Election/Restrictions
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/07/2025.
The image of the elected compound in the Response to Election is somewhat blurry, but it appears as though the compound below from claim 15 is the elected compound:
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The new provisos of Claims 1, 17 and 20 do not find support in the specification. The proviso are so specific that they amount to negative limitations of a small number of compounds. While claims may include negative limitations to exclude a component or compound, that component or compound must be disclosed in the specification. None of the new provisos are mentioned in Applicant’s specification; they are clearly just attempts to exclude the disclosures of the applied references. Applicant has not cited any support in the specification, nor given any explanation of why the concept of each proviso would be understood by the ordinarily skilled artisan to be a readily envisaged subset of the claimed invention.
The other claims are rejected because they depend, directly or indirectly, from one of the above indefinitely claims and do not remedy the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-14, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al (US 20110215710 A1).
Xia discloses OLEDs having an organic as well as a consumer product [abstract, 0133, 0238] comprising a compound which comprises a ligand that reads on the claimed Formula 1 [0026 Formula VI] including specific examples below:
[p7; compounds 10,13; Ligands on p3] wherein in the above Compounds 26 and 29 the right-hand-side (RHS) ligand reads on LB7 of claim 14. The organic layer further comprises a host having a triphenylene structure [0137].
While the specific compounds above are excluded from the amended claims because the first proviso requires that each of X1 to X4 is C. However, the proviso only applies when RA group is Formula II and is para to Z1. Xia discloses, however, that the (benzo)oxazole substituent may be attached at any position on the pyridine ligand above, see the general Formula IV:
[p2].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of Applicant’s invention to have used the meta or ortho substituted position isomers of Compounds 26 and 29 of Xia because Xia also teaches that the substituent G ring may be attached to the ring A of the ligand at any position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 3/30/2026, with respect to Nakayama et al (US 20110084601 A1), Arai (JP 2013197323 A), Xu et al (CN 102659773 A), Park et al (US 20220209140 A1), Wang et al (CN 111995999 A) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of 12/29/2025 have been withdrawn.
None of the above references read on the claimed provisos.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Xia et al (US 20110215710 A1) does not read on the first proviso of the claims. This argument is not convincing. The proviso only applies to one position isomer Formula 2 substituent, and Xia teaches all the position isomers, see the amended rejection above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 and 21 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: All of the references discussed above disclose the furanyl functional group of the claims (specifically X1-X4 in claim 1 are all C) as one among many options, and do not distinguish it above any of the others. Li et al (CN 105602548 A) discloses the generic formula:
but you will notice that the X is a required linking group, and the claimed Formula I excludes this with the proviso that RA and RB are not joined to form a ring. Alleyne et al (WO 2010027583 A1) teaches thiophene functional ligands used in OLEDs:
Neither of these references, alone or together, would motivate the skilled artisan to make any of the compounds of claim 15. It would require excessive hindsight on the part of the office to arrive at the claimed compounds from the above references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL M. DOLLINGER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1766
/MICHAEL M DOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766