DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s amendment filed on June 30, 2026 is acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 68, 76, 78-79 have been amended. Claims 1-67, 75, 87 have been canceled. Claim 92-93 has been added. Claims 68-74, 76-86 and 88-93 are pending.
Claims 68-74, 76-86 and 88-93 are discussed in this Office action.
All of the amendments and arguments have been thoroughly reviewed and considered but are not found persuasive for the reasons discussed below. Any rejection not reiterated in this action has been withdrawn as being obviated by the amendment of the claims. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
New Grounds of Rejection as Necessitated by Amendment
Double Patenting
Claims 68-90 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 9428781 (‘781 patent herein) in view of Erill et al. (J of Micromech Microeng, 2004, 14:1558-1568, IDS reference).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from the ‘781 patent because the claims 1-8, 11-18, 30 and 49 of the ‘781 patent and the pending claims are almost identical in scope and subject matter.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from the ‘781 patent because the claims of the ‘781 patent and the pending claims are almost identical in scope and subject matter. The subject matter of instant claims 68-74 and the claims of the ‘781 patent are nearly identical. The difference is that the instant claims refer not just to oscillating temperature but also focus on “wherein each temperature cycle is completed in a cycle time of 20 minutes or less”. Further, the broadest claims of the instant method do not include a specific range of temperatures for oscillation and that limitation is not addressed until claim 2 of the instant method.
Claims 68-74 and 81-89 of the instant claims and claims 1-8, 11-18, 30 and 49 of the ‘781 patent recite overlapping dependent limitations while the claims they depend from are not entirely identical, which will be explained in more detail below. In the ‘781 patent, there are multiple methods which incorporate limitations that are present in dependent claims in the instant claims which changes the scope of the claims somewhat but does not render the currently pending claims patentably distinct that correspond to these independent method claims. See, for example, claim 15 of the ‘781 patent:
15. A method for amplifying a template of nucleic acid target sequence contained in a sample comprising: contacting the sample with an amplification reaction mixture comprising: a primer or a primer pair having a length of between 35-70 base pairs and complementary to the template of the nucleic acid target sequence and wherein the melting temperature of each primer of the primer pair is between 70-80° C.; DMSO; monovalent cation; divalent cation; dNTPs; and DNA Polymerase; oscillating a temperature of the reaction between an upper temperature and a lower temperature wherein the change in temperature is no greater than about 20° C. during a plurality of temperature cycles; and amplifying the template of nucleic acid target sequence.
While the scope of the claims is different, claim 15 and the claims that depend from claim 15 are also not patentably distinct for the reasons noted above. Therefore, for at least these reasons, the instant claims are not patent eligible as claimed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have adjusted the teachings of the ‘781 patent in light of the rapid cycle times and rapid amplification teachings of Erill to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success. For example, Erill teaches “The main advantage of PCR chips over conventional systems does not arise only from their faster transients (due to reduced volumes), but also from their efficient heat transfer, which ensures that the heat source temperature is distributed almost instantly across the whole PCR chamber” (“3.1 Kinetics and biochemical optimization” heading”). Erill also teaches a method to “minimize redundant hold times at the three PCR temperatures (denaturation, annealing and extension), with a lower limit imposed only by the extension rate of the Taq polymerase [14, 31]. In this work, we tested these hypotheses and optimized PCR kinetics up to the point of reducing denaturation and annealing times to mere spikes (1 and 2 s respectively, see figure 8) and the extension hold to 10 s.” Erill also notes “Active PCR chips present far better speed and power consumption rates, and these may be highly desirable in certain applications, such as portable PCR [40] or rapid pathogen detection [41] systems. In addition, the integration of heating circuitry provides a more scalable technology for the development of multi-chip modules or the integration of additional mechanisms (e.g. sensors or control circuitry).” (p 1567, col 1). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have adjusted the teachings of the ‘781 patent in light of the rapid cycle times and rapid amplification teachings of Erill to include rapid amplification as a focus in addition to the steps of oscillation as included in both the instant claims and the claims of the ‘781 patent. Therefore, the instant claims are not patentably distinct over the claims of the ‘781 patent in view of Erill.
Claims 68-90 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,316,358 (‘358 patent) in view of Erill et al. (J of Micromech Microeng, 2004, 14:1558-1568, IDS reference).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, they are not the same. The claims of the ‘358 patent render the instant claims not patent eligible because the limitations of the instant claims cover the same subject matter when compared to the claims of the ‘358 patent.
For example, claim 1 of the ‘358 patent covers portions of claims 68-70 of the instant claims. The dependent claims of the instant application also include almost identical limitations compared to the ‘358 patent. For example, the limitations of instant claim 69-72 which include features of the upper denaturation temperature and the lower annealing temperature, correspond to claim 6 of the ‘358 patent. Further, the length of the primers (instant claim 79 as compared to claims 21-22 of ‘358 patent), the destabilizing agent (instant claims 85 as compared to claims 23-26 of the ‘358 patent), the single stranded binding protein (instant claim 81 and 87 as compared to claims 36-38 of the ‘358 patent) and the melting temperature of the primers (instant claim 80 as compared to claim 18 of the ‘358 patent). Each of the dependent claims correspond to claims of the ‘358 patent and as the limitations are so similar the instant claims are not patent eligible.
Further, while the difference that the instant claims refer not just to oscillating temperature but also focus on the time needed to complete cycles is rendered obvious by the teachings of Erill. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have adjusted the teachings of the ‘358 patent in light of the rapid cycle times and rapid amplification teachings of Erill arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success. For example, Erill teaches “The main advantage of PCR chips over conventional systems does not arise only from their faster transients (due to reduced volumes), but also from their efficient heat transfer, which ensures that the heat source temperature is distributed almost instantly across the whole PCR chamber” (“3.1 Kinetics and biochemical optimization” heading”). Erill also teaches a method to “minimize redundant hold times at the three PCR temperatures (denaturation, annealing and extension), with a lower limit imposed only by the extension rate of the Taq polymerase [14, 31]. In this work, we tested these hypotheses and optimized PCR kinetics up to the point of reducing denaturation and annealing times to mere spikes (1 and 2 s respectively, see figure 8) and the extension hold to 10 s.” Erill also notes “Active PCR chips present far better speed and power consumption rates, and these may be highly desirable in certain applications, such as portable PCR [40] or rapid pathogen detection [41] systems. In addition, the integration of heating circuitry provides a more scalable technology for the development of multi-chip modules or the integration of additional mechanisms (e.g. sensors or control circuitry).” (p 1567, col 1). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have adjusted the teachings of the ‘358 patent in light of the rapid cycle times and rapid amplification teachings of Erill to include rapid amplification as a focus in addition to the steps of oscillation as included in both the instant claims and the claims of the ‘358 patent. Therefore, the instant claims are not patentably distinct over the claims of the ‘358 patent in view of Erill.
Claims 68-90 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,293,058 in view of Erill et al. (J of Micromech Microeng, 2004, 14:1558-1568, IDS reference).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the claims are not identical, the subject matter of instant claims 69-72 and the claims of the ‘058 patent are nearly identical. Further, the broadest claims of the instant method do not include a specific range of temperatures for oscillation and that limitation is not addressed until claim 71-72 of the instant method.
The claims of the ‘058 patent render the instant claims not patent eligible because the limitations of the instant claims are rearranged compared to the claims of the ‘058 patent. For example, claim 1 of the ‘058 patent covers portions of claims 69-72 of the instant claims. The dependent claims of the instant application also include almost identical limitations compared to the ‘058 patent. For example, the length of the primers (instant claims 79 and claim 10-11 of ‘058 patent), and the melting temperature of the primers (claim 80) correspond to claim 9 of the ‘058 patent. Each of the dependent claims correspond to claims of the ‘058 patent and as the limitations are so similar the instant claims are not patent eligible.
Further, while the difference that the instant claims refer not just to oscillating temperature but also length of cycles is not addressed by the claims of the ‘058 patent, the limitation rapid cycle time is rendered obvious by the teachings of Erill. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have adjusted the teachings of the ‘058 patent in light of the rapid cycle times and rapid amplification teachings of Erill arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success. For example, Erill teaches “The main advantage of PCR chips over conventional systems does not arise only from their faster transients (due to reduced volumes), but also from their efficient heat transfer, which ensures that the heat source temperature is distributed almost instantly across the whole PCR chamber” (“3.1 Kinetics and biochemical optimization” heading”). Erill also teaches a method to “minimize redundant hold times at the three PCR temperatures (denaturation, annealing and extension), with a lower limit imposed only by the extension rate of the Taq polymerase [14, 31]. In this work, we tested these hypotheses and optimized PCR kinetics up to the point of reducing denaturation and annealing times to mere spikes (1 and 2 s respectively, see figure 8) and the extension hold to 10 s.” Erill also notes “Active PCR chips present far better speed and power consumption rates, and these may be highly desirable in certain applications, such as portable PCR [40] or rapid pathogen detection [41] systems. In addition, the integration of heating circuitry provides a more scalable technology for the development of multi-chip modules or the integration of additional mechanisms (e.g. sensors or control circuitry).” (p 1567, col 1). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have adjusted the teachings of the ‘058 patent in light of the rapid cycle times and rapid amplification teachings of Erill to include rapid amplification as a focus in addition to the steps of oscillation as included in both the instant claims and the claims of the ‘058 patent. Therefore, the instant claims are not patentably distinct over the claims of the ‘058 patent in view of Erill.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 68-70, 76 and 90-93 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kopp et al. (Science, 1998, 280:1046-1048) in view of Lin et al. (Sensors and Actuators B, 2000, 71:2-8).
With regard to claim 68, Kopp teaches a method for assaying a sample for the presence or absence of a target viral nucleic acid, the method comprising:
contacting the sample comprising or suspected of comprising the target nucleic acid with an amplification reaction mixture in a reaction chamber, said amplification reaction mixture comprising a primer complementary to the target viral nucleic acid (Abstract, where the method can achieve amplification with total reaction times of 90 seconds to 18.7 minutes);
applying heat to the reaction chamber to subject the sample to an amplification reaction (Fig 1 legend, p 1047, col. 1).
which is completed within 20 minutes or less, wherein the amplification reaction is configured to generate an amplification product of the target viral nucleic acid sequence (Abstract, where the method can achieve amplification with total reaction times of 90 seconds to 18.7 minutes).
With regard to claim 69, Kopp teaches the method of claim 68, wherein a temperature of the amplification reaction is oscillated between an upper temperature and a lower temperature during the temperature cycles (Abstract, where the method can achieve amplification with total reaction times of 90 seconds to 18.7 minutes).
With regard to claim 70, Kopp teaches the method of claim 69, wherein within each temperature cycle, upon reaching the upper temperature or the lower temperature, the temperature is maintained for about 5 seconds to 15 seconds (Abstract, where the method can achieve amplification with total reaction times of 90 seconds to 18.7 minutes).
With regard to claim 76, Kopp teaches the method of claim 68, wherein the amplification reaction is completed within 13 minutes or more (Abstract, where the method can achieve amplification with total reaction times of 90 seconds to 18.7 minutes).
With regard to claim 90, Kopp teaches the method of claim 68, wherein applying heat to the reaction chamber comprises applying heat to one surface of the reaction chamber (Fig 1 legend, p 1047, col. 1).
Regarding claims 68-70, 76 and 90-93, while Kopp teaches a method of rapid amplification which includes external heating, the disclosure does not focus on amplification of viral targets as claimed.
With regard to claims 68, 78-79, 92-93 Lin teaches amplification of viral targets.
With regard to claim 92, Lin teaches the method of claim 68, wherein the target nucleic acid comprises Influenza viral nucleic acid (Abstract, where viral targets are amplified).
With regard to claim 93, Lin teaches the method of claim 68, further comprising, detecting a signal during or after the amplification reaction, wherein the signal is indicative of the presence or absence of the target viral nucleic acid (Abstract, where viral targets are amplified).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have adjusted the teachings of Kopp to include the amplification of viral target sequences as guided by Lin to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success. Lin teaches “A rapid micro-polymerase chain reaction (m-PCR) system was integrated to amplify the complementary DNA (cDNA) molecules of hepatitis C virus (HCV). This system consists of a rapid thermal cycling system and a m-PCR chip fabricated by MEMS fabrication techniques. This rapid m-PCR system is veri®ed by using serum samples from patients with chronic hepatitis C.” (Abstract). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have adjusted the teachings of Kopp to include the amplification of viral target sequences as guided by Lin to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success.
Claim 71-80 and 91 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kopp et al. (Science, 1998, 280:1046-1048) in view of Lin et al. (Sensors and Actuators B, 2000, 71:2-8) as applied over claims 68-70, 76 and 90-93 above and further in view of Erill et al. (J of Micromech Microeng, 2004, 14:1558-1568, IDS reference).
With regard to claim 71, Erill teaches the method of claim 69, wherein the lower temperature is no less than 50°C (Fig 8 where the temperatures of the PCR cycles are depicted; see also Fig 12, where the same temperatures are depicted; Fig 8 legend, where “fast PCR protocol” and “ultra fast PCR protocol” includes 45 cycles; fast PCR includes 95 for 1 s, 64 for 7 s and 72 for 17 s; ultra fast PCR includes 95 for 1 s, 64 for 2 s and 72 for 10 s).
With regard to claim 72, Erill teaches the method of claim 69, wherein the upper temperature is no more than 85°C (Fig 8 where the temperatures of the PCR cycles are depicted; see also Fig 12, where the same temperatures are depicted; Fig 8 legend, where “fast PCR protocol” and “ultra fast PCR protocol” includes 45 cycles; fast PCR includes 95 for 1 s, 64 for 7 s and 72 for 17 s; ultra fast PCR includes 95 for 1 s, 64 for 2 s and 72 for 10 s).
With regard to claim 73, Erill teaches the method of claim 68, wherein the amplification reaction comprises 40 temperature cycles or less (“2.4 PCR protocols” heading, where a pair of primers were used to amplify a template where the template and primers were optimized for a protocol that includes 40 cycles).
With regard to claim 74, Erill teaches the method of claim 68, wherein each temperature cycle is completed in a cycle time of 40 seconds or less (Fig 8 legend, where “fast PCR protocol” and “ultra fast PCR protocol” includes 45 cycles; the ultra fast PCR completed 45 cycles in 20:19 minutes; see amplification product in Fig 9; where the cycle time for the fast PCR protocol is 38 seconds and where the cycle time for the ultra fast PCR protocol is 24.41 seconds).
With regard to claim 77, Erill teaches the method of claim 68, wherein the reaction volume is less than or equal to 20 pL (“2.4 PCR protocols” heading, where a pair of primers were used to amplify a template that is 310 bp in length and where the template is 700 bp).
With regard to claim 78, Erill teaches the method of claim 68, wherein the target viral nucleic acid is a single stranded or double stranded DNA or RNA (Abstract; “2.4 PCR protocols” heading, where a pair of primers were used to amplify a template, where DNA is amplified).
With regard to claim 79, Erill teaches the method of claim 68, wherein the length of the target viral nucleic acid is less than 1000bp, less than 500bp, less than 250 bp, less than 150 bp or less than 100 bp (“2.4 PCR protocols” heading, where a pair of primers were used to amplify a template that is 310 bp in length and where the template is 700 bp).
With regard to claim 80, Erill teaches the method of claim 68, wherein the primer has (i) a length of between 35-70 base pairs, or between 40-47 base pairs, or (ii) a melting temperature between 10°C and 30°C, or between 65°C and 105C (“2.4 PCR protocols” heading, where a pair of primers were used to amplify a template and where the pair are 19 bp and 20 bp respectively).
With regard to claim 91, Erill teaches the method of claim 77, wherein the reaction volume is greater than or equal to 15 μL (“2.4 PCR protocols” heading, where a pair of primers were used to amplify a template that is 310 bp in length and where the template is 700 bp).
Claim 81-89 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kopp et al. (Science, 1998, 280:1046-1048) in view of Lin et al. (Sensors and Actuators B, 2000, 71:2-8) as applied over claims 68-80 and 90-91 above and further in view of Ralser et al. (Biochem Biophys Res Comm, 2006, vol. 347, p. 747-751).
Regarding claims 81-89, while Kopp and Lin teach the limitations of claims 68-80 and 90, Kopp and Lin do not teach the inclusion of a destabilizing agent like DMSO or betaine or single stranded binding protein.
With regard to claim 81, Ralser teaches the method of claim 68, wherein the amplification reaction mixture comprises a cation, a nucleic acid destabilizing agent, a single stranded binding protein, or a combination thereof (Abstract; Figure 1, where DMSO is added to PCR reactions, p. 748, col. 2, where various “PCR enhancing additives” were evaluated).
With regard to claim 82, Ralser teaches the method of claim 81, wherein the cation comprises a monovalent cation, a divalent cation, or combinations thereof (Abstract; Figure 1, where DMSO is added to PCR reactions, p. 748, col. 2, where various “PCR enhancing additives” were evaluated).
With regard to claim 83, Ralser teaches the method of claim 82, wherein the divalent cation is a salt comprising magnesium, manganese, copper, zinc, or any combination thereof (Abstract; Figure 1, where DMSO is added to PCR reactions, p. 748, col. 2, where various “PCR enhancing additives” were evaluated).
With regard to claim 84, Ralser teaches the method of claim 83, wherein the monovalent cation is a salt comprising one or more of sodium, potassium, lithium, rubidium, cesium, ammonium, or any combination thereof (Abstract; Figure 1, where DMSO is added to PCR reactions, p. 748, col. 2, where various “PCR enhancing additives” were evaluated).
With regard to claim 85, Ralser teaches the method of claim 81, wherein the nucleic acid destabilizing agent comprises dimethylsulfoxide (DMSO), formamide, glycerol, or a mixture thereof.
With regard to claim 86, Ralser teaches the method of claim 85, wherein the nucleic acid destabilizing agent is at a concentration between 8 and 15 volume percent (Abstract; Figure 1, where DMSO is added to PCR reactions, p. 748, col. 2, where various “PCR enhancing additives” were evaluated).
With regard to claim 87, Ralser teaches the method of claim 81, wherein the single stranded binding protein is a thermal stable single stranded binding protein or non-thermal stable single stranded binding protein (Abstract; Figure 1, where DMSO is added to PCR reactions, p. 748, col. 2, where various “PCR enhancing additives” were evaluated).
With regard to claim 88, Ralser teaches the method of claim 68, wherein the amplification reaction is conducted in the presence of alcohol or salt (Abstract; Figure 1, where DMSO is added to PCR reactions, p. 748, col. 2, where various “PCR enhancing additives” were evaluated).
With regard to claim 89, Ralser teaches the method of claim 88, wherein the sample comprises alcohol at a concentration of about 10% (v/v) (Abstract; Figure 1, where DMSO is added to PCR reactions, p. 748, col. 2, where various “PCR enhancing additives” were evaluated).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have adjusted the teachings of Kopp and Lin to include the PCR destabilizing additives of DMSO or formamide as taught by Ralser to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success. As taught by Ralser, “Here we designed and tested a novel effective and low-cost PCR enhancer, a concentration-dependent combination of betaine, dithiothreitol, and dimethyl sulfoxide that broadly enhanced the quantitative and/or qualitative output of PCRs. Additionally, we showed that the performances of this enhancer mix are comparable to those of commercially available PCR additives and highly effective with different DNA polymerases”. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to have adjusted the teachings of Kopp and Lin to include the PCR destabilizing additives of DMSO or formamide as taught by Ralser to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 68-74, 76-86 and 88-93 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. All claims stand rejected.
/STEPHANIE K MUMMERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681