Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the Applicants’ arguments/remarks filed 3-02-2026.
No claims are amended.
claims 1, 3-16, and 18-20 are presently examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because FIG. 8 fails to meet the standards for drawings as set forth in 37 CFR 1.84(m); shading should not be used for cross sections. Additionally, when shading is correct light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 130b, see FIG 4B.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “140” has been used to designate all three of passage 140 (see [0194]), sealing element 140 (see [0198]-[0203], and seal 140 [0203].
Claim Objections
Claims 3-16, and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the dependent claim should begin with “the” or “said” to make it clear it is referring to the previously recited element rather than possibly introducing a new element. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
The term “lower” in claim 1 line 3 is indefinite because it is used by the claim to require an “open” lower end while the written description in FIG 1C and FIG 3A (ref# 106) and [0166] show a closed lower end.
Merriam-webster defines lower as being relatively low in position. The written description uses the term “lower” to show the lower end is open at [0052]. Therefore the usage of the term in the claim is inconsistent with the usage of the term in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite because it’s not clear how applicant intends to use the term “lower end”. Its further unclear whether Applicant intends the term “lower” to also require than an end is closed, which would conflict with the claim language requiring an open lower end. Claims 2-16 and 20 are rejected for their dependence on claim 1.
Regarding Claim 1, 3, 18, 19, and 20, where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
The term “seal between” in claim 1, 3, 18, 19, and 20 are indefinite because it is structurally unclear whether the claim requires the sealing element to be physically located between the base (106) and the electrical contacts (136a and 136b [0195]) or if the location of the seal is non limiting and the seal is simply forming a seal that prevents liquid from flowing out of the space between the electrical contacts as described in [0033] in the instant specification.
Merriam-webster defines “between” as being in an intermediate space or interval. Therefore, a seal between would be expected to include a seal in an intermediate space or interval (e.g., between base 106 and electrical contacts 136a and 136b as required by the claim.)
Conversely, the written description sets forth the seal as shown in FIG 3A ref# 140 which shows the seal 140 above the base (106) and the electrical contact (136a, 136b) (and not between) which is not clearly consistent with the structure required by the claim language. Claims 3-16 are rejected for their dependence on claim 1 and don’t clarify the “seal between” language. The seal between is interpreted to include a seal (such as a coating) that prevents liquid from coming into contact with electrical contracts
Regarding Claim 1-16, 18, 19, and 20, where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
The term “extend(ing/s)” in claims 1, 3, 4, 18, 19, and 20 are indefinite because it is structurally unclear whether the claim requires the electrical contact to be on the bottom of the base member as illustrated in the figures or for the electrical contact to extend through the base member and into the vaporizing chamber as claimed. In the written description: [0195] says the two electrical contacts are electrically connected to the heater filament 129 but does not say that the electrical contact itself is providing that electrical connection. The drawings fail to illustrate how the electrical contacts 136a and 136b themselves extend through the bottom of the base member.
Merriam webster defines extend as “to stretch out in distance” or “cause to reach”. The claim would therefore be expected to require the electrical contacts 136a and 136b themselves to extend or stretch out in distance and cause to reach through the base member and into the vaporizing chamber from the bottom of the base member. However, written description fails to set forth that the electrical contacts 136a and 136b themselves extend through the base member and into the vaporizing chamber as claimed as some other conductive pathway not involving the electrical contacts is used to extend the conductive pathway through the base member and into the vaporizing chamber. Electrical contact is therefore interpreted to include a conductive pathway that provides an electrical connection which is consistent with the instant specification and figures. Claims 2, 5-16 are similarly rejected for their dependence on claim 1.
Regarding Claim 1-16, and 20, where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
The term “seals” in claim 1 line 7 is indefinite because it is unclear whether the claim requires the base member itself to form a fluid-tight seal that seals within the open end of the housing or whether the base member is merely received in/closing the open end, or whether some other element forms the seal between the base member and the housing.
Merriam-webster defines seal as “to close or make secure against access”. The claim does not identify what surface of the base member forms the seal, what structure it seals against, or whether the base member itself forms the seal as opposed to merely being received in or closing the open end of the housing. The scope of the limitation is unclear. The limitation is interpreted to mean closes, e.g., when the base member is connected to the housing the base member closes the opening. Claims 3-16 and 20 are rejected for their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-5, 7-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry (US20180296777A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Terry discloses an aerosol-delivery component (76000, [0302]), comprising:
a vaporizer ([0329], heating element 76054, wick 76057, etc, see FIG 76H and 76I) disposed in a vaporizing chamber (76050));
a housing having a lower portion (76050 is the lower portion of the housing, see FIG 76H) with an open end (see e.g., open top end of 76050 in FIG 76H);
an electrical contact for electrically connecting the vaporizer to a power supply (inner contact member 76051, see [0335]), the contact extending through a base member (lower annular contact support end portion of 76050 is the base member) provided at a lateral end of the component and into the vaporizing chamber (e.g., the contact 76051 extends through the lower support and contact region of the vaporizing chamber 76050 toward heating element/vaporizer 76054 which is within the vaporizing chamber, see FIG 76J), wherein
the base member seals within the open end of the housing (see the lower support structure of 76050 is the base member and connects with the upper structure which when connected closes/seals the lower opening of the atomizer assembly while supporting the electrical interface, see 76J and [0335]-[0336]),
a lower surface of the base member defining a lowermost surface of the aerosol-delivery component (e.g., the lower bottom of the base member 76050 shown in FIG 76J has a lower surface that defines a lowermost surface of the device which is the aerosol delivery component); and
a sealing element overlying the base member to define a lower wall of the vaporizing chamber ([0263], teaches all electronics internal to the device may be sealed in epoxy within the device. This epoxy seal is the sealing element, Terry teaches this epoxy sealing element is important because it keeps vapor from coming into contact with the electronics [0263]) It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry such that the epoxy seal coating is placed between all electronics internal to the device as explicitly set forth including between the upper housing and the lower base member, and additionally at a lower wall of the vaporizing chamber, to prevent vapor from coming into contact with the electronic components in 76050) and wherein
the base member accommodates a sealing element configured to directly engage the electrical contact to seal between the electrical contact and the base member (e.g., [0263], the electronics are configured to be sealed so that all vapor does not come in contact with the electronics, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry so that the base member accommodates a sealing element that is configured to directly engage the electrical contact conductors to seal between the electrical contact and the base member (e.g., to insulate the electronic conductors as they pass through the base member so that vapor doesn’t leak out and come into contact with the electronics as taught).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Terry teaches the component further comprises a second electrical contact (76053, see [0336] and FIG 76J) for electrically connecting the vaporizer to the power supply (76051 and 76053 are both used to energize the heating element 76054, [0335]-[0336]),
the second contact extending through the base member of the component and into the vaporizing chamber, wherein the sealing element is configured to seal between the second electrical contact and the base member (second contact 76053 passes through 76050, see FIG 76J,
the sealing element is configured to seal between the second electrical contact and the base member (see e.g., [0263], the vaporization compartment is sealed with the epoxy sealing element so that the vapor doesn’t leak out of the vaporization compartment and come into contact with the electronics, e.g., sealed between the second electrical contact and the base member, which creates the claimed sealing element).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally Terry teaches the base member comprises a base slot (the path through which the electrical contacts 76051 and 76053 extends and the spaces between the annular components are the slots (See exploded view in FIG 76J) through which the electrical contact extends wherein
the sealing element comprises a seal slot through which the electrical contact extends (see [0263], Terry teaches an epoxy seal is applied to seal all internal electronics, an ordinary artisan would appreciate this epoxy seal would result in a seal slot through which the electrical contacts would extend as they would be sealed in the coating. E.g., components including electrical contacts 76051 and 76053 in FIG 76J would be coated with epoxy seal, the epoxy seal coating forming the seal slot between the annular components)
Regarding Claim 5, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, Terry teaches the electrical contact extends through the base slot and seal slot in a direction aligned with a longitudinal axis of the component (see FIG 76J, the electrical contacts of the vaporizing component extend in a direction aligned with the longitudinal axis of the electrical contacts 76051 and 76053)
Regarding Claim 6, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, as explained briefly above Terry discloses electrical contacts 76051/76053 electrically coupled to the heating element 76054 for conducting battery power with an epoxy seal (seal slot) between the contacts [0335]-[0336]. Since the opening of the contacts 76051/76053 is circular an ordinary artisan would appreciate that the opening has some transverse diameter, therefore having some transverse diameter, the opening is transversely elongated. Therefore, the base slot and seal slot are transversely elongated in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the component.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, Terry teaches the base slot and seal slot are vertically aligned. E.g., see FIG 76J, the electrical contacts 76051 and 76053 are illustrated as being vertically aligned, the corresponding base slots (positions of the contacts) and seal slots (position of the epoxy coating) would be vertically aligned with the corresponding electrical contacts 76051 and 76053.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, although Terry does not explicitly disclose the length and/or width of the seal slot in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the component is less than that of the base slot (see rejection of claim 4 above). Terry teaches that all penetrations in an electronics compartment may be sealed with only wires protruding and that the compartment may be filled with epoxy so vapor does not come into contact with the electronics [0263]. Terry therefore teaches an epoxy sealing element through which an electrical wire/contact protrudes.
The base slot corresponds to the larger penetration/opening in the base member through which the contact passes. The seal slot corresponds to the smaller passage through the epoxy sealing element around the protruding contact (protruding conductor). Because Terry’s epoxy seals the penetration while only the contact protrudes, the epoxy necessarily occupies the space between the contact and the larger base opening. Thus the length and/or width of the seal slot (length of the insulator epoxy) is less than that of the base slot (length of the conductor) as required by the claim.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Terry teaches main housing 160 having hole 165 through which an electrical conductor extends from PCB 123/124 through the main housing 160, the conductor connecting to a heating element [0254]. Terry similarly discloses main housing 260 having hole 265 through which a conductor extends [0258]. The portion of the main housing 160/260 in which hole 165/265 is formed corresponds to the lower transverse wall of the base member because it extends across the housing the forms the wall through which the conductor/contact passes. Hole 165/265 is interpreted to correspond to the claimed base slot formed in the lower transverse wall. Thus Terry teaches the base member comprises a lower transverse wall and the base slot is formed on the lower transverse wall.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, as explained above the portion of the main housing 160/260 in which hole 165/265 is formed/corresponds to the lower transverse wall of the base member because it extends across the housing the forms the wall through which the conductor/contact passes. Hole 165/265 is interpreted to correspond to the claimed base slot formed in the lower transverse wall. Terry also teaches the electronics may be sealed in an epoxy compartment, the epoxy compartment forming a recess, and that all penetrations in the compartment may be sealed and that only wires protrude from the compartment that forms a recess [0263], the epoxy compartment is interpreted to correspond to the recess/cavity that extends into the lower wall/base region and the epoxy housed in that recess corresponds to the sealing element.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, Terry teaches internal components are sealed or coated with epoxy as set forth above. Therefore an ordinary artisan would appreciate that as the internal components of Terry are coated with epoxy, an ordinary artisan would also appreciate an upper surface of the sealing element defines a lower transverse wall of the vaporizing chamber (e.g., the lower transverse wall of the vaporizing chamber is also coated with the epoxy seal.)
Regarding Claim 12, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Terry teaches an air intake channel that includes an elongate channel which travels along the top surface of the base member, (e.g., see FIG 76S, the illustrated air intake channel shows intake airflow arrows which travel along the upper surface of the base member, includes an elongate channel which travels along the top surface of the base member as shown in FIG 76S, see arrows that follow the air intake channel beginning with the intake port 76006 and pass by the heating element), Terry also teaches in [0263] that electronics internal to the vaporizer are sealed with an epoxy coating to prevent electronics from being exposed to vapor and by extension products of the vaporizer including condensate. It would be obvious to modify the upper surface of the base member with this epoxy coating sealing element to prevent electronics from being exposed to fluids in the vaporizer which would include the epoxy sealing element coating on the elongate channel which travels along the top surface of the base member.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Terry teaches the channel extends between front and rear walls of the vaporizing chamber, see air intake channels illustrated as arrows, the channels extend between the front and rear walls of the vaporizing chamber as shown (e.g., front is left and back is right as illustrated in FIG 76S).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Terry teaches the vaporizer comprises a heating filament (filament in heating element 76054) mounted on an elongate wick (76057/76058) and the axis of the elongate wick is parallel to and vertically spaced above the channel (see FIG 76S, the illustrated heating filament is coiled around the elongate wick and the axis of the wick is parallel to portions of the channel, specifically to the portion of the channel which functions as the channel intake which is parallel to the axis of the wick, see also FIG 76J).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Terry teaches the component is a consumable component for receipt in a smoking substitute device (See e.g., [0763], which discloses the component is a consumable cartridge for use in the device with a finite number of uses which is beneficial as it allows the cartridge to be replaced once the contents are consumed). The cartridge is received in the smoking substitute device for use to deliver the inhalation payload as explained, see also [0238], the cartridge is used in the personal vaporizer unit.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Terry teaches a smoking substitute device comprising a power supply [0237], the smoking device can pull power through the battery to charge the personal vaporizer unit. See also [0355] conducting battery power from battery.
Regarding Claim 18, Terry teaches an aerosol-delivery component having an elongate axis (see e.g., FIG 76S, aerosol delivered following airflow arrows), comprising:
a vaporizer disposed in a vaporizing chamber (see vaporizer/heating coil 76054 in the vaporizing chamber which includes heating element coil as illustrated in FIG 76S, [0347]);
a housing having a width substantially perpendicular to the elongate axis (see FIG 76S, the housing, which is the top portion, which is a separate portion from the base member) has a width substantially perpendicular to the elongate axis;
an electrical contact (76051/76053 are both used to energize the heating element 76054, [0335]-[0336]) for electrically connecting the vaporizer to a power supply ([0338], conducting flow of power from battery power),
an electrical contact for electrically connecting the vaporizer to a power supply (inner contact member 76051, see [0335]), the contact extending through a base member provided at a lateral end of the component and into the vaporizing chamber
the contact extending through a base member of the component and into the vaporizing chamber (e.g., the contact 76051 extends through the lower support and contact region of the vaporizing chamber 76050 toward heating element/vaporizer 76054 which is within the vaporizing chamber, see FIG 76J),
the base member extends transversely across the entire width of the housing (the base member is the bottom portion of the housing and extends transversely across the entire width of the housing as claimed, see FIG 76S);
a lower surface of the base member defining a lowermost surface of the aerosol- delivery component, e.g., see lower support structure of 76050 in FIG 76S which is the base member); and
a sealing element configured to seal between the electrical contact and the base member. (e.g., [0263], the electronics are configured to be sealed with an epoxy coating sealing element so that vaporization products does not come in contact with the electronics, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry with the sealing element between the base and the housing so that the base member accommodates a sealing element that is configured to directly engage the electrical contact conductors to seal between the electrical contact and the base member as taught, to insulate the electronic conductors as they pass through the base member so that vapor doesn’t leak out and come into contact with the electronics as taught).
Regarding Claim 19, Terry teaches an aerosol-delivery component having an elongate axis, (See FIG 76S which illustrates the aerosol delivery component has an elongate axis) comprising:
a vaporizer disposed in a vaporizing chamber (See FIG 76S, see vaporizer 76054 [0350], disposed in the vaporizing chamber);
a housing having a width substantially perpendicular to the elongate axis (see the device of FIG 76S which includes a housing with a width);
an electrical contact for electrically connecting the vaporizer to a power supply, the contact extending through a base member of the component and into the vaporizing chamber (an electrical contact (76051/76053 are both used to energize the heating element 76054, [0335]-[0336]) for electrically connecting the vaporizer to a power supply ([0338], conducting flow of power from battery power),
the base member extends transversely across the entire width of the housing (the base member is the bottom portion of the housing and extends transversely across the entire width of the housing as claimed, see FIG 76S);
and
a sealing element defining a lower wall of the vaporizing chamber and configured to seal between the electrical contact and the base member ([0263], teaches all electronics internal to the device may be sealed in epoxy within the device. This epoxy seal is the sealing element, Terry teaches this epoxy sealing element is important because it keeps vapor from coming into contact with the electronics [0263]) It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry such that the epoxy seal coating is placed between all electronics internal to the device as explicitly set forth including between the upper housing and the lower base member, and additionally at a lower wall of the vaporizing chamber, to prevent vapor from coming into contact with the electronic components in 76050).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Terry teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally Terry teaches the base member accommodates the sealing element and the sealing element is configured to directly engage the electrical contact to seal between the electrical contact and the base member, (e.g., [0263], the internal electronics are configured to be sealed with an epoxy coating sealing element so that vapor products do not come in contact with the electronics, (e.g., to insulate the electronic conductors as they pass through the base member so that vapor doesn’t leak through and come into contact with the electronics as taught).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks, and most specifically claim amendments filed 3-02-2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 3-16 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 7:
This is not found persuasive because as set forth above “… [0263], the electronics are configured to be sealed so that all vapor does not come in contact with the electronics, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Terry so that the base member accommodates a sealing element that is configured to directly engage the electrical contact conductors to seal between the electrical contact and the base member (e.g., to insulate the electronic conductors as they pass through the base member so that vapor doesn’t leak out and come into contact with the electronics as taught).
Therefore, the epoxy coating as disclosed in [0263] and cited the rejection of claim 1 is the sealing element of Terry. This coating seals the compartment in the main housing such that all penetrations in the housing can be sealed. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would appreciate this coating overlays the base member and defines a lower wall of the vaporizing chamber and is configured to seal between the electrical contacts and the base member. E.g., all of the electrical penetrations in the compartment are sealed by being filled with epoxy after assembly as explained in [0263].
Applicant additionally argues on page 8:
This is not found persuasive because the sealing element of Terry is the plastic/epoxy coating which overlays the base member as claimed. It would be obvious to include this coating as set forth above, so that vapor from the unit does not leak and come into contact with the electronics [0263].
Applicant additionally argues on page 9:
However, this is not found persuasive because as set forth above, the seal is the epoxy/plastic coating which according to Terry in [0263], the base is sealed so electrical components are not exposed to vapor. Therefore this seal would include the lower wall of the vaporizing chamber as set forth above.
Conclusion
/M.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755