DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Although the amended claims submitted on 7/14/2025 overcomes the prior art cited in Taniguchi (US 2002/0153365), further search has found prior art that teaches the ceramic heater provided in a gas sensor applied to the heat generating portion during the operation of the gas sensor. Okamura teaches the ceramic heater provided in a gas sensor applied to the heat generating portion during the operation of the gas sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura (US 9,005,383 B2), and further in view of Toudou (US 11,035,821 B2) and Koji (JP 2009198386).
Regarding claim 1, Okamura teaches (Figure 14) a ceramic heater (heater 55 and 57) provided in a gas sensor (gas sensor device 41), the ceramic heater being configured so that by supplying electrical current thereto (Col. 7 lines 57-59, current is applied to ceramic member), wherein an energizing current waveform of the electrical current to the heat generating portion is a pulse waveform applied to the heat generating portion during operation of the gas sensor (Col. 37 lines 25-30, pulse waveform generated by oscilloscope).
Except wherein, Okamura does not teach the ceramic heater wherein a heat generating portion thereof is heated to a temperature of greater than or equal to 700 °C and less than 950°C, that has a product of a pulse voltage V and a period, ms, of the pulse waveform is controlled to be less than or equal to 600 V-MS for suppressing deterioration of the ceramic heater.
Toudou teaches a gas sensor wherein a heat generating portion thereof is heated to a temperature of greater than or equal to 700 °C and less than 950 °C (Col. 14 lines 6-9 normal temperature range for pump cell is 700-900 °C which is within the range specified in the claim). As having the cell at too high a temperature may deteriorate the current output due to aggregation of the electrodes (Col. 14, lines 1-6).
Okamura and Toudou inventions are analogous since theses inventions have a gas sensor incorporated in the ceramic heater or is a gas sensor. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the heated temperature between 700°C and 950°C since this is a range known in the art to be the most effective for gas sensors in order to have optimal performance in detection of gas and limit deterioration of the output.
Koji teaches the ceramic heater in a gas sensor that has a product of a pulse voltage V and a period, MS, of the pulse waveform is controlled to be less than or equal to 600 V-MS for suppressing deterioration of the ceramic heater (Paragraph 0072, desirable voltage is 24V for 10 MS which is 240Vms and is less than 600Vms).
Okamura and Koji are analogous since both inventions teach ceramic heaters or gas sensors with a heater. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to waveform generate a pulse since this would help with deterioration detection and improve the utility of the gas sensor.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Okamura, Toudou, and Koji teaches the ceramic heater according to claim 1. Additionally, the combination of Okamura, Toudou, and Koji, wherein the product of the pulse voltage V and the period, MS, of the pulse waveform is controlled to be less than 450 V-MS (Koji: Paragraph 0072, desirable voltage is 24V for 10 MS which is 240Vms and is less than 450 Vims).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Okamura, Toudou, and Koji teaches a method of driving a ceramic heater (heater 57) provided in gas sensor (gas sensor device 41), the ceramic heater being configured so that by supplying electrical current thereto (Col. 7 lines 57-59, current is applied to ceramic member), the method comprising the steps of applying an energizing current waveform of the electrical current as a pulse waveform to the heat generating portion during operation of the gas sensor (Col. 37 lines 25-30, pulse waveform generated by oscilloscope).
Except wherein, Okamura does not teach the ceramic heater method wherein controlling a pulse voltage V and a period, MS, of the pulse waveform to maintain a product of the pulse voltage V and the period, MS, of the pulse waveform to be less than or equal to 600 V-MS for suppressing deterioration of the ceramic heater.
Toudou teaches a gas sensor wherein a heat generating portion thereof is heated to a temperature of greater than or equal to 700 °C and less than 950 °C (Col. 14 lines 6-9 normal temperature range for pump cell is 700-900 °C which is within the range specified in the claim). As having the cell at too high a temperature may deteriorate the current output due to aggregation of the electrodes (Col. 14, lines 1-6).
Okamura and Toudou inventions are analogous since theses inventions have a gas sensor incorporated in the ceramic heater or is a gas sensor. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the heated temperature between 700°C and 950°C since this is a range known in the art to be the most effective for gas sensors in order to have optimal performance in detection of gas and limit deterioration of the output.
Koji teaches the ceramic heater wherein controlling a pulse voltage V and a period, MS, of the pulse waveform to maintain a product of the pulse voltage V and the period, MS, of the pulse waveform to be less than or equal to 600 V-MS for suppressing deterioration of the ceramic heater (Paragraph 0072, desirable voltage is 24V for 10 MS which is 240Vms and is less than 600Vms).
Okamura and Koji are analogous since both inventions teach ceramic heaters or gas sensors with a heater. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to waveform generate a pulse since this would help with deterioration detection and improve the utility of the gas sensor.
Regarding claim 8, Okamura teaches a gas sensor (gas sensor device 41) having a ceramic heater (heater 57), the ceramic heater being configured so that by supplying electrical current thereto (Col. 7 lines 57-59, current is applied to ceramic member), wherein an energizing current waveform of the electrical current to the heat generating portion is a pulse waveform applied to the heat generating portion during operation of the gas sensor (Col. 37 lines 25-30, pulse waveform generated by oscilloscope).
Except wherein, Okamura does not teach the gas sensor device wherein a heat generating portion thereof is heated to a temperature of greater than or equal to 700°C and less than 950°C, a product of a pulse voltage V and a period, MS, of the pulse waveform is controlled to be less than or equal to 600 V-MS for suppressing deterioration of the ceramic heater.
Toudou teaches a gas sensor wherein a heat generating portion thereof is heated to a temperature of greater than or equal to 700 °C and less than 950 °C (Col. 14 lines 6-9 normal temperature range for pump cell is 700-900 °C which is within the range specified in the claim). As having the cell at too high a temperature may deteriorate the current output due to aggregation of the electrodes (Col. 14, lines 1-6).
Okamura and Toudou inventions are analogous since theses inventions have a gas sensor incorporated in the ceramic heater or is a gas sensor. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the heated temperature between 700°C and 950°C since this is a range known in the art to be the most effective for gas sensors in order to have optimal performance in detection of gas and limit deterioration of the output.
Koji teaches the gas sensor device wherein a product of a pulse voltage V and a period, MS, of the pulse waveform is controlled to be less than or equal to 600 V-ms for suppressing deterioration of the ceramic heater (Paragraph 0072, desirable voltage is 24V for 10 MS which is 240Vms and is less than 600Vms).
Okamura and Koji are analogous since both inventions teach ceramic heaters or gas sensors with a heater. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to waveform generate a pulse since this would help with deterioration detection and improve the utility of the gas sensor.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura (US 9,005,383 B2), Toudou (US 11,035,821 B2), and Koji (JP 2009198386), and further in view of Tanaka (US 2004/0069630 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Okamura, Toudou, and Koji teaches the ceramic heater according to claim 1.
Except wherein Okamura, Toudou, and Koji do not teach the ceramic heater wherein the heat generating portion has a shape in which a portion in which heater patterns are far away from each other, and a portion in which the heater patterns are close to each other are repeated multiple times from a pair of connection terminals, and the heater patterns are joined at distal end parts thereof.
Tanaka teaches the ceramic heater wherein the heat generating portion has a shape in which a portion in which heater patterns are far away from each other, and a portion in which the heater patterns are close to each other are repeated multiple times from a pair of connection terminals, and the heater patterns are joined at distal end parts thereof (Fig. 6 heat generator 191 and heater lead 192).
Okamura, , Toudou, Koji and Tanaka are analogous since these inventions has a gas sensor incorporated in the ceramic heater or an invention that is a gas sensor. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to design the heat generator in this shape since this design is known in the art to effectively distribute heat and prevent current leakage.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Okamura, Toudou, and Koji teaches the ceramic heater according to claim 1.
Except wherein, Okamura, Toudou, and Koji does not teach the ceramic heater wherein: the heat generating portion is heated by supplying current thereto through lead portions; and the heat generating portion comprises: at least four straight portions arranged at intervals in a widthwise direction of the gas sensor , and configured to extend in a lengthwise direction of the gas sensor; at least one first connecting portion which is configured to connect end parts in proximity to the lead portion at two of the straight portions that are adjacent to each other in the widthwise direction; and a plurality of second connecting portions which are configured to connect end parts remote from the lead portion at two of the straight portions that are adjacent to each other in the widthwise direction.
Tanaka teaches the ceramic heater wherein: the heat generating portion is heated by supplying current thereto through lead portions (Fig. 2 electrode lead portions 211, 221, 311, 321, 411 and 421); and the heat generating portion comprises (heater 19): at least four straight portions arranged at intervals in a widthwise direction (Fig. 2 electrode lead portions 211, 221, 311, 321, 411 and 421) of the gas sensor (gas sensing element 1), and configured to extend in a lengthwise direction of the gas sensor (Fig, 2 electrode leads 411 and 311 are adjacent to each other); at least one first connecting portion which is configured to connect end parts in proximity to the lead portion at two of the straight portions that are adjacent to each other in the widthwise direction (Fig. 5 heat generator 191 and heater lead 192); and a plurality of second connecting portions which are configured to connect end parts remote from the lead portion at two of the straight portions that are adjacent to each other in the widthwise direction (Fig. 5 heat generator 191 and heater lead 192).
Okamura, Toudou, Koji and Tanaka are analogous since these inventions either has a gas sensor incorporated in the ceramic heater or is a gas sensor. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the electrode portions structured like this since this type of layering for a gas sensor is known in the art to be effective and minimize leakage current.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAURISA D MORRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761