DETAILED ACTION
Response for Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 08/13/2025 is acknowledged. Non-elected Group II (claims 12-20) is withdrawn from consideration. Since the applicant did not point out errors of restriction; therefore, the restriction will be treated as without traverse. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the term: "a griddle surface" as cited in line 4, should be changed to --the griddle surface --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bari et al. (US 20090133285 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bari discloses
A cover (worktop 3, fig.3) for use on a griddle surface (griddle surface is intended use) comprising: a mat (heating mat 7, fig.3) made from an elastomeric material [Par.0019 cited: “…heating mat 7 preferably includes a flexible resistor 8 disposed in an elastomeric material such as silicone rubber, neoprene or polyamide…”] having a first surface (bottom surface of heating mat 7, fig.3) and a second surface (top surface of heating mat 7, fig.3) opposing the first surface (bottom surface of heating mat 7), the first surface (bottom surface of heating mat 7) having a gloss finish forming a glossy surface [bottom surface of heating mat 7, is flat], wherein the mat (heating mat 7) is configured to be placed on the griddle surface (intended use) having the glossy surface in contact with the griddle surface [bottom surface of worktop 3 can be used on a griddle surface].
Regarding claim 3, Bari discloses
the elastomeric material is silicone [Par.0019 cited: “…heating mat 7 preferably includes a flexible resistor 8 disposed in an elastomeric material such as silicone rubber, neoprene or polyamide…”].
Regarding claim 5, Bari discloses
the mat (heating mat 7, fig.3) is configured for use on a grill griddle surface [bottom surface of worktop 3 can be used on a grill griddle surface].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bari et al. (US 20090133285 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Bari discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claims above, but does not disclose the glossy finish of the first surface has an Ra value of between 0.012 to 0.025 μm; and the elastomeric material has a durometer Shore A hardness measured between about 50 and about 70.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a mat of Bari, with glossy finish of the first surface has an Ra value of between 0.012 to 0.025 μm; and the elastomeric material has a durometer Shore A hardness measured between about 50 and about 70, as it well known in the art of manufacturing design choice purpose, in order suitable for the user application.
Claims 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bari et al. (US 20090133285 A1) in view of Stroud et al. (US 20200094721 A1).
Bari discloses substantially all the features as set forth in the claims above, but does not disclose a first raised ridge, a second raised ridge, and a third raised ridge.
Regarding claim 6, Stroud discloses
a first raised ridge (ridges 108, fig.1) running around a perimeter of the mat (exemplary mat 100, fig.1).
Regarding claim 7, Stroud discloses
the first raised ridge (ridges 108, fig.1) extends from the second surface of the mat (exemplary mat 100, fig.1).
Regarding claim 8, Stroud discloses
a second raised ridge (ridges 106, fig.1) within the perimeter of the mat (exemplary mat 100, fig.1).
Regarding claim 9, Stroud discloses
the second raised ridge (ridges 106, fig.1) extends from the second surface of the mat (exemplary mat 100, fig.1).
Regarding claim 10, Stroud discloses
a third raised ridge (ridges 106 inner, fig.1) within the perimeter of the mat (exemplary mat 100, fig.1).
Regarding claim 11, Stroud discloses
the third raised ridge (ridges 106 inner, fig.1) extends from the second surface of the mat (exemplary mat 100, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a mat of Bari, by including a first raised ridge, a second raised ridge, and a third raised ridge, as taught by Stroud, in order to create a differently shaped and sized mat periphery (Par.0015 of Stroud).
Conclusion
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
08/25/2025