DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states that the biological glass fiber forms a single bare fiber configuration “and” a hybrid construction fiber configuration. The specification states that a glass is made into a single bare fiber “or” a hybrid construction ([0011] and [0052]). It is unclear what fiber structure is necessary to be considered the claimed fiber that forms a single bare fiber configuration “and” a hybrid construction fiber configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPAP 2015/0209095 to Lu in view of USPAP 2004/0009598 to Hench, USPAP 2010/0136131 to Roberts, and/or USPAP 2019/0099515 to Bagga.
Claim 1, Lu discloses a biological (bioactive) glass fiber for regenerative medical materials, comprising a biological glass or a biologically-inert glass; wherein the biological glass fiber forms a single bare fiber configuration and a hybrid construction fiber configuration comprising a hybrid solid fiber configuration that includes an outer layer made of bioinert glass and a center made of biological glass surrounded by the outer layer, and an intermediate layer made of bioinert glass between the outer layer and the center (see entire document including [0051]). Lu explicitly discloses that the fiber comprises a core (center) layer, a middle (intermediate) layer, and a shell (outer) layer wherein at least one layer is made of bioinert glass material and at least one layer is made of bioactive (biological) glass material and wherein the core and/or middle layer is made of a bioactive (biological) glass material and the shell is made of bioinert glass [0051].
Lu does not appear to mention specific biological glass compositions but Hench discloses that it is known in the art to use a biological (bioactive) glass fiber for regenerative medical materials comprising a biological glass chemical composition comprising: 5 to 25 wt% Na2O, 45 to 67 wt% SiO2, 15 to 25 wt% CaO, and 2 to 6 wt% P2O5, based on 100 wt% of the glass chemical composition (see entire document including [0001], [0007] and [0032]-[0036]). In addition, Roberts discloses that it is known in the art to use a biological (bioactive) glass fiber for regenerative medical materials comprising a biological glass composition comprising: 5 to 25 wt% Na2O, 45 to 67 wt% SiO2, 15 to 25 wt% CaO, and 2 to 6 wt% P2O5, based on 100 wt% of the glass chemical composition (see entire document including [0012], [0034]-[0038] and [0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the biological (bioactive) glass of Lu from any suitable biological glass composition, such as claimed, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claim 2, the glass chemical composition of the biological glass further comprises 1 to 8 wt% MgO and 8 to 12.5 wt% K2O ([0036] of Hench and [0038] of Roberts).
Claim 10, Lu discloses that the fiber may include bioinert glass with X-ray opacity [0051].
Claim 11, Lu does not appear to mention the fiber being made to have different regenerative material absorption times in a human or animal organism, based on either glass chemical composition modification or fiber component diameter sizing parameters, but Bagga discloses that it is known in the art to engineer components with two more materials having different regenerative material absorption times to vary the resorption rates ([0079]-[0081]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the fibers of Hench as claimed to vary the resorption rates.
Claim 12, Lu does not appear to mention the fiber diameter but Bagga discloses that it is known in the art to construct fibers with a diameter of between 3 and 25µm [0078]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the fibers with any suitable diameter, such as claimed, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known fiber size on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789