DETAILED ACTION
Restriction Election
Applicant elected Species C (Figure 3-5) Fig. 3-5 which is drawn to an electric scooter docking station that supports an electric scooter via one or more channels or rails. In order to facilitate removal of the scooter from the station, the rails include rail openings, which enable the scooter to move up and out of the station. The rails are configured to receive charging port/guiding pegs located on the base of the scooter. The Applicant also identified claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 12-16, 17, and 21 to be directed to species C. Examiner disagrees with Applicants election of claims directed to Species C and will examine the claims that are directed to the elected Species C (Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 17, and 21). All other claims that encompass other species will be constructively withdrawn.
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 3/18/2022. Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 17, and 21 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/18/2022 and 8/29/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner note on Double Patenting rejections
The following DP rejections are stated below. Item to-item matching is abbreviated to identify the claims in the pending application that are analogous to the conflicting application. The Examiner has underlined the claim limitation that is not explicitly taught in the conflicting application.
Double Patenting
Claim 2, 3, 5, 6, 7,10, 11, 17, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,3-5,8-9 of U.S. Patent 11279250 . Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
App# 17/698562 U.S. Patent 11279250
2. (New) A docking station that dispenses electric scooters, the docking station comprising: an upper channel configured to receive a front wheel of an electric scooter; and a lower channel configured to receive a rear wheel of the electric scooter, wherein the upper channel is positioned with respect to the lower channel in a configuration that stores electric scooters within the docking station at an angle with respect to the ground.
3. (New) The docking station of claim 2, further comprising: a charging rail that contacts a charging port of the electric scooter when the scooter is docked within the apparatus and provides charge to an electric battery of the electric scooter.
5. (New) The docking station of claim 3, wherein the charging port is part of a guiding peg of the electric scooter that is configured to maintain a position of the electric scooter proximate to the charging rail when the guiding peg is disposed within the upper channel or the lower channel.
6. (New) The docking station of claim 3, wherein the charging rail is part of the upper channel of the docking station.
7. (New) The docking station of claim 3, wherein the charging rail is part of the lower channel of the docking station.
10. (New) The docking station of claim 2, further comprising: a Z-shaped exit section that facilitates the dispensing of the electric scooter out of the docking station, including a Z-shaped ramp that causes the scooter to move from an angled docked position to an exit position.
11. (New) The docking station of claim 2, further comprising: a cleansing section that cleanses handlebars of the electric scooter when the electric scooter is docked within the docking station.
17. (New) A docking station that dispenses electric scooters, the docking station comprising: a channel configured to receive a front wheel of an electric scooter; and a charging rail that contacts a charging port of the electric scooter when the scooter is docked within the apparatus and provides charge to an electric battery of the electric scooter.
21. (New) The docking station of claim 17, wherein the channel is positioned to store electric scooters within the docking station at an angle with respect to the ground, the docking station further comprising: a Z-shaped exit section having an Z-shaped ramp that causes the scooter to move from an angled docked position to an exit position.
1. A docking station that dispenses electric scooters, the docking station comprising: an upper channel configured to receive a front wheel of an electric scooter; a lower channel configured to receive a rear wheel of the electric scooter, wherein the upper channel is positioned with respect to the lower channel in a configuration that stores electric scooters within the docking station at an angle with respect to a ground upon which the docking station sits; and a charging rail that contacts a charging port of the electric scooter when the electric scooter is docked within the docking station and provides charge to an electric battery of the electric scooter.
3. The docking station of claim 1, wherein the charging port is a part of a guiding peg of the electric scooter that is configured to maintain a position of the electric scooter proximate to the charging rail when the guiding peg is disposed within the upper channel or the lower channel.
4. The docking station of claim 1, wherein the charging rail is a part of the upper channel of the docking station.
5. The docking station of claim 1, wherein the charging rail is a part of the lower channel of the docking station.
8. The docking station of claim 1, further comprising: a Z-shaped exit section that facilitates dispensing of the electric scooter out of the docking station, including a Z-shaped ramp that causes the electric scooter to move from an angled docked position to an exit position.
9. The docking station of claim 1, further comprising: a cleansing section that cleanses handlebars of the electric scooter when the electric scooter is docked within the docking station.
1. A docking station that dispenses electric scooters, the docking station comprising: an upper channel configured to receive a front wheel of an electric scooter; a lower channel configured to receive a rear wheel of the electric scooter, wherein the upper channel is positioned with respect to the lower channel in a configuration that stores electric scooters within the docking station at an angle with respect to a ground upon which the docking station sits; and a charging rail that contacts a charging port of the electric scooter when the electric scooter is docked within the docking station and provides charge to an electric battery of the electric scooter.
8. The docking station of claim 1, further comprising: a Z-shaped exit section that facilitates dispensing of the electric scooter out of the docking station, including a Z-shaped ramp that causes the electric scooter to move from an angled docked position to an exit position.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claims 3 and 17 recites “the apparatus” lacks antecedent basis.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20190263281).
As to claim 2, Wang discloses a docking station that dispenses electric scooters ([0095] FIG. 9 docking station 134), the docking station comprising: an upper channel configured to receive a front wheel of an electric scooter (upper portion of guiding chute 136); and a lower channel configured to receive a rear wheel of the electric scooter (lower portion of guiding chute 136 FIG. 9), wherein the upper channel is positioned with respect to the lower channel in a configuration that stores electric scooters within the docking station at an angle with respect to the ground (using BRI, Examiner interprets an angle as any angle between 0 to 360 degrees. See Fig. 9 of Wang).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3,5-7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20190263281) in view of JP 4531321 (hereinafter ‘121).
As to claim 3, Wang does not disclose/teach a charging rail that contacts a charging port of the electric scooter when the scooter is docked within the apparatus and provides charge to an electric battery of the electric scooter
‘121 teaches a charging rail that contacts a charging port of the electric vehicle when the electric vehicle is docked within the apparatus and provides charge to an electric battery of the electric vehicle (Fig. 2 power supply side connector 30. [0020] when both connectors 30 and 40 are fitted, it is detected that they are fitted by a fitting detection switch (not shown), and a high frequency is supplied from the inverter (not shown) provided in the power supply device 14 to the primary coil 32 of the power supply side connector 30. Power is supplied).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the docking station of Wang to a charging rail that contacts a charging port of the electric scooter when the scooter is docked within the apparatus and provides charge to an electric battery of the electric scooter in order to supply power to the scooter for future use.
As to claim 5, Wang in view of ‘121 teaches the docking station of claim 3, wherein the charging port is part of a guiding peg of the electric scooter that is configured to maintain a position of the electric scooter proximate to the charging rail when the guiding peg is disposed within the upper channel or the lower channel (Fig. 2. [0020] of ‘121).
As to claim 6, Wang in view of ‘121 teaches the docking station of claim 3, wherein the charging rail is part of the upper channel of the docking station (Fig. 2. [0020] of ‘121).
As to claim 7, Wang in view of ‘121 teaches the docking station of claim 3.
Wang in view of ‘121 does not disclose/teach wherein the charging rail is part of the lower channel of the docking station.
However since Wang in view of ‘121 teaches wherein the charging rail is part of the upper channel of the docking station (Fig. 2. [0020] of ‘121), it would have been obvious to try to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the charging rail is part of the lower channel in order to mate the charging plug on a scooter that places the charging plug on the rear wheel.
As to claim 17, Wang discloses a docking station that dispenses electric scooters (Fig. 9), the docking station comprising: a channel configured to receive a front wheel of an electric scooter (Guiding chute 136, Fig. 9).
Wang does not disclose/teach a charging rail that contacts a charging port of the electric scooter when the scooter is docked within the apparatus and provides charge to an electric battery of the electric scooter.
‘121 teaches a charging rail that contacts a charging port of the electric vehicle when the electric vehicle is docked within the apparatus and provides charge to an electric battery of the electric vehicle (Fig. 2 power supply side connector 30. [0020] when both connectors 30 and 40 are fitted, it is detected that they are fitted by a fitting detection switch (not shown), and a high frequency is supplied from the inverter (not shown) provided in the power supply device 14 to the primary coil 32 of the power supply side connector 30. Power is supplied).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the docking station of Wang to include a charging rail that contacts a charging port of the electric scooter when the scooter is docked within the apparatus and provides charge to an electric battery of the electric scooter in order to supply power to the scooter for future use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10,11 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 10, Although the prior art discloses a docking station that dispenses electric scooters, the docking station comprising: an upper channel configured to receive a front wheel of an electric scooter; and a lower channel configured to receive a rear wheel of the electric scooter, wherein the upper channel is positioned with respect to the lower channel in a configuration that stores electric scooters within the docking station at an angle with respect to the ground, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“a Z-shaped exit section that facilitates the dispensing of the electric scooter out of the docking station, including a Z-shaped ramp that causes the scooter to move from an angled docked position to an exit position.”
Regarding dependent claim 11, Although the prior art discloses a docking station that dispenses electric scooters, the docking station comprising: an upper channel configured to receive a front wheel of an electric scooter; and a lower channel configured to receive a rear wheel of the electric scooter, wherein the upper channel is positioned with respect to the lower channel in a configuration that stores electric scooters within the docking station at an angle with respect to the ground, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“a cleansing section that cleanses handlebars of the electric scooter when the electric scooter is docked within the docking station.”
Regarding dependent claim 21, Although the prior art discloses a docking station that dispenses electric scooters, the docking station comprising: an upper channel configured to receive a front wheel of an electric scooter; and a lower channel configured to receive a rear wheel of the electric scooter, wherein the upper channel is positioned with respect to the lower channel in a configuration that stores electric scooters within the docking station at an angle with respect to the ground, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the channel is positioned to store electric scooters within the docking station at an angle with respect to the ground, the docking station further comprising: a Z-shaped exit section having an Z-shaped ramp that causes the scooter to move from an angled docked position to an exit position.”
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859