DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/20/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-14 and 28-39 remain
pending. Claim 15 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 28, and 34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are: “attachment mechanism” (claims 4, 6, and 34).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses that the “attachment mechanism” (claims 4, 6, and 34) can include a tab, hook, loop, notch, peg, magnet, strap, pin, hole, socket, and/or other mechanism configured to join separate portions of the implant (see paragraph [0072] of the Instant Application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-8, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170105839 A1 (hereafter -- Subramanian--).
Regarding Claim 1, Subramanian discloses a method comprising: providing a medical implant forming an elongate body and one or more anchors extending from the elongate body (see annotated elongate body and anchors in Figures 50-51 below), the elongate body and the one or more anchors having a continuous structure (see annotated elongate body and anchors in Figures 50-51 below); rolling the elongate body and the one or more anchors (see Figures 50-51 below, see also paragraph [0193]), inserting the medical implant into a catheter (see annotated catheter 360 in Figures 50-51 below, see also paragraph [0193])); delivering the catheter to a treatment location within a human body (see paragraph [0193]); and removing the medical implant from the catheter (see paragraph [0193]).
Regarding Claim 7, Subramanian discloses the method of claim 1, wherein removing the medical implant from the catheter causes unrolling of the medical implant to an expanded profile, and a width of the medical implant in the expanded profile exceeds a width of the catheter (see paragraph [0193]).
Regarding Claim 8, Subramanian discloses the method of claim 1, and further comprising unrolling the medical implant to an expanded profile, wherein a width of the medical implant in the expanded profile exceeds a width of the catheter (see paragraph [0193]).
Regarding Claim 11, Subramanian discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the medical implant naturally assumes a generally flat form (see paragraph [0193], see also flat form in Figures 51A and 51B above).
Regarding Claim 12, Subramanian discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the medical implant is at least partially composed of Nitinol (see paragraph [0197]).
Regarding Claim 13, Subramanian discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more anchors are anchoring arms (see annotated anchoring arms in Figure 51A above).
Regarding Claim 14, Subramanian discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more anchors are shape-set to extend perpendicularly from the elongate body (see annotated anchoring arms in Figure 51A above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 9-10, and 28-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170105839 A1 (hereafter -- Subramanian--), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of US 20090143713 A1 (hereafter --Van Dam--).
Regarding Claim 2, Subramanian discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the medical implant comprises a first end and a second end (see annotated first and second end in Figures 50-51 above).
Subramanian fails to disclose the method further comprising detaching the first end of the medical implant from the second end of the medical implant prior to rolling the medical implant.
Van Dam discloses a method comprising: rolling a medical implant to reduce a profile of the medical implant (see Figure 12A below, see also paragraph [0074]), the medical implant comprising a first end and a second end (see annotated second and first end in Figure 12A below); inserting the medical implant into a catheter (see paragraphs [0023] and [0084]); delivering the catheter to a treatment location within a human body (see paragraph [0085]); and removing the medical implant from the catheter (see paragraph [0085]). Van Dam teaches the method further comprising detaching the first end of the medical implant from the second end of the medical implant prior to rolling the medical implant (see paragraph [0074] denoting that the preparation of the implant may include cutting the tube wall, rolling up the implant, then rejoining the edges to form a larger diameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the method further comprising detaching the first end of the medical implant from the second end of the medical implant prior to rolling the medical implant, since applying the known technique taught by Van Dam of starting with a tubular structure of an implant and detaching two ends to then rolling it back up to deliver to the method of delivering the implant of Subramanian would have yielded predicable results, namely, a tubular implant that is then cut to form a flat implant with two ends.
Regarding Claim 3, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 2, wherein detaching the first end from the second end involves cutting the medical implant (see claim 2 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 4, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 2, wherein detaching the first end from the second end involves disengaging an attachment mechanism at the first end (see claim 2 rejection above, the attachment mechanism being the physical connection between the two sends prior to cutting the wall of the implant, the attachment mechanism being interpreted under 112f, in which this mechanism can be interpreted as “other mechanism configured to join separate portions of the implant”).
Regarding Claim 5, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 2.
Subramanian fails to disclose further comprising attaching the first end to the second end after removing the medical implant from the catheter.
Van Dam teaches further comprising attaching the first end to the second end after removing the medical implant from the catheter (see paragraph [0074], see also Figure 12A(2) denoting the two ends being connected again after delivery and expanding to bigger diameter “D”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the method further comprising attaching the first end to the second end after removing the medical implant from the catheter, as doing so would form a complete and sealed tubular structure at deployment (see paragraph [0074]).
Regarding Claim 6, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 5, wherein attaching the first end to the second end involves engaging an attachment mechanism at the first end (see claim 5 above, the attachment mechanism being interpreted under 112f, in which this mechanism can be interpreted as “other mechanism configured to join separate portions of the implant).
Regarding Claim 9, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 2, wherein rolling the elongate body and the one or more anchors causes at least some overlap between the first end and the second end (see Figure 50 above, in which the two ends do not directly overlap or touch, but do overlap in the sense that they “occupy the same area in part” (see Merriam Webster online)).
Regarding Claim 10, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 2, wherein rolling the elongate body and the one or more anchors causes no overlap between the first end and the second end (see Figure 50 above, in which they do not directly touch and therefore do not “extend over or past and cover a part of” (see Merriam Webster online)).
Regarding Claim 28, Subramanian discloses a method comprising: providing a medical implant forming an elongate body and one or more anchors extending from the elongate body (see annotated elongate body and anchors in Figures 50-51 below), the elongate body and the one or more anchors having a continuous structure (see annotated elongate body and anchors in Figures 50-51 below); rolling the elongate body and the one or more anchors (see Figures 50-51 below, see also paragraph [0193]), inserting the medical implant into a catheter (see annotated catheter 360 in Figures 50-51 below, see also paragraph [0193])); delivering the catheter to a treatment location within a human body (see paragraph [0193]); and removing the medical implant from the catheter (see paragraph [0193]).
Subramanian fails to disclose detaching a first end of a medical implant from a second end of the medical implant.
Van Dam teaches the method further comprising detaching the first end of the medical implant from the second end of the medical implant prior to rolling the medical implant (see paragraph [0074] denoting that the preparation of the implant may include cutting the tube wall, rolling up the implant, then rejoining the edges to form a larger diameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the method further comprising detaching the first end of the medical implant from the second end of the medical implant prior to rolling the medical implant, since applying the known technique taught by Van Dam of starting with a tubular structure of an implant and detaching two ends to then rolling it back up to deliver to the method of delivering the implant of Subramanian would have yielded predicable results, namely, a tubular implant that is then cut to form a flat implant with two ends.
Regarding Claim 29, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 28.
Subramanian fails to disclose further comprising attaching the first end to the second end after removing the medical implant from the catheter.
Van Dam teaches further comprising attaching the first end to the second end after removing the medical implant from the catheter (see paragraph [0074], see also Figure 12A(2) denoting the two ends being connected again after delivery and expanding to bigger diameter “D”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the method further comprising attaching the first end to the second end after removing the medical implant from the catheter, as doing so would form a complete and sealed tubular structure at deployment (see paragraph [0074]).
Regarding Claim 30, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the one or more anchors are shape-set to extend perpendicularly from the elongate body (see annotated anchoring arms in Figure 51A above).
Regarding Claim 31, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 28, wherein rolling the elongate body and the one or more anchors causes at least some overlap between the first end and the second end (see Figure 50 above, in which the two ends do not directly overlap or touch, but do overlap in the sense that they “occupy the same area in part” (see Merriam Webster online)).
Regarding Claim 32, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 28, further comprising wherein removing the medical implant from the catheter causes unrolling of the medical implant to an expanded profile, wherein a width of the medical implant in the expanded profile exceeds a width of the catheter (see paragraph [0193]).
Regarding Claim 33, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 28, further comprising unrolling the medical implant to an expanded profile, wherein a width of the medical implant in the expanded profile exceeds a width of the catheter (see paragraph [0193]).
Regarding Claim 34, Subramanian discloses a method comprising: providing a medical implant forming an elongate body and one or more anchors extending from the elongate body (see annotated elongate body and anchors in Figures 50-51 below), the medical implant comprising a first end and a second end (see annotated first and second end in Figures 50-51 below); the elongate body and the one or more anchors having a continuous structure (see annotated elongate body and anchors in Figures 50-51 below); rolling the elongate body and the one or more anchors (see Figures 50-51 below, see also paragraph [0193]), inserting the medical implant into a catheter (see annotated catheter 360 in Figures 50-51 below, see also paragraph [0193])); delivering the catheter to a treatment location within a human body (see paragraph [0193]); and removing the medical implant from the catheter (see paragraph [0193]).
Subramanian fails to disclose the first end having one or more attachment mechanisms to alternately join with and detach from the second end; and attaching the first end to the second end via the one or more attachment mechanisms.
Van Dam teaches further comprising the first end having one or more attachment mechanisms to alternately join with and detach from the second end; and attaching the first end to the second end via the one or more attachment mechanisms (see paragraph [0074], see also Figure 12A(2) denoting the two ends being connected again after delivery and expanding to bigger diameter “D”, the attachment mechanism being the physical connection between the two sends prior to cutting the wall of the implant, the attachment mechanism being interpreted under 112f, in which this mechanism can be interpreted as “other mechanism configured to join separate portions of the implant”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the method further comprising the first end having one or more attachment mechanisms to alternately join with and detach from the second end; and attaching the first end to the second end via the one or more attachment mechanisms, as doing so would enable the implant to form a complete and sealed tubular structure at deployment (see paragraph [0074]).
Regarding Claim 35, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 34.
Subramanian as modified fails to disclose further comprising detaching the first end of the medical implant from the second end of the medical implant prior to rolling the medical implant.
Van Dam teaches the method further comprising detaching the first end of the medical implant from the second end of the medical implant prior to rolling the medical implant (see paragraph [0074] denoting that the preparation of the implant may include cutting the tube wall, rolling up the implant, then rejoining the edges to form a larger diameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the method further comprising detaching the first end of the medical implant from the second end of the medical implant prior to rolling the medical implant, since applying the known technique taught by Van Dam of starting with a tubular structure of an implant and detaching two ends to then rolling it back up to deliver to the method of delivering the implant of Subramanian would have yielded predicable results, namely, a tubular implant that is then cut to form a flat implant with two ends.
Regarding Claim 36, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 34, wherein rolling the elongate body and the one or more anchors causes at least some overlap between the first end and the second end (see Figure 50 above, in which the two ends do not directly overlap or touch, but do overlap in the sense that they “occupy the same area in part” (see Merriam Webster online)).
Regarding Claim 37, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 34, further comprising wherein removing the medical implant from the catheter causes unrolling of the medical implant to an expanded profile, wherein a width of the medical implant in the expanded profile exceeds a width of the catheter (see paragraph [0193]).
Regarding Claim 38, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 34, further comprising unrolling the medical implant to an expanded profile, wherein a width of the medical implant in the expanded profile exceeds a width of the catheter (see paragraph [0193]).
Regarding Claim 39, Subramanian as modified discloses the method of claim 34, wherein the medical implant naturally assumes a generally flat form (see paragraph [0193], see also flat form in Figures 51A and 51B above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774