DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2021-157293, filed on September 27, 2021.
This office action is responsive to a response filed on April 19th, 2026. In this office action:
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claims 1-7 are rejected.
Summary of Previous Office Action
In the Non-Final Office Action mailed on February 4th, 2026,
Claim 1 was objected to because of informalities.
Claims 1-7 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1-7 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-7 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-7 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wynn (Pub. No. US 2018/0039951), hereinafter Wynn; in view of Bentley et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0063543), hereinafter Bentley.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on April 19th, 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1-7 have been amended.
The previously raised claim objection for claim 1 is withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The previously raised 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection is withdrawn for claims 1-7 in light of the amendments.
The previously raised 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn for claims 1-7 in light of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on April 19th, 2026 have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
1/ Applicant’s argument regarding “Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 101” (See Applicant’s arguments, Pages 11):
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
It is noted that even mental processes which may need the physical aids such as pen and paper can be still mental processes (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B)) and even the fact that the claimed invention is performing steps on a computer does not prevent the function from being a mental process (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)). As result, the claims recite a mental process.
Therefore, amending the claim to a “meeting system” and its related structural features doesn’t overcome the abstract idea rejection; thus, the rejection is maintained.
2/ Applicant’s argument regarding “Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103” (See Applicant’s arguments, Pages 11-13)
Applicant’s argument:
“... referring to the paragraphs [0149]-[0153] of Wynn, the system determines whether the rate of progress is fast or slow relative to the allocated time of an agenda, for example, based on a threshold difference between the progress rate of the videoconference content and the agenda item (or videoconference) duration. That is, in the disclosure of Wynn, only when the system determines that the progress is too fast or slow relative to the allocated time of an agenda, the system notify participants of the ratio of the content already presented relative to all content.
In contrast, in the present application, the meeting status (progress status) is notified to all participants at all times, regardless of whether the meeting progress is too fast or slow, of the "total number of pages of a document already displayed in the agenda currently in progress".”
Examiner’s response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Wynn discloses, in Parag. [0007], sending a notification to the one or more selected participant users indicating the association of the one or more user participants with the one or more associated agenda items. The output during the videoconference can include display of the agenda, where causing output during the videoconference can include causing a display of an indicator that indicates a current point of progress in the agenda.
Wynn discloses, in Parag. [0009], the notification can be output in response to a current time of the videoconference reaching a point in time that is within a threshold period of time before a start of a next agenda item after a current agenda item, where the notification indicates expiration of an active agenda item during the videoconference and/or approach of the next agenda item during the videoconference.
Wynn discloses, in Parag. [0098]; an output notification can indicate a determined rate of progress through an agenda item or associated videoconference information and/or can include an estimate of an amount of time sufficient to complete presentation of the agenda item or content information at the determined rate of progress. See also Parag. [0055] [0097] [0141-0152].
Wynn discloses, in Parag. [0153], the system can determine a percentage of content information (e.g., slides from a slide presentation or pages from a document) that have been so far presented (e.g., displayed), and an indication can be displayed of a rate of slides or pages presented per minute in the current videoconference and an estimate of the amount of time suitable to present the remaining content at the current rate.
Therefore, Wynn is reasonably interpreted to teach sending the meeting status (progress status) at all time during the videoconference and not only due to a determination of the progress is fast or slow; where the determination that the progress is fast or slow is NOT a single condition for sending the notifications, as argued by the Applicant. Notifications are sent based on the progress status; for example, the notification can be output in response to a current time of the videoconference reaching a point in time that is within a threshold period of time before a start of a next agenda item after a current agenda item, where the notification indicates approach of the next agenda item during the videoconference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites in part process steps which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are a series of mental processes including an observation, evaluation, judgment or opinion that could be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a mental process or a mathematical concept but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "Mental Process" grouping of abstract ideas. The claim recites in part:
receive registration of information on a meeting including a plurality of agendas, information on participants who participate in each of the plurality of agendas, information on a scheduled start time and a scheduled end time of each of the plurality of agendas, and information on a document used for each of the plurality of agendas {data gathering}. The “receiving” of information is reasonably interpreted by the Examiner as gathering/collecting data. The claim does not provide any details on how the data is received or any details on the gathered data. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “receiving” registration of information on a meeting encompasses gathering data.
receive start and end of each of the plurality of agendas {data gathering}. The “receiving” is reasonably interpreted by the Examiner as gathering/collecting data. The claim does not provide any details on how the data is received or any details on the gathered data. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation when read in light of the specification, the claimed “receiving” start and end of each of the plurality of agendas encompasses gathering data.
notify participants of a progress status while an agenda of the plurality of agendas is in progress, the progress status being based on a display state of the document scheduled to be used in the agenda, the participants being scheduled to participate in agendas subsequent to the agenda currently in progress {reporting} (Human activity).
wherein the microphone is configured for collecting voice data, and the camera is configured for capturing video data, and the organizer terminal apparatus is configured for transmitting the voice data and the video data to the information processing server. The limitation further limiting the definition of the organizer terminal apparatus, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
wherein in the notifying participants of the progress status, only a portion of the participants being scheduled to participate in an agenda subsequent to the agenda currently in progress, but not participating in the agenda currently in progress, are notified. The limitation further limiting the definition of who receives the notification(s), which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
wherein another portion of the participants continuously participating in the agenda currently in progress and the agenda subsequent to the agenda currently in progress are not notified. The limitation further limiting the definition of who is not going to receive the notification(s), which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
wherein the progress status is indicating information of a total number of pages of the document already displayed in the agenda currently in progress. The limitation further limiting the definition of the progress status, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
wherein the total number of pages of the document already displayed in the agenda currently in process is unequal to a sequential number of a current page of the document displayed in the agenda currently in process. The limitation further limiting the definition of the total number of pages, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Therefore, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite one additional element - when executed by a computer to receive registration of information, receive start and end of each of the plurality of agendas, and notify participants of a progress status. The computer is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer to receive registration of information, receive start and end of each of the plurality of agendas, and notify participants of a progress status), such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. As described in MPEP 2106.0S(g), limitations that amount to merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to a judicial exception.
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements of the computer to receive registration of information, receive start and end of each of the plurality of agendas, and notify participants of a progress status to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 2 depends on claim 1, and it further recites “wherein the progress status is information on the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress.” The claim further limiting the definition of the progress status, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 2 is not patent eligible.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 3 depends on claim 2, and it further recites “wherein the progress status is information that indicates a ratio of a number of pages of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress to a total number of pages.” The claim further limiting the definition of the progress status, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 3 is not patent eligible.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 4 depends on claim 2, and it further recites “wherein the progress status is information that indicates a number of pages in the document scheduled to be displayed from now on in the agenda currently in progress.” The claim further limiting the definition of the progress status, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 4 is not patent eligible.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 5 depends on claim 1, and it further recites “wherein in the notifying participants of the progress status, when a state of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress satisfies a predetermined condition, the participants scheduled to participate in agendas subsequent to the agenda currently in progress are notified as the progress status that the current agenda is about to end.” The claim further limiting a condition for which to notify participants, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 5 is not patent eligible.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 6 depends on claim 5, and it further recites “wherein the predetermined condition is that a progress level of display of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress reaches a predetermined target value.” The claim further limiting the definition of the predetermined condition, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 6 is not patent eligible.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 7 depends on claim 6, and it further recites “wherein the progress level is expressed as: a ratio of a number of pages displayed so far to a total number of pages of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress, a ratio of a number of remaining pages not displayed so far to the total number of pages of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress, or the number of remaining pages not displayed so far among the total number of pages of the document displayed in the agenda.” The claim further limiting the definition of the progress level, which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 7 is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wynn (Pub. No. US 2018/0039951), hereinafter Wynn; in view of Bentley et al. (Pub. No. US 2013/0063543), hereinafter Bentley.
Claim 1. Wynn discloses [a] meeting system storing a program causing a computer to execute a process comprising:
an organizer terminal apparatus, comprising a microphone and a camera (See Parag. [0136]; The image or video of the participating user can be captured by a camera connected to the participant device used by the participant user, and the speech (or other audio) of the participant user can be captured by a microphone connected to the participant device used by the participant user); and
an information processing server, signally communicated with the organizer terminal apparatus and comprising a processor, a memory, and a storage device (See Parag. [0027]; users U1, U2, U3, and U4 may interact with each other via applications running on respective client devices and/or server system 102 (information processing server). See Parag. [0155]; FIG. 12 is a block diagram of an example device 1200 which may be used to implement some implementations described herein. In one example, device 1200 may be used to implement a computer device that implements a server device, e.g., server device 104 of FIG. 1),
wherein the information processing server is configured to:
receive registration of information on a meeting including a plurality of agendas, information on participants who participate in each of the plurality of agendas, information on a scheduled start time and a scheduled end time of each of the plurality of agendas, and information on a document used for each of the plurality of agendas (See Parag. [0003]; receiving, at a device, scheduling input associated with a videoconference, where the scheduling input includes a time for the videoconference and identifiers of one or more participants for the videoconference. In response to receiving the scheduling input, the method generates a record of the videoconference in storage, and determines an agenda for the videoconference including a plurality of agenda items (a plurality of agendas) ... See Parag. [0044-0045]; videoconference content information can be received in some cases or implementations ... The videoconference content information can include, for example, text, one or more videos or images, audio data, one or more slides or documents (e.g., providing various topics or subjects related to the videoconference) ... the videoconference content information can include a document such as a script or description of dialogue to be spoken during the videoconference, and/or ordered subjects or topics having particular users associated with particular portions of the document, e.g., participant users that are designated to present those portions during the videoconference (information on a document used for each of the plurality of agendas) ... one or more suggested agenda items may be determined and caused to be displayed in the agenda creation interface in some implementations. A suggested agenda item can include one or more suggested agenda item parameters (e.g., identifier, order, priority, associated participant user(s), and/or time period duration) (participants who participate in each of the plurality of agendas) ... See Parag. [0066]; an agenda item can be specified with a start time and an end time (e.g. “11:00 am to 12:00 pm”), and the position of the agenda item in the agenda item sequence can be determined by comparing its start/end times with the start/end times of the other agenda items (information on a scheduled start time and a scheduled end time of each of the plurality of agendas). See Parag. [0074]; a notification can be sent to one or more participating users who are designated to participate in the scheduled videoconference. See also Parag. [0007] [0044] [0050-0052] [0055] [0065] [0068] [0071] [0075] [0095] and Fig. 2-3);
receive start and end of each of the plurality of agendas (See Parag. [0066]; an agenda item can be specified with a start time and an end time (e.g. “11:00 am to 12:00 pm”), and the position of the agenda item in the agenda item sequence can be determined by comparing its start/end times with the start/end times of the other agenda items); and
notify participants of a progress status while an agenda of the plurality of agendas is in progress, the progress status being based on a display state of a document scheduled to be used in the agenda, the participants being scheduled to participate in agendas subsequent to the agenda currently in progress (See Parag. [0096-0098] and Fig. 3; it is checked whether the current point of progress of the videoconference is within a threshold amount of time of the next agenda item of the agenda ... If the current point of progress is within the threshold amount of time, the method continues to block 314, in which a display of an agenda notification is made (or other type of output, e.g., audio, haptic, etc.). In various implementations, the agenda notification can indicate the expiration of the current agenda item and/or can indicate the next approaching agenda item that will occur in the agenda (within the threshold period of time). In one example, the current agenda item is “Introduction” and the current point of progress of the videoconference has reached a point 2 minutes before the next agenda item “Problem” will become the current agenda item of the videoconference. An agenda notification stating “Next topic: Problem, in 2 minutes” is displayed in the videoconference interface ... the notification is displayed only by some of the participant devices. For example, a notification can be displayed by the participant device of the participant user who is associated with the next agenda item (to participate in agendas subsequent to the agenda currently in progress), e.g., as a presenter of information during the next agenda item ... an output notification can indicate a determined rate of progress through an agenda item or associated videoconference information and/or can include an estimate of an amount of time sufficient to complete presentation of the agenda item or content information at the determined rate of progress. See Parag. [0149-0153]; notifications can be displayed indicating or related to the rate of progress of the videoconference session through the agenda items and/or associated videoconference content ... the system can determine a percentage of content information (e.g., slides from a slide presentation or pages from a document) that have been so far presented (e.g., displayed) (the progress status being based on a display state of a document scheduled to be used in the agenda), and an indication can be displayed of a rate of slides or pages presented per minute in the current videoconference and an estimate of the amount of time suitable to present the remaining content at the current rate. See also Parag. [0007] [0148]),
wherein the microphone is configured for collecting voice data, and the camera is configured for capturing video data, and the organizer terminal apparatus is configured for transmitting the voice data and the video data to the information processing server (See Parag. [0027]; users U1, U2, U3, and U4 may interact with each other via applications running on respective client devices and/or server system 102 (information processing server). In some implementations, the interaction may be performed via a network service, e.g., a social network service or other type of network service implemented on server system 102. For example, respective client devices 120, 122, 124, and 126 may communicate data to and from one or more server systems (e.g., server system 102). In some implementations, server system 102 may provide appropriate data to the client devices such that each client device can receive communicated content or shared content uploaded to the server system 102 and/or network service. See Parag. [0136]; a participant user who is currently speaking is displayed in the main view 1002. The image or video of the participating user can be captured by a camera connected to the participant device used by the participant user, and the speech (or other audio) of the participant user can be captured by a microphone connected to the participant device used by the participant user. See Parag. [0056]; participant users having particular titles (e.g., organizers) can be allocated a particular position in the agenda item sequence and/or a particular amount (or percentage) of time duration for their associated agenda item. See Parag. [0032] [0082] [0092] [0138] [0162]),
wherein in the notifying participants of the progress status, only a portion of the participants being scheduled to participate in an agenda subsequent to the agenda currently in progress are notified (See Parag. [0097]; If the current point of progress is within the threshold amount of time, the method continues to block 314, in which a display of an agenda notification is made (or other type of output, e.g., audio, haptic, etc.). In various implementations, the agenda notification can indicate the expiration of the current agenda item and/or can indicate the next approaching agenda item that will occur in the agenda ... the notification is displayed only by some of the participant devices (a portion of the participants). For example, a notification can be displayed by the participant device of the participant user who is associated with the next agenda item, e.g., as a presenter of information during the next agenda item),
wherein another portion of the participants continuously participating in the agenda currently in progress and the agenda subsequent to the agenda currently in progress are not notified (See Parag. [0097]; the notification is displayed only by some of the participant devices. For example, a notification can be displayed by the participant device of the participant user who is associated with the next agenda item, e.g., as a presenter of information during the next agenda item. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner reasonably interprets displaying the notification by only the participant(s) associated with the next agenda item, taught by Wynn, to be equivalent to not notify the participants continuously participating in the agenda currently in progress and the agenda subsequent to the agenda currently in progress),
wherein the progress status is indicating information of a total number of pages of the document already displayed in the agenda currently in progress, wherein the total number of pages of the document already displayed in the agenda currently in process is unequal to a sequential number of a current page of the document displayed in the agenda currently in process (See Parag. [0149-0153]; the system can determine whether the rate of progress is fast or slow with respect to allocated time of the agenda, e.g., based on a threshold difference in progress rate through the videoconference content information vs. the agenda item (or videoconference) duration. For example, if there are 10 slides that correspond to the first agenda item, three slides have been presented (30% of total) (total number of pages of a document already displayed in the agenda currently in progress), and the videoconference session has reached halfway through the duration of the first agenda item (50% of total), then the system can determine the progress is slow based on the difference of 20% in rate of progress, e.g., using a threshold difference rate of progress of 10% ... If the system determines that progress is fast or slow, then a notification (e.g., alert or warning) can be displayed indicating this status ... notifications can be displayed indicating or related to the rate of progress of the videoconference session through the agenda items and/or associated videoconference content ... the system can determine a percentage of content information (e.g., slides from a slide presentation or pages from a document) that have been so far presented (e.g., displayed), and an indication can be displayed of a rate of slides or pages presented per minute in the current videoconference and an estimate of the amount of time suitable to present the remaining content at the current rate. See also Parag. [0053]. Examiner’s interpretation: The Examiner reasonably interprets the percentage of content information, such as slides or pages from a document (e.g., 30% of total), taught by Wynn, to be equivalent to “total number of pages of the document already displayed in the agenda currently in process is unequal to a sequential number of a current page of the document displayed in the agenda currently in process” because the percentage (e.g., 30% of total) doesn’t indicate a sequential number of a current page of the document).
Wynn discloses wherein in the notifying participants of the progress status, only a portion of the participants being scheduled to participate in an agenda subsequent to the agenda currently in progress are notified (See Parag. [0097], as indicated above); but Wynn doesn’t explicitly disclose the portion of the participants are not participating in the agenda currently in progress.
However, Bentley discloses wherein in the notifying participants of the progress status, only a portion of the participants being scheduled to participate in an agenda subsequent to the agenda currently in progress, but not participating in the agenda currently in progress, are notified (See Parag. [0008]; A server associated with the conference, which can be a discrete server or a device of one of the conference participants for example, can send periodic messages via a protocol (e.g., "start blinking", "end blinking" messages) indicating a status of the call for which the user is being desired. The status can include information such as the number of users connected, whether or not the conference is ongoing, a currently discussed agenda item, ... Optionally, the user can click the button to automatically join the call. See Parag. [0012]; The communication session can be a conference call, video conference, a multi-modal communication session wherein multiple users communicate via different modalities. The indication can be a blinking light on a set-top phone, a visual indicator on a graphical user interface, or other indicator using one or more output type. The indication can change based on content of the communication session, i.e. the light blinks faster when the user's agenda items are getting closer (an agenda subsequent to the agenda currently in progress) or are currently being discussed. The user can press a button showing the indication or associated with the indication to join the conference in one click. See also Parag. [0033]. Examiner’s interpretation: Bentley discloses notifying participant(s) of the progress status of the conference agenda for the participant(s) to join the conference at the appropriate time (i.e., when the user's agenda items are getting closer), where other participants are already participating, which is reasonably interpreted as notifying participants not participating in the agenda currently in progress).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify notifying the portion of the participants of the progress status, taught by Wynn, to include notifying the portion of the participants which are not participating in the agenda currently in progress, as taught by Bentley. This would be convenient to provide a way for people to gracefully join a conference or other ongoing communication session at an appropriate time (Bentley, Parag. [0007]).
Claim 2. Wynn in view of Bentley discloses [t]he meeting system storing a program, according to Claim 1,
Wynn further discloses wherein the progress status is information on the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress (See Parag. [0149-0153]; notifications can be displayed indicating or related to the rate of progress of the videoconference session through the agenda items and/or associated videoconference content ... the system can determine a percentage of content information (e.g., slides from a slide presentation or pages from a document) that have been so far presented (e.g., displayed), and an indication can be displayed of a rate of slides or pages presented per minute in the current videoconference and an estimate of the amount of time suitable to present the remaining content at the current rate. See also Parag. [0007] [0053]).
Claim 3. Wynn in view of Bentley discloses [t]he meeting system storing a program, according to Claim 2,
Wynn further discloses wherein the progress status is information that indicates a ratio of a number of pages of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress to a total number of pages (See Parag. [0149-0153]; the system can determine whether the rate of progress is fast or slow with respect to allocated time of the agenda, e.g., based on a threshold difference in progress rate through the videoconference content information vs. the agenda item (or videoconference) duration. For example, if there are 10 slides that correspond to the first agenda item, three slides have been presented (30% of total), and the videoconference session has reached halfway through the duration of the first agenda item (50% of total) ... If the system determines that progress is fast or slow, then a notification (e.g., alert or warning) can be displayed indicating this status ... notifications can be displayed indicating or related to the rate of progress of the videoconference session through the agenda items and/or associated videoconference content ... the system can determine a percentage of content information (e.g., slides from a slide presentation or pages from a document) that have been so far presented (e.g., displayed), and an indication can be displayed of a rate of slides or pages presented per minute in the current videoconference and an estimate of the amount of time suitable to present the remaining content at the current rate).
Claim 4. Wynn in view of Bentley discloses [t]he meeting system storing a program, according to Claim 2,
Wynn further discloses wherein the progress status is information that indicates a number of pages in the document scheduled to be displayed from now on in the agenda currently in progress (See Parag. [0149-0153]; the system can determine whether the rate of progress is fast or slow with respect to allocated time of the agenda, e.g., based on a threshold difference in progress rate through the videoconference content information vs. the agenda item (or videoconference) duration. For example, if there are 10 slides that correspond to the first agenda item, three slides have been presented (30% of total), and the videoconference session has reached halfway through the duration of the first agenda item (50% of total) ... If the system determines that progress is fast or slow, then a notification (e.g., alert or warning) can be displayed indicating this status ... notifications can be displayed indicating or related to the rate of progress of the videoconference session through the agenda items and/or associated videoconference content ... the system can determine a percentage of content information (e.g., slides from a slide presentation or pages from a document) that have been so far presented (e.g., displayed), and an indication can be displayed of a rate of slides or pages presented per minute in the current videoconference and an estimate of the amount of time suitable to present the remaining content at the current rate (information that indicates a number of pages in the document scheduled to be displayed from now on in the agenda currently in progress)).
Claim 5. Wynn in view of Bentley discloses [t]he meeting system storing a program, according to Claim 1,
Wynn further discloses wherein in the notifying participants of the progress status, when a state of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress satisfies a predetermined condition, the participants scheduled to participate in agendas subsequent to the agenda currently in progress are notified as the progress status that the current agenda is about to end (See Parag. [0096-0098] and Fig. 3; it is checked whether the current point of progress of the videoconference is within a threshold amount of time of the next agenda item of the agenda ... If the current point of progress is within the threshold amount of time, the method continues to block 314, in which a display of an agenda notification is made (or other type of output, e.g., audio, haptic, etc.). In various implementations, the agenda notification can indicate the expiration of the current agenda item and/or can indicate the next approaching agenda item that will occur in the agenda (within the threshold period of time) ... the notification is displayed only by some of the participant devices. For example, a notification can be displayed by the participant device of the participant user who is associated with the next agenda item (to participate in agendas subsequent to the agenda currently in progress), e.g., as a presenter of information during the next agenda item ... an output notification can indicate a determined rate of progress through an agenda item or associated videoconference information and/or can include an estimate of an amount of time sufficient to complete presentation of the agenda item or content information at the determined rate of progress. See also Parag. [0149-0153]; the system can determine whether the rate of progress is fast or slow with respect to allocated time of the agenda, e.g., based on a threshold difference in progress rate through the videoconference content information vs. the agenda item (or videoconference) duration ...).
Claim 6. Wynn in view of Bentley discloses [t]he meeting system storing a program, according to Claim 5,
Wynn further discloses wherein the predetermined condition is that a progress level of display of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress reaches a predetermined target value (See Parag. [0149-0153]; the system can determine whether the rate of progress is fast or slow with respect to allocated time of the agenda, e.g., based on a threshold difference in progress rate through the videoconference content information vs. the agenda item (or videoconference) duration. For example, if there are 10 slides that correspond to the first agenda item, three slides have been presented (30% of total) (a progress level), and the videoconference session has reached halfway through the duration of the first agenda item (50% of total), then the system can determine the progress is slow based on the difference of 20% in rate of progress, e.g., using a threshold difference rate of progress of 10% ... If the system determines that progress is fast or slow, then a notification (e.g., alert or warning) can be displayed indicating this status ... the system can determine a percentage of content information (e.g., slides from a slide presentation or pages from a document) that have been so far presented (e.g., displayed) (a progress level), and an indication can be displayed of a rate of slides or pages presented per minute in the current videoconference and an estimate of the amount of time suitable to present the remaining content at the current rate).
Claim 7. Wynn in view of Bentley discloses [t]he meeting system storing a program, according to Claim 6,
Wynn further discloses wherein the progress level is expressed as: a ratio of a number of pages displayed so far to a total number of pages of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress, a ratio of a number of remaining pages not displayed so far to the total number of pages of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress, or the number of remaining pages not displayed so far among the total number of pages of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress (See Parag. [0149-0153]; the system can determine whether the rate of progress is fast or slow with respect to allocated time of the agenda, e.g., based on a threshold difference in progress rate through the videoconference content information vs. the agenda item (or videoconference) duration. For example, if there are 10 slides that correspond to the first agenda item, three slides have been presented (30% of total), and the videoconference session has reached halfway through the duration of the first agenda item (50% of total), then the system can determine the progress is slow based on the difference of 20% in rate of progress, e.g., using a threshold difference rate of progress of 10% ... the system can determine a percentage of content information (e.g., slides from a slide presentation or pages from a document) that have been so far presented (e.g., displayed) (the progress level is expressed as: a ratio of a number of pages displayed so far to a total number of pages of the document displayed in the agenda currently in progress), and an indication can be displayed of a rate of slides or pages presented per minute in the current videoconference and an estimate of the amount of time suitable to present the remaining content at the current rate).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Henriksen et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0108085) – Related art in the area of meeting management, (Abstract; A computer software for managing electronic meetings. The meeting management system automatically detects and classifies unaddressed topics. A topic is classified as unaddressed when its actual duration is less than a predefined minimum duration, the notes for the topic do not satisfy predefined criteria, and the topic does not have a conclusion statement. The user can directly classifying a topic as unaddressed. Upon completion of the meeting, the system presents a listing of unaddressed topics to the user. The system can also reschedule the unaddressed topics for a follow-up meeting.).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Abdelbasst Talioua/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445