DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The amendment filed 13 November 2025 has been received and considered for examination. Claims 1-20 are presently pending, with claims 15-20 withdrawn from consideration and claims 1-14 being examined herein.
3. All rejections and objections from the previous Office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
4. New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are necessitated by the amendments, as detailed below.
Claim Interpretation
5. Claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation, and there is a presumption that claim terms are given their plain meaning. Therefore, the limitation “is sustained” in independent claims 1 and 8 is interpreted broadly, e.g., including an instance in which the temperature reaches within the 1-2 degrees Fahrenheit of the setpoint and is sustained for even an infinitesimal amount of time. See MPEP 2173.01(I).
Further, the limitation “one or more control signals” is considered broadly as the first and second temperature measurement calculations can each output one or more control signals, which can separately or together cause the control effects described throughout the claims.
In claims 4 and 11, “slightly higher in temperature” is a relative term that is defined in the Specification as higher by approximately 1-2 degrees Fahrenheit (par 0091).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al (US 20190255202 A1) in view of Schulte (US 20100282097 A1) and Benning et al (US 20060251540 A1).
8. Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches a method (process for sterilization of items, par 0017) comprising:
performing a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) computation (at least one temperature sensor may be integrated with a proportional-integral-derivative controller, par 0054) of a first temperature measurement input signal and a first temperature setpoint (receive temperature sensor input and compare recorded air temperature with a required control temperature, par 0054) to output one or more control signals (relay data to activate or inactivate a heating unit, par 0054), and
performing a PID computation (at least one temperature sensor may be integrated with a proportional-integral-derivative controller, par 0054) of a second temperature measurement input signal and a second temperature setpoint (receive temperature sensor input and compare recorded air temperature with a required control temperature, par 0054) to output one or more control signals (relay data to activate or inactivate a heating unit, par 0054);
wherein the first input signal is received from a first temperature sensor (thermocouple 43 is coupled to and in connection with an electronic controller configured to relay temperature data, par 0048; FIG. 5, first thermocouple 43 located in upper plenum) and the second input signal is received from a second temperature sensor (thermocouple 48 is further configured to monitor the sterilization chamber 7 and exit temperature of the air, par 0050; controller configured to monitor, maintain, control, and record desired temperatures, par 0027), and
wherein the one or more control signals target at least a first heating element (electronic controller…allows control of activation or inactivation of the heater elements 27, par 0048) from which the first temperature sensor is downstream in an airflow circuit (air, now heated, then enters a horizontal upper air supply plenum 28…where is located thermocouple 43, par 0048, FIG. 5), and a circulation fan (fan 23, par 0047) from which the second temperature sensor is upstream in the airflow circuit (thermocouple 48 is further configured to monitor…as the air enters the sterilization air exhaust port 37 for re-heating and recirculation, par 0050).
wherein, during the initial stage of warmup, temperature in the airflow circuit is lowest at the second temperature sensor (during heating, heated air flowing over colder instruments will be cooled….monitored by thermocouple 48, pars 0050-0051).
Although Smith teaches the importance of minimizing temperature overshoot with a PID controller (par 0013), Smith does not specifically teach lowering the first temperature setpoint to the value of the second temperature setpoint after the second temperature measurement input signal is sustained, during an initial stage of warmup, at within approximately 1-2 OF of the second temperature setpoint and before the first temperature measurement overshoots the first temperature setpoint.
Schulte teaches the analogous control of a convection heating element provided in an air plenum of an oven (Abstract, pars 0009-0010), the air circuit of the oven having a first temperature sensor 77 after a heating element 65 (par 0025, FIG. 2) and a second sensor 76 before the heating element measuring the temperature of the oven cavity (par 0026, FIG. 2). Schulte describes an overshoot prevention method in which various set levels below the setpoint temperature can be employed (par 0027), wherein the first temperature setpoint at the heater plenum is known to be higher than the second oven cavity temperature setpoint (par 0025). Though Schulte teaches that the first temperature setpoint may be reduced to maintain the airflow at the cavity setpoint temperature, understood as the second temperature setpoint (pars 0027-0028), and that the use of these two measured temperatures to adjust the heaters in the overall system quickly bring the oven cavity up to temperature and then accurately maintain that temperature (par 0030), Schulte does not specifically teach that this set point reduction or any of the set level reductions taught in pars 0024-0030, would occur after the second temperature measurement input signal is sustained at within approximately 1-2 OF of the second temperature setpoint.
Benning teaches a similar sterilizing apparatus with preprogrammed cycles including dry cycles (Abstract, pars 0013 and 0017-0021) featuring a heat up mode wherein the heating is slowed at 1.5 OF then reversed at 2.5 OF above the temperature setpoint (FIG. 19, par 0087), demonstrating that overshoot during a heating process can be capped within a similar temperature resolution that is also of a non-critical range i.e., meets the criteria of a result effective variable. See MPEP 2144(II)(A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the PID control method of Smith such that the first temperature setpoint is lowered to match the second temperature setpoint as taught by Schulte because this would predictably prevent temperature overshoot in a similar manner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2143(I)(G). It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform this setpoint lowering after the second measurement input signal is sustained at within approximately 1-2 OF of the second temperature setpoint as taught by Benning, as Benning teaches a similar overshoot prevention outcome achieved at within 1.5-2.5 OF, a temperature range that is reasonable for an artisan to tune by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
9. Regarding claim 2, Smith as modified by Schulte and Benning teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more control signals cause the first heating element (controller…relays the data to activate or deactivate the heater element, Smith par 0013) and the circulation fan (air handling system brings air to a necessary velocity by means of a fan wheel, Smith par 0023) to sustain a first spot airflow temperature at the first temperature sensor at approximately a value of the first temperature setpoint (use of a proportional-integral-derivative controller would…more precisely maintain plenum temperatures, Smith par 0013) and cause one or both of the first heating element and a second heating element (electronic controller configured to relay temperature data and allows control of activation or inactivation of the heater elements 27, Smith par 0048) and the circulation fan (air handling system brings air to a necessary velocity by means of a fan wheel, Smith par 0023) to sustain a second spot airflow temperature at the second temperature sensor at approximately a value of the second temperature setpoint (temperature sensor located at the exhaust portal would provide a quantitative measure indicating when the instruments in the sterilization chamber have achieved this minimum sterilization threshold temperature…and maintained for a pre-requisite time, Smith par 0014).
10. Regarding claim 3, Smith as modified by Schulte and Benning teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the one or more control signals further cause the first heating element (controller…relays the data to activate or deactivate the heater element, Smith par 0013) and the circulation fan to sustain the first spot airflow temperature at the first temperature sensor at approximately the value of the first temperature setpoint (use of a proportional-integral-derivative controller would…more precisely maintain plenum temperatures, Smith par 0013).
As to whether this control occurs asymptotically, Smith describes the PID control of the chamber temperature by the other thermocouple 48 as asymptotic, namely, as instrument temperatures increase, a rate of chamber air temperature increase will slow, approaching 375 degrees Fahrenheit as the thermocouple modulates the system (Smith par 0051). Further, as modified above by Schulte, it is understood that the first and second temperatures are approaching the set point temperature without overshoot (Schulte pars 0027-0028), evidencing that the first temperature sensed within the plenum approaches the first temperature setpoint asymptotically under normal operation.
11. Regarding claim 4, Smith as modified by Schulte and Benning teaches the method of claim 1, wherein there is at least a setpoint temperature for the chamber (required control temperature, par 0013) and the PID controllers based on each temperature sensor respond to a setpoint temperature (pars 0013 and 0054). The combination does not teach wherein the first setpoint is slightly higher in temperature value than the second setpoint.
Schulte further teaches that the temperature at sensor 77 is adjusted, with controller 186 altering the power supplied to convection heating element 65 such that the temperature of air stream 84 will be above the set point temperature for oven cavity 12 (par 0025), i.e., slightly higher than the second setpoint. Schulte teaches that this arrangement ensures the cooking temperature in oven cavity 12 will be most accurately maintained at the desired set point temperature (par 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to set the first temperature setpoint in the analogous method of Smith slightly higher than the second temperature setpoint as taught by Schulte. Doing so would predictably enable control of the temperature difference before and after the heating element, thereby improving control of the change of temperature within the chamber in a similar way with a reasonable expectation of success.
12. Regarding claim 5, Smith as modified by Schulte and Benning teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising performing a PID computation (at least one temperature sensor may be integrated with a proportional-integral-derivative controller, Smith par 0054) of a third temperature measurement input signal and its respective temperature setpoint (receive temperature sensor input and compare recorded air temperature with a required control temperature, Smith par 0054) to output one or more control signals (relay data to activate or inactivate a heating unit, Smith par 0054);
wherein the third input signal is received from a third temperature sensor (thermocouple 43 is coupled to and in connection with an electronic controller configured to relay temperature data, Smith par 0048; Smith FIG. 5, third thermocouple 43 located in lower plenum), and
wherein the one or more control signals target at least a second heating element (electronic controller…allows control of activation or inactivation of the heater elements 27, Smith par 0048) from which the third temperature sensor is downstream in the airflow circuit (air, now heated, then enters a horizontal lower air supply plenum 28…where is located thermocouple 43, Smith par 0048, Smith FIG. 5).
Smith does not explicitly disclose that operation of the device would involve performing a PID computation for this third temperature sensor input, though it is assumed that the normal and usual operation of a PID controller would necessarily involve such a computation for any inputs. Further, Smith does not teach that the third temperature sensor would correspond to the first temperature setpoint, though Smith does disclose that the first and third temperature sensors are located at a similar position in symmetrical plenums (Smith FIG. 5, temperature sensors 43 at similar distances from heater elements 27 and supply air wall 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a PID controller to perform a PID computation of the third temperature input signal and the same setpoint value as the first temperature setpoint. As Smith teaches that the PID control via PID computations of at least one temperature sensor input with a required control temperature can more precisely maintain plenum temperatures, applying similar PID control logic to the third temperature sensor with the first temperature setpoint would predictably provide these same advantages, thus providing improved temperature control within the plenums and the chamber.
13. Regarding claim 6, Smith as modified by Schulte and Benning teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the airflow circuit (dual airflow pathway, Smith Abstract; Smith FIG. 5, follow arrows starting at sensors 43) passes through a sterilization chamber (Smith FIG. 5, sterilization chamber 7) after passing the first and third temperature sensors (Smith FIG. 5, upper and lower thermocouples 43) and before reaching the second temperature sensor (Smith FIG. 5, thermocouple 48).
14. Regarding claim 7, Smith as modified by Schulte and Benning teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the first heating element and the second heating element each comprises an openwork heating element (heating elements 27 may comprise a metal heating coil 40 wound around an electrical insulator, Smith par 0048).
15. Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al (US 20190255202 A1) in view of Yu et al (US 20200276881 A1), Schulte (US 20100282097 A1), and Benning et al (US 20060251540 A1).
16. Regarding claim 8, Smith teaches a system (system for sterilizing objects, Abstract) comprising:
one or more processors (microcontroller-based system, par 0054) that perform associated operations (configured to read a monitoring device input data such as temperature and provide control of an output device, par 0054) via:
a PID computing module (proportional-integral-derivative controller, pars 0013, 0027, and 0054) executable by the one or more processors to perform a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) computation (at least one temperature sensor may be integrated with a proportional-integral-derivative controller, par 0054) of a first temperature measurement input signal and a first temperature setpoint (receive temperature sensor input and compare recorded air temperature with a required control temperature, par 0054) to cause a control signal outputting module (electronic controller…allows control of activation or inactivation of the heater elements, par 0048) to output one or more control signals (relay data to activate or inactivate a heating unit, par 0054), and
a PID computing module (proportional-integral-derivative controller, pars 0013, 0027, and 0054) executable by the one or more processors (microcontroller-based system… configured to read a monitoring device input data such as temperature and provide control of an output device, par 0054) to perform a PID computation of a second temperature measurement input signal and a second temperature setpoint (receive temperature sensor input and compare recorded air temperature with a required control temperature, par 0054) to cause the control signal outputting module (electronic controller…allows control of activation or inactivation of the heater elements, par 0048) to output one or more control signals (relay data to activate or inactivate a heating unit, par 0054);
a setpoint setting module executable by the one or more processors (controller may further be integrated with an input system configured to allow a user to review, monitor, and change system settings such as preset required temperature, par 0027);
an input signal receiving module executable by the one or more processors (controller configured to receive temperature sensor input data, par 0054) to receive the first input signal from a first temperature sensor (thermocouple 43 is coupled to and in connection with an electronic controller configured to relay temperature data, par 0048; FIG. 5, first thermocouple 43 located in upper plenum) and receive the second input signal from a second temperature sensor (thermocouple 48 is further configured to monitor the sterilization chamber 7 and exit temperature of the air, par 0050; controller configured to monitor, maintain, control, and record desired temperatures, par 0027), and
a control signal outputting module executable by the one or more processors (microcontroller-based system having high-resolution analog-to-digital converters, par 0027) to output the one or more control signals (further provide control of an output device such as a blower/heater, par 0027) targeting at least a heating element (electronic controller…allows control of activation or inactivation of the heater elements 27, par 0048) from which the first temperature sensor is downstream in an airflow circuit (air, now heated, then enters a horizontal upper air supply plenum 28…where is located thermocouple 43, par 0048, FIG. 5), and a circulation fan (fan 23, par 0047) from which the second temperature sensor is upstream in the airflow circuit (thermocouple 48 is further configured to monitor…as the air enters the sterilization air exhaust port 37 for re-heating and recirculation, par 0050).
Although Smith teaches that the controller is configured to record desired temperatures (par 0027), inferring the presence of memory, and that the controller may also comprise operating instructions (par 0054), Smith does not explicitly teach memory communicatively coupled to the one or more processors, the memory storing computer-executable modules executable by the one or more processors that, when executed by the one or more processors, perform associated operations, the computer-executable modules comprising: a first PID computing module and a second PID computing module.
Yu teaches an analogous temperature control method and temperature control device (Abstract, FIG. 6, pars 0015-0017) used in a hot air heating system (par 0064) and employing a plurality of temperature detection points (par 0051) in concert with a PID controller (par 0061). The PID controller operates using logic in the form of modules comprising executable instructions (par 0127) embodied in any computer readable medium (par 0128), listing several forms of memory therein that store a program and enable execution when read by a computer (par 0128). The fuzzy PID controller disclosed can also consist of multiple controllers (par 0065) and calculate multiple parameter differences modularly (FIG. 3), thus reading upon first and second PID computing modules.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide memory storing computer-executable modules with instructions for operating each of the PID control functions as taught by Yu to the system of Smith. Doing so would predictably enable the PID controllers to operate using a user-programmed algorithm, thus improving the ability to accurately tune temperature control of each of the PID logic loops (Yu par 0040) with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Although Smith teaches the importance of minimizing temperature overshoot with a PID controller (par 0013), Smith does not specifically teach lowering the first temperature setpoint to the value of the second temperature setpoint after the second temperature measurement input signal is sustained, during an initial stage of warmup, at within approximately 1-2 OF of the second temperature setpoint and before the first temperature measurement overshoots the first temperature setpoint.
Schulte teaches the analogous control of a convection heating element provided in an air plenum of an oven (Abstract, pars 0009-0010), the air circuit of the oven having a first temperature sensor 77 after a heating element 65 (par 0025, FIG. 2) and a second sensor 76 before the heating element measuring the temperature of the oven cavity (par 0026, FIG. 2). Schulte describes an overshoot prevention method in which various set levels below the setpoint temperature can be employed (par 0027), wherein the first temperature setpoint at the heater plenum is known to be higher than the second oven cavity temperature setpoint (par 0025). Though Schulte teaches that the first temperature setpoint may be reduced to maintain the airflow at the cavity setpoint temperature, understood as the second temperature setpoint (pars 0027-0028), and that the use of these two measured temperatures to adjust the heaters in the overall system quickly bring the oven cavity up to temperature and then accurately maintain that temperature (par 0030), Schulte does not specifically teach that this set point reduction or any of the set level reductions taught in pars 0024-0030, would occur after the second temperature measurement input signal is sustained at within approximately 1-2 OF of the second temperature setpoint.
Benning teaches a similar sterilizing apparatus with preprogrammed cycles including dry cycles (Abstract, pars 0013 and 0017-0021) featuring a heat up mode wherein the heating is slowed at 1.5 OF then reversed at 2.5 OF above the temperature setpoint (FIG. 19, par 0087), demonstrating that overshoot during a heating process can be capped within a similar temperature resolution that is also of a non-critical range i.e., meets the criteria of a result effective variable. See MPEP 2144(II)(A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the PID control method of Smith such that the first temperature setpoint is lowered to match the second temperature setpoint as taught by Schulte because this would predictably prevent temperature overshoot in a similar manner with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(A) and MPEP 2143(I)(G). It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform this setpoint lowering after the second measurement input signal is sustained at within approximately 1-2 OF of the second temperature setpoint as taught by Benning, as Benning teaches a similar overshoot prevention outcome achieved at within 1.5-2.5 OF, a temperature range that is reasonable for an artisan to tune by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2143(I)(G).
17. Regarding claim 9, Smith as modified by Yu, Schulte, and Benning teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more control signals cause the first heating element (controller…relays the data to activate or deactivate the heater element, Smith par 0013) and the circulation fan (air handling system brings air to a necessary velocity by means of a fan wheel, Smith par 0023) to sustain a first spot airflow temperature at the first temperature sensor at approximately a value of the first temperature setpoint (use of a proportional-integral-derivative controller would…more precisely maintain plenum temperatures, Smith par 0013) and cause one or both of the first heating element and a second heating element (electronic controller configured to relay temperature data and allows control of activation or inactivation of the heater elements 27, Smith par 0048) and the circulation fan (air handling system brings air to a necessary velocity by means of a fan wheel, Smith par 0023) to sustain a second spot airflow temperature at the second temperature sensor at approximately a value of the second temperature setpoint (temperature sensor located at the exhaust portal would provide a quantitative measure indicating when the instruments in the sterilization chamber have achieved this minimum sterilization threshold temperature…and maintained for a pre-requisite time, Smith par 0014).
18. Regarding claim 10, Smith as modified by Yu, Schulte, and Benning teaches the system of claim 9, and Smith teaches wherein the one or more control signals further cause the first heating element (controller…relays the data to activate or deactivate the heater element, Smith par 0013) and the circulation fan to sustain a first spot airflow temperature at the first temperature sensor at approximately the value of the first temperature setpoint (use of a proportional-integral-derivative controller would…more precisely maintain plenum temperatures, Smith par 0013).
Smith does not explicitly disclose that this particular control occurs asymptotically. However, Smith describes the PID control of the chamber temperature by the other thermocouple 48 as asymptotic, namely, as instrument temperatures increase, a rate of chamber air temperature increase will slow, approaching 375 degrees Fahrenheit as the thermocouple modulates the system (Smith par 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply PID control logic to the first temperature sensor in the plenum in a similar manner as Smith teaches for the second temperature sensor in the chamber. Doing so would predictably yield an asymptotic approach to the desired plenum air temperature setting, providing improved control of plenum air temperature.
19. Regarding claim 11, Smith as modified by Yu, Schulte, and Benning teaches the system of claim 8, and Smith teaches wherein there is at least a setpoint temperature for the chamber (required control temperature, par 0013) and the PID controllers based on each temperature sensor respond to a setpoint temperature (pars 0013 and 0054). The combination does not fully teach wherein the first setpoint is slightly higher in temperature value than the second setpoint.
Schulte further teaches that the temperature at sensor 77 is adjusted, with controller 186 altering the power supplied to convection heating element 65 such that the temperature of air stream 84 will be above the set point temperature for oven cavity 12 (par 0025), i.e., slightly higher than the second setpoint. Schulte teaches that this arrangement ensures the cooking temperature in oven cavity 12 will be most accurately maintained at the desired set point temperature (par 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to set the first temperature setpoint slightly higher than the second temperature setpoint as taught by Schulte within the analogous system of modified Smith. Doing so would predictably enable control of the temperature difference before and after the heating element, thereby improving control of the change of temperature within the chamber in a similar way.
20. Regarding claim 12, Smith as modified by Yu, Schulte, and Benning teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the first PID computing module (Yu teaches multiple computing modules for temperature control, pars 0021-0025) is further executable by the one or more processors (Yu par 0128) to perform a PID computation (at least one temperature sensor may be integrated with a proportional-integral-derivative controller, Smith par 0054) of a third temperature measurement input signal and its respective temperature setpoint (receive temperature sensor input and compare recorded air temperature with a required control temperature, Smith par 0054) to cause the control signal outputting module to output one or more control signals (controller configured to…relay data to activate or inactivate a heating unit, Smith par 0054);
wherein the input signal receiving module is further executable by the one or more processors (controller configured to receive temperature sensor input data, Smith par 0054; Yu pars 0019-0020) to receive the third temperature measurement input signal from a third temperature sensor (thermocouple 43 is coupled to and in connection with an electronic controller configured to relay temperature data, Smith par 0048 and FIG. 5, third thermocouple 43 located in lower plenum), and
wherein the control signal outputting module is further executable by the one or more processors (Yu par 0025) to output the one or more control signals targeting at least a second heating element (electronic controller…allows control of activation or inactivation of the heater elements 27, par 0048) from which the third temperature sensor is downstream in the airflow circuit (air, now heated, then enters a horizontal lower air supply plenum 28…where is located thermocouple 43, par 0048, FIG. 5).
The combination does not teach that the third temperature sensor would correspond to the first temperature setpoint, though Smith does disclose that the first and third temperature sensors are located at a similar position in symmetrical plenums (FIG. 5, temperature sensors 43 at similar distances from heater elements 27 and supply air wall 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a PID controller to perform a PID computation of the third temperature input signal and the same setpoint value as the first temperature setpoint. As Smith teaches that the PID control via PID computations of at least one temperature sensor input with a required control temperature can more precisely maintain plenum temperatures, applying similar PID control logic to the third temperature sensor with the first temperature setpoint would predictably provide these same advantages, thus providing improved temperature control within the plenums and the chamber.
21. Regarding claim 13, Smith as modified by Yu, Schulte, and Benning teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the airflow circuit (dual airflow pathway, Smith Abstract; Smith FIG. 5, follow arrows starting at sensors 43) passes through a sterilization chamber (Smith FIG. 5, sterilization chamber 7) after passing the first and third temperature sensors (Smith FIG. 5, upper and lower thermocouples 43) and before reaching the second temperature sensor (Smith FIG. 5, thermocouple 48).
22. Regarding claim 14, Smith as modified by Yu, Schulte, and Benning teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the first heating element and the second heating element each comprises an openwork heating element (heating elements 27 may comprise a metal heating coil 40 wound around an electrical insulator, Smith par 0048).
Response to Arguments
23. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 26 February 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The newly recited limitation wherein the setpoint lowering occurs during an initial stage of warmup overcomes at least the teachings of Yu, which focuses on temperature stabilization/smoothing between multiple sensor points; therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made over Smith in view of Schulte and Benning to address the newly recited limitations, as Schulte teaches a setpoint lowering approach to prevent overshoot in an analogous system and Benning teaches that overshoot can be limited to within the order of the claimed range 1-2 OF.
Conclusion
24. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC TALBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799