DETAILED ACTION
This office action addresses Applicant’s response filed on 21 November 2025. Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-4, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potter (US 6,150,776) in view of Yamashita (US 2015/0158207), Spurr (US 6,064,170), and Sato (JP H1098898)
Regarding claim 1, Potter discloses a control apparatus comprising a controller (Fig. 1, controller 16) that operates a motor, wherein the controller starts operating the motor in a stopped state at a first driving frequency and switches from the first driving frequency to a second driving frequency at a stable point of the motor (col. 3, lines 20-32). If Potter is found to be unclear regarding switching the frequency at a stable point of the motor, Yamashita discloses the same (¶74). Potter also does not appear to explicitly disclose that the stable point is a timing at which one of a driving waveform in an A phase coil or a driving waveform in a B phase coil of the motor reaches a maximum value or a minimum value. Spurr discloses these limitations (Fig. 14b; col. 14, lines 55-52).
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Potter, Yamashita, and Spurr, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of controlling motor frequency when the motor has achieved stable operation in order to smoothly start a motor and transition to operating frequencies while maintaining motor stability and rotational accuracy. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Potter teaches starting a motor at one frequency and switching to a different frequency after the motor is operating. Yamashita provides further explicit teaching of starting a motor at one frequency and switching frequency when the motor is at a stable operating point, and Spurr teaches that the stable operating point occurs at a particular point in the driving waveform. The teachings of Yamashita and Spurr are directly applicable to Potter in the same way, so that Potter would similarly switch from the starting frequency once the motor is at a stable operating point occurring at particular points in the driving waveform, in order to smoothly transition a motor to normal operating frequencies while maintaining motor stability and rotational accuracy.
Potter does not appear to explicitly disclose that the switching from the first drive frequency to the second drive frequency is performed in a stepwise manner. Sato discloses the same (Fig. 4, drive frequency 28). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Potter, Yamashita, Spurr, and Sato because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of controlling operating speed of the motor according to programmed frequencies while avoiding undesirable resonance. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Potter discloses a controller that drives a motor at a low frequency during startup and switches to the higher operating frequency once the motor is stable. Sato teaches that switching between operating frequencies should be done in a stepwise manner at specific programmed drive frequencies, while avoiding resonance. The teachings of Sato are thus directly applicable to Potter in the same way, so that Potter would similarly switch between programmed drive frequencies in a stepwise manner while avoiding resonance.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Potter does not appear to explicitly disclose that the first driving frequency is a frequency lower than a resonance frequency range of the motor, and the second driving frequency is a frequency higher than the resonance frequency range of the motor. Sato discloses these limitations (Fig. 4). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Potter discloses a control apparatus, comprising: a controller (Fig. 1, controller 16) that, given that a first point of time for starting a motor operation and a second point of time later than the first point of time are defined, operates the motor, wherein the controller starts operating the motor in a stopped state at a first driving frequency since the first point of time and switches from the first driving frequency to a second driving frequency at the second point of time, the second point of time being a stable point of the motor (col. 3, lines 20-32). If Potter is found to be unclear regarding switching the frequency at a stable point of the motor, Yamashita discloses the same (¶74). Potter also does not appear to explicitly disclose that the stable point is a timing at which one of a driving waveform in an A phase coil or a driving waveform in a B phase coil of the motor reaches a maximum value or a minimum value. Spurr discloses these limitations (Fig. 14b; col. 14, lines 55-52). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 1.
Potter does not appear to explicitly disclose that the switching from the first drive frequency to the second drive frequency is performed in a stepwise manner. Sato discloses the same (Fig. 4, drive frequency 28). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 1.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Potter discloses the controller switches from the first driving frequency to the second driving frequency at the stable point after the motor is started to be rotated (col. 3, lines 28-31). Yamashita (¶74) and Spurr (Fig. 14b; col. 14, lines 55-52) also disclose the same, in the manner explained above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 1.
Claim(s) 5-8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potter in view of Yamashita, Spurr, Sato, and Takada (US 2014/0203748).
Regarding claim 5, Potter does not appear to explicitly disclose that the controller acquires a temperature measured by a temperature sensor and adjusts the second point of time in accordance with the temperature acquired. Takada discloses these limitations (¶12). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Potter, Yamashita, Spurr, Sato, and Takada, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of ensuring start-up of a motor under different temperature conditions. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Potter discloses starting-up a motor by lowering frequency to increase torque for a period of time. Takada teaches that the increase period should vary based on the temperature. The teachings of Takada are directly applicable to Potter in the same way, so that Potter would similarly increase the period of time of low drive frequency according to the temperature, so that the motor can be successfully started under different temperature conditions.
Regarding claim 6, Potter does not appear to explicitly disclose that the controller configures a period from the first point of time to the second point of time such that the lower the temperature acquired, the longer the period. Takada discloses these limitations (¶78). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, Potter does not appear to explicitly disclose that the controller configures a period from the first point of time to the second point of time such that the higher the temperature acquired, the shorter the period. Takada discloses these limitations (¶78). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 5.
Regarding claim 8, Potter discloses a control apparatus, comprising: a controller (Fig. 1, controller 16) that, given that a first point of time for starting a motor operation and a second point of time later than the first point of time are defined, operates the motor, wherein the controller starts operating the motor in a stopped state at a first driving frequency from the first point of time and switches from the first driving frequency to a second driving frequency at the second point of time, the second point of time being a stable point of the motor (col. 3, lines 20-32). If Potter is found to be unclear regarding switching the frequency at a stable point of the motor, Yamashita discloses the same (¶74). Potter also does not appear to explicitly disclose that the stable point is a timing at which one of a driving waveform in an A phase coil or a driving waveform in a B phase coil of the motor reaches a maximum value or a minimum value. Spurr discloses these limitations (Fig. 14b; col. 14, lines 55-52). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Potter, Yamashita, and Spurr, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of controlling motor frequency when the motor has achieved stable operation in order to smoothly start a motor and transition to operating frequencies while maintaining motor stability and rotational accuracy. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Potter teaches starting a motor at one frequency and switching to a different frequency after the motor is operating. Yamashita provides further explicit teaching of starting a motor at one frequency and switching frequency when the motor is at a stable operating point, and Spurr teaches that the stable operating point occurs at a particular point in the driving waveform. The teachings of Yamashita and Spurr are directly applicable to Potter in the same way, so that Potter would similarly switch from the starting frequency once the motor is at a stable operating point occurring at particular points in the driving waveform, in order to smoothly transition a motor to normal operating frequencies while maintaining motor stability and rotational accuracy.
Potter does not appear to explicitly disclose that the switching from the first drive frequency to the second drive frequency is performed in a stepwise manner. Sato discloses the same (Fig. 4, drive frequency 28). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 1.
Potter does not appear to explicitly disclose that the controller acquires a temperature measured by a temperature sensor, that the step of operating the motor in a stopped state at a first driving frequency from the first point of time occurs when the temperature is lower than or equal to a threshold value, and when the temperature is higher than the threshold value, the controller starts operating the motor in the stopped state at the second driving frequency from the first point of time. Takada discloses these limitations (Fig. 4, blocks S102-105).
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Potter, Yamashita, Spurr, Sato, and Takada, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of efficiently starting-up a motor under different temperature conditions. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Potter discloses starting-up a motor by lowering frequency to increase torque for a period of time. Takada teaches the low frequency start is used to start the motor in low temperatures. The teachings of Takada are directly applicable to Potter in the same way, so that Potter would similarly use low frequency starts in low temperatures, so that the motor can be successfully started under different temperature conditions.
Regarding claim 14, Potter does not appear to explicitly disclose that the first driving frequency is a frequency lower than a resonance frequency range of the motor, and the second driving frequency is a frequency higher than the resonance frequency range of the motor. Sato discloses these limitations (Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potter in view of Yamashita, Spurr, Sato, and Toya (US 2010/0270970).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Potter discloses the control apparatus according to claims 1 and 3 that controls driving of a motor, but does not appear to explicitly disclose a charging apparatus comprising the motor in which a position of a charging coil is moved. Toya discloses a charging apparatus comprising a motor in which a position of a charging coil is moved (¶83). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Potter, Yamashita, Spurr, Sato, and Toya, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of correctly operating motors to position coils for battery charging. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Potter discloses a controller for successfully starting-up a motor. Toya teaches that the motor is used to position a charging coil for battery charging. The teachings of Toya are directly applicable to Potter, or alternatively, the teachings of Potter are directly applicable to Toya, so that a motor for positioning a charging coil can be successfully start-up to allow proper battery charging.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potter in view of Yamashita, Spurr, Sato, Takada, and Toya.
Regarding claim 15, Potter discloses the control apparatus according to claim 8 that controls driving of a motor, but does not appear to explicitly disclose a charging apparatus comprising the motor in which a position of a charging coil is moved. Toya discloses a charging apparatus comprising a motor in which a position of a charging coil is moved (¶83). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Potter, Yamashita, Spurr, Sato, Takada, and Toya, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of correctly operating motors to position coils for battery charging. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Potter discloses a controller for successfully starting-up a motor. Toya teaches that the motor is used to position a charging coil for battery charging. The teachings of Toya are directly applicable to Potter, or alternatively, the teachings of Potter are directly applicable to Toya, so that a motor for positioning a charging coil can be successfully start-up to allow proper battery charging.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicant asserts that the prior art fails to teach newly-added limitations, which are addressed above using newly-cited prior art.
Conclusion
9 February 2026
/ARIC LIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2851