DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 03/06/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 7-8 has/have been amended; claim(s) 2, 6, and 20 has/have been cancelled and new claim(s) 21 has/have been added. Thus, claims 1-5, 7-19, and 21 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadokoro et al (JP 2015056716) in view of Inaba et al (US 4,608,570).
Regarding claim 1, Tadokoro discloses a back door including an opening, the back door comprising:
a resinous outer panel (Fig. 2 #1C outer panel);
a resinous inner panel (Fig. 2 #1B inner panel);
a metallic reinforce (Fig. 2 #s 8A-8B metal reinforcements) disposed between the outer panel (Fig. 2 #1C outer panel) and the inner panel (Fig. 2 #1B inner panel);
and a rear window glass (Fig. 2 #2 rear glass) covering the opening, wherein the rear window glass comprises: a defogger (Fig. 11 #51 upper defogger circuit and #52 lower defogger circuit) comprising a first bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 left bus bar) that extends in an upper-lower direction, a second bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 right bus bar) that is disposed apart from the first bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 left bus bar) in a horizontal direction and extends in the upper-lower direction, and a plurality of heating wires (Fig. 11 #5A heating wires) that connect the first bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 left bus bar) to the second bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 right bus bar),
an auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) connected to the defogger (Fig. 11 #51 upper defogger circuit and #52 lower defogger circuit), wherein the auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) comprises a conductor portion (Shown in the figure below) extending along the reinforce;
and an antenna (Fig. 11 #10 main element) disposed so as to be surrounded by the defogger (Fig. 11 #51 upper defogger circuit and #52 lower defogger circuit) and the auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) (At least a portion of the antenna is surrounded by the defogger and the auxiliary element.);
and wherein the auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) comprises an intermediate portion (Shown in the figure below) which intersects a center line of the rear window glass or of the defogger; and an end of the first bus bar or of the plurality of heating wires which is most apart from the conductor portion is referred to as a first end, a route from the intermediate portion to the first end via the conductor portion and the first bus bar includes a first conducting route (These limitations appear to be definitions of existing structures but add no further structural limitations.).
However, Tadokoro does not disclose when a wavelength in air of radio waves in a given frequency band that are to be received by the antenna is λ, a wavelength shortening ratio of the rear window glass is k, the first conducting route has a length of 0.90 x λ/2 x k or longer and 1.10 x λ /2 x k or shorter.
Nonetheless, Inaba in the same field of endeavor being windshield electric heating, teaches that wavelength and wavelength shortening ratio are results effective variables which effect the length of an antenna based on a frequency range of the radio signal being received. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that the length of an antenna can be adjusted based on the desired frequency range by varying wavelength and wavelength shortening ratio. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that antenna length is determined by wavelength and wavelength shortening ratio, were disclosed in the prior art by Inaba, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a length of 0.90 x λ/2 x k or longer and 1.10 x λ /2 x k or shorter for the benefit of receiving commercial radio signals.
Regarding claim 3, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Tadokoro teaches wherein the reinforce (Fig. 2 #s 8A-8B metal reinforcements) comprises a vertical reinforce portion extending in the upper-lower direction (Shown in Fig. 2),
and the conductor portion (Shown in the figure below) comprises a vertical conductor portion (Shown in the figure below) extending along the vertical reinforce portion.
Regarding claim 4, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 3), and Tadokoro teaches wherein the reinforce comprises a horizontal reinforce portion (Fig. 2 shows portions of the #8A and 8B reinforcements being horizontal) connected to the vertical reinforce portion and extending in the horizontal direction,
and the conductor portion (Shown in the figure below) comprises a horizontal conductor portion (Shown in the figure below) extending along the horizontal reinforce portion.
Regarding claim 5, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Tadokoro teaches wherein the conductor portion (Shown in the figure below) overlies the reinforce (Fig. 2 #s 8A-8B metal reinforcements) in a plan view of the rear window glass.
Regarding claim 7, Tadokoro discloses a back door including an opening, the back door comprising: a resinous outer panel (Fig. 2 #1C outer panel);
a resinous inner panel (Fig. 2 #1B inner panel);
a metallic reinforce (Fig. 2 #s 8A-8B metal reinforcements) disposed between the outer panel (Fig. 2 #1C outer panel) and the inner panel (Fig. 2 #1B inner panel);
and a rear window glass (Fig. 2 #2 rear glass) covering the opening, wherein the rear window glass comprises: a defogger (Fig. 11 #51 upper defogger circuit and #52 lower defogger circuit) comprising a first bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 left bus bar) that extends in an upper-lower direction, a second bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 right bus bar) that is disposed apart from the first bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 left bus bar) in a horizontal direction and extends in the upper-lower direction, and a plurality of heating wires (Fig. 11 #5A heating wires) that connect the first bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 left bus bar) to the second bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 right bus bar),
an auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) connected to the defogger (Fig. 11 #51 upper defogger circuit and #52 lower defogger circuit), wherein the auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) comprises a conductor portion (Shown in the figure below) extending along the reinforce;
and an antenna (Fig. 11 #10 main element) disposed so as to be surrounded by the defogger (Fig. 11 #51 upper defogger circuit and #52 lower defogger circuit) and the auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) (At least a portion of the antenna is surrounded by the defogger and the auxiliary element.);
and wherein: the auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) includes an intermediate portion (Shown in the figure below) which intersects a center line of the rear window glass or of the defogger, the center line extending in the upper-lower direction; the conductor portion includes a first conductor portion (Shown in the figure below), which is nearer to the first bus bar than to the second bus bar, and a second conductor portion (Shown in the figure below), which is nearer to the second bus bar than to the first bus bar;
an end of the first bus bar or of the plurality of heating wires which is most apart from the first conductor portion is referred to as a first end, and an end of the second bus bar or of the plurality of heating wires which is most apart from the second conductor portion is referred to as a second end, a first route from the intermediate portion to the first end via the first conductor portion and the first bus bar includes a first conducting route, the first conducting route at least including the first conductor portion, a second route from the intermediate portion to the second end via the second conductor portion and the second bus bar includes a second conducting route, the second conducting route at least including the second conductor portion (These limitations appear to be definitions of existing structures but add no further limitations.).
However, Tadokoro does not teach when a wavelength in air of radio waves in a given frequency band which are to be received by the antenna is λ, a wavelength shortening ratio of the rear window glass is k, and at least one of the first conducing route or the second conducting route has a length of 0.90x/2xk or longer and 1.10x/2xk or shorter.
Nonetheless, Inaba in the same field of endeavor being windshield electric heating, teaches that wavelength and wavelength shortening ratio are results effective variables which effect the length of an antenna based on a frequency range of the radio signal being received. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that the length of an antenna can be adjusted based on the desired frequency range by varying wavelength and wavelength shortening ratio. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that antenna length is determined by wavelength and wavelength shortening ratio, were disclosed in the prior art by Inaba, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a length of 0.90 x λ/2 x k or longer and 1.10 x λ /2 x k or shorter for the benefit of receiving commercial radio signals.
Regarding claim 8, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Tadokoro teaches wherein the conductor portion (Shown in the figure below) is adjacent to the reinforce (Fig. 2 #s 8A-8B metal reinforcements).
Regarding claim 9, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Tadokoro teaches wherein the defogger comprises a short- circuiting wire (Fig. 11 #5B line) that short-circuits the plurality of heating wires in the upper-lower direction.
Regarding claim 10, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 9), and Tadokoro teaches wherein:
the auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) comprises a conductor portion (Shown in the figure below) extending along the reinforce and an intermediate portion (Shown in the figure below) which intersects a center line of the rear window glass or of the defogger.
However, Tadokoro does not teach when a wavelength in air of radio waves in a given frequency band which are to be received by the antenna is λ, a wavelength shortening ratio of the rear window glass is k, and a wire end of the short-circuiting wire which, among the wire ends of the short circuiting wire, is most apart from the conductor portion or a point on the plurality of heating wires which, among any points on the heating wires, is most apart from the conductor portion is referred to as a route end, a route from the intermediate portion to the route end via the conductor portion and the short-circuiting wire has a length of 0.90 x λ/2 x k or longer and 1.10 x λ /2 x k or shorter.
Nonetheless, Inaba in the same field of endeavor being windshield electric heating, teaches that wavelength and wavelength shortening ratio are results effective variables which effect the length of an antenna based on a frequency range of the radio signal being received. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that the length of an antenna can be adjusted based on the desired frequency range by varying wavelength and wavelength shortening ratio. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that antenna length is determined by wavelength and wavelength shortening ratio, were disclosed in the prior art by Inaba, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a length of 0.90 x λ/2 x k or longer and 1.10 x λ /2 x k or shorter for the benefit of receiving commercial radio signals.
Regarding claim 11, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Tadokoro teaches wherein the auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) is connected to at least one of the first bus bar or the second bus bar (Shown in the figure below).
Regarding claim 15, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Tadokoro teaches wherein the auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) is symmetric with respect to a center line of the rear window glass or of the defogger, the center line extending in the upper-lower direction.
Regarding claim 17, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Tadokoro teaches wherein: the antenna (Fig. 11 #10 main element) comprises a feeding portion (Fig. 11 #11 upper filament) and an antenna element (Fig. 11 #16 auxiliary filament) connected to the feeding portion (Fig. 11 #11 upper filament); and the antenna element (Fig. 11 #10 main element) comprises an element portion (Fig. 11 #13 lower filament) which achieves capacitive coupling with the defogger.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadokoro et al (JP 2015056716) in view of Inaba et al (US 4,608,570) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Lindenmeier et al (US 6,130,645).
Regarding claim 12, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the antenna is surrounded by a closed loop formed by the defogger and the auxiliary element.
Nonetheless, Lindenmeier in the same field of endeavor being windshield electric heating teaches wherein the antenna (Fig. 8 #4 HF-connection) is surrounded by a closed loop formed by the defogger (Fig. 8 #29 electrode) and the auxiliary element (Fig. 8 #2 ground element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the antenna being surrounded by a closed loop formed by the defogger and the auxiliary element, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
Claim(s) 13-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadokoro et al (JP 2015056716) in view of Inaba et al (US 4,608,570) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Tachihara et al (US 6,208,303).
Regarding claim 13, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein the auxiliary element includes a first auxiliary element and a second auxiliary element, which face each other with a gap between the first auxiliary element and the second auxiliary element.
Nonetheless, Tachihara in the same field of endeavor being windshield electric heating, teaches wherein the auxiliary element includes a first auxiliary element (Fig. 1 #14a short stub adjusting conductor) and a second auxiliary element (Fig. 1 #14b short stub adjusting conductor), which face each other with a gap (Shown in the figure below) between the first auxiliary element (Fig. 1 #14a short stub adjusting conductor) and the second auxiliary element (Fig. 1 #14b short stub adjusting conductor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the back door of Tadokoro in view of Inaba by incorporating the first and second auxiliary elements as taught by Tachihara for the benefit of transmission/reception away from the vertical center wire so as to cross the horizontal wires of the defogger. (Tachihara Col. 2 second para)
Regarding claim 14, Tadokoro in view of Inaba and Tachihara teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), and Tachihara teaches wherein the gap (Shown in the figure above) intersects a center line of the rear window glass or of the defogger (Fig. 1 #11 vertical center wire of #101 defogger), the center line extending in the upper-lower direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the back door of Tadokoro in view of Inaba by incorporating the gap between first and second auxiliary elements as taught by Tachihara for the benefit of adjusting short stub functions of the short stub conductors. (Tachihara Col 3 eight para)
Regarding claim 16, Tadokoro in view of Inaba and Tachihara teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 13), but does not teach wherein the gap does not intersect a center line of the rear window glass or of the defogger, the center line extending in the upper-lower direction.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the gap not intersect a center line of the rear window glass or of the defogger, the center line extending in the upper-lower direction, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadokoro et al (JP 2015056716) in view of Inaba et al (US 4,608,570) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Taniguchi et al (US 5,952,977).
Regarding claim 18, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein when a horizontal-direction width of the defogger is W, a portion where the auxiliary element is connected to the defogger lies in a range of from each horizontal-direction end of the defogger to a point being 0.3 x W away in the horizontal direction from the each horizontal-direction end.
Nonetheless, Taniguchi in the same field of endeavor being windshield electric heating, teaches that the width of the defogger can be varied to change coupling capacitance. (Col. 9 lines 39-47 ---" The feature of the loop antenna conductor wire is that it has a width W in the widthwise direction of the vehicle. When such a loop conductor wire is used, the coupling capacitance can be easily set by changing W. FIG. 10 summarizes a change in coupling capacitance when the width W of the loop conductor wire 45 is varied, and when the distance, d, between the loop conductor wire 45 and the defogger hot wire 6 is varied.”)
Therefore, the width of the defogger is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is change in coupling capacitance. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that width of the defogger, were disclosed in the prior art by Taniguchi, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 19, Tadokoro in view of Inaba teaches the back door as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein a minimum distance between the antenna and the auxiliary element is 10 mm or longer.
Nonetheless, Taniguchi teaches that the distance between the antenna and the auxiliary element may be varied to change coupling capacitance. (Col. 9 lines 43-47 ---" FIG. 10 summarizes a change in coupling capacitance when the width W of the loop conductor wire 45 is varied, and when the distance, d, between the loop conductor wire 45 and the defogger hot wire 6 is varied.”)
Therefore, the distance between the antenna and the auxiliary element is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is change in coupling capacitance. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that distance between the antenna and the auxiliary element, were disclosed in the prior art by Taniguchi, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadokoro et al (JP 2015056716) in view of Kaihatsu et al (JP 2016025604 A).
Regarding claim 21, Tadokoro discloses a back door including an opening, the back door comprising:
a resinous outer panel (Fig. 2 #1C outer panel);
a resinous inner panel (Fig. 2 #1B inner panel);
a metallic reinforce (Fig. 2 #s 8A-8B metal reinforcements) disposed between the outer panel (Fig. 2 #1C outer panel) and the inner panel (Fig. 2 #1B inner panel);
and a rear window glass (Fig. 2 #2 rear glass) covering the opening, wherein the rear window glass comprises: a defogger (Fig. 11 #51 upper defogger circuit and #52 lower defogger circuit) comprising a first bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 left bus bar) that extends in an upper-lower direction, a second bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 right bus bar) that is disposed apart from the first bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 left bus bar) in a horizontal direction and extends in the upper-lower direction, and a plurality of heating wires (Fig. 11 #5A heating wires) that connect the first bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 left bus bar) to the second bus bar (Fig. 11 #6 right bus bar),
an auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) connected to the defogger (Fig. 11 #51 upper defogger circuit and #52 lower defogger circuit);
and an antenna (Fig. 11 #10 main element) disposed so as to be surrounded by the defogger (Fig. 11 #51 upper defogger circuit and #52 lower defogger circuit) and the auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) (At least a portion of the antenna is surrounded by the defogger and the auxiliary element.);
and wherein the auxiliary element (Fig. 11 #35 noise countermeasure auxiliary element) includes a first auxiliary element and a second auxiliary element, which face each other with a gap between the first auxiliary element and the second auxiliary element (Shown in the figure below).
However applied prior art Tadokoro fail(s) to explicitly teach that the gap has a length of 300 mm or less. Kaihatsu do(es), however, teach that the connecting element 71 and the auxiliary earth elements 72, 73, 77 are integrated to form an earth element 70 having a total length of 2140 mm. The lengths of 71 and the auxiliary earth elements 72, 73, 77 are adjustable. Connecting element #71 corresponds to the length of the gap between the first and second auxiliary elements. Therefore, the gap between the first and second auxiliary elements is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that the function of the ground can be further enhanced, and the antenna characteristics can be further stabilized. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the length of the connecting element #71 (corresponding with the gap length), were disclosed in the prior art by Kaihatsu, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the gap length to 300 mm or less for the benefit of the function of the ground being further enhanced, and the antenna characteristics being further stabilized.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach the features of claim 6, now incorporated into independent claim 1. Also, Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not take into account improved gain in the frequency band received by the antenna. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Inaba teaches that antenna length is a result effective variable which can be manipulated to allow the antenna to receive radio waves in a specified frequency range (FM broadcasting frequency).
Furthermore, the invention of Inaba solves the problem of improved antenna gain. Col. 2 lines 34-47
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOE E MILLS JR./ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761