Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remark entered on 12/04/2025.
Claims 1-4 & 21-36 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 5-20 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 12/04/2025, page 11, regarding the rejection of claim 1, and similar claims 4, 23, 26, 29 & 32 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, and are moot upon further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2015/0085929 A1) (hereinafter Chen) in view of Coban et al., "Support of Independent Sub-Pictures," 9th. JCT-VC MEETING; 20120427 - 20120507; Geneva; (Joint Collaborative Team on Video Coding of ITU-T SG16 WP6 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11), no. JCTVC-I0356 17 April 2012 (2012-04-17) (hereinafter Coban), and further in view of Lai et al. (US 2022/0303587 A1, with priority to 62/896,032) (hereinafter Lai) as outlined below.
In response to Applicant’s remark that Examiner’s previously-cited references, specifically Choi, do not show the Applicant’s newly-recited claim limitations, the Examiner directs Applicant’s attention to the rejection of claim 1 below, wherein Applicant’s newly-recited limitations are addressed by Coban for the reasons as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 21-34 & 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2015/0085929 A1) (hereinafter Chen) in view of Coban et al., "Support of Independent Sub-Pictures," 9th. JCT-VC MEETING; 20120427 - 20120507; Geneva; (Joint Collaborative Team on Video Coding of ITU-T SG16 WP6 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11), no. JCTVC-I0356 17 April 2012 (2012-04-17) (hereinafter Coban), and further in view of Lai et al. (US 2022/0303587 A1, with priority to 62/896,032) (hereinafter Lai).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method implemented by a video decoder [Paragraph [0325]-[0328], video decoder 30, performing decoding process] and comprising:
receiving, by the video decoder, a video bitstream comprising a picture, a first flag, and a second flag, wherein the picture comprises a first subpicture and a second subpicture, wherein a first boundary of the first subpicture is shared with a second boundary of the second subpicture, and wherein the first boundary is a right boundary and the second boundary is a left boundary, or the first boundary is a bottom boundary and the second boundary is a top boundary [Paragraph [0083], [0117] & [0249]-[0250], Fig. 8, Decoder receiving bitstream, decoding syntax elements as flags that include first and second flags, and decoding of video data containing slices, or CTUs as subpictures, with boundaries between P0/P1, P0/Q0]; and
applying the deblocking filter process to second subblock edges and second transform block edges of the second subpicture at the second boundary [Paragraph [0044]-[0045], [0113] & [0129], Deblocking filter processes applied to sub-PU boundaries, as subblock edges, and transform unit (TU) boundaries, as transform block edges].
However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the first subpicture and the second subpicture are rectangular regions of one or more slices within the picture.
Coban teaches that wherein the first subpicture and the second subpicture are rectangular regions of one or more slices within the picture [I. Introduction, Fig. 1, Partitioning picture into rectangular sub-pictures (sub-pic 0, sub-pic 1, sub-pic 2, each sub-picture starts a new slice].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen to integrate rectangular subpictures in Coban as above, in order to support more flexible parallelism for multiple independent decoders that don’t share reference picture regions or use neighboring regions’ (e.g. neighboring tiles) decoded pixel samples (Coban, Abstract).
However, Chen and Coban do not explicitly disclose receiving, by the video decoder, a video bitstream comprising a picture, a first loop_filter_across_subpic_ enabled flag, and a second loop filter across_subpic_enabled _flag, wherein the picture comprises a first subpicture corresponding to the first loop _filter_across subpic enabled flag and a second subpicture corresponding to the second loop_filter_across_subpic _enabled _flag; not applying a deblocking filter process to first subblock edges and first transform block edges of the first subpicture at the first boundary when the first loop filter_across _subpic_enabled_flag is equal to 0; and applying the deblocking filter process to second subblock edges and second transform block edges of the second subpicture at the second boundary when the second loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled _flag is equal to 1.
Lai teaches of receiving, by the video decoder, a video bitstream comprising a picture, a first loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled flag, and a second loop_filter _across_subpic_enabled_flag, wherein the picture comprises a first subpicture corresponding to the first loop_filter_across subpic enabled flag and a second subpicture corresponding to the second loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled _flag [Paragraph [0088]-[0089] supported in pgs. 3-4 in provisional, loop_filter _across_subpic_enabled_flag[i] equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across the boundaries of the i-th sub-picture in each coded picture in the CVS, wherein i is an integer from 0 to NumSubPics within for loop, with corresponding i-th sub-picture with respective loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag[i]];
not applying a deblocking filter process to first subblock edges and first transform block edges of the first subpicture at the first boundary when the first loop filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag is equal to 0 [Paragraph [0088]-[0089] supported in pgs. 3-4 in provisional, loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag[1] equal to 0 specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across the boundaries of the 1-th or first sub-picture in each coded picture in the CVS]; and
applying the deblocking filter process to second subblock edges and second transform block edges of the second subpicture at the second boundary when the second loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag is equal to 1 [Paragraph [0088]-[0089] supported in pgs. 3-4 in provisional, loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag[2] equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across the boundaries of the 2-th or second sub-picture in each coded picture in the CVS].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen to integrate and implement the loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag syntax in Lai as above, in order to improve and enhance video picture quality (Lai, Paragraphs [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen, Coban, and Lai disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Lai teaches wherein the first loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled _flag equal to 1 or the second loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across boundaries of a subpicture in each coded picture in a coded video sequence (CVS) [Paragraph [0088]-[0089] supported in pgs. 3-4 in provisional, loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled _flag[i] equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across the boundaries of the i-th sub-picture in each coded picture in the CVS].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen to integrate and implement the loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag syntax in Lai as above, in order to improve and enhance video picture quality (Lai, Paragraphs [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen, Coban, and Lai disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Lai teaches wherein the first loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled _flag equal to 0 or the second loop_filter_across subpic_enabled flag equal to 1 equal to 0 specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across boundaries of a subpicture in each coded picture in a coded video sequence (CVS) [Paragraph [0088]-[0089] supported in pgs. 3-4 in provisional, loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled _flag[i] equal to 0 specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across the boundaries of the i-th sub-picture in each coded picture in the CVS].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen to integrate and implement the loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag syntax in Lai as above, in order to improve and enhance video picture quality (Lai, Paragraphs [0005]).
Regarding claims (4 & 21-22), claims (4 & 21-22) are drawn to the video decoder using/performing the same method as claimed in claims (1-3). Therefore claims (4 & 21-22) correspond to method claims (1-3), respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of obvious as used above.
Furthermore, Chen discloses the video decoder comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions [Paragraphs [0066] & [0357]-[0358], video decoder containing one or more microprocessors, wherein the techniques are implemented partially in software, a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors].
Regarding claim (23-25), computer program product comprising instructions claims (23-25) correspond to the same method as claimed in claims (1-3), and therefore are also rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as listed above.
Furthermore, Chen discloses of a computer program product comprising instructions that are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium [Paragraphs [0066] & [0357]-[0358], video decoder containing one or more microprocessors, wherein the techniques are implemented partially in software, a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors].
Regarding claim (26-28), non-transitory computer-readable medium claims (26-28) correspond to the same method as claimed in claims (1-3), and therefore are also rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as listed above.
Furthermore, Chen discloses of a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions [Paragraphs [0066] & [0357]-[0358], video decoder containing one or more microprocessors, wherein the techniques are implemented partially in software, a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors].
Regarding claims (29-31), claims (29-31) are drawn to a method implemented by a video encoder having limitations similar to the decoding method of using the same as claimed in claims (1-3) treated in the above rejection. Therefore, method claims (29-31) correspond to method claims (1-3) and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Furthermore, Chen discloses of a method implemented by a video encoder [Paragraphs [0064]-[0066], video encoder 20 running encoding process].
Regarding claims (32-34), claims (32-34) are drawn to the video encoder using/performing the same method as claimed in claims (29-31). Therefore claims (32-34) correspond to method claims (29-32), respectively, and are rejected for the same reasons of obvious as used above.
Furthermore, Chen discloses the video encoder comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions [Paragraphs [0064]-[0066] & [0357]-[0358], video encoder containing one or more microprocessors, wherein the techniques are implemented partially in software, a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors].
Regarding claim 36, Chen, Coban, and Lai disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Chen discloses wherein a transform block is a rectangular MxN block of samples resulting from a transform in a decoding process [Paragraphs [0064]-[0071] & [0075], CU sizes include 2N×N as MxN, with TUs being typically sized based on the size of PUs within a given CU defined for a partitioned CTU or LCU, and thus are also 2N×N as MxN].
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2015/0085929 A1) (hereinafter Chen), Coban et al., "Support of Independent Sub-Pictures," 9th. JCT-VC MEETING; 20120427 - 20120507; Geneva; (Joint Collaborative Team on Video Coding of ITU-T SG16 WP6 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11), no. JCTVC-I0356 17 April 2012 (2012-04-17) (hereinafter Coban), and Lai et al. (US 2022/0303587 A1, with priority to 62/896,032) (hereinafter Lai) in view of Zhu et al. (WO 2019/188944 A1) (hereinafter Zhu).
Regarding claim 35, Chen, Coban, and Lai disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Chen discloses of applying the deblocking filter process to the first subblock edges and the first transform block edges [Paragraph [0044]-[0045], [0113] & [0129], Deblocking filter processes applied to sub-PU boundaries, as subblock edges, and transform unit (TU) boundaries, as transform block edges].
However, Chen, Coban, and Lai do not explicitly disclose applying the deblocking filter process to the first subblock edges and the first transform block edges not at the first boundary when the first loop_filter_across subpic enabled flag is equal to 0.
Zhu teaches applying the deblocking filter process to the first subblock edges and the first transform block edges not at the first boundary when the first loop_filter _across_subpic_enabled_flag is equal to 0 [Paragraph [0029]-[0030] & [0039]-[0041], Further, in ITU-T H.265, the deblocking filter may be applied differently to CTU boundaries that coincide with slice and tile boundaries compared with CTU boundaries that do not coincide with slice and tile boundaries, wherein a flag, loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag, reading as loop_filter_across_subpic _enabled_flag, present in a PPS enables/disables the deblocking filter across CTU boundaries that coincide with tile boundaries, while enabling the deblocking filter for CTU boundaries, reading as subblock edges and transform block edges, that do not coincide slice and tile boundaries, as subpicture boundaries].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen to integrate and implement the loop-filtering techniques across CTU boundaries in Zhu as above, to prevent the use of support samples when a deblocking filter exceeds a boundary and instead use of padding operations to create support samples to avoid a blurring or artifacts (Zhu, Paragraphs [0159] & [0164]).
Conclusion
/DANIEL CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487