DETAILED ACTION
Introductory Notes
Any paragraph citation of the instant is in reference to the U.S. published patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “directly contacting the connection wiring and the busbar” in reference to the thermal fusion layers is not supported by the specification. Notably Fig. 2 shows heat-blocking layer 150 between the connection wiring W and (lower) second thermal fusion layer 120; claim 1 states “the connection wiring being mounted directly on the heat-blocking layer”; and furthermore paragraph [0091] states “the connection wiring W arranged on the heat-blocking layer 150”. As such at least the connection wiring is not in direct contact with second thermal fusion layer and therefore the new limitation which requires the thermal fusion layers (necessarily plural by inclusion of the ‘s’ at the end of layers) to be “directly contacting the connection wiring and the busbar” is not supported.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “directly contacting the connection wiring and the busbar” in reference to the thermal fusion layers. It is unclear in what manner the thermal fusion layers (necessarily plural by inclusion of the ‘s’ at the end of layers) may be “directly contacting the connection wiring and the busbar” given that Fig. 2 shows heat-blocking layer 150 between the connection wiring W and (lower) second thermal fusion layer 120; claim 1 states “the connection wiring being mounted directly on the heat-blocking layer”; and furthermore paragraph [0091] states “the connection wiring W arranged on the heat-blocking layer 150”.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TANG (US 20210351480 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “directly contacting the connection wiring and the busbar” in reference to the thermal fusion layers is being interpreted as “being in close contact with the connection wiring and the busbar” wherein being in close contact encompasses Fig. 2 of the instant with support for this interpretation being found in paragraph [0090] of the instant that states “thermal fusion layers 110 and 120 … may be in close contact with the step of the connection wiring W and the step of the busbar B”. Furthermore this close contact does not mean direct contact with support for this being in paragraph [0045] of the instant which states “when a layer, region, or component is referred to as being “connected to” another layer, region, or component, it may be directly connected to the other layer, region, or component or may be indirectly connected to the other layer, region, or component with one or more intervening layers, regions, or components interposed therebetween” (emphasis added). As discussed below, all the layers of TANG are in close contact.
TANG discloses a battery pack (battery pack 2) comprising: at least one battery cell (battery cells 10) and a connection circuit part (collective of multiple components shown in Fig. 4 illustrated as above cells 10) electrically connected to the at least one battery cell (“configured to electrically connect two battery cells” [0006]),
wherein the connection circuit part comprises: a connection wiring arranged on the at least one battery cell and electrically connected to the at least one battery cell (circuit board 40),
a heat-blocking layer between the at least one battery cell and the connection wiring (“protective layer 30 made from a heat-resistant insulating material” [0099]),
a busbar arranged at at least any of a position above or below the heat-blocking layer and connected to the at least one battery cell (connecting pieces 20),
and thermal fusion layers (fixing layers 50) pressed to face each other and thermally fused to each other (“the hermetical connection between the upper fixing layer 50A and the lower fixing layer 50B may be implemented by a hot pressing process” [0087]) with the connection wiring, the heat-blocking layer, and the busbar together therebetween (Fig. 4 showing the claimed components between the fixing layers 50), the connection wiring being mounted directly on the heat-blocking layer (Fig. 4 wherein the circuit board is in direct contact with protective layer 30B),
and the thermal fusion layers comprising a thermoplastic resin (“polymer material” [0088]) and directly contacting the connection wiring and the busbar (as noted above this is being interpreted as close contact, and as shown in Fig. 4 all the layers are in close contact)
and filling a space between the connection wiring and the busbar so as to cover a step defined among the connection wiring, the heat-blocking layer, and the busbar (“hermetical connection between the upper fixing layer 50A and the lower fixing layer 50B” [0087] wherein the connection of upper and lower fixing layers fills the steps, or gaps, among the components).
Regarding claim 2, TANG discloses the at least one battery cell comprises a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 4 shows multiple cells), and the connection circuit part is arranged above the plurality of battery cells in a plate shape across the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 4 shows the components reading on the connection circuit part as a whole above the cells with plate shapes), forms a charge/discharge path of the plurality of battery cells by electrically connecting the plurality of battery cells to one another (“electrically connect” [0006]), and is connected to the plurality of battery cells and configured to obtain status information from the plurality of battery cells (“sampling data transmitted by the circuit board” [0070]).
Regarding claim 3, TANG discloses the busbar forms a charge/discharge path of the plurality of battery cells by electrically connecting the plurality of battery cells to each other (“connecting piece 20 electrically connects two battery cells 10” [0060]), and the connection wiring is connected to the plurality of battery cells (“circuit board 40 electrically connected to the battery cells 10” [0070]) and configured to obtain status information from the plurality of battery cells (“sampling data transmitted by the circuit board” [0070]).
Regarding claim 4, TANG discloses an input/output wiring connected to the busbar and comprising an end arranged at a position deviated from the thermal fusion layers (Fig. 4, positive output electrode 61 and a negative output electrode 62); and a connector connected to the connection wiring and arranged at a position deviated from the thermal fusion layers (Fig. 4, wherein there is a connector shown at the end of circuit board 20).
Regarding claim 11, TANG discloses the heat-blocking layer is arranged between the connection wiring and a vent part of the at least one battery cell (Fig. 4, wherein the protective layer 30B is between the vents of cells 10 and circuit board 40).
Regarding claim 12, TANG discloses the at least one battery cell comprises first and second electrodes arranged in a second direction, and the connection wiring extends in the second direction along a central position where the vent part is arranged (Fig. 4, wherein the cells are both a first and second direction and circuit board 40 extends in both directions with major or long dimension in one direction and width with protrusion in the second direction corresponding to central relative to the vents).
Regarding claim 13, TANG discloses the at least one battery cell comprises first and second electrodes arranged in a second direction (Fig. 4 where there are first and second electrodes in both a first and a second direction), and a width of the connection wiring in the second direction is less than a width of the heat-blocking layer (Fig. 4 where the circuit board 40 is smaller than the protective layers 30 in two directions).
Regarding claim 15, TANG discloses a length of the connection wiring in a first direction in which battery cells of the at least one battery cell are arranged is less than a length of the heat-blocking layer (Fig. 4 where the circuit board 40 is smaller than the protective layers 30 in both width and length directions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG in view of WEINBERGER (US 20200136119 A1, supplied with an IDS).
Regarding claim 5, TANG does not expressly teach a combination of parallel and series connection.
WEINBERGER is directed to a battery pack with busbars, insulating layers, and circuit board like TANG. WEINBERGER discloses Figs. 3 and 4 as well as Fig. 7(A-C) wherein there is a combination of parallel and series connections. WEINBERGER further discloses that the “busbars electrically interconnect the battery cells of the battery module in a respective configuration (e.g., an XsYp or XpYs configuration)” [0022] wherein p and s refers to groups in parallel and series respectively.
WEINBERGER teaches “XpYs-type submodules can generate high voltages … and in XsYp-type submodules, the capacitance of the cells add up” [0007]. WEINBERGER further teaches “interchangeability of the components is improved with the module design” [0006]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cell connections of TANG with the parallel and series connections of WEINBERGER to achieve the desired combination of voltage and capacitance with a modular design.
Therefore, modified TANG discloses the busbar connects in parallel battery cells of the plurality of battery cells belonging to a same parallel module to each other, and connects in series battery cells of the plurality of battery cells belonging to different parallel modules to each other (as taught by WEINBERGER).
Regarding claim 6, modified TANG discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and WEINBERGER further discloses the parallel modules each comprise a pair of battery cells neighboring each other in a first direction in which the battery cells are arranged (“pairs of battery cells of the first and second subset may follow each other in alternating fashion” [0028]).
Regarding claim 7, modified TANG discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and WEINBERGER further discloses the busbar comprises: a connection part connecting different parallel modules to each other; and first and second branch parts protruding from end positions of the connection part and connected to each parallel module to be connected (Fig. 2 showing detail of the busbar with peripheral body sections 54 and 55 going to legs 52 and 53).
Regarding claim 8, modified TANG discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and WEINBERGER further discloses the connection part extends in a first direction in which the battery cells are arranged, and the first and second branch parts protrude from the end positions of the connection part in a second direction in which first and second electrodes of each of the battery cells are arranged (Figs. 3 and 4 show the central body section of the busbar is in the direction of cell stacking with legs extending from the center to the terminals).
Regarding claim 9, modified TANG discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and WEINBERGER further discloses the connection part is arranged toward a central position of the battery cells in a second direction, and the first and second branch parts are arranged toward edges where first and second electrodes of the battery cells are arranged in the second direction (Figs. 3 and 4 show the central body section of the busbar is in the direction of cell stacking with legs extending from the center to the terminals).
Regarding claim 10, modified TANG discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and TANG further discloses a first busbar arranged above the heat-blocking layer (Fig. 4 shows connecting pieces 20 above protective layer 30B).
TANG does not expressly teach a second busbar layer.
WEINBERGER discloses two busbar layers with intervening insulating layers 82 and 83 in Fig. 5. Furthermore, WEINBERGER discloses “inner insulating layers 82, 83 may include metallizations or circuit components” [0058]. WEINBERGER teaches “each busbar of the first set of busbars is electrically isolated from each of the busbars of the second set” [0025] and “circuit components may be configured to detect and/or process cell temperatures and/or voltages” [0058].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the busbars of WEINBERGER to either side of the protective layer 30B and circuit board 40 to accomplish both the isolation of the busbars and allow the circuit components to detect cell parameters.
Therefore, modified TANG discloses and a second busbar arranged below the heat-blocking layer (wherein second busbar and below is taught by WEINBERGER and the heat-blocking layer is taught by TANG).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG in view of SON (US 20190181418 A1, supplied with an IDS).
Regarding claim 14, TANG does not expressly teach the width of circuit board 40.
SON is directed to a battery pack with busbars and a wiring board collecting status information like TANG. SON discloses Fig. 3 wherein wiring board C is within the gap between opposing busbar components. SON discloses “wiring board C … may be at center positions of the battery cells B such that the wiring board C may easily collect state information from a plurality of positions” [0043]. SON further discloses both the busbar 15 and wiring board C are supported by the same frame support portion FS [0043] and do not overlap (Fig. 3). SON teaches since “the wiring board C is placed at a center position of the battery cells B, the distances …be generally uniform and … may be balanced to prevent signal distortion” [0043].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to center the circuit board 40 of TANG relative to the busbars as taught by SON so that distances may be uniform and signals are not distorted.
Therefore, modified TANG discloses the at least one battery cell comprises first and second electrodes arranged in a second direction, and a width of the connection wiring in the second direction is less than a width between busbars arranged in the second direction (as taught by SON).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG in view of WEINBERGER in view of SON.
Regarding claim 16, TANG does not expressly teach a cross busbar.
WEINBERGER is directed to a battery pack with busbars, insulating layers, and circuit board like TANG. WEINBERGER discloses Figs. 3 and 4 as well as Fig. 7(A-C) wherein there is a combination of parallel and series connections. WEINBERGER further discloses that the “busbars electrically interconnect the battery cells of the battery module in a respective configuration (e.g., an XsYp or XpYs configuration)” [0022] wherein p and s refers to groups in parallel and series respectively. WEINBERGER discloses third busbar 66 shown in Fig. 4 and that “upper cell terminals of this leftmost (outermost) pair of battery cells 10 are connected via a third busbar 66 to the lower cell terminals of an adjacent pair of battery cells 10” [0060]. As such third busbar 66 is a cross busbar and allows for the parallel with series connection.
WEINBERGER teaches “XpYs-type submodules can generate high voltages … and in XsYp-type submodules, the capacitance of the cells add up” [0007]. WEINBERGER further teaches “interchangeability of the components is improved with the module design” [0006]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cell connections of TANG with the parallel and series connections of WEINBERGER, and specifically the cross busbar, to achieve the desired combination of voltage and capacitance with a modular design.
Therefore, modified TANG discloses a cross busbar (as taught by WEINBERGER).
SON is directed to a battery pack with busbars and a wiring board collecting status information like TANG. SON discloses Fig. 3 wherein wiring board C is within the gap between opposing busbar components. SON discloses “wiring board C … may be at center positions of the battery cells B such that the wiring board C may easily collect state information from a plurality of positions” [0043]. SON further discloses both the busbar 15 and wiring board C are supported by the same frame support portion FS [0043] and do not overlap (Fig. 3). SON teaches since “the wiring board C is placed at a center position of the battery cells B, the distances …be generally uniform and … may be balanced to prevent signal distortion” [0043].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to center the circuit board 40 of TANG relative to the busbars as taught by SON so that distances may be uniform and signals are not distorted.
Therefore, modified TANG discloses the connection wiring extends from a front end toward a rear end in an arrangement of the battery cells in the first direction, to a position not overlapping (as taught by SON) a cross busbar arranged at the rear end of the arrangement of the battery cells (as taught by WEINBERGER).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG in view of NOH (US 20150024253 A1).
Regarding claim 17, TANG discloses a case (Fig. 2) but does not expressly teach end and side plates.
NOH is directed to a battery pack with busbars and a wiring board collecting status information like TANG.
NOH discloses Fig. 1 with top plate 120, end plates 150, and side plates 140. NOH further discloses “top plate 120 may guide wires extracted from the bus bars 15” [0101] “to transmit information of the battery cell 10, such as voltage measurement information or temperature” [0101] and top plate 120 includes base frame 121. NOH discloses “end plate 150 may be located on either side of the array of battery cells 10” [0047] and that top plate 120 and end plate 150 connect holes in via alignment of holes in the top plate and flange 152 which is part of end plate 150 (Fig. 1 and [0082]). NOH discloses side plate 140 which includes “a locking jaw 140 a” [0075] as well as “fastening member 171 penetrating the side plate 140” [0086] as well as rails 192 to align with and accept the pins 191 of the end plates (fig. 4 and [0063]).
NOH teaches that with the arrangement of end, side, and top plates, deformation of the battery pack may be efficiently suppressed [0007].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the end and side plates of NOH to the pack of TANG and attach them to the top assembly in order to limit deformation and align the respective components.
Therefore, modified TANG discloses a pair of end plates arranged to face each other outside a front end and a rear end in an arrangement of battery cells of the at least one battery cell in a first direction; and a pair of side plates arranged to face each other in a second direction crossing the first direction with the arrangement of the battery cells therebetween between the pair of end plates (as taught by NOH).
Regarding claim 18, modified TANG discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and NOH further discloses coupling holes of the connection circuit part and coupling protrusions of the end plates form an insertion coupling therebetween (as shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 9, top plate 120 has holes aligning with flange portions 152 which protrude from end plate 150 such that coupling may be made by fasteners which notably protrude from flange portions 152).
Regarding claim 19, modified TANG discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and NOH further discloses the connection circuit part has a length in the first direction and a width in the second direction crossing the first direction, and the coupling holes are respectively located at each corner of the connection circuit part (as shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 9 the holes are in each of the four corners of top plate 120).
Regarding claim 20, modified TANG discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and NOH further discloses a pressing piece configured to press the connection circuit part toward the arrangement of the battery cells is arranged on the pair of side plates (as shown in Fig. 1 the side plates have jaws 140a as well as fasteners that connect to support frame 125 which in turn is connected to base frame 121 of top plate 120; as such the side plates have pressing pieces arranged on them that keep the top plate in place relative to the battery cells).
Response to Arguments
Regarding art-based rejections, applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are not persuasive. As discussed in the 112(a), 112(b), and 102 rejections above, it is the examiners stance that the new limitation is new matter, unclear, and must be read as “being in close contact” as opposed to “directly contact” as the each of the layers of the instant are not in direct contact. Therefore, TANG reads on the new limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (previously cited):
WEN (US 20210135318 A1) directed to mixed parallel and series connection of cells with busbar components reading on the details of dependent claims 5-10 in a manner like WEINBERGER.
BAE (US 20190198845 A1) directed to mixed parallel and series connection of cells with busbar components reading on the details of dependent claims 5-10 in a manner like WEINBERGER.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721