DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 9 are amended.
Claims 1, 3-4, 9, 11-12, 21-25, 27-31, 33-34 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 9, 11-12, 21-25, 27-31, 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Segev (WO 2018102247), in view of Kerner (US 20210041549), in view of Chitrakar (US 20230148178).
Regarding Claims 1, 9, Kerner teaches the following limitations:
A system for Wi-Fi sensing comprising: (Segev – [0025] Some demonstrative embodiments may be used in conjunction with a WLAN, e.g., a WiFi network. [00207] In some demonstrative embodiments, the one or more measurement values corresponding to the first ranging measurement may include a value corresponding to a ToA of the first UL NDP, and a value corresponding to a ToD of the first DL NDP, [0032] Reference is now made to Fig. 1, which schematically illustrates a block diagram of a system 100, in accordance with some demonstrative embodiments.)
A method for Wi-Fi sensing, the method comprising: (Segev – [0025], [0207], [00306] Reference is made to Fig. 5, which schematically illustrates a method of ranging measurement, in accordance with some demonstrative embodiments.)
a sensing initiator/responder including at least one transmitting antenna, (Segev – [00156] As shown in Fig. 3, STA 302 may transmit to AP 340 a request message 312, e.g., an FTM request message, to request to perform a ranging measurement, e.g., at a VHTz mode. [00157] As shown in Fig. 3, AP 340 may transmit to STA 302 an acknowledge (ACK) message 313 to acknowledge receipt of request message 312. [00158] As shown in Fig. 3, AP 340 may transmit to STA 302 a message 314, e.g., an FTM response message, including an indication of an ID, e.g., an RID or a UID, allocated to STA 302 by AP 340, e.g., to be used during VHTz measurement phase 320 and/or during a High Efficiency .1 laz (HEz) measurement phase. [00334] Example 18 includes the subject matter of any one of Examples 1-17, and optionally, comprising a radio, and one or more antennas.)
at least one receiving antenna, and (Segev – [00334])
at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute instructions to: (Segev – [00335] Example 19 includes a system of wireless communication comprising an initiating station (STA), the initiating STA comprising one or more antennas; a radio; a memory; a processor;)
cause the at least one transmitting antenna to transmit a sensing trigger message; (Segev –
[0156-0158], [00334])
receive, via the at least one receiving antenna, (Segev – [0156-0158], [00334])
a sensing transmission transmitted in response to the sensing trigger message; (Segev – [0156-0158])
wherein the sensing transmission is a null data PPDU (NDP) and includes a timing indication; (Segev – [00162] As shown in Fig. 3, the VHT measurement may include transmission of an Uplink (UL) NDP 322 from STA 302 to AP 340. [00163] As shown in Fig. 3, the VHT measurement may include transmission of a downlink (DL) NDP 324 from AP 340 to STA 302. [00164] As shown in Fig. 3, the VHT measurement may include transmission of an NDP feedback 326 including the ID, e.g., RID, of STA 302 from AP 340 to STA 302. [00165] In one example, NDP feedback 326 may include measurement results of the VHT measurement. [00166] For example, the measurement results may include, for example, information of a ToD of DL NDP 324, and information of a ToA of UL NDP 322, for example using Channel State Information (CSI), for example, a matrix for every subcarrier of NDP 322. [00208] In some demonstrative embodiments, the value corresponding to the ToD of the first DL NDP may include a ToD parameter, for example, a ToD time stamp of the first DL NDP, e.g., as measured by the responding STA. [00209] In some demonstrative embodiments, the value corresponding to the ToA of the first UL NDP may include a ToA parameter, for example, a ToA time stamp of the first UL NDP, e.g., as measured by the responding STA.)
generate a time stamp (Segev – [0156-0158], [00208], [00209], [0005] A Fine Timing Measurement (FTM) Protocol, e.g., in accordance with an IEEE 802.11 Specification, may include measuring a Round Trip Time (RTT) from a wireless station (STA) to a plurality of other STAs,)
generate an indication message, wherein the indication message includes the sensing measurement based on the training field of the NDP and the time stamp from the time determined according to the timing indication corresponding to the time of reception of the sensing transmission. (Segev – [0156-0158], [00208-00209], [00206] In some demonstrative embodiments, the one or more measurement values corresponding to the first ranging measurement may include one or more measurement values based on the first UL NDP, and one or more measurement values based on the first DL NDP, e.g., as described below. [00207] In some demonstrative embodiments, the one or more measurement values corresponding to the first ranging measurement may include a value corresponding to a ToA of the first UL NDP, and a value corresponding to a ToD of the first DL NDP, e.g., as described below. Segev does not explicitly teach “training field”.)
Segev does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Chitrakar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
corresponding to a timing synchronization function (TSF) (Chitrakar – [Fig. 17-20], [0107] FIG. 17 shows the format of a TSF 1700 that is maintained by all IEEE 802.11 devices operating in infrastructure mode. The TSF 1700 is a 64-bits long counter with a time resolution of 1 microsecond and helps all the 802.11 devices in a BSS maintain time synchronization with the AP. An AP periodically broadcasts the current value of its TSF using the Timestamp field of the Beacon frames. Each STA that receives the Beacon frames from the AP that the STA is associated with, replaces its local TSF with the received timestamp after adjusting for the receiver processing delays. For easy referencing, starting from bit 0, the TSF 1700 may be divided into eight octets from TSF-0 to TSF-7 as shown in FIG. 17.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the time stamp of Segev with the TSF of Chitrakar in order to maintain time synchronization (Chitrakar – [0107]).
Segev does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Kerner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
perform a sensing measurement on the sensing transmission by analyzing a training field of the NDP; (Kerner – [0107] Accordingly, such channel estimation sequences may be useful for radar-like applications (e.g., sensing range, angle, motion, etc. of reflector 801). For example, in legacy WLAN standards, the long training field (LTF) (e.g., the legacy-LTF) may be used for channel estimation. [0139] As shown, the frame includes a 2 orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol legacy short training field L-STF, a 2 OFDM symbol L-LTF (e.g., which may be used for channel estimation and sensing))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NDP transmission of Segev with the L-STF/L-LTF of Kerner in order to perform radar-like WLAN legacy type sensing (Kerner – [0107], [0139]).
Regarding Claims 3, 11, Segev further teaches:
wherein the sensing measurement comprises Channel State Information (CSI). (Segev – [0166])
Regarding Claims 4, 12, Segev further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute instructions to cause the at least one transmitting antenna to transmit the indication message to a remote processing device. (Segev – [00333-00334])
Regarding Claims 21, 27, Segev further teaches:
wherein the timing indication comprises an identifiable pattern of bits within the sensing transmission. (Segev – [00206-00209], [00333], [0046] In some demonstrative embodiments, processor 191 and/or processor 181 may include, for example, a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Digital Signal Processor (DSP),)
Regarding Claims 22, 28, Segev further teaches:
wherein the timing indication comprises an identifiable bit within the sensing transmission. (Segev – [0046], [00206-00209])
Regarding Claims 23, 29, Segev further teaches:
wherein the timing indication comprises a first bit of a training field of the NDP. (Segev – [0046], [00206-00209], [00333] Segev does not explicitly teach “training field”.)
Segev does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Kerner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
training field (Kerner – [0107], [0139] As shown, the frame includes a 2 orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol legacy short training field L-STF, a 2 OFDM symbol L-LTF (e.g., which may be used for channel estimation and sensing) If the training field only consists of a timing indication, it would be the first bit.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transmission of Segev with the L-STF/L-LTF of Kerner in order to perform radar-like WLAN legacy type sensing (Kerner - [0107], [0139]).
Regarding Claims 24, 30, Segev further teaches:
wherein the timing indication comprises an identifiable signal pattern within the sensing transmission. (Segev – [0156-0158], [00206-00209])
Regarding Claim 25, 31, Segev further teaches:
wherein identifying the timing indication includes identifying a time at which the sensing transmission was received. (Segev – [0156-0158], [00206-00209])
Regarding Claims 33-34, Segev further teaches:
wherein the time stamp is indicative of a time of validity of the sensing transmission. (Segev – [0156-0158], [00206-00209])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-8, filed 06/17/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant argues, see page 9, that “Neither Segev nor Kerner teaches an NDP having a timing indication”. The examiner disagrees, Segev explicitly teaches a “first DL NDP may include a ToD parameter, for example, a ToD time stamp of the first DL NDP” and “a ToA time stamp of the first UL NDP” as indicated by their respective STA.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 10, filed 06/17/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on the independent claims. As noted above, the examiner maintains Segev in view of Kerner and Chitrakar teaches the independent claims and therefore the dependent claims remain rejected.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648