Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response dated 12/16/2025 has been filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are found unpersuasive. The new elements to the claims do provide more limitations regarding the nature of the control, but the examiner believes that the primary reference Pong, does teach this particular limitation. Please refer to the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Pong et al (US Pub 6,237,647 B1), hereafter known as Pong.
For Claim 15, Pong teaches A method, comprising:
identifying a location of a fuel port on a vehicle; (Figure 1B Column 7 Lines 58-Column 8 Line 10)
causing a robotic arm to position a fuel nozzle in proximity with the fuel port based on an output of a sensor suite; (Figure 1B, Column 7 Lines 35-44, and Lines 58- Column 8 Line 10, Figure 1 C, Column 8, Lines 16-19. )
causing an adjustment of a fuel nozzle using a compensation system comprising one or more mechanical linkages to engage the fuel nozzle with the fuel port by continuously or near-continuously receiving feedback from the sensor suite and closed-loop commanding actuation of the mechanically actuated linkages of the compensation system to reduce an alignment error between the fuel nozzle and the fuel port to engage the fuel nozzle with the fuel port; and ((16) Several different types of sensors can be used in connection with and/or mounted on the robotic arm to aid in positioning the robotic arm to dock the nozzle with the fuel filler opening. These sensors, in addition to the wrist-mounted camera of the vision system, can include a ranging infrared sensor used to provide distance feedback during positioning. A sonar sensor can also be mounted to the robotic arm to determine distance from the nozzle to the fuel filler opening. Force and/or torque sensors can be used to provide force and torque feedback during docking of the nozzle to guide the nozzle into the fuel filler opening throat. A sensor such as a hall effect sensor can be used to confirm successful docking.) (Figure 1B, Column 7 Lines 35-44, and Lines 58- Column 8 Line 10, Figure 1 C, Column 8, Lines 16-19. )
causing a provisional of fuel to the vehicle responsive to the engagement of the fuel nozzle with the fuel port. (Figure 1B, Column 7 Lines 35-44, and Lines 58- Column 8 Line 10, Figure 1 C, Column 8, Lines 16-19. )
For Claim 18, Pong teaches The method of claim 15, wherein the sensor suite further comprises a vehicle detection and identification sensor, (Column 6, Lines 15-21 and Column 6 Lines 32-37) the method further comprising identifying a particular vehicle for identification of associated refueling characteristics based at least in part on information from the vehicle detection and identification sensor. (Column 6 Lines 38-59)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 11 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pong et al (US Pub 6,237,647 B1) in light of Brown et al (WO 01/40108 A1), hereafter known as Brown, in light of Michalakis et al (US Pub 2018/0215043 A1), hereafter known as Michalakis.
For Claim 1, Pong teaches A refueling apparatus, comprising: (Figure 4, Column 10 Lines 1-13, 49-51)
A carriage system comprising a robotic arm with a first end coupled with a support structure and a second end movable relative to the first end; (Figure 6, Page 21, Column 10 Line 54 to Page 22, Column 11, Line 3. There is an embodiment in which a carriage system with a robot arm can deliver the fuel to the vehicle.)
an end effector coupled with the second end of the robotic arm, the end effector including a fuel nozzle and a compensation system comprising one or more mechanical linkages that provide fine-tuning of an alignment of the fuel nozzle with the fuel port; (Figure 2A, 3, and 8 Column 9 Lines 54-67, Column 10 Lines 1-10, Column 11, Lines 14-24, Column 7 Lines 28-31. Figure 6, Page 21, Column 10 Line 54 to Page 22, Column 11, Line 3. There is an embodiment in which a carriage system with a robot arm can deliver the fuel to the vehicle. Figure 1B, Column 7 Lines 35-44, and Lines 58- Column 8 Line 10, Figure 1 C, Column 8, Lines 16-19. After the approximate location is found, there is a step in which the refueling module is finely positioned in proximity to the fuel filler. )
a sensor suite configured to output a location of the fuel port; and (Figure 1B Column 7 Lines 58-Column 8 Line 10)
a controller system coupled with the end effector, the carriage system, the 2compensation system, and the sensor suite, and (Figure 2, Column 8 Line 80 to Column 9 Line 26) configured to identify the location of the fuel port on a vehicle, move the second end of the robotic arm to position the end effector in proximity with the fuel port, adjust the fuel nozzle using the compensation system and the output of the sensor suite to engage the fuel nozzle with the fuel port, and provide fuel to the vehicle responsive to the engagement of the fuel nozzle with the fuel port. (Figure 1B, Column 7 Lines 35-44, and Lines 58- Column 8 Line 10, Figure 1 C, Column 8, Lines 16-19. )
Pong does not teach one or more mechanical isolators coupled with the one or more mechanical linkages that provide fine tuning of an alignment of the fuel nozzle with a fuel port;
The controller system comprising one or more processors and a memory in electronic communication with the one or more processors and code stored in the memory that, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the controller system to identify the location of the fuel port on a vehicle.
Brown, however, does teach one or more mechanical isolators coupled with the one or more mechanical linkages, wherein an actuation of the one or more mechanical linkages is to provide fine tuning of an alignment of the fuel nozzle with a fuel port; (Figures 3 and 4, Page Labeled 3 (discounting the cover page) Paragraph 4 to Page 4, Paragraph 4. Page 8 Paragraph 4 to Page 9 Paragraph 3. Page 11, Paragraphs 2 -4. A number of springs are present, which isolate elements of the end effector, allowing it to be manipulated by outside forces, and returning to a neutral position when not being acted upon. Page 10 Paragraph 3 to Page 11 Paragraph 3. There are a number of mechanical linkages that provide fine tuning of an alignment of the fuel nozzle with a fuel port. Figures 2A and 2B, Page 7 Paragraphs 2-3. There is a pneumatic piston cylinder than can provide fine tuning of the position of the mechanical isolator/nozzle.)
Adjust the fuel nozzle using the compensation system comprising the one or more mechanical linkages(Figures 3 and 4, Page Labeled 3 (discounting the cover page) Paragraph 4 to Page 4, Paragraph 4. Page 8 Paragraph 4 to Page 9 Paragraph 3. Page 11, Paragraphs 2 -4. A number of springs are present, which isolate elements of the end effector, allowing it to be manipulated by outside forces, and returning to a neutral position when not being acted upon. Page 10 Paragraph 3 to Page 11 Paragraph 3. There are a number of mechanical linkages that provide fine tuning of an alignment of the fuel nozzle with a fuel port. Figures 2A and 2B, Page 7 Paragraphs 2-3. There is a pneumatic piston cylinder than can provide fine tuning of the position of the mechanical isolator/nozzle.) by continuously or near-continuously receiving feedback from the sensor suite and closed-loop commanding actuation of the mechanically actuated linkages of the compensation system to reduce an alignment error between the fuel nozzle and the fuel port to engage the fuel nozzle with the fuel port((16) Several different types of sensors can be used in connection with and/or mounted on the robotic arm to aid in positioning the robotic arm to dock the nozzle with the fuel filler opening. These sensors, in addition to the wrist-mounted camera of the vision system, can include a ranging infrared sensor used to provide distance feedback during positioning. A sonar sensor can also be mounted to the robotic arm to determine distance from the nozzle to the fuel filler opening. Force and/or torque sensors can be used to provide force and torque feedback during docking of the nozzle to guide the nozzle into the fuel filler opening throat. A sensor such as a hall effect sensor can be used to confirm successful docking.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in light of Brown such that the system contains one or more mechanical isolators coupled with the one or more mechanical linkages because by allowing some degree of mechanical isolation from the rest of the robotic arm, it allows the end effector to be manipulated by outside forces without having to move the rest of the arm, and it could potential reduce the harm caused by frequent collisions and impacts with other objects or obstacles. Using the mechanical linkages to fine tune the location of the nozzle would be expected to be successful at allowing the nozzle to align with the port, because the linkages have actuators and are designed to move the end effector. The isolators are useful at the end of the linkages due to the nature of allowing the end effector to adjust due to external forces so that errors of alignment don’t damage the robot.
Michalakis, however, does teach The controller system comprising one or more processors and a memory in electronic communication with the one or more processors and code stored in the memory that, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the controller system to identify the location of the fuel port on a vehicle. ([0026-0031], [0004], [0014], [0038])
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in light of Michalakis such that the system has a controller with processors and a memory to perform the steps because processors and memories are known to be effective for robotic controllers, and would be expected to be successful at facilitating the control steps of controlling a robotic arm to identify a location of a fuel port and line up with it, as well as other steps performed by Pong.
For Claim 2, modified Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
The one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the controller system to:
identify a target associated with the fuel port based on the output of the sensor suite; (Figure 9, Column 11, Lines 37-40 Figure 1A and 1B, Step 124, Column 7 Lines 28-44))
move the second end of the robotic arm to position the end effector in proximity with the fuel port based on at least in part on a location of the fuel port; and (Column 7 Line 57 to Column 8 Line 10)
align and engage the fuel nozzle with the fuel port using the compensation system. (Column 7 Line 57 to Column 8 Line 10)
Pong does not teach identifying a fiducial target associated with the fuel port or that the robotic arm end effector is moved to a position based at least on a location of the fuel port relative to the fiducial target.
Michalakis, however, does teach identifying a fiducial target associated with the fuel port. ([0012], [0017], [0038])
And understanding the location of the fiducial targets relative to a vehicle grid, as well as relative location or distance to locations of interest ([0038], [0014-0016])
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in light of Michalakis such that the system will be identifying a fiducial target associated with the fuel port and that the robotic arm end effector is moved to a position based at least on a location of the fuel port relative to the fiducial target. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in this way fiducial targets are expected to be effective at marking locations, and it would provide a suitable type of landmark for the robot to find if it was looking to know the location of the fuel port in relation to nearby markers. Knowing the location of a fiducial target also provide information regarding all other points of the vehicle, as long as you know the relative relationship between that target and the other location. Some locations, such as a fuel port door, might be movable, whereas a location right above fuel port might not move relative to the vehicle. As such, it would be helpful to put the fiducial targets on some relatively static locations so that other static locations can be known when the fiducial target is identified.
For Claim 3, Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 2, wherein:
the sensor suite comprises one or more of a positioning sensor, proximity detector, optical camera, ultrasonic sensor, LIDAR sensor, or any combinations thereof, and (Column 9 Lines 10-42)
wherein the target is identified by the controller system based at least in part on signals provided by the sensor suite. (Figure 1B, Column 7 Lines 58 to Column 8 Line 10)
Pong does not teach the target is a fiducial target.
Michalakis, however, does teach identifying a fiducial target associated with the fuel port. ([0012], [0017], [0038])
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in light of Michalakis such that the system identifies a fiducial target associated with the fuel port based on sensor data because fiducial targets are expected to be effective at marking locations, and it would provide a suitable type of landmark for the robot to find if it was looking to know the location of the fuel port in relation to nearby markers. Sensors are generally used to sense the environment of a robot, so it would be natural to detect a marker using a sensor.
For Claim 4, Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 2, wherein:
the sensor suite further comprises a vehicle detection and identification sensor, and (Column 6, Lines 15-21 and Column 6 Lines 32-37)
wherein the controller system identifies a particular vehicle for identification of associated refueling characteristics based at least in part on information from the vehicle detection and identification sensor. (Column 6 Lines 38-59)
For Claim 5, Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 4, wherein:
the vehicle detection and identification sensor comprises one or more of an optical scanner, radar, radio frequency identification (RFID) tag reader, or any combinations thereof. (Column 6 Lines 32-37)
For Claim 6, modified Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 5, wherein:
The one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the controller system to output a vehicle identification and an amount of fuel provided to a revenue management or analytics system. (Figure 1A, Column 6 Line 60 to Column 7 Line 17, Figure 2 Column 8 lines 38-49., Column 8 Line 16-18)
For Claim 7, Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the compensation system provides fine-tuning of the fuel nozzle relative to the fuel port via the one or more mechanical linkages that adjust a position of the fuel nozzle with finer resolution than is provided by the carriage system. (Figure 1B, Column 7 Lines 42-44, Line 58 to Column 8 Line 10, Figure 2A Column 9 Lines 58-63. Figure 3 and Figure 8 also show a wrist, Column 10 lines 1-34.)
For Claim 8, Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 7, wherein:
the compensation system further comprises one or more actuation components coupled between the fuel nozzle and the end effector, one or more mechanical isolators, or any combinations thereof. (Figure 1B, Column 7 Lines 58-63, Figure 3, Column 10 Lines 1-34. Figure 8)
For Claim 11, Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a valve system coupled with the fuel nozzle, and wherein the controller system is configured to actuate the valve system to provide for flow of fuel between a fuel supply and the fuel port. (Figure 1C, Column 8 Lines 6-19, Figure 2 Column 8 Lines 60 to Column 9 Line 26.)
For Claim 14, Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 1,
Pong does not teach wherein the fuel includes electricity.
Michalakis, however, does teach wherein the fuel includes electricity. ([0043])
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in light of Michalakis such that the fuel includes electricity because many cars utilize electrical fuel, and the process of charging them can be mechanically quite similar to liquid fuel. Many electric chargers are designed to look like liquid chargers. Additionally, by using electricity, the system could instead charge electric vehicles, which would be useful.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pong and Michalakis.
For Claim 16, Pong teaches The method of claim 15,
Pong does not teach wherein the fuel includes electricity.
Michalakis, however, does teach wherein the fuel includes electricity. ([0043])
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in light of Michalakis such that the fuel includes electricity because many cars utilize electrical fuel, and the process of charging them can be mechanically quite similar to liquid fuel. Many electric chargers are designed to look like liquid chargers. Additionally, by using electricity, the system could instead charge electric vehicles, which would be useful.
For Claim 17, Pong teaches The method of claim 15 further comprising:
identifying a target associated with the fuel port based on the output of the sensor suite; (Figure 9, Column 11, Lines 37-40 Figure 1A and 1B, Step 124, Column 7 Lines 28-44))
moving a second end of the robotic arm to position an end effector in proximity with the fuel port based on at least in part on a location of the fuel port; and (Column 7 Line 57 to Column 8 Line 10)
aligning and engage the fuel nozzle with the fuel port using the compensation system. (Column 7 Line 57 to Column 8 Line 10)
Pong does not teach identifying a fiducial target associated with the fuel port or that the robotic arm end effector is moved to a position based at least on a location of the fuel port relative to the fiducial target.
Michalakis, however, does teach identifying a fiducial target associated with the fuel port. ([0012], [0017], [0038])
And understanding the location of the fiducial targets relative to a vehicle grid, as well as relative location or distance to locations of interest ([0038], [0014-0016])
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in light of Michalakis such that the system will be identifying a fiducial target associated with the fuel port and that the robotic arm end effector is moved to a position based at least on a location of the fuel port relative to the fiducial target. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in this way fiducial targets are expected to be effective at marking locations, and it would provide a suitable type of landmark for the robot to find if it was looking to know the location of the fuel port in relation to nearby markers. Knowing the location of a fiducial target also provide information regarding all other points of the vehicle, as long as you know the relative relationship between that target and the other location. Some locations, such as a fuel port door, might be movable, whereas a location right above fuel port might not move relative to the vehicle. As such, it would be helpful to put the fiducial targets on some relatively static locations so that other static locations can be known when the fiducial target is identified.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pong in light of Brown in light of Michalakis in light of Bax et al (US Pub 2016/0346940 A1), hereafter known as Bax.
For Claim 9, Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 7, wherein:
the compensation system further comprises the fuel nozzle and the end effector. (Figure 2A, 3, and 8 Column 9 Lines 54-67, Column 10 Lines 1-10, Column 11, Lines 14-24, Column 7 Lines 28-31.)
Pong does not teach the compensation system further comprises a compression spring coupled between the fuel nozzle and the end effector that counteracts a load of the fuel nozzle due to gravity.
Bax, however, does teach the compensation system further comprises a compression spring coupled between joints that counteracts a load of the end effector due to gravity. ([0015], [0071-0072], [0074], [0098], Figures 1 and 2, Figures 13A-13C, Figure 5)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in light of Bax such that the compensation system further comprises a compression spring coupled between the fuel nozzle and the end effector that counteracts a load of the fuel nozzle due to gravity.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in this way because the weight of the fuel nozzle could be large, and counteracting the force due to gravity would allow the system to maintain the pose of the arm without having to utilize constant torque from a motor. Additionally, by having mechanical systems maintain the weight of the fuel nozzle, the risk of the robot falling or collapsing due to a power issue and damaging a person or vehicle is reduced.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pong in light of Brown in light of Michalakis in light of Hollerback et al (US Pub 8,393,362 B1), hereafter known as Hollerback.
For Claim 10, Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the compensation system provides mechanical compensation to allow for autonomous fueling of vehicles. (Figure 2A, Column 9 Lines 58-63, Figure 3, Column 10 Lines 1-13)
Pong does not teach fueling of vibrating vehicles or aircraft.
Hollerback, however, does teach autonomous fueling systems can fuel aircraft. (Figure 5, Page 15, Column 6, Lines 39-54.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong’s vehicle refuelling system with Hollerback’s use of such systems on aircraft because aircraft need to be fueled, maintained, and checked often in a quick time period between flights. Automating or speeding up the refueling process could further reduce the time between flights, or allow more time for other important tasks, or free up personnel to perform other tasks.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pong in light of Brown in light of Michalakis in light of Cavett et al (US Pub 2,901, 008), hereafter known as Cavett .
For Claim 12, Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 11, wherein:
Pong does not teach actuation of the valve system is provided by a rotation carried out by the carriage system that opens one or more valves coupled with the fuel nozzle and that further actuates a secondary valve within the fuel port.
Cavett, however, does teach actuation of the valve system is provided by a rotation carried out by the carriage system opens one or more valves coupled with the fuel nozzle and that further actuates a secondary valve within the fuel port. (Column 1, Lines 15-27, Column 4 Lines 18-43. Rotation of a handle can open the valves which are then closed when fueling is complete.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date to modify Pong in light of Cavett to use a valve system for actuation similar to the one Cavett uses because it would allow a secure attachment for fueling a vehicle that would automatically close the locks when fueling is complete, which would be an indicator to a robot or user that the system is done fueling, and not leave the flow path open when it is not necessary for it to be open.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pong in light of Brown in light of Michalakis in light of Young et al (US Pub 4,262,712), hereafter known as Young .
For Claim 13, Pong teaches The refueling apparatus of claim 11, wherein:
Pong does not teach the sensor suite further comprises a pressure sensor coupled with a seal or gasket within the fuel nozzle, and wherein actuation of the valve system is performed responsive to an output of the pressure sensor that indicates the fuel nozzle is fully coupled with the fuel port.
Young, however, does teach the sensor suite further comprises a pressure sensor coupled with a seal or gasket within the fuel nozzle, and wherein actuation of the valve system is performed responsive to an output of the pressure sensor that indicates the fuel nozzle is fully coupled with the fuel port. (Column 2, Lines 13-17, 27-31, Column 4 Line 43 to Column 5, Line 2)
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Pong in light of Young to use Young’s pressure sensor and actuation system because only actuating the flow of fuel in response to a signal indicating the nozzle is fully coupled could prevent allowing fuel to flow when there is no seal, which could lead to leaks. Additionally, a pressure sensor would be expected to be successful at determining when the system is airtight or not.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gryniewski et al (US Pub 2012/0080563 A1) relates to refueling using a robotic arm and detecting fiduciary targets.
McCoskey et al (US Pub 2006/0237591 A1) relates to refueling aircrafts.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656