDT
Assistant Examiner
Art Unit 3761
/ADAM M ECKARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761