Response After RCE
This Office action is in response to the RCE and amendment filed on 5/26/2026.
Claims 1-11 and 17-19 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-11 and 17-10 are rejected.
Claims 1-2, 6, 8, 11, and 17 are currently amended.
Claims 12-16 are canceled.
Claims 18-19 are new.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on May 26, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered
and are respectfully found persuasive in part and unpersuasive in part.
The applicant argues the following:
[1] Claim objections have been addressed and should be withdrawn.
[2] Prior art of record fails to disclose claimed device.
[3] Prior art of record fails to disclose newly admitted claim limitations.
Regarding [1], the examiner respectfully agrees and the claim objections raised in the most recent office action are hereby withdrawn. New claim objections are noted below.
Regarding [2], the examiner respectfully disagrees because the prior art of record discloses claimed device. First, the prior art of record need not use the term measure to clearly disclose measurement. Here, Sudol clearly discloses pressure measurement (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 1; [0034] – “…a pressure-sensing component, a flow-sensing component, a temperature-sensing component, and/or combinations thereof.”). Second, enhanced tolerance to mechanical stress, protection from cracks, and brittle piezoelectric materials at elevated temperatures is a not claimed limitation. Hence, whether Sudol discloses a device that functions at a given temperature range is irrelevant.
Regarding [3], the examiner respectfully disagrees with respect to claim 19 because the language is the same as previously presented claim 1. The examiner agrees with respect to claim 18 and has applied new art accordingly.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 18, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the influence” should be --an influence--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 17, and 19 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Sudol et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0275142; hereinafter “Sudol”).
Regarding claim 1, Sudol discloses a piezoelectric transducer for measuring a pressure (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 1; [0034] – “…a pressure-sensing component, a flow-sensing component, a temperature-sensing component, and/or combinations thereof.”), force, strain or acceleration in an environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320) of the piezoelectric transducer (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 324 - transducer elements in tip 320; [0030]; [0039]), the piezoelectric transducer (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 324 - transducer elements in tip 320; [0030]; [0039]) comprising: a transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) that is configured to measure an acceleration, pressure (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 1; [0034] – “…a pressure-sensing component, a flow-sensing component, a temperature-sensing component, and/or combinations thereof.”), force or strain and includes a piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]), a first electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]) and a further electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]), wherein the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) is made of a piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) and generates polarization charges (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]) under the influence (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]) of the pressure (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 1; [0034] – “…a pressure-sensing component, a flow-sensing component, a temperature-sensing component, and/or combinations thereof.”), force, strain or acceleration, wherein the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) defines (Fig. 7) a first area (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, first area of 680b connected to and directly contacting 680a; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) connected to (Fig. 7) and directly contacting (Fig. 7) the first electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]), wherein the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) defines (Fig. 7) a further area (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, first area of 680b connected to and directly contacting 680c; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) connected to (Fig. 7) and directly contacting (Fig. 7) the further electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]), wherein each of said first (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]) and further electrodes (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]) is configured to (Fig. 7) pick up (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the polarization charges (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]) generated (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) by the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]); a housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) which defines (Fig. 3) an interior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) and an exterior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, exterior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) disposed opposite (Fig. 3) the interior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) and facing (Fig. 3) an external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]), wherein the interior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) is configured (Fig. 3) for enclosing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) the transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) in a water-tight (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007] – “…the imaging component is typically encased in a housing filled with an encapsulating material.”; Aim is to protect “…the array structure from infiltration of cleaning fluids, epoxies, or window material that are applied in subsequent fabrication process steps” while at the same time protecting the “air kerfs” from the encapsulation materials.; [0013] – “In some embodiments, the method further includes positioning the imaging component within a tip member; and securing the imaging component within the tip member with an encapsulating material, wherein the cured sealing material prevents the encapsulating material from reaching the air kerfs.”) and gas-tight manner (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007] – “…the imaging component is typically encased in a housing filled with an encapsulating material.”; Aim is to protect “…the array structure from infiltration of cleaning fluids, epoxies, or window material that are applied in subsequent fabrication process steps” while at the same time protecting the “air kerfs” from the encapsulation materials.; [0013] – “In some embodiments, the method further includes positioning the imaging component within a tip member; and securing the imaging component within the tip member with an encapsulating material, wherein the cured sealing material prevents the encapsulating material from reaching the air kerfs.”) that physically (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007]; [0013]) and electrically isolates (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007]; [0013]) the transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) from the external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]); a signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) that spans between (Fig. 3) the interior and exterior surfaces (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing interior and exterior; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]); a support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) connected to (Fig. 3) the signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”), wherein the support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) defines (Fig. 3) a first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and a further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]), wherein the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) is electrically connected (Fig. 3) to the first electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]), wherein the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) is electrically connected (Fig. 3) to the further electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]), and wherein the signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) is configured (Figs. 1/3) for transmitting (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the polarization charges (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]) as signals (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]) through (Figs. 1/3) the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) via (Figs. 1/3) the first (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and further conducting paths (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) to the external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]); and a signal cable (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 340) located at least partially (Figs. 1/3) in the external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) outside (Figs. 1/3) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) and including (Figs. 1/3) a first signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and a further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]); wherein the first signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact between 330 first signal conductor and the first conducting path for processing; [0040]) with the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]), wherein the further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) makes a contact Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact between 330 further conductor and the further conducting path for display; [0040]) with the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Sudol discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 18, wherein the signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a first connecting conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) and a further connecting conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – further connecting conductor among “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”); wherein the transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a first transducer unit contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, first contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]) that is configured (Fig. 4B) to carry (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) a first signal (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, output of 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing carried by the first contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]) of the first signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]); wherein the transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a further transducer unit contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, further contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]) that is configured (Figs. 1/3) to carry (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) a further signal (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, output of 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display carried by further contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]) of the further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further signal conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]); wherein the first connecting conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, contact between first connecting conductor among “steering wires” and first contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]) with the first transducer unit contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, first contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]); wherein the further connecting conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – further connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, contact between further connecting conductor among “steering wires” and further contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]) with the further transducer unit contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, further contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]); wherein the first connecting conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, contact between first connecting conductor among “steering wires” and 330 first conducting path for processing; [0030]; [0039]) with the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]); and wherein the further connecting conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – further connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, contact between further connecting conductor among “steering wires” and 330 further conducting path for display; [0030]; [0039]) with the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Sudol discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 2, wherein the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a first signal conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact surface of 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and a first connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – first connecting conductor among “steering wires” contact surface; [0030]; [0039]); wherein the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a further signal conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact surface of 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]); and a further connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]); wherein the first signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact between 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing and contact surface of 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) with the first signal conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact surface of 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]); wherein the further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact between 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display and contact surface of 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) with the further signal conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact surface of 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]); wherein the first connecting conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – contact between first connecting conductor among “steering wires” and contact surface of first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039])with the first connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – contact surface of first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]), and wherein the further connecting conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – further connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – contact between further connecting conductor among “steering wires” and contact surface of further connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) with the further connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – contact surface of further connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Sudol discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 2, wherein the first electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]) is configured (Figs. 1/3) to carry (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the first signal (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, output of 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing carried by the first contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]), and wherein the further electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]) is configured (Figs. 1/3) to carry (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the further signal (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, output of 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display carried by the further contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]); wherein the transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a first transducer unit contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, first contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]) that is configured (Figs. 1/3) to carry (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the first signal (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, output of 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing carried by the first contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]), and wherein the transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a further transducer unit contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, further contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]) that is configured (Figs. 1/3) to carry (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the further signal (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, output of 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display carried by further contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]); wherein the first connecting conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, contact between first connecting conductor among “steering wires” and first contact surface of 322 and 330 first conducting path for processing; [0030]; [0039]) with the first transducer unit contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, first contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]) and the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and is configured (Figs. 1/3) to carry (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the first signal (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, output of 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing carried by the first contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]); and wherein the further connecting conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – further connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, contact between further connecting conductor among “steering wires” and further contact surface of 322 and 330 further conducting path for display; [0030]; [0039])with the further transducer unit contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, further contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039])and the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) and is configured (Figs. 1/3) to carry (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the further signal (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, output of 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display carried by further contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Sudol discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 4, wherein the first signal conductor makes a contact with the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and is configured (Figs. 1/3) to carry (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the first signal (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, output of 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing carried by the first contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]); and wherein the further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) makes contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact between 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display and 330 further conducting path for display; [0040])with the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) and is configured (Figs. 1/3) to carry (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the further signal (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, output of 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display carried by further contact surface of 322; [0030]; [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Sudol discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein the support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a body (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 328; [0040]-[0041]) made of electrically insulating material (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 328; [0041] – “polymeric material”); and wherein each of the first (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and further conducting paths (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) is patterned (Figs. 3-4) in an electrically conductive thin film (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 326) applied directly to the body (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 7, Sudol discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 6, wherein the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a first signal conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact surface of 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and a first connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – contact surface of first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]), wherein the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a further signal conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact surface of 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) and a further connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]); wherein the support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a first end face (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first end face) and a further end face (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further end face); wherein the first signal conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact surface of 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) is arranged on (Fig. 3) the first end face (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first end face) and on the further end face (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further end face), wherein the further signal conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact surface of 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) is arranged on (Fig. 3) the first end face (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first end face) and on the further end face (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further end face); wherein the first connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – contact surface of first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) is arranged on (Fig. 3) the first end face (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first end face), and wherein the further connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – contact surface of first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) is arranged on (Fig. 3) the first end face (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first end face).
Regarding claim 8, Sudol discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 18, wherein the signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) defines (Figs. 1/3) a signal conductor opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, opening containing 330) and includes a casting compound (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5] – “epoxy”); wherein the support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) is disposed in (Figs. 1/3) the signal conductor opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, opening containing 330) and held in (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5]) the signal conductor opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, opening containing 330) by the casting compound (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5]), which seals (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5]) the signal conductor opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, opening containing 330) in a water-tight (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5]; [0005]; [0007]) and gas-tight manner (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5]; [0005]; [0007]).
Regarding claim 9, Sudol discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 8, wherein each of the first signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and the further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) defines (Figs. 1/3) a respective end (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, respective ends defined by first and further conductors in 330; [0040]) that protrudes through (Figs. 1/3) the signal conductor opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, opening containing 330); and wherein the casting compound (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5]) covers (Figs. 1/3) the respective end Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, respective ends defined by first and further conductors in 330; [0040]) defined (Figs. 1/3) by each (Figs. 1/3) of the first signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and the further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040])in the signal conductor opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, opening containing 330) while mechanically securing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5]; [0005]; [0007]) the support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) inserted in (Figs. 1/3) the signal lead-through wall (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – wall of “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) in a holding manner (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5]; [0005]; [0007]) and sealing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5]; [0005]; [0007]) the signal conductor opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, opening containing 330) in a water-tight (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5]; [0005]; [0007]) and gas-tight manner (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5]; [0005]; [0007]).
Regarding claim 10, Sudol discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 6, wherein the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a first conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact surface of 330 first conductor; [0040]) and a first connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – contact surface of first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]), wherein the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a further conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact surface of 330 further conductor; [0040]) and a further connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]); wherein the support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) comprises (Figs. 1/3) a first end face(Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first end face), a lateral surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 lateral surface) and a through opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 through opening) comprising (Figs. 1/3) an inner surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 through opening inner surface); in that the first signal conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 signal conductor contact surface; [0040]) and the further signal conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact surface of 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) are arranged on (Figs. 1/3) said inner surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 through opening inner surface); and wherein the first connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – contact surface of connecting conductors among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) and the further connecting conductor contact surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B; [0035] – first connecting conductor among “steering wires”; [0030]; [0039]) are arranged on (Figs. 1/3) said lateral surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 lateral surface).
Regarding claim 11, Sudol discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 18, wherein the signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) defines (Figs. 1/3) a signal conductor opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, opening containing 330) and a casting compound (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5] – “epoxy”); wherein the support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) defines (Figs. 1/3) a through-opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 through-opening) that is configured (Figs. 1/3) and disposed to coincide (Figs. 1/3) with the signal conductor opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, opening containing 330); wherein the first signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) defines (Figs. 1/3) an end (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, end defined by 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) that protrudes through (Figs. 1/3) the signal conductor opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, opening containing 330) into the through-opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 through-opening), wherein the further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further signal conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) defines (Figs. 1/3) an end (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, end defined by 330 further signal conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) that protrudes through (Figs. 1/3) the signal conductor opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, opening containing 330) into (Figs. 1/3) the through-opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 through-opening); and wherein the casting compound (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [Claim 5] – “epoxy”) covers (Figs. 1/3) the ends (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, ends defined by 330 first and further signal conductors; [0040]) of the first (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and further signal conductors (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further signal conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) in (Figs. 1/3) the through-opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 through-opening) and seals the through-opening (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 through-opening) in (Figs. 1/3) a (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007] – “…the imaging component is typically encased in a housing filled with an encapsulating material.”; Aim is to protect “…the array structure from infiltration of cleaning fluids, epoxies, or window material that are applied in subsequent fabrication process steps” while at the same time protecting the “air kerfs” from the encapsulation materials.; [0013] – “In some embodiments, the method further includes positioning the imaging component within a tip member; and securing the imaging component within the tip member with an encapsulating material, wherein the cured sealing material prevents the encapsulating material from reaching the air kerfs.”) and gas-tight manner (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007] – “…the imaging component is typically encased in a housing filled with an encapsulating material.”; Aim is to protect “…the array structure from infiltration of cleaning fluids, epoxies, or window material that are applied in subsequent fabrication process steps” while at the same time protecting the “air kerfs” from the encapsulation materials.; [0013] – “In some embodiments, the method further includes positioning the imaging component within a tip member; and securing the imaging component within the tip member with an encapsulating material, wherein the cured sealing material prevents the encapsulating material from reaching the air kerfs.”).
Regarding claim 17, Sudol discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, further comprising a converter unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4, 326; [0040] – “circuitries” for signal conversion) electrically connected (Fig. 4; [0040]) between (Figs. 1/4; [0040]) the signal lead through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) and the first electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]) and the further electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]) and configured (Figs. 1/7) to electrically amplify (Figs. 1/7; [0040) the polarization charges (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]).
Regarding claim 19, Sudol discloses a sensor (Figs. 1/3-4/7) for measuring a pressure (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 1; [0034] – “…a pressure-sensing component, a flow-sensing component, a temperature-sensing component, and/or combinations thereof.”), force, strain or acceleration in an environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320) of a piezoelectric transducer (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 324 - transducer elements in tip 320; [0030]; [0039]), the sensor (Figs. 1/3-4/7) comprising: a transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) that includes a piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]), a first electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]) and a further electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]), wherein the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) is made of a piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) having a coefficient of thermal expansion (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, coefficient of thermal expansion of material forming 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) of a first magnitude (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, magnitude of coefficient of thermal expansion of material forming 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]), wherein the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) generates polarization charges (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]) under the influence (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]) of the pressure (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 1; [0034] – “…a pressure-sensing component, a flow-sensing component, a temperature-sensing component, and/or combinations thereof.”), or strain, wherein the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) defines (Fig. 7) a first area (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, first area of 680b connected to and directly contacting 680a; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) connected to (Fig. 7) and directly contacting (Fig. 7) the first electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]), wherein the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) defines (Fig. 7) a further area (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, first area of 680b connected to and directly contacting 680c; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) connected to (Fig. 7) and directly contacting (Fig. 7) the further electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]), wherein each of said first (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]) and further electrodes (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]) is configured to (Fig. 7) pick up (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the polarization charges (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]) generated (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) by the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]); a housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) composed of a material (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, material of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) having a coefficient of thermal expansion (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, coefficient of thermal expansion of material forming 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) of a second magnitude (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, magnitude of coefficient of thermal expansion of material forming 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]), wherein the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) defines (Fig. 3) an interior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) and an exterior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, exterior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) disposed opposite (Fig. 3) the interior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) and facing (Fig. 3) an external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]), wherein the interior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) is configured (Fig. 3) for enclosing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) the transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) in a water-tight (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007] – “…the imaging component is typically encased in a housing filled with an encapsulating material.”; Aim is to protect “…the array structure from infiltration of cleaning fluids, epoxies, or window material that are applied in subsequent fabrication process steps” while at the same time protecting the “air kerfs” from the encapsulation materials.; [0013] – “In some embodiments, the method further includes positioning the imaging component within a tip member; and securing the imaging component within the tip member with an encapsulating material, wherein the cured sealing material prevents the encapsulating material from reaching the air kerfs.”) and gas-tight manner (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007] – “…the imaging component is typically encased in a housing filled with an encapsulating material.”; Aim is to protect “…the array structure from infiltration of cleaning fluids, epoxies, or window material that are applied in subsequent fabrication process steps” while at the same time protecting the “air kerfs” from the encapsulation materials.; [0013] – “In some embodiments, the method further includes positioning the imaging component within a tip member; and securing the imaging component within the tip member with an encapsulating material, wherein the cured sealing material prevents the encapsulating material from reaching the air kerfs.”) that physically (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007]; [0013]) and electrically isolates (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007]; [0013]) the transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) from the external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]); a compensation element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, element securing 322 to 320 casing) that secures (Fig. 3) the transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) to the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]), wherein the compensation element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, element securing 322 to 320 casing) is composed (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, composition of element securing 322 to 320 casing) of material (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, material of element securing 322 to 320 casing) having a coefficient of thermal expansion (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, coefficient of thermal expansion of element securing 322 to 320 casing) of a third magnitude (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, magnitude of coefficient of thermal expansion of element securing 322 to 320 casing) that is between (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, magnitude of coefficient of thermal expansion of element securing 322 to 320 casing) the first magnitude (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, magnitude of coefficient of thermal expansion of material forming 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) and the second magnitude (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, magnitude of coefficient of thermal expansion of material forming 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]); a signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) that spans between (Fig. 3) the interior and exterior surfaces (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing interior and exterior; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]); a support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) connected to (Fig. 3) the signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”), wherein the support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) defines (Fig. 3) a first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and a further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]), wherein the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) is electrically connected (Fig. 3) to the first electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]), wherein the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) is electrically connected (Fig. 3) to the further electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]), and wherein the signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) is configured (Figs. 1/3) for transmitting (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the polarization charges (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]) as signals (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]) through (Figs. 1/3) the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) via (Figs. 1/3) the first (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and further conducting paths (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) to the external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]); and a signal cable (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 340) located at least partially (Figs. 1/3) in the external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) outside (Figs. 1/3) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) and including (Figs. 1/3) a first signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and a further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]); wherein the first signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact between 330 first signal conductor and the first conducting path for processing; [0040]) with the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]), wherein the further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) makes a contact Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact between 330 further conductor and the further conducting path for display; [0040]) with the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudol
in view of Olivier et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11204365; hereinafter “Olivier”).
Regarding claim 18, Sudol teaches a sensor (Figs. 1/3-4/7) for measuring in an environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320) of a piezoelectric transducer (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 324 - transducer elements in tip 320; [0030]; [0039]), the sensor (Figs. 1/3-4/7) comprising: piezoelectric transducer for measuring a pressure (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 1; [0034] – “…a pressure-sensing component, a flow-sensing component, a temperature-sensing component, and/or combinations thereof.”), force, strain or acceleration in an environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320) of the piezoelectric transducer (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 324 - transducer elements in tip 320; [0030]; [0039]), the sensor (Figs. 1/3-4/7) comprising: a transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) that includes a piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]), a first electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]) and a further electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]), wherein the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) is made of a piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) and generates polarization charges (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]), wherein the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) defines (Fig. 7) a first area (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, first area of 680b connected to and directly contacting 680a; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) connected to (Fig. 7) and directly contacting (Fig. 7) the first electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]), wherein the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) defines (Fig. 7) a further area (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, first area of 680b connected to and directly contacting 680c; [0030]; [0039]; [0048]) connected to (Fig. 7) and directly contacting (Fig. 7) the further electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]), wherein each of said first (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]) and further electrodes (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]) is configured to (Fig. 7) pick up (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the polarization charges (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]) generated (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) by the piezoelectric element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]); a housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) which defines (Fig. 3) an interior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) and an exterior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, exterior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) disposed opposite (Fig. 3) the interior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) and facing (Fig. 3) an external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]), wherein the interior surface (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) is configured (Fig. 3) for enclosing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, interior surface of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) the transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) in a water-tight (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007] – “…the imaging component is typically encased in a housing filled with an encapsulating material.”; Aim is to protect “…the array structure from infiltration of cleaning fluids, epoxies, or window material that are applied in subsequent fabrication process steps” while at the same time protecting the “air kerfs” from the encapsulation materials.; [0013] – “In some embodiments, the method further includes positioning the imaging component within a tip member; and securing the imaging component within the tip member with an encapsulating material, wherein the cured sealing material prevents the encapsulating material from reaching the air kerfs.”) and gas-tight manner (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007] – “…the imaging component is typically encased in a housing filled with an encapsulating material.”; Aim is to protect “…the array structure from infiltration of cleaning fluids, epoxies, or window material that are applied in subsequent fabrication process steps” while at the same time protecting the “air kerfs” from the encapsulation materials.; [0013] – “In some embodiments, the method further includes positioning the imaging component within a tip member; and securing the imaging component within the tip member with an encapsulating material, wherein the cured sealing material prevents the encapsulating material from reaching the air kerfs.”) that physically (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007]; [0013]) and electrically isolates (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing encapsulation materials; [0005]; [0007]; [0013]) the transducer unit (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 4B, 322; [0030]; [0039]) from the external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]); a signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) that spans between (Fig. 3) the interior and exterior surfaces (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing interior and exterior; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]); a support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) connected to (Fig. 3) the signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”), wherein the support element (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330) defines (Fig. 3) a first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and a further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]), wherein the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) is electrically connected (Fig. 3) to the first electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680a; [0048]), wherein the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) is electrically connected (Fig. 3) to the further electrode (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680c; [0048]), and wherein the signal lead-through (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3; [0035] – “steering wires”; “In some other embodiments, one or more lumens (e.g., secondary lumens) may be sized and shaped to accommodate steering wires, for example, extending from the distal portion 104 to the handle 120. The steering wires may be coupled to the actuators 116 and the clutch 114 such that the flexible elongate member 108 and the tip assembly 320 are deflectable based on actuations of the actuators 116 and the clutch 114.”) is configured (Figs. 1/3) for transmitting (Figs. 1/3-4/7; [0033]-[0034]; [0039]; [0048]) the polarization charges (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]) as signals (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 7, 680b output signals; [0033]; [0039]; [0048]) through (Figs. 1/3) the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) via (Figs. 1/3) the first (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and further conducting paths (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]) to the external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]); and a signal cable (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 340) located at least partially (Figs. 1/3) in the external environment (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, external environment of 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) outside (Figs. 1/3) of the housing (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 320 casing; [0005]; [0007]) and including (Figs. 1/3) a first signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) and a further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]); wherein the first signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first signal conductor along first conducting path for processing; [0040]) makes a contact (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact between 330 first signal conductor and the first conducting path for processing; [0040]) with the first conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 first conducting path for processing; [0040]), wherein the further signal conductor (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conductor along further conducting path for display; [0040]) makes a contact Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, contact between 330 further conductor and the further conducting path for display; [0040]) with the further conducting path (Figs. 1/3-4/7; Fig. 3, 330 further conducting path for display; [0040]). Sudol does not teach the acceleration sensor comprising: a base body defining an exterior face thereof; a seismic mass body, wherein the piezoelectric element is disposed between the base body and the seismic mass and generates polarization charges under the influence of the acceleration.
Olivier, however, does teach the acceleration sensor (Fig. 4, 400) comprising: a base body (Fig. 4, 104) defining an exterior face (Fig. 4, 400 exterior face) thereof; a seismic mass body (Fig. 4, 102), wherein the piezoelectric element (Fig. 4, 106) is disposed between (Fig. 4) the base body (Fig. 4, 104) and the seismic mass (Fig. 4, 102) and generates polarization charges under the influence of the acceleration (Fig. 4; [Column 10, lines 65-67]-[Column 11, lines 1-2]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Sudol to include the accelerometer of Olivier because it would optimize strut and test mass coupling distance thereby improving the sensor sensitivity ([Column 14, lines 19-25]).
Conclusion
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
12 June 2026
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837