DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s remarks and amendments, filed 17 March 2026 in response to the non-final rejection mailed 1 October 2025, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims are acknowledged. The listing of claims filed 17 March 2026 replaces all prior versions and listings of the claims.
Claims 1-23 are pending. Claims 18-23 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-15 and 17 are amended. Claims 1-17 are being examined on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Any previous rejection or objection not mentioned herein is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to Claims 4, 7, 9, 11, and 13 have overcome the Claims objection in regards to minor informalities. The objection to Claims 4, 7, 9, 11, and 13 has thus been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, on page 21 of the reply filed 17 March 2026 with respect to the rejection of Claims 6 and 7 under 35 USC § 112(d) have been fully considered. The rejections of Claims 6 and 7 are withdrawn due to amendment of the claims.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, on page 20 of the reply filed 17 March 2026 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-17 under 35 USC § 112(b) have been fully considered and found persuasive. The rejections of Claims 1-17 are therefore withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13 are objected to because the parenthetical phrase "a/k/a., PTGS1" is redundant. The limitation “COX1” is understood to comprise all synonyms thereof. The parenthetical phrase can either be deleted or the phrase replaced with --COX1 (PTGS1)--, or similarly amended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(grounds modified as necessitated by amendment)
Claims 4, 7, 9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, 7, 9, 11, and 13 are rejected because it is unclear to what the phrase “in each instance” is in reference to regarding the compounds. Are all of the listed compounds found in each of the natural extracts? Are multiple natural extracts present for a single compound? Phrasing such as “when the one or more direct endocannabinoid mimetic compounds is contained in a natural extract, the natural extract is selected from the group consisting of…or combinations thereof,” or similar commensurate in scope with the instant disclosure. Clarification is necessary.
Regarding Claim 4 the parenthetical “root” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
(maintained)
Claims 1-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-15 and 17 are directed to a natural product (i.e., a law of nature/a natural phenomenon). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception – i.e., as drafted, the claims read upon a product of nature (i.e., a law of nature/a natural phenomenon) for the following reasons:
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant’s claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes.
The analysis then moves to Step 2A, Prong One, which asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant’s claims recite natural extracts from the various plant and animal sources listed in Claims 4, 7, 9, 11, and 13. Thus, the claims do recite products of nature.
MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that “When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A.”
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that “if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is a product of nature exception…”. To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states “The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties…”.
In this case, extraction of plants only concentrates and portions the naturally occurring compounds in the plants which are soluble or insoluble in the particular solvent. General extraction does not necessarily result in a markedly distinct change in the naturally occurring compounds from the plant. Thus, while a solvent extract itself may not be found in the nature, the compounds which are present in the plant and soluble in the selected solvent are found in nature. The creation of a solvent extract only partitions and concentrates the molecules that are naturally in the plant. There is no evidence or reason to expect that any new compounds are formed. The extract itself is a combination of the naturally occurring compounds that are simply soluble in a particular solvent. Thus, while extraction of the compounds with the selected solvent would separate a portion of the plant matter away from the naturally-occurring ingredients, the result of extraction is still a combination of ingredients which are naturally-found in or obtainable from the plant material; i.e., the compound is not inventive or “man-made.” Thus, each of the extracts in turn is a combination of the naturally occurring compounds found in the particular plants. Combining the extracts from the individual plants leads to a combination of the naturally occurring compounds from each of the plants and the claims are therefore drawn to combinations of naturally occurring products.
There is no indication that combining the specified extracts together as commensurate in scope with the stated claims changes the structure, function, or other properties of the extracts in any marked way in comparison with the closest naturally occurring counterpart. The closest naturally occurring counterpart for each extract is a combination of the naturally occurring compounds that are present in the extract. Because, as discussed above, each plant extract is only a combination of the naturally occurring compounds found in the plant. Each extract composition appears to maintain its naturally occurring structure and properties and is merely present in the combination. In addition, there is nothing to show that combining the ingredients in the particular concentrations produces any sort of marked distinction. Thus, the claimed combination as a whole does not display markedly different characteristics in comparison with the naturally occurring counterparts. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, applicant’s claims are directed to a composition with an intended use of modulating gene expression of the various genes listed in Claims 1, 14, and 15. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) specifically states that a claim is only directed to “an intended use of a claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the ‘treatment or prophylaxis’ consideration.” Therefore, applicant’s intended use is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by “Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” In this case, the additional element in the claims is the combination of extracts. However, MPEP § 2106.05(d) states that well-understood, routine, and conventional activities are not sufficient to show that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Combining specific compounds does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because combining compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Thus, combining the ingredients together does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because combining compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field.
In addition, applicant’s intended use of modulating gene expression of the various genes listed in Claims 1, 14, and 15 is not considered to amount to significantly more. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(I)(A), “Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use” is not considered to be enough to qualify as significantly more. An intended use of a claimed composition only generally links the exception to the field of use. Therefore, the additional elements are not considered to amount to significantly more. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
(maintained)
Claims 1, 2, 12-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Choi et al. (US 9,433,564 B2).
MPEP § 2112 provides guidance as to the Examiner' s burden of proof for a rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference. The case law clearly states that something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property.
The instant claims are as of record, drawn to compositions comprising various direct and indirect endocannabinoid mimetic compounds, anti-inflammatory compounds, and ECS-related TRP pathway compounds contained within natural extracts which modulate expression of various genes in cells as measured in comparison to cells not exposed to the compounds.
Choi et al. teach a cosmetic composition for application to the skin comprising hydrophobic extracts from plants and algae, which are present from 25-60% by volume (Choi et al., col. 13, Claim 2), including the following (as required for instant Claims 1, 2, 12 and 13):
Myristica fragrans (direct endocannabinoid mimetic compound; allyl chain substituted guaiacol; eugenol; Choi et al., col. 4, line 42);
Theobroma cacao (indirect endocannabinoid mimetic compound; fatty acid amide; oleamide; arachidonamide; Choi et al., col. 4, lines 2-3; see e.g., specification [00130]);
Vitis vinifera (ECS-related pathway anti-inflammatory compound; monoterpene; diosphenol; resveratrol; Choi et al., col. 4, line 23);
Ginkgo biloba (ECS-related pathway anti-inflammatory compound; terpene lactone; ginkolide B; bilobalide; helenalin; parthenolide; Choi et al., col. 4, line 22);
Salvia officinalis (ECS-related pathway anti-inflammatory compound; diterpene; triptolide; carnosic acid; Choi et al., col. 4, lines 52-53); and
Olea europaea (ECS-related TRP pathway compound; PUFA; oleic acid; palmitoleic acid; vaccenic acid; Choi et al., col. 4, line 44).
Although Choi et al. teaches the ingredients of the claimed composition, they are silent regarding the intended use of the composition, i.e. modulating gene expression of the various named genes as measured in comparison to a negative control group. The Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether or not gene expression is identical between compositions. The compositions are the same, and thus the properties of modulating gene expression are inherent, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary. See MPEP §§ 2112-2112.02.
The cited art taken as a whole demonstrates a reasonable probability that the compositions of the claimed invention and the prior art are either identical or sufficiently similar that whatever differences exist, they are not patentably significant.
The cited reference discloses the compositions as described above, which appears to be identical to the presently claimed compositions since it is formulated and/or obtained from the same component materials. Consequently, the claimed compositions appear to be anticipated by the reference. Thus, the claimed composition and effects intrinsic thereto would have at least been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC § 103(a).
Claims 1-11 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Rebmann (US 8,652,494 B2).
MPEP § 2112 provides guidance as to the Examiner' s burden of proof for a rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference. The case law clearly states that something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property.
The instant claims are as of record, drawn to compositions comprising various direct and indirect endocannabinoid mimetic compounds, anti-inflammatory compounds, and ECS-related TRP pathway compounds contained within natural extracts which modulate expression of various genes in cells as measured in comparison to cells not exposed to the compounds.
Rebmann teaches compositions for cosmetic applications comprising 0.5-40% vegetable extracts (at least one compound contained in a natural extract; as required for instant Claim 17) including the following:
Curcuma longa extract (direct endocannabinoid mimetic compound; curcuminoid; Rebmann, col. 2., lines 42-43; as required for instant Claims 1-11);
Thebroma cacao extract (indirect endocannabinoid mimetic compound; fatty acid amide; OEA; PEA; Rebmann, col. 2, line 59; as required for instant Claims 1-11);
Panax ginseng extract (indirect endocannabinoid mimetic compound; ginsenoside; ginsenoside RC; Rebmann, col. 2, lines 48-49; as required for instant Claims 1-9);
Magnolia flower extract (Magnolia officinalis extract; ECS related pathway anti-inflammatory compound; biphenol; honokiol; magnolol; Rebmann, col. 2, line 66; as required for instant Claims 1-11);
Piper nigrum (ECS related pathway anti-inflammatory compound; sesquiterpene; β caryophyllene; Rebmann, col. 3, line 21; as required for instant Claims 1-11);
Matricaria chamomila extract (ECS related pathway anti-inflammatory compound; hyroxyflavone; apigenin; Rebmann, col. 2, lines 60-61; as required for instant Claims 1-11);
Echinacea purpurea (ECS related TRP pathway compound; N-alkylamide; dodeca-2E,4E,8Z,10Z-tetraenoic acid isobutylamide; dodeca-2E,4E-dienoic acid isobutylamide; Rebmann, col. 2, line 44; as required for instant Claims 1-9); and
Sea alga extracts (Schizochytrium aggregatum; ECS related TRP pathway compound; DHA; EPA; as required for instant Claims 1, 10, and 11).
Additionally, the composition comprises phospholipid-fractions from vegetable resources (natural extracts) from soya beans (Glycine max), peanut (Arachis hypogaea), or egg yolk (Gallus gallus domesticus egg oil; indirect endocannabinoid mimetic compound; PEA; Rebmann, col. 4, lines 5-7; as required for instant Claims 1, 10, and 11). The compositions can be in the form of creams or lotions (Rebmann, col. 5, line 5; as required for instant Claim 16).
Although Rebmann teaches the ingredients of the claimed composition, they are silent regarding the intended use of the composition, i.e. modulating gene expression of the various named genes as measured in comparison to a negative control group. The Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether or not gene expression is identical between compositions. The compositions are the same, and thus the properties of modulating gene expression are inherent, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary. See MPEP §§ 2112-2112.02.
The cited art taken as a whole demonstrates a reasonable probability that the compositions of the claimed invention and the prior art are either identical or sufficiently similar that whatever differences exist, they are not patentably significant.
The cited reference discloses the compositions as described above, which appears to be identical to the presently claimed compositions since it is formulated and/or obtained from the same component materials. Consequently, the claimed compositions appear to be anticipated by the reference. Thus, the claimed composition and effects intrinsic thereto would have at least been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of 35 USC § 103(a).
With respect to the 35 USC §102 rejections above, please note that the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is intrinsic to the composition reasonably suggested by the cited references, as a whole. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art composition. In the instant case, the intended use (e.g., modulation of gene expression of the various genes described therein, including those of Claims 14 and 15) does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting (see, e.g., MPEP 2112).
Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole was at least prima facie obvious, if not anticipated by the reference, especially in the absence of sufficient, clear, and convincing evidence to the contrary.
Please note, since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing Applicants' composition with the composition of the prior art (including compositions within the processes thereof), the burden is on applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980), and “as a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of Claims 1-15 and 17 under 35 USC § 101, applicant argues that the claimed combination is not found in nature, that the closest naturally occurring counterpart for the combination as a whole should be each compound as it occurs in nature, rather than each compound or extract within the combination and its naturally occurring counterpart, and the claimed composition displays markedly different characteristics in comparison to the naturally occurring counterparts.
These arguments are not persuasive, however, because the analysis compares the components to their naturally occurring counterparts and analysis of the composition in a single dosage form (e.g., the dosage forms of instant Claim 16) is not required because the claims do not require the components to be in a single dosage form. The limitation of “a composition” broadly reads on a mixture such as a salad and does not require specific amounts, dosage forms, covalent bonds, etc. The example of gunpowder in the USPTO document “Nature-Based Products” as cited by the applicant reads on a specific composition wherein specific amounts are required to achieve an unexpected result of an explosion. The instant claims, however, are drawn to a composition with any ingredients, which may be obtainable via plant or animal extracts, wherein each ingredient is one which has a particular effect. The claims do not read upon a single specifically defined composition, such as those presented in the instant specification at [00263], nor do the rejected claims require dosage forms, amounts, etc. which would render the components markedly different from their naturally occurring counterparts.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC § 102/103, applicant argues that the claims recite a specific combination of compounds and that the prior art does not disclose this specific combination or a motivation for a specific combination, which is therefore insufficient to prove anticipation.
This argument, however, is not persuasive because the instantly claimed composition recites the transitional phrase “comprising,” as well as “at least one of” for each of the Markush groups. “Comprising” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps (see MPEP § 2111.03). Additionally, the MPEP § 2123.01 states that, “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (The court held that the prior art anticipated the claims even though it taught away from the claimed invention. "The fact that a modem with a single carrier data signal is shown to be less than optimal does not vitiate the fact that it is disclosed.").
For these reasons and because Choi et al. and Rebmann disclose the ingredients of the instant claims and thus anticipate the claims, as described in the rejection above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/AARON J KOSAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655