Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/6/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communication filed 11/26/2025.
Cancellation of claims 2, 6, 21-23, 25-27, and 29, filed 11/26/2025, are acknowledged and accepted.
Amendments to claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12, 15-16, 18-19, filed 11/26/2025, are acknowledged and accepted.
Cancellation of claims 13, 24, and 28, filed 8/6/2025, remains in effect.
Due to the amendments to claims 1 and 16, and the cancellation of claim 21, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is now withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 11/26/2025 with respect to the amended claim 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pgs. 13-14 of the Remarks, Applicant appears to argue that the amendment reciting “each of the plurality of lens modules comprises… a lens barrel” negates the prior-art mapping relied upon in the previous rejection, asserting that “Kim's lens cover 230 is no longer a structure that corresponds to the holder of claim 1” (pg. 13). Examiner disagrees, finding this and all supporting arguments to be unpersuasive, as they broadly amount to improper piecemeal analyses of references rather than more appropriate consideration of the combined teachings as a whole.
For example, Applicant acknowledges that lens barrels are disclosed in secondary reference Yang ‘147 (“Yang1” below), but continues to argue other alleged differences between the claimed subject matter and Yang1 alone (pg. 14: “Yang '147 only teaches a single lens module…”, “the lens barrel 300 of Yang '147 does not include any structure corresponding to the first opening or the second opening…”) – apparently suggesting that these would prevent a person of ordinary skill from incorporating the lens barrel among other claimed features.
Setting aside that Yang1 does, in fact, disclose opening structures (see claim 1 rejection below), such arguments are improper, as a person of ordinary skill is neither required to implement every detail of a single reference, nor are they limited thereto; nor is Applicant in a position to impose such constraints. In other words, such arguments are improper as they fail to reasonably consider the perspective of a common practitioner – underestimating said practitioner’s ability to distill relevant teachings or to consider additional references when addressing perceived deficiencies. This unjustifiably restricts the exercise of ordinary creativity and judgement.
For reasons given above, Examiner finds the arguments to be unpersuasive. As a closing remark, Applicant is reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-12, and 14-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 12-16, “at least one lens, … the second total length,” should end in a semicolon instead of a comma to be consistent with the rest of the list of limitations
In claim 5, line 6, “the another adjacent lens module” is improper and should read “the other adjacent lens module”
In claim 16, line 25, “the another side surface” is improper and should read “the other side surface”
Claims not specifically addressed in the objections above inherit the objections to the claims from which they depend. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, lines 12-16 recite three instances of “the second opening in the first flat surface [of the second/third/fourth lens module]”. However, this contradicts lines 21-22 of independent claim 1, which directly established “second opening[s] penetrating through the second flat surface” of each lens module, not their first flat surfaces. For examination purposes, each of the three instances identified above shall be read as “the second opening in the second flat surface”.
Regarding claim 16, lines 22-23 recite “one of four side surfaces… and another of the four side surfaces”, and line 25 recites “the one side surface and the other side surface [following suggestions made in claim objection C above]”. It appears the claimed elements all belong to the “four side surfaces” introduced in line 11 of the same claim 16, but the inconsistent phrasing and apparent reintroduction of “[one of] four side surfaces” makes the connection to line 11 and to each other unclear. For examination purposes, the quoted excerpt of lines 22-23 shall be read as “one side surface of the four side surfaces… and another side surface of the four side surfaces”.
Claims not specifically addressed in the rejection above inherit the indefiniteness of the claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Lee (US 10063756 B2, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Yang et al (KR 20210086147 A, hereinafter “Yang1”) and Yang et al (KR 20190066522 A, hereinafter “Yang2”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim, in a first embodiment, discloses a lens assembly device (camera module 200; see FIG. 2) comprising: a lens assembly, including:
a plurality of lens modules (first/second lens assemblies 210/220) arranged adjacently to each other (see FIG. 2), where each of the plurality of lens modules (first/second lens assemblies 210/220) respectively comprises one or more lenses (first lens assembly 210 has first to fifth lenses 211, 212, 213, 214, 215; second lens assembly 220 has first to fifth lenses 221, 222, 223, 224, 225; see col. 6 lines 42-56 and FIGs. 5B and 6); and
a lens holder (lens cover 230) in which the plurality of lens modules (first/second lens assemblies 210/220) are disposed (see col. 5 lines 41-45 and FIGs. 2, 3, 4, and 5B),
wherein, for each of the plurality of lens modules (first/second lens assemblies 210/220), a respective lens module (first/second lens assembly 210/220) includes:
a first flat surface (first/second cut surfaces 210a/220a, corresponding to first/second lens assemblies 210/220, “may be disposed… so as to face each other”; see col. 8 lines 5-12 and FIG. 5B) facing one adjacent lens module (first/second lens assembly 210/220);
Kim, in the first embodiment (camera module 200; FIG. 2) cited above, does not disclose:
where each of the plurality of lens modules respectively comprises a lens barrel accommodating the one or more lenses
wherein, for each of the plurality of lens modules, a respective lens module includes:
at least one lens, of the one or more lenses of the respective lens module, having a first total length in a first axial direction, perpendicular to an optical axis of the respective lens module, and a second total length in a second axial direction, perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axial direction, where the first total length is longer than the second total length,
a second flat surface facing another adjacent lens module;
a first opening penetrating through the first flat surface in the second axial direction;
a second opening penetrating through the second flat surface in the first axial direction; and
a portion of the at least one lens being exposed to an exterior of the respective lens module through the first opening and the second opening
Kim, in a second embodiment (camera module 400; FIG. 15) different than the first embodiment (camera module 200; FIG. 2) cited above, discloses wherein, for each of the plurality of lens modules (first-fourth lens assemblies 410-440), a respective lens module (first-fourth lens assembly 410-440) includes: a second flat surface (cut surface 410a) facing another adjacent lens module (first to fourth lens assembly 410-440) (see FIG. 15, annotated below, and col. 14 lines 24-44);
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 15 of Kim is annotated to highlight flat surfaces )]
Kim and Yang1 are commonly related to lens assemblies for camera modules in mobile terminals/devices.
Yang1 discloses (see FIGs. 1-3, FIG. 1 annotated with FIG. 6 below, and ¶s 27-29):
where each of the plurality of lens modules (lens assemblies – each including lens barrel 300 and lens unit 100 with first to fifth lenses 110, 120, 130, 140 and 150) respectively comprises a lens barrel (300) accommodating the one or more lenses (lens unit 100)
wherein, for each of the plurality of lens modules (lens assemblies), a respective lens module (lens assembly) includes:
at least one lens (first lens 110), of the one or more lenses (lens unit 100) of the respective lens module (lens assembly), having a first total length in a first axial direction (Y direction), perpendicular to an optical axis (Z axis) of the respective lens module (lens assembly), and a second total length in a second axial direction (X direction), perpendicular to both the optical axis (Z axis) and the first axial direction (Y direction), where the first total length (along the Y direction) is longer than the second total length (along the X direction) (see also ¶ 37 and corresponding FIG. 5),
a first opening (310) penetrating through the first flat surface in the second axial direction (X direction);
the second flat surface in the first axial direction (Y direction);
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1 (left panel) and FIG. 6 (right panel) of Yang1, showing a perspective and top view of Yang1’s lens assembly, are annotated to highlight flat surfaces (FS) and other features.)]
a portion of the at least one lens (first lens 110) being exposed to an exterior of the respective lens module through the first opening (310) (see also ¶ 79: “the side surface of the first lens (110) is ultimately exposed through the opening (310)”)
Kim and Yang2 are commonly related to lens assemblies for camera modules in mobile terminals/devices.
Yang2 discloses:
wherein, for each of the plurality of lens modules, a respective lens module includes:
a second opening penetrating through the second flat surface in the first axial direction; and
a portion of the at least one lens being exposed to an exterior of the respective lens module through the second opening
(Yang2 discloses a lens barrel 110-3 having four main side surfaces (two “cuts” 111-3 and two “rounded portions” 115-3), including those which may correspond to Applicant’s first or second flat surfaces. Yang2 further discloses that through holes 113-3 may be provided on portions of any of these four main side surfaces, including through holes which may correspond to Applicant’s second opening. See ¶ 59 and FIG. 10.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim by extending the 1x2 lens assembly (first) embodiment to a 2x2 lens assembly (second) embodiment, in order to accommodate a larger image sensor and/or field of view.
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Kim’s camera module by substituting Kim’s circular lens modules (lens assemblies) with those having more rectangular and size-efficient shape, as taught by Yang1, in order to achieve a greater reduction in the camera module’s size (Yang1 ¶s 5-6).
It would have then been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to also modify Kim by incorporating additional through holes (i.e. second openings) in the lens barrels/modules/assemblies, as taught by Yang2, in order to provide incident light with a proper exit path and prevent reflection off of inner surfaces of the lens modules – thereby reducing undesirable ghosting and lens flare phenomena (Yang2 ¶s 55 and 60).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 1.
Yang1 further discloses wherein the respective lens module (lens assembly) of each of the plurality of lens modules further includes:
a first side surface portion, a second side surface portion, a third side surface portion, and a fourth side surface portion;
the first side surface portion and the second side surface portion being disposed to face each other with respect to the optical axis (Z axis), the third side surface portion and the fourth side surface portion being disposed to face each other with respect to the optical axis (Z axis); and
a total distance between the first side surface portion and the second side surface portion being larger than a total distance between the third side surface portion and the fourth side surface portion.
(See the newly annotated FIG. 1+6 below.)
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1 (left panel) and FIG. 6 (right panel) of Yang1, showing a perspective and top view of Yang1’s lens assembly, are newly annotated to highlight different side surface portions (SSPs).)]
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 3.
Kim, in their second embodiment (camera module 400; FIG. 15), further discloses wherein the respective lens module (first-fourth lens assembly 410-440) of each of the plurality of lens modules further includes: the first flat surface (cut surface 410b) being provided to face the one adjacent lens module (first-fourth lens assembly 410-440) (see annotated FIG. 15 above).
Yang1 further discloses the first flat surface being provided at the third side surface portion or the fourth side surface portion (see newly annotated FIG. 1+6 above).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 4.
Kim, in their second embodiment (camera module 400; FIG. 15), further discloses wherein the respective lens module (first-fourth lens assembly 410-440) of each of the plurality of lens modules further includes: the second flat surface (cut surface 410b) being disposed to face the another adjacent lens module (first-fourth lens assembly 410-440) (see annotated FIG. 15 above).
Yang 1 further discloses the second flat surface being provided at the second side surface portion or the first side surface portion (see newly annotated FIG. 1+6 above).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 1.
Kim, in their second embodiment (camera module 400; FIG. 15), further discloses wherein the plurality of lens modules include at least a first lens module, a second lens module, a third lens module, and a fourth lens module (first-fourth lens assemblies 410-440).
Kim, modified by Yang1 and Yang2 in the manner described above, also discloses:
wherein the first opening in the first flat surface of the first lens module faces the first opening in the first flat surface of the third lens module to expose a side surface of the at least one lens of the first lens module to a side surface of the at least one lens of the third lens module, and the first opening through the first flat surface of the second lens module faces the first opening in the first flat surface of the fourth lens module to expose a side surface of the at least one lens of the second lens module to a side surface of the at least one lens of the fourth lens module, and
wherein the second opening in the second flat surface of the first lens module faces the second opening in the second flat surface of the second lens module to expose a side surface of the at least one lens of the first lens module to a side surface of the at least one lens of the second lens module, and the second opening through the second flat surface of the third lens module faces the second opening in the first flat surface of the fourth lens module to expose a side surface of the at least one lens of the third lens module to a side surface of the at least one lens of the fourth lens module.
(See annotated FIG. 15(Kim)+6(Yang1) below, combining the annotated FIG. 15 of Kim and the annotated FIG. 1+6 of Yang1 accompanying claim 1 above.
The first/second flat surfaces and associated first/second openings (through which portions or side surfaces of each lens module’s at least one lens are exposed – see claim 1 above) are labeled in the bottom panel of annotated FIG. 15(Kim)+6(Yang1). These labels are assigned in accordance with the limitations already set forth and addressed in claim 1’s rejection above, made in view of Yang1 and Yang2.
By mere inspection, we can confirm that the claimed limitations of items A and B above are already satisfied – i.e. that they are a simple result of limitations already addressed.)
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 15 of Kim is shown with four copies of Yang1’s FIG. 6 – illustrating substitution of the prior’s lens assemblies/modules with the latter’s – their combination annotated in the bottom panel with opening (i.e. flat surface) labels and lens module labels.)]
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 1.
Yang1 further discloses wherein the respective lens module (lens assembly) of each of the plurality of lens modules further includes:
the at least one lens (first lens 110) having an optical portion (10) and flange portions (30) extending from the optical portion (10) (see FIG. 5; ¶s 37-47); and
the optical portion (10) having a first edge (11), a second edge (12), a third edge (13), and a fourth edge (14) when viewed in an optical axis (Z axis) direction of the respective lens module (lens assembly), with the first edge (11) having an arc shape, the second edge (12) being provided on an opposite side from the first edge (11) with respect to the optical axis (Z axis) and having an arc shape, and the third edge (13) and the fourth edge (14) respectively connecting the first edge (11) and the second edge (12) to each other (see FIG. 5; ¶s 40-44).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 8.
Yang1 further discloses wherein the portion of the at least one lens (first lens 110), being exposed to the exterior of the respective lens module (lens assembly) through the first opening (310), is the third edge or the fourth edge (see ¶ 80: “the third edge (13) and the fourth edge (14) of the optical portion (10) may be exposed through the opening (310) of the lens barrel (300)”).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 8.
Yang1, in combination with the earlier cited references, further discloses:
wherein the respective lens module (lens assembly) of each of the plurality of lens modules further includes the flange portions (30) having a first flange portion (31) extending from the first edge (11), and a second flange portion (32) extending from the second edge (12) (see ¶ 48 and FIG. 5)
wherein the portion of the at least one lens (first lens 110), being exposed to the exterior of the respective lens module through the second opening, is the first flange portion (31) or the second flange portion (32) (As already discussed in regards to claim 1 above, the combination of references included Yang2 which enable second openings for exposing lens portions in the first axial direction (Yang1’s Y direction). Since Yang1 places the above-mentioned first/second flange portions 31/32 along this first (Y) axis (see FIG. 5), they will naturally be exposed by the second opening. Item B is thus a simple result of limitations already addressed).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 1.
Kim, in their second embodiment (camera module 400; FIG. 15), also discloses the further comprising a single image sensor (250), wherein the lens assembly (first/second lens assemblies 210/220 with lens cover 230) and single image sensor (250) are configured as a camera module (200) (see col. 5 lines 41-42 and col. 6 lines 14-22).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 14.
Kim, in their second embodiment (camera module 400; FIG. 15), further discloses:
wherein the plurality of lens modules include at least a first lens module, a second lens module, a third lens module, and a fourth lens module (first to fourth lens assemblies 410-440).
a virtual rectangle, connecting each optical axis of the first to fourth lens modules (first to fourth lens assemblies 410-440) (Kim’s camera module 400 is four-fold symmetric and thus has a (virtual) square/rectangle connecting each lens assembly/module’s optical axes. When incorporating Yang1, the rectangle becomes oblong with a shorter/longer side. See annotated FIG. 15(Kim)+6(Yang1) above).
Modified Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a shorter side of the virtual rectangle is parallel to a shorter side of the single image sensor, and
wherein a longer side of the virtual rectangle is parallel to a longer side of the single image sensor.
However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to orient the modified Kim’s lens assemblies/modules such that the shorter side of the virtual rectangle is parallel to the shorter side of the single image sensor, and the longer side of the virtual rectangle is parallel to the longer side of the single image sensor – as it would have been well within the bounds of routine optimization for one to merely rotate Kim’s 2x2 lens assembly configuration, until the active area of an image sensor which receives light from the lens modules is maximized, or until an otherwise optimal distribution of light upon the image sensor is achieved. Claimed subject matter which encompasses routine optimization of pertinent prior art is generally not patentable, absent any evidence or indication that such features are critical or yield unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.05(II), whereby “it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”, and whereby “a change in form, proportions, or degree ‘will not sustain a patent’”.
Regarding claim 16, Kim, in a first embodiment, discloses a lens assembly device (see FIG. 2), comprising: a camera module (200), including:
a plurality of lens modules (first/second lens assemblies 210/220) arranged adjacently to each other (see FIG. 2), where each of the plurality of lens modules (first/second lens assembly 210/220) respectively comprises a plurality of lenses (first lens assembly 210 has first to fifth lenses 211, 212, 213, 214, 215; second lens assembly 220 has first to fifth lenses 221, 222, 223, 224, 225; see col. 6 lines 42-56 and FIGs. 5B and 6);
a lens holder (lens cover 230) accommodating the plurality of lens modules (first/second lens assemblies 210/220) (see col. 5 lines 41-45 and FIGs. 2, 3, 4, and 5B);
a housing (camera case 260) accommodating the lens holder (lens cover 230) (see col. 6 lines 26-32); and
an image sensor module (single image sensor 250) coupled to the housing (camera case 260) (see FIG. 3, col. 5 lines 41-42, and col. 6 lines 14-22),
Kim does not disclose:
where each of the plurality of lens modules respectively comprises a lens barrel accommodating the plurality of lenses
wherein, for each of the plurality of lens modules, a respective lens module includes:
four side surfaces, each of the four side surfaces having at least a flat surface; and
a lens, disposed closest to the image sensor module among the plurality of lenses of the respective lens module, having a first total length in a first axial direction, perpendicular to an optical axis of the respective lens module, and a second total length in a second axial direction, perpendicular to both the optical axis and the first axial direction, where the first total length is longer than the second total length;
wherein one of four side surfaces has a first opening penetrating through the flat surface, and another of the four side surfaces has a second opening penetrating through the flat surface,
wherein the one side surface and the another side surface are disposed perpendicular to each other,
wherein at least a portion of side surfaces of the lens is exposed to an exterior of the respective lens module through the first opening and the second opening, and
wherein the side surfaces of the lens are disposed perpendicular to each other.
Kim and Yang1 are commonly related to lens assemblies for camera modules in mobile terminals/devices.
Yang1 discloses (see FIGs. 1-3 and ¶s 27-29):
where each of the plurality of lens modules (lens assemblies – each including lens barrel 300 and lens unit 100 with first to fifth lenses 110, 120, 130, 140 and 150) respectively comprises a lens barrel (300) accommodating the plurality of lenses (lens unit 100)
wherein, for each of the plurality of lens modules (lens assemblies), a respective lens module (lens assembly) includes:
four side surfaces, each of the four side surfaces having at least a flat surface (see FIGs. 1, 4, 6, and 7; Yang1’s rectangular lens assemblies all have at least four flat sides/surfaces); and
a lens (first lens 110), among the plurality of lenses (lens unit 100) of the respective lens module (lens assembly), having a first total length in a first axial direction (Y direction), perpendicular to an optical axis (Z axis) of the respective lens module (lens assembly), and a second total length in a second axial direction (X direction), perpendicular to both the optical axis (Z axis) and the first axial direction (Y direction), where the first total length (along the Y direction) is longer than the second total length (along the X direction) (see ¶ 37 and corresponding FIG. 5); and
wherein one of four side surfaces has a first opening (310) penetrating through the flat surface, and another of the four side surfaces has a second opening (310) penetrating through the flat surface,
wherein at least a portion of side surfaces of the lens (first lens 110) is exposed to an exterior of the respective lens module (lens assembly) through the first opening (310) and the second opening (310) (see also ¶ 79: “the side surface of the first lens (110) is ultimately exposed through the opening (310)”).
(See also newly annotated FIG. 1+6 below.)
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1 (left panel) and FIG. 6 (right panel) of Yang1, showing a perspective and top view of Yang1’s lens assembly, are newly annotated to highlight different side surfaces (SSs) and openings.)]
Yang2 discloses:
the lens (sixth lens L6), disposed closest to the image sensor module (image sensor 150) (see FIG. 4)
wherein the one side surface and the another side surface are disposed perpendicular to each other,
wherein the side surfaces of the lens are disposed perpendicular to each other.
(Yang2 discloses a lens barrel 110-3 having four main side surfaces (two “cuts” 111-3 and two “rounded portions” 115-3), including those which may correspond to Applicant’s four side surfaces. Yang2 further discloses that through holes 113-3 may be provided on portions of any of these four main side surfaces. See ¶ 59 and FIG. 10.
In combination with Yang1 cited above, openings and lens exposure may thus occur on perpendicularly disposed side surfaces for a given lens module.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim’s camera module by substituting Kim’s circular lens modules (lens assemblies) with those having more rectangular and size-efficient shape, as taught by Yang1, in order to achieve a greater reduction in the camera module’s size (Yang1 ¶s 5-6).
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Kim by incorporating additional through holes (i.e. second openings) in the lens barrels/modules/assemblies, as taught by Yang2, in order to provide incident light with a proper exit path and prevent reflection off of inner surfaces of the lens modules – thereby reducing undesirable ghosting and lens flare phenomena (Yang2 ¶s 55 and 60).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 16.
Kim, in their first embodiment (camera module 200; FIG. 2), further discloses wherein the image sensor module includes a single image sensor (250) configured in the camera module (200) for receipt of light directed by each of the plurality of lens modules (first/second lens assemblies 210/220) toward the single image sensor (250) (see col. 5 lines 41-42, col. 6 lines 14-22).
Regarding claim 18, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 17.
Modified Kim, based on Kim’s first embodiment (camera module 200; FIG. 2) cited above, does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of lens modules include at least a first lens module, a second lens module, a third lens module, and a fourth lens module,
wherein a shorter side of a virtual rectangle, connecting each optical axis of the first to fourth lens modules, is parallel to a shorter side of the single image sensor, and
a longer side of the virtual rectangle is parallel to a longer side of the single image sensor.
Kim, in a second embodiment (camera module 400; FIG. 15) different than the first embodiment (camera module 200; FIG. 2) cited above, discloses:
wherein the plurality of lens modules include at least a first lens module, a second lens module, a third lens module, and a fourth lens module (first to fourth lens assemblies 410-440),
a virtual rectangle, connecting each optical axis of the first to fourth lens modules (first to fourth lens assemblies 410-440) (Kim’s camera module 400 is four-fold symmetric and thus has a (virtual) square/rectangle connecting each lens assembly/module’s optical axes. When incorporating Yang1, the rectangle becomes oblong with a shorter/longer side. See annotated FIG. 15(Kim)+6(Yang1) above).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Kim by extending the 1x2 lens assembly (first) embodiment to a 2x2 lens assembly (second) embodiment, in order to accommodate a larger image sensor and/or field of view.
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to orient the modified Kim’s lens assemblies/modules such that the shorter side of the virtual rectangle is parallel to the shorter side of the single image sensor, and the longer side of the virtual rectangle is parallel to the longer side of the single image sensor – as it would have been well within the bounds of routine optimization for one to merely rotate Kim’s 2x2 lens assembly configuration, until the active area of an image sensor which receives light from the lens modules is maximized, or until an otherwise optimal distribution of light upon the image sensor is achieved. Claimed subject matter which encompasses routine optimization of pertinent prior art is generally not patentable, absent any evidence or indication that such features are critical or yield unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.05(II), whereby “it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”, and whereby “a change in form, proportions, or degree ‘will not sustain a patent’”.
Regarding claim 19, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 17.
Modified Kim, based on Kim’s first embodiment (camera module 200; FIG. 2) cited above, does not disclose:
wherein the plurality of lens modules include at least a first lens module, a second lens module, a third lens module, and a fourth lens module,
wherein an area of a virtual rectangle, connecting each optical axis of the first to fourth lens modules to each other, is smaller than an area of an effective image capturing region of the single image sensor.
Kim, in a second embodiment (camera module 400; FIG. 15) different than the first embodiment (camera module 200; FIG. 2) cited above, discloses:
wherein the plurality of lens modules include at least a first lens module, a second lens module, a third lens module, and a fourth lens module (first to fourth lens assemblies 410-440),
wherein an area of a virtual rectangle, connecting each optical axis of the first to fourth lens modules to each other (first to fourth lens assemblies 410-440), is smaller than an area of an effective image capturing region of the single image sensor.
(Kim’s camera module 400 is four-fold symmetric and thus has a (virtual) square/rectangle connecting each lens assembly/module’s optical axes. When incorporating Yang1, the rectangle becomes oblong with a shorter/longer side. See annotated FIG. 15(Kim)+6(Yang1) above.
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 7 of Kim is annotated to show the distance between optical axes is less than image sensor 250’s side length.)]Note further that, in their first embodiment with a 1x2 lens module configuration, Kim already discloses a distance between optical axes that is shorter than a side length of the rectangular image sensor 250; see annotated FIG. 7 below. Extending this to Kim’s second embodiment with a 2x2 lens module configuration, the resulting virtual rectangle connecting each lens module’s optical axis will automatically have side lengths, and thus an area, less than that of the image sensor 250.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Kim by extending the 1x2 lens assembly (first) embodiment to a 2x2 lens assembly (second) embodiment, in order to accommodate a larger image sensor and/or field of view.
Regarding claim 20, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 17.
Kim, in their first embodiment (camera module 200; FIG. 2), further discloses wherein, with respect to capturing an image of an entirety of an object, each of the one or more lenses (first-fifth lenses (211-215)/(221-225)) of the plurality of lens modules (first/second lens assemblies 210/220) respectively directs light from differently observed portions of the object toward separate respective portions of the single image sensor (250), or each of the one or more lenses (first-fifth lenses (211-215)/(221-225)) of the plurality of lens modules (first/second lens assemblies 210/220) respectively direct light of the entirety of the object toward same portions of the single image sensor (250). (Kim discloses a first/second image 250a/250b, formed by first/second lens assemblies 210/220, which are directed towards nonoverlapping or “separate” portions of the single image sensor 250. Kim also discusses overlapping portions of first/second images 250a/250b, implying that light may also be directed towards “same” portions of single image sensor 250. See col. 6 lines 18-22, col. 8 lines 51-55, col. 9 lines 35-46, and FIG. 8B)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yang1 and Yang2, as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Yang et al (KR 20200049742 A, hereinafter “Yang3”).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 10.
Modified Kim does not disclose wherein the respective lens module of each of the plurality of lens modules further includes:
a side surface of the first flange portion having a first flat surface portion and first curved surface portions;
a side surface of the second flange portion having a second flat surface portion and second curved surface portions;
the first flat surface portion and the second flat surface portion being surfaces meeting a virtual line passing through the optical axis and extending in the first axial direction;
the first curved surface portions being disposed on both sides of the first flat surface portion; and
the second curved surface portions being disposed on both sides of the second flat surface portion.
Kim and Yang3 are commonly related to lens assemblies for camera modules in mobile terminals/devices.
Yang3 further discloses wherein the respective lens module (lens assembly 10) of each of the plurality of lens modules further includes:
a side surface of the first flange portion having a first flat surface portion (third cut portion 143) and first curved surface portions;
a side surface of the second flange portion having a second flat surface portion (fourth cut portion 144) and second curved surface portions;
the first flat surface portion (third cut portion 143) and the second flat surface portion (fourth cut portion 144) being surfaces meeting a virtual line passing through the optical axis and extending in the first axial direction (i.e. the longer direction of the lens, as established previously in regards to claim 1);
the first curved surface portions being disposed on both sides of the first flat surface portion (third cut portion 143); and
the second curved surface portions being disposed on both sides of the second flat surface portion (fourth cut portion 144).
(See annotated FIG. 5 below.)
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 5 of Yang3 is annotated to highlight various features)]
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Kim’s camera module by cutting linear side surfaces in the lens, as taught by Yang3, in order to control the points of contact between the lens and lens barrel –thereby controlling the forces exerted on the lens, the lens’s deformation, and ultimately, the lens’s optical performance (Yang3 ¶s 99-111).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yang1 and Yang2, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Chang et al (US 10816749 B2, hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim discloses the lens assembly device of claim 1.
Modified Kim does not disclose:
wherein the lens holder has opening portions penetrate through a side surface of the lens holder, and
wherein a portion of a side surface of each of the plurality of lens modules is exposed to an exterior of the lens holder through a corresponding opening portion.
Kim and Chang are commonly related to lens assemblies for camera modules in mobile terminals/devices.
Chang discloses:
wherein the lens holder (multi-lens outer frame 190) has opening portions penetrate through a side surface of the lens holder (multi-lens outer frame 190), and
wherein a portion of a side surface of each of the plurality of lens modules (lens assemblies 200 with lens bases 210 and fixed-focus lens assemblies 230) is exposed to an exterior of the lens holder (multi-lens outer frame 190) through a corresponding opening portion.
(See FIGs. 48-50 and col. 65 lines 27 to col. 66 line 2 – multi-lens outer frame 190 accommodates at least two lens assemblies 200 (i.e. lens bases 210 and fixed-focus assemblies 230) and provides side-surface openings that expose and correspond to each one)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Kim with lens cover opening portions, as taught by Chang, in order to accommodate circuit features and conducting elements that enable size reduction of the camera module (Chang col. 15 line 60 to col. 16 line 3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872