DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 3-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meguro (US20160359194) in view of Yoshima (US20170358825).
Regarding Claim 1 & 10, Meguro discloses a lithium-ion secondary battery ([001]) comprising:
A solid electrolyte membrane having an electron-insulating inorganic particle (sulfide based inorganic solid electrolyte contains sulfur, which acts as an electron-insulating inorganic particle, [0046]), and inorganic solid electrolyte particle (Li2S or P2S5 can act as inorganic particle and the other as the electron-insulating particle, [0050]) that has electrolytic solution resistance an ion conducvity ([0046]);
Meguro further discloses wherein the void between the particles is filled ([0074]).
A positive electrode layer disposed on one side of the solid electrolyte membrane (positive electrode active substance layer-4 on one side of inorganic solid electrolyte layer-3, [0036], Fig.1);
A negative electrode layer disposed on a side of the solid electrolyte membrane opposite to one side, where the positive electrode layer is disposed (negative electrode active substance layer-2 on other side of inorganic solid electrolyte layer-3, [0036], Fig.1); and
Wherein the thermofused solidified product of the electrode-insulating material is in an amorphous state (sulfide-based electrolyte may be amorphous, [0049]).
Meguro does not directly disclose wherein the electron-insulating inorganic particle has a particle diameter of 10 to 500 nm, and where the inorganic solid electrolyte particle has a particle diameter larger than a particle diameter of the electron-insulating inorganic particles.
Meguro discloses that there can be two particle distributions for the inorganic particles in the solid electrolyte ([0062]). Meguro further discloses wherein the inorganic solid electrolyte particles are formed with two types or more particles denoted inorganic solid electrolyte particles A and inorganic solid electrolyte particles B ([0062]). Meguro further discloses wherein the average particle diameter of Particles A is 0.4 um to 1.9 um ([0064]). Meguro further discloses wherein the average particle diameter of Particle B is 0.15 um to 1.3 um ([0068]) which overlaps the instant claim range of 10 to 500 nm.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Meguro to have wherein the electron-insulating inorganic particle has a particle diameter of 10 to 500 nm, and where the inorganic solid electrolyte particle has a particle diameter larger than a particle diameter of the electron-insulating inorganic particles.
Meguro does not directly disclose wherein the thickness of the solid electrolyte membrane is equal to larger than the particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte x 0.7 and equal to or smaller than the particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte particle x 1.3.
Meguro discloses wherein the thickness of the solid electrolyte layer can range from 1 um to 1000 um ([0037]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Meguro to have wherein the thickness of the solid electrolyte membrane is equal to larger than the particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte x 0.7 and equal to or smaller than the particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte particle x 1.3.
Meguro further discloses wherein in the manufacturing method of forming the solid electrolyte, the battery is heated to 60 C or more and 250 C or less ([0165]). Meguro does not directly disclose wherein the electron-insulating material is disposed between the particles to fill a void between the particles, the electrode insulating material having a melting point of more than 100 C and 200 C or lower, wherein the electron-insulating inorganic particle is selected from the group including aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, boron nitride, cerium oxide, diamond, and zeolite, and the inorganic solid electrolyte particle is inorganic particle having a Li ion conductivity, and constituted of a material different from the electrode-insulating inorganic particle.
Yoshima discloses a solid electrolyte with organic electrolyte particles and inorganic electrolyte particles ([0034]). Yoshima further discloses wherein the electrolyte is a Li containing oxide solid electrolyte ([0045]). Yoshima further discloses wherein the inorganic solid particles can be aluminum oxide or silicon oxide ([0030]). Yoshima teaches that these materials provide improved high reduction resistance and lower costs ([0030]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure Meguro with the teachings of Yoshima to have wherein the electron-insulating material is disposed between the particles to fill a void between the particles, the electrode insulating material having a melting point of more than 100 C and 200 C or lower, wherein the electron-insulating inorganic particle is selected from the group including aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, boron nitride, cerium oxide, diamond, and zeolite, and the inorganic solid electrolyte particle is inorganic particle having a Li ion conductivity, and constituted of a material different from the electrode-insulating inorganic particle. This modification would yield the expected result of improved high reduction resistance and lower costs.
Regarding Claim 3, Meguro in view of Yoshima discloses the limitations as set forth above. Meguro further discloses wherein the negative electrode active material that constitutes the negative electrode layer contains metallic lithium ([0150]).
Regarding Claim 4, Meguro in view of Yoshima discloses the limitations as set forth above. Meguro further discloses wherein the negative electrode is constituted of a metallic lithium layer (negative electrode can be entirely lithium metal, [0150]).
Meguro does not directly disclose wherein there is a sulfide-based inorganic solid electrolyte layer between the metallic lithium layer and the solid electrolyte membrane.
Meguro discloses wherein the solid electrolyte layer and can be a single layer or formed with multiple layers ([0038]). Meguro discloses wherein the sulfide solid electrolyte can be formed of various inorganic particles ([0046-0050]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Meguro to have wherein there is a sulfide-based inorganic solid electrolyte layer between the metallic lithium layer and the solid electrolyte membrane.
Regarding Claim 5, Meguro in view of Yoshima discloses the limitations as set forth above. Meguro further discloses wherein the negative electrode active material layer that constitutes the negative electrode layer contains an electrolytic solution ([0150]).
Regarding Claim 6, Meguro in view of Yoshima discloses the limitations as set forth above. Meguro further discloses wherein the lithium ion secondary battery is an all solid lithium ion secondary battery ([0036]).
Regarding Claim 7, 8, 11 & 12, Meguro in view of Yoshima discloses the limitations as set forth above. Meguro further discloses wherein the electron-insulating material contains sulfur (sulfide based inorganic solid electrolyte contains sulfur or modified sulfur, which acts as an electron-insulating inorganic particle, [0046], [0048]).
Regarding Claim 9, Meguro in view of Yoshima discloses the limitations as set forth above. Meguro does not directly disclose wherein the particle diameter of the electron-insulating inorganic particle and the particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte particle satisfy the following formula, 5 ≤ the particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte/ the particle diameter of the electron-insulating inorganic particle.
Meguro discloses that there can be two particle distributions for the inorganic particles in the solid electrolyte ([0062]). Meguro further discloses wherein the inorganic solid electrolyte particles are formed with two types or more particles denoted inorganic solid electrolyte particles A and inorganic solid electrolyte particles B ([0062]). Meguro further discloses wherein the average particle diameter of Particles A is 0.4 um to 1.9 um ([0064]). Meguro further discloses wherein the average particle diameter of Particle B is 0.15 um to 1.3 um ([0068]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Meguro to have wherein the particle diameter of the electron-insulating inorganic particle and the particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte particle satisfy the following formula, 5 ≤ the particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte/ the particle diameter of the electron-insulating inorganic particle.
Regarding Claim 13, Meguro in view of Yoshima discloses the limitations as set forth above. Meguro further discloses a manufacturing method for the solid electrolyte membrane for a lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1 ([004]), the manufacturing method comprising:
Forming a layer, in which the electron-insulating material thermofusses, using a composition containing an electron-insulating inorganic particle ([0039]).
Solidifying a thermofused product of the electrode-insulating material under a pressure of 100 MPa or more ([0198]).
Meguro does not directly disclose wherein the electron-insulating inorganic particle has a particle diameter of 10 to 500 nm, and where the inorganic solid electrolyte particle has a particle diameter larger than a particle diameter of the electron-insulating inorganic particles.
Meguro discloses that their can be two particle distributions for the inorganic particles in the solid electrolyte ([0062]). Meguro further discloses wherein the inorganic solid electrolyte particles are formed with two types or more particles denoted inorganic solid electrolyte particles A and inorganic solid electrolyte particles B ([0062]). Meguro further discloses wherein the average particle diameter of Particles A is 0.4 um to 1.9 um ([0064]). Meguro further discloses wherein the average particle diameter of Particle B is 0.15 um to 1.3 um ([0068]) which overlaps the instant claim range of 10 to 500 nm.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Meguro to have wherein the electron-insulating inorganic particle has a particle diameter of 10 to 500 nm, and where the inorganic solid electrolyte particle has a particle diameter larger than a particle diameter of the electron-insulating inorganic particles.
Meguro does not directly disclose wherein the thickness of the solid electrolyte membrane is equal to larger than the particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte x 0.7 and equal to or smaller than the particle diameter of the inorganic solid electrolyte particle x 1.3.
Meguro further discloses wherein in the manufacturing method of forming the solid electrolyte, the battery is heated to 60 C or more and 250 C or less ([0165]). Meguro does not directly disclose wherein the electron-insulating material is disposed between the particles to fill a void between the particles, the electrode insulating material having a melting point of more than 100 C and 200 C or lower, wherein the electron-insulating inorganic particle is selected from the group including aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, boron nitride, cerium oxide, diamond, and zeolite, and the inorganic solid electrolyte particle is inorganic particle having a Li ion conductivity, and constituted of a material different from the electrode-insulating inorganic particle.
Yoshima discloses a solid electrolyte with organic electrolyte particles and inorganic electrolyte particles ([0034]). Yoshima further discloses wherein the electrolyte is a Li containing oxide solid electrolyte ([0045]). Yoshima further discloses wherein the inorganic solid particles can be aluminum oxide or silicon oxide ([0030]). Yoshima teaches that these materials provide improved high reduction resistance and lower costs ([0030]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure Meguro with the teachings of Yoshima to have wherein the electron-insulating material is disposed between the particles to fill a void between the particles, the electrode insulating material having a melting point of more than 100 C and 200 C or lower, wherein the electron-insulating inorganic particle is selected from the group including aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, boron nitride, cerium oxide, diamond, and zeolite, and the inorganic solid electrolyte particle is inorganic particle having a Li ion conductivity, and constituted of a material different from the electrode-insulating inorganic particle. This modification would yield the expected result of improved high reduction resistance and lower costs.
Regarding Claim 14, Meguro in view of Yoshima discloses the limitations as set forth above. Meguro further discloses wherein a solid electrolyte membrane for a lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above) between the positive electrode and a negative electrode (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15-17, Meguro in view of Yoshima discloses the limitations as set forth above. Meguro further discloses wherein the electron-insulating material is selected from sulfur, modified sulfur, iodine, and a mixture of sulfur and iodine (sulfide based inorganic solid electrolyte contains sulfur or modified sulfur, which acts as an electron-insulating inorganic particle, [0046], [0048).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meguro (US20160359194) in view of Yoshima (US20170358825) further in view of Yoshida (US20150086875).
Regarding Claim 2, Meguro in view of Yoshima discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Meguro discloses wherein the positive electrode active material layer contains an electrolytic solution ([0125]).
Meguro discloses wherein the thickness of the positive electrode active substance layer can be adjusted to a desired capacity of the battery ([0037]), however Meguro does not directly disclose wherein the thickness of positive electrode active material layer is 200 to 2000um.
Yoshida discloses a battery that uses a sulfide solid electrolyte ([0016]) which has a positive electrode layer ([0018]). Yoshida further discloses wherein the positive electrode thickness can range from 10 to 200 um ([0093]) which overlaps the instant claim range of 200 um to 2000 um. Yoshida teaches that this structure provides improved battery capacity ([0092]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Meguro with the teachings of Yoshida to have wherein the thickness of positive electrode active material layer is 200 to 2000um.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments in view of their arguments, see Claims, filed November 13th, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Meguro in view of Yoshima.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728