DETAILED ACTION
Accordingly claim 1 has been cancelled. Claims 2 have been amended. No new claims were added. Therefore, claims 2-21 remain pending in this application. It also includes remarks and arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without
the communication equipment is configured to communicate a responsive communications signal in response to receiving a query from the marine vessels to determine availability of the marine charging station or wherein the communication equipment is configured to communicate a message inclusive of an amount of charge currently available to the marine vessels in response to the query which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). The specification does not explain how the communication equipment can be both in response to a query as recited in claims 19-20 and independent of receiving a query from the marine vessels as newly recited in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-5, 10 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niizuma (US 2015/0288226) and in view of Schaefer (US 2012/0158299).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Niizuma teaches in (see Fig. 4) a marine charging station, comprising; a marine platform (2c) positioned on a surface of a body of water and independently positioned thereat (such that the charging station 2c of the charging equipment “marine platform” 2 is not limited to only being raised and lowered by a lifting device 2b as described, see 0026, but also able to navigate under water and may include a movable structure which would allow the charging station 2c to navigate or float in the water as a floating marine platform and position itself on a surface of a body of water and independently positioned thereat, see 0078. Further, in which the electric power is supplied from the power-supplying device to the power receiving device is not limited to only being under water as described, but also configured in which the electric power supplied from the power-supplying device to the power receiving device on surface of water may also be employed, see 0079); at least one energy generation source (see 2a, para 0027) remotely located from the marine platform (labeled 2c) and electrically coupled to an energy storage element (see 2c4) positioned on the marine platform (see 2c); and at least one electrical power adapter (inductive coupling means, (8 and/or 11) available to be used to supply electrical power to a marine vessel (R and element 3) floating on the surface of the body of water at the marine platform (see 2c) to power an electricity storage element disposed thereon (see battery, 3c and 0079) . The Robot (R) can navigate or float through the ocean water for exploration purposes or capable of floating.
However, Schaefer in [Figs. 1, 5 and 6] disclose communication equipment [e.g. radio equipment or satellites] used by the supply stations configured to generate communications signals to notify marine vessels of availability of the marine charging station [such as filling stations V1-V7 as shown in Fig. 6 corresponding to the supply “charging or battery replacement” stations for the vehicles, such as ships or boats, see 0009, 0149-0151, 0130, 0150, 0154 and 0156].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Schaefer in the marine charging station as taught by Niizuma in order to ensure energy storage requirements of the marine vessels in order not to inadvertently end up in an emergency at sea, thereby insuring important ways to remain within range of a charging or battery replacement station and causing any inconvenience constantly to remain in the vicinity of supply stations due to excessive caution, without this specifically being necessary.
Regarding claim 3, Niizuma in view of Schaefer teaches the marine station according to claim 2. Niizuma teaches wherein the marine platform is mounted to the seabed of the body of water (see 2 of fig. 4 and 0026).
Regarding claim 5, Niizuma in view of Schaefer teaches the marine station according to claim 2. Niizuma teaches in (see fig. 1, 3, 4) a crane (2b) mounted or coupled to the marine platform (see 2c); and a cable that (i) electrically connects to the housing of the electricity storage element (2c4) of the platform (see 2c) and (ii) is supported and controlled in position by the crane.
Regarding claim 10, Niizuma in view of Schaefer teaches the marine station according to claim 2. Niizuma teaches wherein the at least one electrical power adapter (8 or 11, inductive coupling means) includes in inductive element that enables a marine vessel to inductively charge a battery (3c) disposed thereon via inductive coupling with element (2) which has power transmitting means.
Regarding claim 14, Niizuma in view of Schaefer teaches the marine station according to claim 2. Schaefer teaches wherein the communications signals include at least one status indicator indicative that the marine charging station [see V1-V7 in Fig. 6] is available [see 0150, 0154 and 0156].
Regarding claim 15, Niizuma in view of Schaefer teaches the marine station according to claim 14. Schaefer teaches wherein the at least one status indicator includes one or more flags, alphanumeric text, or other data representative of status information [see 0130, 0150, 0154 and 0156].
Regarding claim 16, Niizuma in view of Schaefer teaches the marine station according to claim 2. Schaefer teaches wherein the communications equipment is further configured to establish a charging schedule or reservations for the marine vessels to be charged thereby [see 0130, 0132-0135, 0150 and 0154-0156].
Regarding claim 17, Niizuma in view of Schaefer teaches the marine station according to claim 2. Schaefer teaches wherein the communications equipment is further configured to communicate the communications signals via the Internet or directly to the marine vessels [see 0149-0151, 0130, 0150, 0154 and 0156].
Regarding claim 18, Niizuma in view of Schaefer teaches the marine station according to claim 17. Schaefer teaches wherein the communications signals are communicated via a terrestrial communications channel [see 0149-0151, 0130, 0150, 0154 and 0156 and claim 1].
Regarding claim 19, Niizuma in view of Schaefer teaches the marine station according to claim 2. Hoeven Schaefer wherein the communications equipment is configured to communicate a responsive communications signal in response to receiving a query from the marine vessels to determine availability of the marine charging station [see 0130, 0132, 0150 and 0154-0156]
Regarding claim 20, Niizuma in view of Schaefer teaches the marine station according to claim 19. Schaefer teaches wherein the communications equipment is configured to communicate a message inclusive of an amount of charge currently available to the marine vessels in response to the query [see 0130, 0132, 0150 and 0154-0156].
Regarding claim 21, Niizuma in view of Schaefer teaches the marine station according to claim 2. Schaefer teaches wherein the communications equipment is further configured to generate communications signals to notify marine vessels of power status of the marine charging station [see 0006-0007 and 0009].
Claim 6 is rejected under Niizuma (US 2015/0288226) and in view of Schaefer (US 2012/0158299) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sovik (US 2019/0276127).
Regarding claim 6, Niizuma mentioned combination teaches the marine charging station according to claim 2, wherein the energy storage element includes at least one electricity storage element and at least one energy generation source (see 0027).
Niizuma mentioned combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one electricity storage element is re-charged by the at least one energy generation source, and further comprising a docking station for the at least one electricity storage element to enable the at least one electricity storage element to be disconnected and removed from the marine platform and placed onto the marine vessel from a docketing station on the marine platform.
However, Sovik teaches in (Figs. 1-4) wherein the at least one electricity storage element (see 19) is re-charged by the at least one energy generation source (see quay 12 that includes charging station 23, which may be a floating or fixed device that incorporates a wind power plant or the like that corresponds to the at least one energy generation source that recharges the battery packs 19 in Fig. 2, see 0070 and 0097), and further comprising a docking station (see 23 and 0058 and 0070) for the at least one electricity storage element (see 19 and 0059) to enable the at least one electricity storage element (see 19 and 0059) to be disconnected and removed from the marine platform (see 12 and 0060 and 0070) and placed onto the marine vessel (see vessel 14) from a docketing station (see 23) on the marine platform (see 12 and 0060 and 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention combine the teachings of Sovik in the marine charging station as taught by Niizuma mentioned combination in order provide a transport system comprising an electrically powered vessel equipped with at least one swappable and rechargeable battery pack resulting shorter stops by stopping to exchange the batteries instead of waiting longer periods of time for the batteries to reach full charge during recharging.
Claim 7 is rejected under Niizuma (US 2015/0288226) and in view of Schaefer (US 2012/0158299) and in view of Sovik (US 2019/0276127) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kfir (US 10/763,685).
Regarding claim 7, Niizuma mentioned combination discloses the marine charging station according to claim 6, except for wherein the at least one electricity storage element is configured to report an amount of charge currently available.
Kfir teaches an underground marine element (UCS) “equivalent to the marine platform” in communication or in conjunction with an automated underwater vehicle, equivalent to the marine vessel, wherein the status of a battery is monitored via a battery monitor sensor (see 192 in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kfir into the Niizuma mentioned combination in order to provide a means to monitor the status of the battery in order to know when the battery needs recharging or replaced and to prevent the battery from totally depleting and taking the corrective measures.
Claims 8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 USC 103 over Niizuma (US 2015/0288226) and in view of Schaefer (US 2012/0158299) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Reimann (US 2023/0268733).
Regarding claims 8 and 11-13, Niizuma mentioned combination fails to teach a remote electrical generation power source wherein a fluid including natural gas can be applied.
Reimann teaches a marine system in (see para 0072, fig. 8) wherein natural gas can be converted and applied to charge batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Reimann into that of Niizuma mentioned combination to operate power sources on a marine system and to recharge batteries via any power means to provide efficient operation of marine system.
Claim 9 is rejected under Niizuma (US 2015/0288226) and in view of Schaefer (US 2012/0158299) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Chunhui et al. (CN 108482595).
Regarding claim 9, Niizuma mentioned combination teaches a charging station (2) labeled as the marine platform but fails to teach that the charging station can be combined or included as wind turbine or mounted at the base of a wind turbine.
Chinhui teaches in (see abstract, fig. 1) a floating power generation system or platform which includes possibly a power source generator (1) which can be or include a wind turbine with a charger or a charging station (10) embedded therein.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Chinhui into the Niizuma mentioned combination thus making it possible to provide alternative sources such as solar or wind by taking advantage of environmental sources to keep a charging station charged at all times to provided operation services to other devices which need power.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-5, 10 and 14-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection using Schaefer (US 2012/0158229) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRENCE R WILLOUGHBY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
9/16/26
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836