DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 introduces “a series of protrusions” in line 16, but later references “the protrusion” in line 20. In the context of the disclosure, it is clear that the recitation “the protrusion” in line 20 is intended to reference the previously introduced protrusions, but the claim should be amended to recite --the protrusions-- to ensure appropriate consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geiger (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0136941) in view of Itoh (U.S. Patent No. 8,006,829).
Regarding claim 1, Geiger discloses a mounting assembly for mounting a roller window shade (paragraph 0001) comprising:
a mounting bracket (2100) attached to a structure, wherein the mounting bracket includes a body having a first flat surface (flat surface defined by side 2130) and a second flat surface [FIG. 21] (see annotated drawing below), wherein the first flat surface is perpendicular to the second flat surface (as shown in Figure 21, the first and second flat surfaces are perpendicular to each other), and wherein the first flat surface is configured to bear against the structure (paragraph 0057);
a shade tube (the shade tube is disclosed in at least paragraph 0004, and shown generally in Figure 9) supported by the second flat surface (paragraph 0057) and wrapped by a sheet (shade shown in at least Figure 8), wherein the sheet is wrapped around a shipping tube when in transit (this limitation constitutes a recitation of intended use, as the shipping tube is not positively recited as a component of the mounting assembly; the sheet shown in Figures 8-10 is inherently capable of being wrapped around a shipping tube having the same dimensions as that of the shade tube, and therefore meets the requirements of the intended use limitation);
a passage (2110) defined in the mounting bracket extending between the first flat surface and the second flat surface [FIG. 21];
a motor (paragraph 0057 discloses a motor used in the roller shade assembly) coupled to the shade tube; and
a wire (2120) extending through the passage [FIG. 21], the wire coupled to the motor and having a working length extending from the structure, along a series of protrusions (protrusions are defined at 2140 as shown in Figure 21) fixedly coupled with the mounting bracket and arranged adjacent to the passage and extending outward to the motor (paragraphs 0057, 0059) [FIG. 21], wherein a portion of the mounting bracket is visible to an observer when the bracket is attached to the structure (a mounting bracket in a visible installed position is shown in Figure 9; the mounting bracket of Figure 21 is understood to be installable in the same position), and wherein the mounting bracket, the protrusions, and the motor obscure the wire from view such that the working length of the wire is not visible to the observer (paragraphs 0057 and 0059 disclose that the wiring 2120 is obscured from view by the bracket 2100).
Geiger does not explicitly disclose that the wire is separably coupled to the motor and extends through the protrusions or that the protrusions are arranged circumferentially about the passage.
Nonetheless, Itoh discloses a mounting assembly including a wire (68, 80) separably coupled to a motor (12) and extending through a series of protrusions (70; multiple protrusions 70 are provided as shown in Figure 17) fixedly coupled with a respective mounting component (65) and arranged circumferentially about a passage through which the wire extends (Figures 17-19 depict the separable connection between the wire and the motor, and extension of the wire through a passage defined in the mounting component 65; see annotated drawing below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mounting assembly of Geiger to include the wire connection taught by Itoh, in order to provide means for easily disconnecting the motor and roller tube from the bracket, and to ensure a reliable electrical connection between the wire and the motor.
Regarding claim 2, Geiger discloses the motor, but does not explicitly disclose a node identifier located on the motor. It nonetheless would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor with a label identifying the node, in order to facilitate installation and/or setup of the shade. It has been held that where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Regarding claim 3, Geiger discloses that the wire is configured to transfer electrical power to the motor, but does not explicitly disclose that it transfers data to the motor.
Nonetheless, Itoh discloses a wire (68) in a roller window shade configured to transfer electrical power and data (column 8, lines 11-15 discloses transfer of power and signals, which reads on the claimed “power and data”) to a motor (12).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire of Geiger to enable it to transfer data, as taught by Itoh, in order to allow for control signals of the assembly to be transferred through the same wire as the power. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have transferred said data via RS485, as it is a known standard for data communication, which would enable integration of existing systems, connections, and/or programs more seamlessly (see e.g. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RS-485).
Regarding claim 4, Geiger discloses a protrusion (2140) fixedly coupled with the body and extending perpendicularly from the second flat surface [FIG. 21], wherein the protrusion is configured to engage the motor such that the protrusion prevents relative rotation between the mounting bracket and a portion of the motor (paragraphs 0004, 0046, 0057).
Regarding claim 6, Geiger discloses that the wire is configured to transfer electrical power to the motor (paragraphs 0057, 0059), and the motor is configured to convert the electrical power into a mechanical energy output to rotate the shade tube (this configuration is a known/inherent characteristic of the disclosed motorized shade).
Regarding claim 7, Geiger discloses the motor, but does not explicitly disclose a controller configured to control rotation of the motor.
Nonetheless, Itoh discloses that the motor (12) includes a controller (15) configured to control rotation of the motor, wherein the controller is configured to control the motor to rotate the shade tube in response to a data received by the motor (column 9, lines 18-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the motor of Geiger to include a controller, as taught by Itoh, in order to enable control of the operation of the roller shade assembly using signals transmitted remotely through the wire.
Regarding claim 8, Geiger discloses the motor and the shade tube, but does not explicitly disclose that they are both configured to rotate about a common axis of rotation.
Nonetheless, Itoh discloses a motor (12) and a shade tube (2) that are both configured to rotate about a common axis of rotation (column 9, lines 5-13), wherein the common axis of rotation extends lengthwise along the shade tube [FIG. 4].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly of Geiger to provide the shade tube and motor on a common axis of rotation, as taught by Itoh, in order to provide a compact arrangement with the motor provided within the shade tube, thereby providing a clean outward appearance for the overall assembly.
Regarding claim 9, Geiger discloses that the body includes a surface (curved outer surface shown in Figure 21) disposed opposite the first flat surface.
Regarding claim 10, Geiger discloses that the body defines a pair of aperture holes (5) defined in the first flat surface and wherein the pair of fastener apertures are each configured to receive a fastener therethrough to secure the mounting bracket to the structure (paragraph 0044; paragraph 0057 further discloses that the wire and passage shown in Figure 21 can be used with any mounting bracket, which includes the embodiment shown in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Geiger discloses a fastening device for mounting a motorized roller window shade (paragraph 0001) comprising:
a mounting bracket (2100) having a first flat surface (flat surface defined by side 2130) and a second flat surface [FIG. 21] (see annotated drawing above), wherein the first flat surface is configured to bear against a surface (paragraph 0057) and the first flat surface is perpendicular to the second flat surface (as shown in Figure 21, the first and second flat surfaces are perpendicular to each other), wherein the mounting bracket is configured to support a shade tube (the shade tube is disclosed in at least paragraph 0004, and shown generally in Figure 9);
a sheet (shade shown in at least Figure 8) configured to wrap around the shade tube when the shade tube is supported by the mounting bracket [FIGS. 8-10], wherein the sheet is wrapped around a shipping tube when in transit (this limitation constitutes a recitation of intended use, as the shipping tube is not positively recited as a component of the mounting assembly; the sheet shown in Figures 8-10 is inherently capable of being wrapped around a shipping tube having the same dimensions as that of the shade tube, and therefore meets the requirements of the intended use limitation);
a passage (2110) defined in the mounting bracket extending between the first flat surface and the second flat surface [FIG. 21];
a pair of fastener apertures (5) defined in the first flat surface, the pair of fastener apertures configured to receive a fastener to secure the mounting bracket to a structure (paragraph 0044 discloses fasteners inserted through the apertures 5; paragraph 0057 further discloses that the wire and passage shown in Figure 21 can be used with any mounting bracket, which includes the embodiment shown in Figure 1);
a motor (paragraph 0057 discloses a motor used in the roller shade assembly) coupled to the shade tube; and
a wire (2120) extending through the passage [FIG. 21], the wire coupled to the motor and having a working length extending from the structure, along a series of protrusions (protrusions are defined at 2140 as shown in Figure 21) fixedly coupled with the mounting bracket, and arranged adjacent to the passage and extending outward to the motor (paragraphs 0057, 0059) [FIG. 21], wherein a portion of the mounting bracket is visible to an observer when the bracket is attached to the structure (a mounting bracket in a visible installed position is shown in Figure 9; the mounting bracket of Figure 21 is understood to be installable in the same position), and wherein the mounting bracket, the protrusion, and the motor obscure the wire from view such that the working length of the wire is not visible to the observer (paragraphs 0057 and 0059 disclose that the wiring 2120 is obscured from view by the bracket 2100).
Geiger does not explicitly disclose that the wire is separably coupled to the motor and extends through the protrusions or that the protrusions are arranged circumferentially about the passage.
Nonetheless, Itoh discloses a mounting assembly including a wire (68, 80) separably coupled to a motor (12) and extending through a series of protrusions (70; multiple protrusions 70 are provided as shown in Figure 17) fixedly coupled with a respective mounting component (65) and arranged circumferentially about a passage through which the wire extends (Figures 17-19 depict the separable connection between the wire and the motor, and extension of the wire through a passage defined in the mounting component 65; see annotated drawing above).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mounting assembly of Geiger to include the wire connection taught by Itoh, in order to provide means for easily disconnecting the motor and roller tube from the bracket, and to ensure a reliable electrical connection between the wire and the motor.
Regarding claim 13, Geiger discloses the motor, but does not explicitly disclose a node identifier located on the motor. It nonetheless would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor with a label identifying the node, in order to facilitate installation and/or setup of the shade. It has been held that where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Regarding claim 14, Geiger discloses that the wire is configured to transfer electrical power to the motor, but does not explicitly disclose that it transfers data to the motor.
Nonetheless, Itoh discloses a wire (68) in a roller window shade configured to transfer electrical power and data (column 8, lines 11-15 discloses transfer of power and signals, which reads on the claimed “power and data”) to a motor (12).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire of Geiger to enable it to transfer data, as taught by Itoh, in order to allow for control signals of the assembly to be transferred through the same wire as the power.
Regarding claim 15, Geiger discloses the motor and the shade tube, but does not explicitly disclose that they are both configured to rotate about a common axis of rotation.
Nonetheless, Itoh discloses a motor (12) and a shade tube (2) that are both configured to rotate about a common axis of rotation (column 9, lines 5-13), wherein the common axis of rotation extends lengthwise along the shade tube [FIG. 4].
Regarding claim 16, Geiger discloses a protrusion (2140) configured to engage the motor such that the protrusion prevents relative rotation between a shade roller body and a portion of the motor (paragraphs 0004, 0046, 0057).
Regarding claim 17, Geiger discloses a fastening device for mounting a motorized roller window shade (paragraph 0001) comprising:
a mounting bracket (2100) having a first flat surface (flat surface defined by side 2130) and a second flat surface [FIG. 21] (see annotated drawing above), wherein the first flat surface is configured to bear against a surface (paragraph 0057) and the first flat surface is perpendicular to the second flat surface (as shown in Figure 21, the first and second flat surfaces are perpendicular to each other), wherein the mounting bracket is configured to support a shade tube (the shade tube is disclosed in at least paragraph 0004, and shown generally in Figure 9);
a sheet (shade shown in at least Figure 8) configured to wrap around the shade tube when the shade tube is supported by the mounting bracket [FIGS. 8-10], wherein the sheet is wrapped around a shipping tube when in transit (this limitation constitutes a recitation of intended use, as the shipping tube is not positively recited as a component of the mounting assembly; the sheet shown in Figures 8-10 is inherently capable of being wrapped around a shipping tube having the same dimensions as that of the shade tube, and therefore meets the requirements of the intended use limitation);
a passage (2110) defined in the mounting bracket extending between the first flat surface and the second flat surface [FIG. 21];
a motor coupled to the shade tube (the motor is disclosed in at least paragraph 0057);
a wire (2120) extending through the passage along a series of protrusions (protrusions are defined at 2140 as shown in Figure 21) fixedly coupled with and arranged adjacent to the passage and extending to couple to the motor (paragraphs 0057, 0059), wherein a portion of the mounting bracket is visible to an observer when the bracket is attached to the structure (a mounting bracket in a visible installed position is shown in Figure 9; the mounting bracket of Figure 21 is understood to be installable in the same position), and wherein the mounting bracket and the motor obscure the wire from view such that the working length of the wire is not visible to the observer (paragraphs 0057 and 0059 disclose that the wiring 2120 is obscured from view by the bracket 2100); and
a pair of fastener apertures 5) defined in the first flat surface, the pair of fastener apertures configured to receive a fastener to secure the mounting bracket to a structure (paragraph 0044; paragraph 0057 further discloses that the wire and passage shown in Figure 21 can be used with any mounting bracket, which includes the embodiment shown in Figure 1).
Geiger does not explicitly disclose that the wire is separably coupled to the motor and extends through the protrusions, that the protrusions are arranged circumferentially about the passage, or a node identifier on the motor.
Nonetheless, Itoh discloses a mounting assembly including a wire (68, 80) separably coupled to a motor (12) and supported by a series of protrusions (70; multiple protrusions 70 are provided as shown in Figure 17) fixedly coupled with a respective mounting component (65) and arranged circumferentially about a passage through which the wire extends (Figures 17-19 depict the separable connection between the wire and the motor, and extension of the wire through a passage defined in the mounting component 65; see annotated drawing above).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mounting assembly of Geiger to include the wire connection taught by Itoh, in order to provide means for easily disconnecting the motor and roller tube from the bracket, and to ensure a reliable electrical connection between the wire and the motor. It further would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor with a label identifying the node, in order to facilitate installation and/or setup of the shade. It has been held that where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Geiger does not explicitly disclose that the wire is separably coupled to the motor, or.
Nonetheless, Itoh discloses a mounting assembly including a wire (68) separably coupled to a motor (12; Figures 5-7 depict the separable connection between the wire and the motor).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mounting assembly of Geiger to include the wire connection taught by Itoh, in order to provide means for easily disconnecting the motor and roller tube from the bracket, and to ensure a reliable electrical connection between the wire and the motor.
Regarding claim 19, Geiger discloses that the wire is configured to transfer electrical power to the motor, but does not explicitly disclose that it transfers data to the motor.
Nonetheless, Itoh discloses a wire (68) in a roller window shade configured to transfer electrical power and data (column 8, lines 11-15 discloses transfer of power and signals, which reads on the claimed “power and data”) to a motor (12).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire of Geiger to enable it to transfer data, as taught by Itoh, in order to allow for control signals of the assembly to be transferred through the same wire as the power.
Regarding claim 20, Geiger discloses the motor and the shade tube, but does not explicitly disclose that they are both configured to rotate about a common axis of rotation.
Nonetheless, Itoh discloses a motor (12) and a shade tube (2) that are both configured to rotate about a common axis of rotation (column 9, lines 5-13), wherein the common axis of rotation extends lengthwise along the shade tube [FIG. 4].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Geiger, as modified by Itoh, fails to disclose the wire extending through a series of protrusions fixedly coupled with the mounting bracket and arranged circumferentially about the passage. This argument is not found persuasive, and the new limitations are addressed in the rejection above. Geiger discloses a series of protrusions at 2140 as shown in Figure 21. These protrusions are not explicitly described in the specification of Geiger, but they clearly correspond to the key 740 or the projections 1322A, 1540A, which are described in at least paragraphs 0050, 0052, and 0054. Figure 21 of Geiger further illustrates extension of the wire through the passage of the mounting bracket. Itoh teaches a wire connection including a passage for a wire that extends through a series of protrusions 70, as shown in Figures 13-19. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the embodiment of Itoh shown in Figure 5 are acknowledged and are persuasive in overcoming the rejection relying on said embodiment, but the arguments do no apply to the embodiment of Figures 13-19 and are therefore not found persuasive in overcoming the teachings of Itoh as it is applied in combination with Geiger in the above rejection.
Conclusion
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634