DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 depends from canceled claim 9, therefore claim 10 is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, claim 10 will be interpreted as depending from claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henton et al. (US 4,778,851).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 15: Henton et al. (US ‘851) discloses rubber modified epoxy compounds [abstract], wherein Example 1, Sample No. 2 [Ex. 1, Sample No. 2; 7:54-8:19] prepares a dispersion of grafted rubber latex (19.4 g polymer solids) and 13.6 g epoxy resin {corresponding to ~ 59 wt% grafted rubber and ~ 41 wt% epoxy resin} [Ex. 1, Sample No. 2; 7:54-8:19]. Henton et al. (US ‘851) discloses the grafted rubber comprises a core prepared from 93% butadiene, 5% styrene and 2% acrylonitrile, and a graft prepared from 66% styrene, 25.4% acrylonitrile and 8.4% glycidyl methacrylate; having an 80% diameter of 12,000 Å (1.2 µm) [Ex. 1; 6:61-7:26]. Henton et al. (US ‘851) discloses the epoxy resin (DER 383) has a viscosity of 9,000-11,500 centipoise (9,000-11,5000 mPa·s) [Ex. 1; 7:26-35].
The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a total volume of the pores which have an average pore diameter of 0.03 µm to 1.00 µm is not less than 0.0600 mL/g; and an amount of granules having a volume-average particle size of not less than 1000 µm is not more than 3.00% by weight, with respect to 100% by weight of said powdery and/or granular material [instant claim 1]; a total of an amount of granules having a volume-average particle size of not less than 600 µm and less than 1000 µm and an amount of granules having a volume-average particle size of not less than 1000 µm is not more than 6.00% by weight, with respect to 100% by weight of said powdery and/or granular material [instant claim 2]; a total volume of the pores which have an average pore diameter of 0.03 µm to 4.50 µm is not less than 0.1100 mL/g [instant claim 3]; a total of an amount of granules having a volume-average particle size of not less than 600 µm and less than 1000 µm and an amount of granules having a volume-average particle size of not less than 1000 µm is not more than 1.90% by weight, with respect to 100% by weight of said powdery and/or granular material [instant claim 4]; a force required to break a block of said powdery and/or granular material is not more than 30000 Pa, where: the block is a block obtained by applying, to said powdery and/or granular material which is being allowed to stand, a load of 6.3 kg at 60 °C for 2 hours by placing a 6.3 kg weight on 30 g of said powdery and/or granular material contained in a cylindrical container having a diameter of 50 mm; and the force is a value obtained by measurement using a rheometer [instant claim 5]; total volume of the pores is not less than 0.0800 ml/g [instant claim 15], would inherently be achieved, as “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Regarding claim 7: Henton et al. (US ‘851) discloses preparing a coating [abstract; 2:43-56] by mixing the rubber modified epoxy with a polyamide resin [10:25-35].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henton et al. (US 4,778,851) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6: Henton et al. (US ‘851) discloses the basic claimed composition [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Henton et al. (US ‘851) discloses particles of less than about 20 µm [6:16-34].
Henton et al. (US ‘851) does not specifically disclose Ex. 1, Sample No. 2 having an average particle size of not more than 0.23 µm. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 11-14 are allowable.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While Henton et al. (US 4,778,851) discloses the process includes freeze drying the grafted rubber resin [Ex. 1; 6:61-7:26], and subsequently removing water from the grafted rubber/epoxy resin dispersion by rotary evaporation, Henton et al. (US ‘851) does not disclose an agglutinating step of spraying the grafted rubber latex and the epoxy resin in a presence of a flocculant [instant claim 8]. While Henton et al. (US ‘851) discloses the process includes shearing the grafted rubber latex and epoxy resin [Ex. 1, Sample No. 2; 7:54-8:19], Henton et al. (US ‘851) does not disclose shearing the grafted rubber latex with a latex containing the epoxy resin and 1-30 parts by weight (with respect to 100 parts of the epoxy resin) of an emulsifying agent [instant claim 12].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767