DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 11, 13, 16-19, 21, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plomer (4002514) in view of Higa (20110240184).
Plomer discloses a propellant that includes nitrocellulose or nitroglycerin and “at a maximum of only a few percent metal”. This language is interpreted to include 0 as the lower range of the metal. (col. 1, lines 40-65)
Higa teaches the use of nanometer size metal additives to improve conductivity in a propellant composition. These metals include gold, and platinum (0020).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and/or filed to use the metal additives as taught by Higa in place of the metal used in Plomer since Higa indicates that they are known to improve the conductivity. The nanoparticles are capable of reducing visible light output and modifying wavelength of visible light during deflagration. Regarding claims 2, 11, 14, 21, and 25-27, the method of making the nanoparticles is a product by process limitation which does not limit the composition claim. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The recitation of acetone is a method limitation since the solvent is not present in the final product.
Regarding claims 16-19, it is obvious to use the composition of in a projectile with or without casing since Plomer discloses that it is used in the art area of propellants, explosives, and pyrotechnics.
Claims 4-9 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as applied above and further in view of Niedermeyer (20160082513).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, Niedermeyer discloses details relating to the production of different nanoparticles including spherical and coral shaped with the claimed sizes (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made and/or filed to use the particles as taught by Niedermeyer with the composition of Higa suggests that it is known to use metal nanoparticles in a propellant composition and since Niedermeyer discloses known metal nanoparticles.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 8, and 9, it is also obvious vary the parameters such as amounts and size to achieve the claimed properties. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Regarding claims 16-19, it is obvious to use the composition of in a projectile with or without casing since Plomer discloses that it is used in the art area of propellants, explosives, and pyrotechnics.
Regarding claim 18, Niedermeyer discloses mixtures of metal nanoparticles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the deflagration limitation. This is not persuasive because this is a method limitation in a composition claim. The method of using the composition does not limit the formulation of the composition. Applicant also argues that Higa does not disclose the nanoparticles dispersed throughout the propellant base. Higa discloses the coating as one embodiment in the paragraph that is cited by applicant. The paragraph in Higa prior to the recitation of the coating discloses that the metal nanoparticles are mixed with the oxidizer and the gas generating material, i.e. dispersed throughout. See paragraph 008 of Higa. Applicant also argues the concentration of nanoparticles. Note that the primary reference discloses a lower amount of 0% of metal particles. Thus the range claimed by applicant is disclosed in the prior art. Applicant argues the properties of the burn rate. This is a method limitation in a composition claim. Further the combination and the prior art will have the same properties relating to the burn rate. The fact that applicant has recognized another benefit of the nanoparticles being included in the composition is not a basis for patentability.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
The recitation of acetone is a method limitation since the solvent is not present in the final product. The recitation in claim 25 “removing at least a portion of the propellant solvent by evaporation” allows for all of the solvent to be removed since the minimum recited is at least a portion. The maximum amount required by the claim is that all of the solvent can be removed. The composition cannot be dry and also have solvent still present.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Higa indicates that they are known to improve the conductivity.
In response to applicant's argument Niedermeyer is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Niedermeyer discloses details relating to the production of different nanoparticles including spherical and coral shaped with the claimed sizes (abstract). Thus the teaching is relevant to details about the production of metal nanoparticles which is relevant to the disclosure of Higa which recites the use of metal nanoparticles.
Conclusion
/AILEEN B FELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734