DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/23/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The “means for venting” as set forth in Claim 7 is being interpreted as set forth in paragraphs [0039] and [0040] of the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,278,311. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims substantially read on the claims of the instant application.
Instant Claim 1 maps to Patent Claim 1 (Instant Claim 1 is broader as it omits the “trocar” and “minimize severing” limitations in Patent Claim 1).
Instant Claim 2 maps to Patent Claim 1 (Instant Claim 2 adds the “minimizing severing” limitation present in Patent Claim 1).
Instant Claim 3 maps to Patent Claim 2.
Instant Claim 4 maps to Patent Claim 1 (Instant Claim 4 adds the “minimizing severing” limitations present in Patent Claim 1.
Instant Claim 5 maps to Patent Claim 3.
Instant Claim 6 maps to Patent Claim 1 (Instant Claim 6 adds “minimizing severing” limitations present in Patent Claim 1).
Instant Claim 7 maps to Patent Claim 7 (Instant Claim 7 is broader as it omits the “trocar” limitation found in Patent Claim 7).
Each of instant Claims 8-15 map to Patent Claims 8-15, respectively.
Instant Claim 16 maps to Patent Claims 7 and 16 (Instant Claim 16 adds the “trocar” and “trocar orientation” limitations found in Patent Claims 7 and 16).
Instant Claims 17-20 map to Patent Claims 5, 17, 6 and 18, respectively.
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10278725. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims substantially read on the claims of the instant application.
Instant Claim 1 maps to Patent Claim 11 (specifically mapping the “window indicating orientation” to the “orientation marking”).
Instant Claim 2 maps to Patent Claim 13.
Instant Claim 4 maps to Patent Claim 4.
Instant Claim 6 amps to Patent Claim 13.
Instant Claim 16 maps to Patent Claim 1 (specifically the “trocar” limitation).
Instant Claim 17 maps to Patent Claims 1 and 11 (specifically the “depth marking” limitation).
Instant Claim 18 maps to Patent Claims 1 and 11.
Instant Claim 19 maps to Patent Claims 1 and 11 (specifically the “orientation marking” limitation).
Instant Claim 20 maps to Patent Claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, the limitation “the transparent or translucent material” lacks proper antecedent basis because as set forth in Claim 1, the transparent or translucent limitation is recited as a “member” rather than a “material”. For purposes of examination the indefinite limitation has been deemed to claim that both the transparent or translucent materials/members are the same limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by US 4645491 A to Evans.
Regarding Claim 1, Evans discloses a device for withdrawing or injecting fluid, comprising inter alia:
a cannula (needle 20a) having a beveled patient end (leading end 26a), a non-patient end (head portion 22a), an outer surface (surface of hollow stem portion 24a), and a central passage (space/passage formed within hollow stem portion 24a);
a first window (slot 28a) in the cannula extending from the outer surface to the central passage, said first window being spaced a predetermined distance from the cannula beveled patient end (as best seen in Fig. 4, the window begins a set predetermined distance from the leading end 26a); and
a transparent or translucent member disposed in said first window (transparent window 30a) (col. 3, lines 30-32 “…slot 28a could be filled by a transparent material, such as plastic, forming a window 30a which lies flush with the stem portion…”);
wherein the position of the first window in the cannula indicates the orientation of the cannula beveled patient end (since both the leading end 26a and slot 28a are fixed with respect to one another, as best seen below in Fig. 4, the slot 28a is capable of being used by an operator to indicate the orientation of the leading end 26a); and
wherein the first window is visible to an operator of the device to confirm a preferred orientation of the cannula beveled patient end (the slot 28a can be observed by an operator, therefore, the slot 28a is capable of being used by an operator to indicate the orientation of the leading end 26a).
Regarding Claim 2, Evans discloses the device of claim 1, wherein said preferred orientation of the cannula beveled patient end is provided when the bevel of the cannula beveled patient end is aligned relative to a patient body so as to minimize severing body fibers during insertion of the device into the patient body (the combination of the leading end 26a and slot 28a allow the leading end 26a to be aligned relative to a patient body so as to minimize severing body fibers during insertion of the device into the patient body, because the relative orientation of the leading end 26a can be known due to the fixed positioning between the slot 28a and leading end 26a).
Regarding Claim 3, Evans discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the transparent or translucent material is rendered visibly darker or lighter when spinal fluid is present within said cannula (since the slot 28a is provided with a transparent window 30a, when spinal fluid enters the space/passage formed within hollow stem portion 24a, the transparent window 30a would darken when fluid enters).
Regarding Claim 4, Evans discloses the device of claim 3, wherein said preferred orientation of the cannula beveled patient end is provided when the bevel of the cannula beveled patient end is aligned relative to a patient body so as to minimize severing body fibers during insertion of the device into the patient body (the combination of the leading end 26a and slot 28a allow the leading end 26a to be aligned relative to a patient body so as to minimize severing body fibers during insertion of the device into the patient body, because the relative orientation of the leading end 26a can be known due to the fixed positioning between the slot 28a and leading end 26a).
Regarding Claim 5, Evans discloses the device of claim 1 wherein the transparent or translucent material is rendered visibly darker or lighter when blood is present within said cannula (since the slot 28a is provided with a transparent window 30a, when spinal fluid enters the space/passage formed within hollow stem portion 24a, the transparent window 30a would darken when fluid enters).
Regarding Claim 6, Evans discloses the device of claim 5, wherein said preferred orientation of the cannula beveled patient end is provided when the bevel of the cannula beveled patient end is aligned relative to a patient body so as to minimize severing body fibers during insertion of the device into the patient body (the combination of the leading end 26a and slot 28a allow the leading end 26a to be aligned relative to a patient body so as to minimize severing body fibers during insertion of the device into the patient body, because the relative orientation of the leading end 26a can be known due to the fixed positioning between the slot 28a and leading end 26a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 17 and 19 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Evans in view of US 20080045857 to Miller et al. (hereinafter Miller).
Evans discloses the device of claim 1 except for expressly disclosing one or more depth/orientation markings on said cannula. However, Miller discloses at paragraph 0146 markings 104 that are disposed on an exterior portion of a cannula. Miller discloses at paragraph 0146 that these markings are used to indicate the depth and positioning of the cannula. One having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found it obvious to modify the cannula of Torrie with the depth and orientation markings of Miller as Miller teaches in the Abstract that such markings would have optimized positioning and orientations to minimize trauma to the patient.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SEAN P DOUGHERTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791