DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano et al (JP 2014-085783 A) in view of Sato et al (UP 2000123219 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Amano teaches a sheet processing apparatus, i.e., depositing/dispensing machine (1), as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, comprising:
a first storage, i.e., any of storage modules (31, 31-1 to 31-8), suggested to be operated by a stepper motor, the first storage being a winding-type storage, i.e., any of storage modules (31, 31-1 to 31-8), which must be driven by motors, where a sheet is wound around a drum, i.e., reel (311) together with a tape at a winding speed and stored, as mentioned at paragraphs 6, 52, 73, 78-80 and 82-83;
a second storage, i.e., temporary holding unit (51), as illustrated at figures 2, 4, 5 and 6, for example, operated by a second stepper motor, the second storage being a winding-type storage where the sheet is wound around a drum together with a tape at a winding speed and stored;
a safe, i.e., lower safe unit (13), as illustrated in figures 5 and 6, for example, which accommodates the first storage, i.e., any of storage modules (31, 31-1 to 31-8) and not the second storage, i.e., temporary holding unit (51), as illustrated at figures 2, 4, 5 and 6, for example;
a transport device, i.e., processing section side transport section (41), loop transport path (411), safe section side transport section (43) and transport path (431) as illustrated at figures 2, 4 and 5, connected with the first storage (3, 31, 31-1 to 31-8), and the second storage, i.e., temporary holding unit (51), as illustrated at figures 2, 4, 5 and 6, for example, connected with the first storage (3, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) and the second storage (51), the transport device (41, 411, 43, 431) transporting the sheet from the first storage (3, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) to the second storage (51) at a first transport speed (V1) as mentioned at paragraphs 9, 96, 98, 100-102 and transporting the sheet from the second storage (51) to the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) at a second transport speed, i.e., feed speed (V2 or V3) as mentioned at paragraphs 9, 101 and 102, in a reciprocating transport process between the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) and the second storage (51), noting the directional arrows in figures 4-6, showing movement in both directions, i.e. to and from/between first (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) and second (51) storages, wherein the transport device (41, 411, 43, 431) is a conveyor, i.e., the loop conveyor being a combination of rollers, a plurality of belts and guides, as mentioned at “description of embodiments”, seventh paragraph; and /the second transport speed is slower than the first transport speed/; and
a processing circuitry, i.e., control unit (513) as illustrated in figure 3 and as mentioned at paragraphs 53, 58, 59, 61, 62, 67 and 68, that individually controls the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8), the second storage (51), and the transport device (41, 411, 43, 431), so that the second transport speed (V2 or V3) of the transport device (41, 411, 43, 431) is slower than the first transport speed (V1) and a winding speed for winding the sheet by the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) is a first winding speed that is slower than the second transport speed (V2 or V3), as mentioned at “solution” and paragraphs 8, 11, 14, 35, 88-90 and 102, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, Amano does not expressly teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control, in a case that the sheet is transported from the second storage to the first storage in the reciprocating transport process, the first storage so that the winding speed of the first storage is a first winding speed which transitions from an initial speed to a slower target speed and then back to the initial speed, the first winding speed being slower than the second transport speed of the transport device.
Regarding Claim 1, Amano does not expressly teach, but Sato teaches wherein the processing circuitry, i.e., suggested by the disclosed nature of the operation of the automatic bill depositing and dispensing machine (A) as illustrated in figure 15, as well as the specification as mentioned below, is configured to control, in a case that the sheet is transported from the second storage, i.e., bill storage/discharge device (3), which is a winding-type storage, noting the drum/wheel (10) as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, for example, to the first storage, i.e., any of deposit cassette (4) or reflux cassette (5), as illustrated in figure 15, for example, in the reciprocating transport process, i.e., construed as the repeated dispensing of banknotes and receiving banknotes from the first store to a transport device, where it is fed to or received from another target such as a second storage, the first storage (3) so that the winding speed of the first storage (3) is a first winding speed which transitions from an initial speed to a slower target speed and then back to the initial speed, the first winding speed being slower than the second transport speed of the transport device, i.e, as mentioned as follows from the English Translation of Sato.
Further, the present invention has a configuration in which the idling roller 40 can be rotated about the axis of the wheel 10 (see FIGS. 4 and 5), and the pressure contact force with the transport roller 41 can be adjusted appropriately. . Therefore, when the banknotes are stored (see FIG. 1), the tape speed is slightly increased compared to the external transport path 200, and when the banknotes are released, the tape speed is slightly reduced compared to the external transport path 200. Is stabilizing. The stabilization of the performance can be realized by generating a proper slip of the bill between the transport roller 41 and the idling roller 40, and strict speed matching between the external transport path 200 and the tape 30 is not required. Therefore, an inexpensive device with a simple control circuit can be provided.
Emphasis provided.
Thus, Sato teaches reducing the speed of the winding device and the tape to be less than that of the transport device (200), as seen in figures 1-5 and 15, for example, when banknotes are received from the transport device and stored in the first/winding storage, and also increasing the speed of the winding device to be more than the transport device (200) when banknotes are fed to the transport device. The processing circuitry can thus be a low cost simple control circuit. Note also the loop transport device connecting the storage, winding and other components as illustrated in figure 15, which is equivalent to transport device (200).
See figures 1-15 of Sato as follows.
3
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control, in a case that the sheet is transported from the second storage to the first storage in the reciprocating transport process, the first storage so that the winding speed of the first storage is a first winding speed which transitions from an initial speed to a slower target speed and then back to the initial speed, the first winding speed being slower than the second transport speed of the transport device, as taught by Sato, in Amano’s sheet processing apparatus for the purpose of enabling movement of banknotes from any of the first or second storages to the transport device and back from the transport device to any one of the first or second storages again, for the purpose of reducing the need for strict speed matching between the winding storage mechanisms, drums and rollers with the transport device, thus simplifying the processing/control circuitry.
Therefore, regarding Claim 1, it would have been obvious to have used Sato’s teaching of dynamically adjusting the speed of the winding storage, either inside or outside the safe, to be larger than or smaller than the speed of the transport device, and thus to be either smaller or larger than the speed of the other winding storage either inside or outside the safe, in Amano's sheet processing apparatus with first and second storages, transport device and safe since both Sato’s and Amano's devices have predictable structure and function and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the efficacy and synergy of the combination based upon the references' teachings as well as common sense, logic and reason.
Regarding Claim 13, Amano teaches wherein the transport device (41, 411, 43, 431) has a transport-device-side working point, i.e., sorting mechanism (433) as mentioned at paragraphs 52 and 53, located closest to the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) in a section where the transport device (41, 411, 43, 431) exerts a force to the sheet, noting that these elements are all interpreted as exerting a force to the sheet, the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) has a first-storage-side working point, i.e., the brake control as mentioned at paragraph 80, last sentence, stating that “brake control is executed to stop the rotation of the reel 311, causing the reel 311 to stop” indicating braking elements internal to the storage, located closest to the transport device (41, 411, 43, 431) in a section where the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) exerts a force to the sheet, i.e., the reel (311) and the associated tapes and winding rollers internal to the storage, a distance between the transport-device-side working point and the first-storage-side working point is shorter than a transport-direction length of the sheet, i.e., noting the pitch between the banknotes/sheets are controlled as illustrated in figure 8 and as mentioned at paragraphs 78-80, and the processing circuitry (513) controls the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) and the transport device (41, 411, 43, 431) so as to start deceleration of the winding speed to the slower target speed, as illustrated in figure 7c, for example, when a tailing edge, in a moving direction, of the sheet to be passed from the transport device (41, 411, 43, 431) to the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) reaches the first-storage-side working point, noting that paragraph 58 mentions in the fourth sentence, i.e., “[e]ach of these units 21, 23, 3, 41, and 43 includes various sensors (not shown) having a function of detecting banknotes being transported on the transport path, and the detection by the various sensors is the signal is input to the control unit 513” and noting that regardless of whether the leading or trailing edge of the banknote is sensed still results in the sensors sensing the banknote and the controller (513) adjusting the speeds of both the internal banknote transport units and the external banknote transport units accordingly.
Regarding Claim 15, Amano teaches wherein the processing circuitry (513) controls the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) and the transport device (41, 411, 43, 431) so that the first winding speed transitions to the slower target speed of 0, as illustrated in figure 7c, showing the change in speed to a target speed, as mentioned at paragraph 78-80, for example.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano et al (JP 2014-085783 A) in view of Sato et al (JP 2000123219 A), further in view of Csulits et al (US 8,944,234 B1) and further in view of Amo (US 2013/0081922 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Amano teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 14, Amano does not expressly teach wherein the sheet is one of a plurality of types of sheets which are different from each other in the transport-direction length; and the distance is shorter than the transport-direction length of the sheet with a shortest transport-direction length among the plurality of types of sheets.
Regarding Claim 14, Amano does not expressly teach, but Csulits teaches wherein the sheet is one of a plurality of types of sheets which are different from each other in the transport-direction length, as mentioned at col. 82, lines 41-50, stating as follows.
According to some embodiments, international currency bills, such as, for example, the Euro, have varying sizes (e.g., length, times, width dimensions) based on denomination. Thus, a coordinate location of one or more serial numbers on a visually readable image of a Euro currency bill will vary for each of the different Euro denominations. Thus, in these embodiments, denominating the Euro currency bills provides a coordinate location of one or more serial numbers for a particular Euro denomination, which, as described above, can reduce the processing time for extracting the serial number.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 14, Amano does not expressly teach, but Amo teaches the distance is shorter than the transport-direction length of the sheet with a shortest transport-direction length among the plurality of types of sheets, noting figure 5 illustrates the length of the banknote/sheet versus the shoring intervals between prior and subsequent banknotes in the travel direction and figures 12 and 18 illustrate the velocities corresponding to the length of the banknote. See also paragraphs 189-193, 193 and 253-55, for example.
Regarding Claim 14, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the sheet is one of a plurality of types of sheets which are different from each other in the transport-direction length; and the distance is shorter than the transport-direction length of the sheet with a shortest transport-direction length among the plurality of types of sheets, as taught by Csulits and Amo, in Amano’s sheet processing apparatus for the purpose of accommodating banknotes of various lengths and widths in the tape winding storage so as to maintain a consistent storing interval between each banknote regardless of its length and thus denomination, and thus maintain the balance of the winding reel so that banknotes are not wound around the winding roller unevenly. See paragraph 24 of Amo
Claim(s) 2, 6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano et al (JP 2014-085783 A) in view of Sato et al (JP 2000123219 A) and further in view of Young (US 9,934,642 B2).
Regarding Claims 2, 6 and 8-10, Amano teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 2, Amano does not expressly teach wherein, in a case that a number of a plurality of the sheets stored in the first storage is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, the processing circuitry controls the first storage, the second storage, and the transport device so that the plurality of sheets stored in the first storage are temporarily stored in the second storage and then returned to the first storage.
Regarding Claim 2, Amano does not expressly teach, but Young teaches wherein, in a case that a number of a plurality of the sheets stored in the first storage is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, the processing circuitry, i.e., controller (100), microprocessor (110) and memory (120), controls the first storage (50, 55a, 55b, 60, 70) as illustrated in figure 1, the second storage (50, 55a, 55b, 60, 70), and the transport unit, i.e, transport mechanism (40), as illustrated in figure 1, so that the plurality of sheets stored in the first storage (50, 55a, 55b, 60, 70) are temporarily stored in the second storage (50, 55a, 55b, 60, 70) and then returned to the first storage (50, 55a, 55b, 60, 70), as mentioned at col. 5, lines 11-57, which state as follows.
(18) The controller 100 can also be adapted to cause modification of an order of the queue on the recycler drum 55b based on the classes of the leading documents in the queue (e.g., the documents near the front of the queue). For example, the controller 100 can reorder the queue by utilizing an escrow process with the first recycler drum 55a and/or by sending documents to the document cassette 60 to place the low-denomination classes nearer to the front of the queue (e.g., into leading positions). The controller 100 can then subsequently store the input document on the recycler drum 55b.
(19) The controller 100 can use an escrow process to move documents from one recycler drum to another to circumvent the queue configuration (e.g., LIFO). For example, FIG. 2 is a series of diagrams (200a-200d) illustrating an escrow process between two logical document recyclers (e.g., recycler drums 55a and 55b). In the illustrated implementation, the documents are banknotes and the logical document recyclers have a logical LIFO queue (also referred to as a logical “stack”). At 200a, the first recycler queue 210 stores exclusively $1 document and the second recycler queue 220 contains a $20 document in the front (or top) position, a $5 document in a second-to-front position, and a $10 document in the third-to-front position. The $20 document can be moved from the second recycler queue 220 to the first recycler queue 210, for example, as shown at 200b. The $5 document is now in the front position of the second recycler queue 220. The $5 document can then be dispensed as shown, for example, at 200c. The $20 document can then be transported back to the second logical recycler queue 220. Thus, the first logical recycler can serve as an escrow for dispensing documents from the second logical recycler in any desired sequence. In some implementations, at least a portion of the capacity of one of the recycler drums 55a and 55b can be reserved for escrow.
(20) Document cassette 60 can also be utilized for circumventing the queue configuration (e.g., LIFO) of the recycler storage drums 55a and 55b. For example, in the implementation in which the documents are banknotes and the second recycler drum 55b contains a $20 document in the front position and a $5 document in a second-to-front position in a LIFO queue, the document handler 10 can move the $20 document to the document cassette 60, then dispense the $5 document to a user. Because the document cassette 60 is a one-way storage unit, the $20 document remains in the document cassette 20 and may not return to the second recycler drum 55b.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 2, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein, in a case that a number of a plurality of the sheets stored in the first storage is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, the processing circuitry controls the first storage, the second storage, and the transport device so that the plurality of sheets stored in the first storage are temporarily stored in the second storage and then returned to the first storage, as taught by Young, in Amano’s sheet processing apparatus for the purpose of managing the sheet processing apparatus inventory by balancing the various denominations between each of the banknote storage devices.
Regarding Claim 6, Amano does not expressly teach, further comprising a recognition unit/sensor that recognizes the sheet being transported by the transport device, wherein the processing circuitry controls the first storage, the second storage and the transport device so that the sheet recognized by the recognition unit/sensor is temporarily stored in the second storage and then stored in the first storage.
Regarding Claim 6, Amano does not expressly teach, but Young teaches further comprising a recognition unit/sensor, i.e., authentication unit (30), as mentioned at col. 4, lines 1-18, that recognizes the sheet being transported by the transport device(40), wherein the processing circuitry (100, 110, 120) controls the first storage (50, 55a, 55b, 60, 70), the second storage (50, 55a, 55b, 60, 70), and the transport device (40) so that the sheet recognized by the recognition unit/sensor (30) is temporarily stored in the second storage (50, 55a, 55b, 60, 70) and then stored in the first storage (50, 55a, 55b, 60, 70), noting also that Young teaches the inventory balancing algorithms as mentioned at col. 5, lines 11-57 and noting figure 2 and noting that the escrow process utilizes a storage for temporary storing of banknotes within the process.
Regarding Claim 8, Amano teaches further comprising an inlet (211) that takes in the sheet, wherein the transport device(41, 411, 43, 431) transports the sheet from the inlet (211) to the second storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) via the recognition unit/sensor (25) at the first transport speed (V1), as illustrated in figure 5 and as illustrated in figure 10, for example.
Regarding Claim 9, Amano does not expressly teach further comprising recognition unit/sensor that recognizes the sheet transported by the transport device wherein the processing circuitry controls the first storage, the second storage and the transport device so that the sheet stored in the first storage is recognized by the recognition unit/sensor and then stored in the second storage.
Regarding Claim 9, Amano teaches further comprising a recognition unit/sensor (25), as illustrated in figure 5 and as mentioned at paragraphs 52 and 53, for example, that recognizes the sheet transported by the transport device(41, 411, 43, 431), wherein the processing circuitry (513) controls the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8), the second storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8), and the transport device(41, 411, 43, 431) so that the sheet stored in the first storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8) is recognized by the recognition unit/sensor (25) and then stored in the second storage (21, 23, 31, 31-1 to 31-8), noting also that Young teaches the inventory balancing algorithms as previously mentioned that enable the controller to move the sheet to the first storage and then to the second storage as illustrated at Young, figure 2, for example.
Regarding Claim 10, see the rejection of Claims 1 and 2, above.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano et al (JP 2014-085783 A) in view of Sato et al (JP 2000123219 A), further in view of Young (US 9,934,642 B2) and further in view of Amo (US 2013/0081922 A1).
Regarding Claims 3-5 and 7, Amano teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 3, Amano does not expressly teach wherein, in a case that a diameter of a winding body including the sheet, the tape, and the drum is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, the processing circuitry controls the first storage, the second storage, and the transport device so that the sheet stored in the first storage is temporarily stored in the second storage and then returned to the first storage.
Regarding Claim 3, Amano does not expressly teach wherein, but Amo teaches, in a case that a diameter of a winding body, i.e., winding roller (38), including the sheet, the tape, and the drum is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, the processing circuitry (202) controls the first storage (20, 21), the second storage (20, 21), and the transport device(17) so that the sheet stored in the first storage is temporarily stored in the second storage (20, 21) and then returned to the first storage (20, 21) as mentioned at paragraphs 73, 74, 77 and 78, which states as follows.
[0073] Thus, upon the storing process for the banknotes, the support member 66 is swayed to separate the center of the winding roller 38 from the guide roller 45, with increase of the outer diameter of the winding roller 38, as the tapes 36, 37 are respectively wound around the roller 38. Meanwhile, upon the feeding process for the banknotes, the support member 66 is swayed to bring the center of the winding roller 30 nearer to the guide roller 45, with decrease of the outer diameter of the winding roller 38, as the tapes 36, 37 are respectively rewound from the roller 38.
[0074] A full detection sensor 68 for detecting a state full of the stored banknotes is provided to one side plate 31 of the frame 32. In this case, the full detection sensor 68 can serve to detect a part of one side plate section 64 of the support member 66, when the support member 66 reaches a position in which this support member 66 is most swayed (i.e., a point depicted in FIG. 3(b)) in a direction for separating the center of the winding roller 38 from the guide roller 45 upon the storing process for the banknotes. For instance, the full detection sensor 68 is a photo-interrupter that is capable of detecting the state full of the stored banknotes when certain light is blocked by the side plate section 64.
[0077] In order to detect and control the rotation of the winding roller 38, a rotation detection unit, such as a rotary encoder or the like, adapted for detecting the amount of rotations of the motor 70 is attached to the drive shaft of the motor 70 that is a part moved together with the winding roller 38. With this configuration, pulses are generated from the rotary encoder with the rotations of the motor 70, and thus the amount of rotations of the motor 70 and/or winding roller 38 driven by the motor 70 can be detected, based on the number of such pulses. For instance, the amount of rotations of the motor 70 is accumulated and recorded, in advance, over a period of time in which the number of the banknotes wound around the winding roller 38 is increased from zero (0) to a certain number corresponding to the state full of the banknotes, and then a proper table is prepared for prescribing a relationship between the accumulated amount of rotations of the motor 70 and the outer diameter of the winding roller 38. In this way, the control unit 202 can obtain a certain outer diameter of the winding roller 38 corresponding to any given accumulated amount of rotations of the motor 70. As such, the length of the wound or rewound tape (i.e., the length of the tape fed in the machine) can be calculated from the so-obtained outer diameter of the winding roller 38 and/or from the amount of rotations of the motor 70. Further, the outer-circumferential speed of the winding roller 38 can be calculated from the outer diameter of the winding roller 38 and the rotation speed of the motor 70. Thus, the control unit 202 can control the rotation speed of the motor 70, such that the outer-circumferential speed of the winding roller 38 (i.e., the feed speed of the tapes) can be adjusted to a target speed.
[0078] In place of using the accumulated amount of rotations of the motor 70, the number of the stored banknotes may be used. Namely, the relationship between the number of the stored banknotes and the outer diameter of the winding roller 38 can also be applied in practical control performed by the control unit 202. Alternatively, the relationship, between the accumulated amount of rotations of the motor 70 and/or number of the stored banknotes and the rotation speed of the motor 70 by which the outer-circumferential speed of the winding roller 38 can be adjusted to the target speed, may be used. For more strict control, it is preferred to measure the feed speed and/or feed length of the tapes by using the rotary encoder or the like means attached to each guide 43, 44.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 3, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein, in a case that a diameter of a winding body including the sheet, the tape, and the drum is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, the processing circuitry controls the first storage, the second storage, and the transport deviceso that the sheet stored in the first storage is temporarily stored in the second storage and then returned to the first storage, as taught by Amo, in Amano’s sheet processing apparatus for the purpose of managing the sheet processing apparatus inventory by balancing the various denominations between each of the banknote storage devices.
Note that since Young teaches balancing the number of banknotes between banknote storage devices as mentioned in col. 5, lines 11-57 and as illustrated in figures 9 and 10, it would have been obvious to have used Amo’s winding body diameter detection sensor to determine fullness of the winding body since diameter of the winding body is equivalent to the degree of fullness of the winding body with a particular number of banknotes and Young teaches moving banknotes between winding body storage units when one of them is full.
Therefore, regarding Claim 3, it would have been obvious to have used Amo’s diameter detection sensor along with Young’s inventory balancing algorithms in Amano’s sheet processing apparatus since Amo’s, Young’s and Amano's devices have predictable structure and function and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the efficacy and synergy of the combination based upon the references' teachings as well as common sense, logic and reason.
Regarding Claim 4, Amano does not expressly teach wherein the processing circuitry controls, based on information on an interval between a plurality of the sheets wound around the drum in the first storage, the first storage, the second storage, and the transport device so that the plurality of sheets stored in the first storage are temporarily stored in the second storage and then returned to the first storage.
Regarding Claim 4, Amano does not expressly teach, but Amo teaches wherein the processing circuitry (202) controls, based on information on an interval between a plurality of the sheets wound around the drum in the first storage (20, 21), the first storage (20, 21), the second storage (20, 21), and the transport device(17) so that the plurality of sheets stored in the first storage (20, 21) are temporarily stored in the second storage (20, 21) and then returned to the first storage (20, 21), noting also that Young teaches the inventory balancing algorithms as previously mentioned.
Regarding Claim 5, Amano does not expressly teach, wherein the processing circuitry acquires time information, and wherein the processing circuitry controls, based on the time information, the first storage, the second storage, and the transport device so that the sheet stored in the first storage is temporarily stored in the second storage and then returned to the first storage.
Regarding Claim 5, Amano does not expressly teach, but Amo teaches wherein the processing circuitry (202) acquires time information, i.e, the waiting time as illustrated in figures 4 and 6, for example, and wherein the processing circuitry (2020) controls, based on the time information, the first storage (20, 21), the second storage (20, 21), and the transport device(17) so that the sheet stored in the first storage (20, 21) is temporarily stored in the second storage (20, 21) and then returned to the first storage (20, 21), noting also that Young teaches the inventory balancing algorithms as previously mentioned.
Regarding Claim 7, Amano does not expressly teach wherein the processing circuitry controls, based on information on an interval between a plurality of the sheets stored in the second storage, the first storage, the second storage, and the transport device so that the plurality of sheets stored in the second storage are transported from the second storage to the first storage.
Regarding Claim 7, Amano does not expressly teach, but Amo teaches wherein the processing circuitry (202) controls, based on information on an interval, i.e., the storing interval as illustrated in figure 5, between a plurality of the sheets stored in the second storage (20, 21), the first storage (20, 21), the second storage (20, 21), and the transport device(17) so that the plurality of sheets stored in the second storage (20, 21) are transported from the second storage (20, 21) to the first storage (20, 21), noting also that Young teaches the inventory balancing algorithms as previously mentioned.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano et al (JP 2014-085783 A) in view of Sato et al (JP 2000123219 A) and further in view of Fukuda (WO 2018/021156 A1) as translated by Fukuda (US 2019/0172292 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Amano teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 17, Amano does not expressly teach wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform a reconciliation process to check the sheet in the first storage by transporting the sheet from the first storage to the second storage, and the reconciliation process includes the reciprocating transport process.
Regarding Claim 17, Amano does not expressly teach, but Fukuda teaches wherein the processing circuitry (15), as illustrated in figure 5, is configured to perform a reconciliation process, as illustrated in figure 34, for example, to check the sheet in the first storage by transporting the sheet from the first storage, i.e., either of winding storages (371 and 372), as mentioned in paragraph 360, for example, to the second storage, i.e., temporary storage (34), and the reconciliation process includes the reciprocating transport process, i.e., via the transport devices (411-414, 417 and 418), noting the storage devices (371, 372) are within the safe (13) and the temporary winding storage (34) outside the safe (13), and noting the bi-directional arrows both solid and broken, as illustrated in figure 34. See also paragraphs 338 and 399, for example, mentioning that the temporary storage (34) may be used in a reconciliation process. See also paragraphs 262 and 389-399, mentioning the reconciliation process, for example.
Regarding Claim 17, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein, in a case that a diameter of a winding body including the sheet, the tape, and the drum is greater than or equal to a predetermined value, the processing circuitry controls the first storage, the second storage, and the transport device so that the sheet stored in the first storage is temporarily stored in the second storage and then returned to the first storage, as taught by Fukuda, in Amano’s sheet processing apparatus for the purpose of managing the sheet processing apparatus inventory by checking and verifying the amounts of banknotes stored in all of the storages within the sheet processing apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-10, 13-15 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Note also that regardless of whether or not the first and/or second storages are located within or outside the safe, Sato teaches the variance in speed between a winding storage and its associated transport device during forward and return paths in the reciprocating process, i.e., construed as feeding banknotes to and from each of the winding storages and the transport devices, such as performed during reconciliation processes as taught by Fukuda, for the purpose of reducing the need for strict speed matching between the winding storage mechanisms, drums and rollers with the transport device, as taught by Sato, thus simplifying the processing/control circuitry.
Additionally, note that because Amano teaches the winding storages in the safe as well as the winding storage (51) outside the safe in the upper portion of the sheet processing device, necessarily performs a reciprocating transport process between the winding storages of the safe and the temporary storage (51).
Additionally, although not claimed, Sato’s variance in speed is considered to be dynamic in nature as forces in motion are involved with both the winding storage mechanisms such as the drums and rollers as well as the transport device mechanisms, belts and rollers. Sato’s speed variance control routine is also considered to be dynamic winding speed control transitioning from initial speed to slower speed and back.
Therefore, Claims 1-10, 13-15 and 17 are rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
June 17, 2026