DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on September 12, 2025 has been entered.
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 18 are amended.
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 7-13, and 17-20 are pending this application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 11-13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horng (US 2019/0365244 A1), in view of Lazaro et al (Hindawi 2014) and Teder (US 6124691 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Horng teaches a method for detecting vital information, comprising [0019]:
transmitting an incident radar signal to a field and receiving a reflected radar signal corresponding to the field [0022 for transmitting W1 and receiving reflected R1, 0026];
to obtain a body reflection signal of an object to be measured and a tag reflection signal of a sensing tag [0019 for using a NS or tag means for vital sensing, and 0022-0023];
obtaining vital information according to phase information of the body reflection signal [0022, 0025-0026];
and obtaining information according to an energy intensity of the tag reflection signal [0029-0030].
Horng fails to explicitly teach a humidity sensor, and demodulating the reflected radar signal according to two different frequencies to obtain a reflections signal, wherein the humidity sensing tag comprises a humidity detection antenna to backscatter the incident radar signal into the reflected radar signal, and the resonant frequency of the humidity detection antenna is affected by humidity; wherein the body reflection signal is obtained by demodulating the reflected radar signal according to a frequency the same as the frequency of the incident radar signal, and the tag reflection signal is obtained by demodulating the reflected radar signal according to twice the frequency corresponding to the incident radar signal.
Lazaro has s a passive harmonic tag for radio frequency identification (RFID) and wireless sensor applications (page 1, abstract) and teaches a humidity sensor [page 2, section 2.1],
and demodulating the reflected radar signal according to two different frequencies to obtain a reflections signal [page 2, section 2.1],
wherein the humidity sensing tag comprises a humidity detection antenna to backscatter the incident radar signal into the reflected radar signal, and the resonant frequency of the humidity detection antenna is affected by humidity [page 2, section 2.1 and page 3, left column, last paragraph];
wherein the body reflection signal is obtained by demodulating the reflected radar signal according to a frequency the same as the frequency of the incident radar signal [page 2, section 2.1],
and the tag reflection signal is obtained by demodulating the reflected radar signal according to twice the frequency corresponding to the incident radar signal [page 2, section 2.1 for a frequency doubler].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensing circuitry techniques, as disclosed by Horng, further including the humidity calculations as taught by Lazaro for the purpose to exploit the receiver’s sensitivity (page 2, section 2.1).
Horng fails to explicitly teach wherein the humidity information is determined according to a result of comparing at least one of (i) the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal and (ii) a variation amount of the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal with a threshold.
Teder has moisture sensor for detecting moisture on the surface of a transparent material (abstract) and teaches wherein the humidity information is determined according to a result of comparing at least one of (i) the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal and (ii) a variation amount of the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal with a threshold [col 3, lines 40-55, and col 5, lines 1-25 for maximizing energy to the detector output signal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensing circuitry techniques, as disclosed by Horng, further including the intensity calculations as taught by Teder for the purpose to pass the most energy to the detector output signal (Teder, col 5, lines 1-15).
Regarding Claim 11, Horng teaches a radio frequency radar device, comprising [0020]:
a transmission unit, configured to transmit an incident radar signal to a field [0021-0022];
a receiving unit, configured to receive a reflected radar signal corresponding to the field [0023];
a demodulation unit, coupled to the transmission unit and the receiving unit [0023],
to obtain a body reflection signal of an object to be measured and a tag reflection signal of a humidity sensing tag [0019 for using a NS or tag means for vital sensing, and 0022-0023],
a processing unit, coupled to the transmission unit, the receiving unit, and the
demodulation unit [0019, 0027],
and configured to obtain vital information according to phase information of
the body reflection signal [0022, 0025-0026].
Horng fails to explicitly teach demodulate the reflected radar signal according to two different frequencies to obtain a reflection signal, wherein the humidity sensing tag comprises a humidity detection antenna to backscatter the incident radar signal into the reflected radar signal, and the resonant frequency of the humidity detection antenna is affected by humidity; and obtain humidity information according to an energy intensity of the tag reflection signal; wherein the body reflection signal is obtained by demodulating the reflected radar signal according to a frequency the same as the frequency of the incident radar signal, and the tag reflection signal is obtained by demodulating the reflected radar signal according to twice the frequency corresponding to the incident radar signal.
Lazaro has s a passive harmonic tag for radio frequency identification (RFID) and wireless sensor applications (page 1, abstract) and teaches a humidity sensor [page 2, section 2.1],
and demodulate the reflected radar signal according to two different frequencies to obtain a reflections signal [page 2, section 2.1],
wherein the humidity sensing tag comprises a humidity detection antenna to backscatter the incident radar signal into the reflected radar signal, and the resonant frequency of the humidity detection antenna is affected by humidity [page 2, section 2.1 and page 3, left column, last paragraph];
and obtain humidity information according to an energy intensity of the tag reflection signal [page 2, section 2.1 for using tag reflection amplitude (energy intensity)]
wherein the body reflection signal is obtained by demodulating the reflected radar signal according to a frequency the same as the frequency of the incident radar signal [page 2, section 2.1],
and the tag reflection signal is obtained by demodulating the reflected radar signal according to twice the frequency corresponding to the incident radar signal [page 2, section 2.1 for a frequency doubler].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensing circuitry techniques, as disclosed by Horng, further including the humidity calculations as taught by Lazaro for the purpose to exploit the receiver’s sensitivity (page 2, section 2.1).
Horng fails to explicitly teach wherein the humidity information is determined according to a result of comparing at least one of (i) the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal and (ii) a variation amount of the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal with a threshold.
Teder has moisture sensor for detecting moisture on the surface of a transparent material (abstract) and teaches wherein the humidity information is determined according to a result of comparing at least one of (i) the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal and (ii) a variation amount of the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal with a threshold [col 3, lines 40-55, and col 5, lines 1-25 for maximizing energy to the detector output signal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensing circuitry techniques, as disclosed by Horng, further including the intensity calculations as taught by Teder for the purpose to pass the most energy to the detector output signal (Teder, col 5, lines 1-15).
Regarding Claim 18, Horng teaches radio frequency radar device, comprising [0020]:
a transmission unit, configured to transmit two incident radar signals with different frequencies to a field [0021-0022];
a receiving unit, configured to receive a reflected radar signal corresponding to the field [0022-0023];
a first demodulation circuit, coupled to the transmission unit and the receiving unit, receiving the incident radar signal with a first frequency [0023],
and configured to demodulate the reflected radar signal according to the first frequency, to obtain a body reflection signal [0019 for using a NS or tag means for vital sensing, and 0022-0023];
a second demodulation circuit, coupled to the transmission unit and the receiving unit, receiving the incident radar signal with a second frequency [0026-0027, 0035-0036];
and a processing unit, coupled to the transmission unit, the receiving unit, the first demodulation circuit [0019, 0027],
and the second demodulation circuit, and configured to obtain vital information according to phase information of the body reflection signal [0022, 0025-0026],
and obtain information according to an energy intensity of the tag reflection signal [0029-0030].
Horng fails to explicitly teach humidity information and configured to demodulate the reflected radar signal according to the second frequency, to obtain a tag reflection signal, wherein the second frequency is different from the first frequency, wherein the humidity sensing tag comprises a humidity detection antenna to backscatter the incident radar signal into the reflected radar signal, and the resonant frequency of the humidity detection antenna is affected by humidity.
Lazaro has s a passive harmonic tag for radio frequency identification (RFID) and wireless sensor applications (page 1, abstract) and teaches a humidity sensor [page 2, section 2.1],
humidity information and configured to demodulate the reflected radar signal according to the second frequency, to obtain a tag reflection signal [page 2, section 2.1],
wherein the second frequency is different from the first frequency, wherein the humidity sensing tag comprises a humidity detection antenna to backscatter the incident radar signal into the reflected radar signal [page 2, section 2.1 and page 3, left column, last paragraph];
and the resonant frequency of the humidity detection antenna is affected by humidity [page 2, section 2.1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensing circuitry techniques, as disclosed by Horng, further including the humidity calculations as taught by Lazaro for the purpose to exploit the receiver’s sensitivity (page 2, section 2.1).
Horng fails to explicitly teach wherein the humidity information is determined according to a result of comparing at least one of (i) the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal and (ii) a variation amount of the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal with a threshold.
Teder has moisture sensor for detecting moisture on the surface of a transparent material (abstract) and teaches wherein the humidity information is determined according to a result of comparing at least one of (i) the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal and (ii) a variation amount of the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal with a threshold [col 3, lines 40-55, and col 5, lines 1-25 for maximizing energy to the detector output signal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensing circuitry techniques, as disclosed by Horng, further including the intensity calculations as taught by Teder for the purpose to pass the most energy to the detector output signal (Teder, col 5, lines 1-15).
Regarding Claim 2, Horng teaches the sensing tag comprises an input antenna configured to receive the incident radar signal [0019-0020],
Horng fails to explicitly teach a humidity sensor and a frequency multiplication circuit configured to multiply the frequency of the incident radar signal to generate a frequency multiplied signal, and an output antenna configured to transmit the frequency-multiplied signal as the reflected radar signa backscattered by the humidity sensing tag.
Lazaro has s a passive harmonic tag for radio frequency identification (RFID) and wireless sensor applications (page 1, abstract) and teaches a humidity sensor [page 2, section 2.1],
and a frequency multiplication circuit configured to multiply the frequency of the incident radar signal to generate a frequency multiplied signal, and an output antenna configured to transmit the frequency-multiplied signal as the reflected radar signa backscattered by the humidity sensing tag [page 1, left column, last paragraph and page 2 section 2.1 for a frequency doubler (multiplying the frequency)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensing circuitry techniques, as disclosed by Horng, further including the humidity calculations as taught by Lazaro for the purpose to exploit the receiver’s sensitivity (page 2, section 2.1).
Regarding Claim 3 and 13, Horng teaches the body reflection signal and the tag reflection signal are obtained by demodulating the reflected radar signal according to a frequency corresponding to the incident radar signal [0027-0029].
Regarding Claim 7 and 17, Horng teaches distinguishing a type of the obtained vital information according to an oscillation frequency of the phase information [0037, 0040].
Regarding Claim 8, Horng teaches transmitting another incident radar signal with a different frequency to the field [0042].
Regarding Claim 9, Horng teaches the body reflection signal is obtained by demodulating the reflected radar signal according to a frequency [0022-0025]
corresponding to one of the two incident radar signals, and the tag reflection signal is obtained by demodulating the reflected radar signal according to a frequency corresponding to the other of the two incident radar signals [0022-0025 for having two incident signals element R1 and R2].
Regarding Claim 12, Horng teaches the demodulation unit comprises [0022]:
a first demodulation circuit, coupled to the transmission unit and the receiving unit, receiving the incident radar signal from the transmission unit [0037, 0040-0041],
and configured to demodulate the reflected radar signal according to a frequency corresponding to the incident radar signal, to obtain the body reflection signal [0037 for first incident signal R1];
and a second demodulation circuit, coupled to the transmission unit and the receiving unit, receiving the frequency-multiplied incident radar signal from the transmission unit [0039 for second demodulation circuit, with incident signals element R1 and R2],
and configured to demodulate the reflected radar signal according to twice the frequency corresponding to the incident radar signal, to obtain the tag reflection signal [0040-0042].
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horng (US 2019/0365244 A1), in view of Lazaro et al (Hindawi 2014) and Teder (US 6124691 A), as applied to Claim 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2018/0256030A1).
Regarding Claim 10 and 20, Horng fails to explicitly teach the two incident radar signals are transmitted in a time-division duplex manner.
Lee has a medical system and method of communicating between a telemetry controller (abstract) and teaches the two incident radar signals are transmitted in a time-division duplex manner [0006].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensing circuitry techniques, as disclosed by Horng, further including the data transfer calculations as taught by Lee for the purpose to allow the medical device transmits uplink data to the TC in a given time slot (Lee, 0006).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horng (US 2019/0365244 A1), in view of Lazaro et al (Hindawi 2014) and Teder (US 6124691 A), as applied to Claim 18 above, and further in view of Parker JR (US 10,271,766 B1).
Regarding Claim 19, Horng fails to explicitly teach an antenna of the transmission unit comprises a millimeter-wave antenna and an ultra-high frequency band antenna.
Parker has a method to facilitating determination of the oxygen consumption, carbon dioxide production (abstract) and teaches antenna of the transmission unit comprises a millimeter-wave antenna and an ultra-high frequency band antenna [col 27, lines 25-40].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the sensing circuitry techniques, as disclosed by Horng, further including the communication calculations as taught by Parker for the purpose to transmits a signal that does not require the use of a wire and/or guide connecting a transmitter and a receiver (Parker, col 27, lines 25-40).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On page 12 third paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Horng fails to teach two different frequencies. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Horng uses the oscillator to product frequency variations (different frequencies) [Horng, 0022].
On page 12 last paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Lazaro fails to teach two different frequencies. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Lazaro uses both a frequency doubles and the backscattered signal in a second harmonic (both are different frequencies) [Lazaro, page 2, right column, last paragraph].
On page 15 fourth paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Lazaro teaches away the energy intensity of the tag reflection signal. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Lazaro is using capacitance and different frequency values to increase humidity sensitivity (energy) [Lazaro, page 4, left column, last paragraph].
On page 17 second paragraph of applicant’s arguments, the applicant states that Horng and Lazaro fail to teach the demodulation of two frequencies, and the energy intensity of the tags. The examiner respectfully disagrees: Teder teaches maximizing moisture detection energy [Teder, col5, lines 1-15].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648