DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s RCE filed 12/10/25 is acknowledged.
Claim 31, 42, and 44 are amended.
Claims 30-58 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 30 and 31 (pages 11-20) in a reply filed 12/10/2025 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 46 filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 18-19 of the remarks, the Applicant disagrees with the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi, as applied to claim 30, and further in view of Youn et al. US 20230239828 (hereinafter “Youn”).
Specifically, the Applicant remarks:
Youn fails to disclose a UE "sending, from the UE, a de-registration message to the AMF to initiate deregistration with respect to the first N3GPP access network". In S1422 it is the AMF sending the "deregistration message", NOT the UE
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
FIG. 15 clearly shows S1522 "Deregistration Request/Accept" being transmitted to and from the UE based on the direction of the arrows which means the UE accepts the deregistration request to initiate deregistration. It's not simply the AMF sending the request to the UE based on what's shown in FIG. 15. Since the claim says "sending, from the UE, a de-registration message to the AMF to initiate deregistration", this limitation can be interpreted as the UE sending a "Deregistration Accept" message to the AMF to initiate the deregistration process which is taught in FIG. 15 of Youn.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 objected to because of the following informalities: “indicating that that” should be “indicating that”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30, 31, 33, 34, 37, 39, 41, 43, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. US 20230078760 (hereinafter “Yi”) in view of Talebi Fard et al. US 20240389168 (hereinafter “Talebi Fard”) and in further view of Faccin US 20200413464 (hereinafter “Faccin”)
As to claims 30 and 43 (claim 30 is the method claim for the communication system in claim 43):
Yi discloses:
A communications system, the system comprising: an Access and Mobility Function (AMF) (FIG. 12 “AMF”, Yi) comprising: a first receiver; a first transmitter; and a first processor configured to operate the AMF (“a method can include sending by a wireless device to a network, one or more indications that: the wireless device supports a multi-access protocol data unit (PDU) session including a first PDU session and a second PDU session,”, Yi [0004])
A communications method, the method comprising:
sending, to the UE, first PDU session establishment information for a first PDU session, identified by the first PDU session ID number, and information indicating that N3GPP path switching is supported; (“Considering the received capabilities of the UE 102, AMF and SMF capability, the SMF can indicate whether non-3GPP access switching is supported to the UE 102 in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message.”, Yi [0123])
and indicating that that a new N3GPP user plane data path is to replace an existing N3GPP user plane data path for the first PDU session, said new N3GPP user plane data path being a second user plane data path. (“The AMF can also indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching to the SMF. Considering the received capabilities of the UE 102, AMF and SMF capability, the SMF can indicate whether non-3GPP access switching is supported to the UE 102 in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message.”, Yi [0123]) (“(9) the AMF can perform AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU can be completely released. When the UE 102 and UPF recognize that user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access are released, the UE 102 and the UPF can start to send traffic over trusted non-3GPP access. Additionally (10) the AMF can send a Registration Accept message to the UE 102. When the UE 102 receives Registration Accept message, the UE 102 can consider that the UE 102 is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access.”, Yi [0127])
Yi as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving, at an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a first Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request from a User Equipment (UE), said first PDU session establishment request including a first PDU session ID number, said first PDU session establishment request having been communicated to the AMF via a first non-3GPP (N3GPP) access network;
receiving, at the AMF, a second PDU session establishment request from the UE, said second PDU session establishment request including the first PDU session ID number, said second PDU session establishment request having been communicated to the AMF via a second N3GPP access network;
operating the AMF to recognize that the first PDU session ID number, included in the received second PDU session establishment request, is already in use;
determining, at the AMF, based on the first PDU session ID number included in the received second PDU session establishment request already being in use, that the AMF is to send a path switching indication to a session management function (SMF) with regard to the first PDU session corresponding to the first PDU session ID number;
and sending, from the AMF to the SMF, in response to determining that the AMF is to send a path switching indication to the SMF with regard to the first PDU session corresponding to the first PDU session ID number, a path switch message including the first PDU session ID number
However, Talebi Fard further teaches receiving multiple PDU session establishment request using multiple N3GPP network which includes:
receiving, at an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a first Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request from a User Equipment (UE), said first PDU session establishment request including a first PDU session ID number, said first PDU session establishment request having been communicated to the AMF via a first non-3GPP (N3GPP) access network; (FIG. 25: MA-PDU session estab. request sent to N3GPP AN 1 which is forwarded to the AMF, Talebi Fard) (“The PDU session establishment request may indicate: a PDU session ID; a requested PDU session type (new or existing); a requested DN (DNN); a requested network slice (S-NSSAI); a requested SSC mode; and/or any other suitable information. The PDU session ID may be generated by the UE. The PDU session type may be, for example, an Internet Protocol (IP)-based type (e.g., IPv4, IPv6, or dual stack IPv4/IPv6), an Ethernet type, or an unstructured type.”, Talebi Fard [0165])
receiving, at the AMF, a second PDU session establishment request from the UE, said second PDU session establishment request including the first PDU session ID number, said second PDU session establishment request having been communicated to the AMF via a second N3GPP access network; (FIG. 25: MA-PDU session estab. request sent to N3GPP AN 2 which is forwarded to the AMF, Talebi Fard) (“The PDU session establishment request may indicate: a PDU session ID; a requested PDU session type (new or existing); a requested DN (DNN); a requested network slice (S-NSSAI); a requested SSC mode; and/or any other suitable information. The PDU session ID may be generated by the UE. The PDU session type may be, for example, an Internet Protocol (IP)-based type (e.g., IPv4, IPv6, or dual stack IPv4/IPv6), an Ethernet type, or an unstructured type.”, Talebi Fard [0165]) (“The AMF may select an SMF based on the PDU session establishment request. In some scenarios, the requested PDU session may already be associated with a particular SMF. For example, the AMF may store a UE context of the UE, and the UE context may indicate that the PDU session ID of the requested PDU session is already associated with the particular SMF.”, Talebi Fard [0166])
Yi and Talebi Fard are analogous because they pertain to traffic switching.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving multiple PDU session establishment request using multiple N3GPP network as described in Talebi Fard into Yi. By modifying the method to include receiving multiple PDU session establishment request using multiple N3GPP network as taught by Talebi Fard, the benefits of improved path switching (Yi [0123] and Talebi Fard [0203]) are achieved.
The combination of Yi and Talebi Fard as discussed above does not explicitly teach:
operating the AMF to recognize that the first PDU session ID number, included in the received second PDU session establishment request, is already in use;
determining, at the AMF, based on the first PDU session ID number included in the received second PDU session establishment request already being in use, that the AMF is to send a path switching indication to a session management function (SMF) with regard to the first PDU session corresponding to the first PDU session ID number;
and sending, from the AMF to the SMF, in response to determining that the AMF is to send a path switching indication to the SMF with regard to the first PDU session corresponding to the first PDU session ID number, a path switch message including the first PDU session ID number
However, Faccin further teaches AMF recognizing that a PDU session ID number is in use which includes:
operating the AMF to recognize that the first PDU session ID number, included in the received second PDU session establishment request, is already in use; (“At 310, the AMF 240-a may determine whether the message corresponds to a request for a new PDU Session or a relocation of an existing PDU session and perform SMF selection based at least in part on the determination. In some examples, the AMF 240-a may determine that the request is for a new PDU session if a PDU Session ID in the request is not used for any existing PDU Session(s) of the UE 115-b, in which case the AMF 240-a may selects a SMF in accordance with established SMF selection criteria. If the AMF 240-a determines that the request corresponds to a user plane relocation for an existing PDU session, such as based on the PDU Session ID matching an existing PDU Session of the UE, then the AMF 240-a may retrieve the current serving SMF for the existing PDU session.”, Faccin [0088])
determining, at the AMF, based on the first PDU session ID number included in the received second PDU session establishment request already being in use, that the AMF is to send a path switching indication to a session management function (SMF) with regard to the first PDU session corresponding to the first PDU session ID number; (“If the AMF 240-a determines that the request corresponds to a user plane relocation for an existing PDU session, such as based on the PDU Session ID matching an existing PDU Session of the UE, then the AMF 240-a may retrieve the current serving SMF for the existing PDU session. In some cases, the request may also include an indication of an establishment cause for establishing the PDU session, and a user plane relocation may be included as one of the establishment causes. If, in such cases, the AMF 240-a determines that the establishment cause is user plane relocation, the current serving SMF may be identified for the existing PDU session. In some cases, the AMF 240-a may determine that the request message corresponds to a request for user plane relocation for an existing PDU session based on the PDU Session Correlation ID, the AMF 240-a may select an SMF based on the PDU Session Correlation ID.”, Faccin [0088]) (Examiner’s Note: AMF determines whether the request is for user plane relocation based on the PDU session ID and relays the request to corresponding SMF based on the determination – this maps to “path switching indication”)
and sending, from the AMF to the SMF, in response to determining that the AMF is to send a path switching indication to the SMF with regard to the first PDU session corresponding to the first PDU session ID number, a path switch message including the first PDU session ID number (“The AMF 240-a may transmit a SM request 315, which may include a PDU session establishment request, to SMF 215-a. The SM request may include, for example, an identification of the UE 115-b (e.g., a Subscriber Permanent ID), N1 SM information, and other parameters. The N1 SM information may include the PDU session establishment request received from the UE 115-b.”, Faccin [0089])
Yi, Faccin, and Talebi Fard are analogous because they pertain to traffic switching.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include AMF recognizing that a PDU session ID number is in use as described in Faccin into Yi as modified by Talebi Fard. By modifying the method to include AMF recognizing that a PDU session ID number is in use as taught by Faccin, the benefits of improved path switching (Yi [0123], Faccin [0088], and Talebi Fard [0203]) are achieved.
As to claim 31 and 44 (claim 31 is the method claim for the communication system in claim 44):
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 30,
wherein the existing N3GPP user plane data path is a first data path corresponding to the first PDU session, the method further comprising: operating the UE to initiate de-registration of the first data path corresponding to the first PDU session at a time following the AMF sending the path switching indication to the SMF. (“the AMF can perform AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU can be completely released. When the UE 102 and UPF recognize that user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access are released, the UE 102 and the UPF can start to send traffic over trusted non-3GPP access. Additionally (10) the AMF can send a Registration Accept message to the UE 102. When the UE 102 receives Registration Accept message, the UE 102 can consider that the UE 102 is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access.”, Yi [0127])
The combination of Yi and Talebi Fard as discussed above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the AMF recognizing that the first PDU session ID number, included in the received second PDU session establishment request, is already in use is what causes the AMF to perform said step of sending, from the AMF to the SMF, the path switch message;
However, Faccin further teaches AMF recognizing that a PDU session ID number is in use which includes:
wherein the AMF recognizing that the first PDU session ID number, included in the received second PDU session establishment request, is already in use is what causes the AMF to perform said step of sending, from the AMF to the SMF, the path switch message; (“If the AMF 240-a determines that the request corresponds to a user plane relocation for an existing PDU session, such as based on the PDU Session ID matching an existing PDU Session of the UE, then the AMF 240-a may retrieve the current serving SMF for the existing PDU session. In some cases, the request may also include an indication of an establishment cause for establishing the PDU session, and a user plane relocation may be included as one of the establishment causes. If, in such cases, the AMF 240-a determines that the establishment cause is user plane relocation, the current serving SMF may be identified for the existing PDU session. In some cases, the AMF 240-a may determine that the request message corresponds to a request for user plane relocation for an existing PDU session based on the PDU Session Correlation ID, the AMF 240-a may select an SMF based on the PDU Session Correlation ID.”, Faccin [0088]) (“The AMF 240-a may transmit a SM request 315, which may include a PDU session establishment request, to SMF 215-a. The SM request may include, for example, an identification of the UE 115-b (e.g., a Subscriber Permanent ID), N1 SM information, and other parameters. The N1 SM information may include the PDU session establishment request received from the UE 115-b.”, Faccin [0089]) (Examiner’s Note: AMF determines whether the request is for user plane relocation based on the PDU session ID and relays the request to corresponding SMF based on the determination – this maps to “path switching indication”)
As to claim 33:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 32, wherein said first PDU session establishment information is sent to the UE from the AMF via the first N3GPP access network. (“For instance, (1) the UE 102 can be registered over 3GPP access and untrusted non-3GPP access and established MA PDU Session. During the MA PDU Session Establishment, the UE 102 can indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching in the PDU Session Establishment Request message. The AMF can also indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching to the SMF. Considering the received capabilities of the UE 102, AMF and SMF capability, the SMF can indicate whether non-3GPP access switching is supported to the UE 102 in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message.”, Yi [0123] – Examiner’s Note: the SMF communicates through AMF; therefore the PDU Session Establishment Accept message is also sent from the AMF)
As to claim 34:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 30, wherein said information indicating that N3GPP path switching is supported indicates that switching between two different N3GPP paths is supported. (“Considering the received capabilities of the UE 102, AMF and SMF capability, the SMF can indicate whether non-3GPP access switching is supported to the UE 102 in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message.”, Yi [0123]) (FIG. 12 shows N3GPP path switching between trusted and untrusted N3GPP, Yi)
As to claim 37:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 36, wherein the first user plane data path is via the first N3GPP access network and wherein the second user plane data path is via the second N3GPP access network. (“At this point, there can be three user plane tunnels (i.e. 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE 102 and UPF”, Yi [0126])
As to claim 39:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 38, wherein said message to the UPF indicates that a second tunnel via the second N3GPP access network should be used to replace a first tunnel via the first N3GPP access network for the user plane of the first PD session. (“Additionally (6 and 7) the SMF can establish user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access. At this point, there can be three user plane tunnels (i.e. 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE 102 and UPF. When the SMF establishes user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access, the SMF can set the target access type to “trusted non-3GPP access” so that the AMF delivers the N2 information to the trusted non-3GPP access. Moreover, (8) the AMF can perform UDM Registration by triggering Nudm_UECM_Registration service operation. After this point, all signaling and Reachability procedures can be performed over the trusted non-3GPP access.”, Yi [0126])
As to claim 41:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 35, further comprising: sending, from the AMF, to the first N3GPP access network, a context release message, instructing the first N3GPP access network to release resources at the first N3GPP access network which were used to support the first PDU session corresponding to said first PDU session ID number. (“Moreover, (9) the AMF can perform AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU can be completely released. When the UE 102 and UPF recognize that user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access are released, the UE 102 and the UPF can start to send traffic over trusted non-3GPP access. Additionally (10) the AMF can send a Registration Accept message to the UE 102. When the UE 102 receives Registration Accept message, the UE 102 can consider that the UE 102 is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access.”, Yi [0127])
Claim(s) 32 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Talebi Fard and Faccin, as applied to claim 30 above, further in view of Yu US 20230171822 (hereinafter “Yu”)
As to claim 32 and 45 (claim 32 is the method claim for the communication system in claim 45):
The combination of Yi, Talebi Fard, and Faccin as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 30, wherein the first PDU session establishment information includes a first link specific address to be used by the UE for communication via the first N3GPP access network
However, Yu further teaches including link specific address in the PDU establishment procedure which includes:
The method of claim 30, wherein the first PDU session establishment information includes a first link specific address to be used by the UE for communication via the first N3GPP access network (“In the PDU session establishment procedure, the N5CW device obtains an IP address 1. The N5CW device requests, by using a 3GPP access network, to establish multi-access connectivity. In a multi-access connectivity establishment process, the N5CW device obtains the IP address 1. The N5CW device sends an uplink data packet of the multi-access connectivity based on the IP address 1 by using the 3GPP or non-3GPP access network, to communicate with the DN.”, Yu [0158])
Yu, Talebi Fard, Faccin, and Yi are analogous because they pertain to establishing PDU sessions for N3GPP and 3GPP network.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include including link specific address in the PDU establishment procedure as described in Yu into Yi as modified by Talebi Fard and Faccin. By modifying the method to include including link specific address in the PDU establishment procedure as taught by Yu, the benefits of improved PDU session establishment procedure (Yu [0158] and Yi [0031]) and improved path switching (Faccin [0088] and Talebi Fard [0203]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 35, 36, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Talebi Fard and Faccin, as applied to claim 30 above, further in view of Youn et al. US 20230239828 (hereinafter “Youn”)
As to claim 35:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 31, further comprising: (“Moreover, (9) the AMF can perform AN release procedure over the untrusted non-3GPP access. As a result of this procedure, user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access of MA PDU can be completely released. When the UE 102 and UPF recognize that user plane resources over untrusted non-3GPP access are released, the UE 102 and the UPF can start to send traffic over trusted non-3GPP access. Additionally (10) the AMF can send a Registration Accept message to the UE 102. When the UE 102 receives Registration Accept message, the UE 102 can consider that the UE 102 is deregistered from untrusted non-3GPP access and registered over trusted non-3GPP access.”, Yi [0127])
The combination of Yi, Talebi Fard, and Faccin as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving at the AMF, a de-registration request from the UE, said de-registration request requesting de-registration of a registration with a first N3GPP access network
However, Youn further teaches AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE which includes:
The method of claim 31, further comprising: receiving at the AMF, a de-registration request from the UE, said de-registration request requesting de-registration of a registration with a first N3GPP access network; (“In step S1360, the method includes receiving, from the AMF, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0354]) (“In step S1470, the method includes transmitting, to the UE, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0404] – Examiner’s Note: Youn specifies this message as “deregistration request message”, but it should be an accept or acknowledge message since the AMF is informing the UE that the UE is registered, not requesting to deregister the UE.) (S1522 in FIG. 15 shows the UE sending deregistration request and receiving deregistration accept between the UE and AMF, Youn)
Yi, Talebi Fard, Faccin, and Youn are analogous because they both pertain to switching between paths.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE as described in Youn into Yi as modified by Talebi Fard and Faccin. By modifying the method to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE as taught by Youn, the benefits of improved network switching process (Youn [0354], Yi [0031], Faccin [0088], and Talebi Fard [0203]) are achieved.
As to claim 36:
The combination of Yi, Talebi Fard, and Faccin as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 35, further comprising: sending, from the AMF to the UE, via the second N3GPP access network, a de-registration accept message, indicating acceptance of the de-registration request relating to the UE registration corresponding to the first N3GPP access network.
However, Youn further teaches AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE which includes:
The method of claim 35, further comprising: sending, from the AMF to the UE, via the second N3GPP access network, a de-registration accept message, indicating acceptance of the de-registration request relating to the UE registration corresponding to the first N3GPP access network. (“In step S1360, the method includes receiving, from the AMF, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0354]) (“In step S1470, the method includes transmitting, to the UE, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0404] – Examiner’s Note: Youn specifies this message as “deregistration request message”, but it should be an accept or acknowledge message since the AMF is informing the UE that the UE is registered, not requesting to deregister the UE.) (S1522 in FIG. 15 shows the UE sending deregistration request and receiving deregistration accept between the UE and AMF, Youn)
Yi, Talebi Fard, Faccin, and Youn are analogous because they both pertain to switching between paths.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE as described in Youn into Yi as modified by Talebi Fard and Faccin. By modifying the method to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE as taught by Youn, the benefits of improved network switching process (Youn [0354], Yi [0031], Faccin [0088], and Talebi Fard [0203]) are achieved.
As to claim 42:
The combination of Yi, Talebi Fard, and Faccin as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 41, further comprising: receiving at the AMF, prior to sending context release message, a release response message corresponding to the first PDU session conducted via the first N3GPP access network after successful establishment of a PDU data plane via the second N3GPP access network for the session identified by said first PDU session ID number.
However, Youn further teaches AMF receiving release response message which includes:
The method of claim 41, further comprising: receiving at the AMF, prior to sending context release message, a release response message corresponding to the first PDU session conducted via the first N3GPP access network after successful establishment of a PDU data plane via the second N3GPP access network for the session identified by said first PDU session ID number. (“Step S1516: The SMF notifies the AMF that the access switching is completed by triggering Nsmf_PDUSession_SMContextStatusNotify service operation.”, Youn [0441])
Yi, Talebi Fard, Faccin, and Youn are analogous because they both pertain to switching between paths.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include AMF receiving release response message as described in Youn into Yi as modified by Talebi Fard and Faccin. By modifying the method to include AMF receiving release response message as taught by Youn, the benefits of improved network switching process (Youn [0354], Yi [0031], Faccin [0088], and Talebi Fard [0203]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Talebi Fard, Faccin, and Youn, as applied to claim 36 above, further in view of Talebi Fard et al. US 20190394833 (hereinafter “Tablebi Fard2”).
As to claim 38:
The combination of Yi, Talebi Fard, Faccin, and Youn as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 36, further comprising: operating the SMF to send a message to a user plane function (UPF) indicating to the UPF that it should implement an Access Traffic Steering Switching and Splitting (ATSSS) function relating to the first PDU session.
However, Talebi Fard2 further teaches SMF sending AMF rules to UPF which includes:
The method of claim 36, further comprising: operating the SMF to send a message to a user plane function (UPF) indicating to the UPF that it should implement an Access Traffic Steering Switching and Splitting (ATSSS) function relating to the first PDU session. (“the SMF may select the UPF and send an N4 session establishment request/modification request message to the selected UPF. For the existing PDU session, if there are more than one serving UPFs, the SMF may select N3 UPF or anchor UPF to send the N4 session modification request message. In an example, the SMF may select the UPF by querying the appropriate NRF in serving PLMN and by issuing a Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request comprising an ATSSS capability indicator, an S-NSSAI (e.g. the S-NSSAI from the wireless device and/or the default S-NSSAI) from the allowed NSSAI, PLMN ID of the SUPI, DNN, a CIoT indicator if CIoT support is required, and/or the like.”, Talebi Fard2 [0405])(“ This binding relationship may be employed when performing traffic splitting, switching, and/or the like in the user plane. In an example, the SMF may send ATSSS rules, ATSSS forwarding rules, ATSSS policy, and/or the like via the N4 session establishment/modification request to the UPF.”, Talebi Fard2 [0406])
Yi, Talebi Fard, Talebi Fard2, Faccin, and Youn are analogous because they both pertain to managing path switching.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include SMF sending AMF rules to UPF as described in Talebi Fard2 into Yi as modified by Youn, Talebi Fard, and Faccin. By modifying the method to include SMF sending AMF rules to UPF as taught by Talebi Fard2, the benefits of improved network switching process (Youn [0354], Yi [0031], Faccin [0088], and Talebi Fard [0203]) and improved PDU session establishment procedure (Talebi Fard2 [0406]) are achieved.
As to claim 40:
The combination of Yi, Talebi Fard, Faccin, and Youn as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 38, further comprising: operating the UPF, as part of implementing the ATSSS function in response to the message from the SMF, to: generating a second link specific address for the second user plane data path; and sending a session establishment response to the SMF providing the second link specific address to be used for said first PDU session when communicating via the second N3GPP access network.
However, Talebi Fard2 further teaches including network address in the PDU session which includes:
The method of claim 38, further comprising: operating the UPF, as part of implementing the ATSSS function in response to the message from the SMF, to: generating a second link specific address for the second user plane data path; and sending a session establishment response to the SMF providing the second link specific address to be used for said first PDU session when communicating via the second N3GPP access network. (“In an example, the new UPF 110 (intermediate) may send to SMF 160 an N4 session establishment response message 1030. In case the UPF 110 may allocate CN tunnel info, the UPF 110 may provide DL CN tunnel info for the UPF 110 acting as PDU session anchor and UL CN tunnel info (e.g., CN N3 tunnel info) to the SMF 160. If the data forwarding indication may be received, the new (intermediate) UPF 110 acting as N3 terminating point may send DL CN tunnel info for the old (intermediate) UPF 110-2 to the SMF 160. The SMF 160 may start a timer, to release the resource in the old intermediate UPF 110-2.”, Talebi Fard [0221]) (“the CN tunnel info corresponding to the core network address of the N3 tunnel corresponding to the PDU session”, Talebi Fard [0262])
Yi, Talebi Fard, Talebi Fard2, Faccin, and Youn are analogous because they both pertain to managing path switching.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include including network address in the PDU session as described in Talebi Fard2 into Yi as modified by Youn, Talebi Fard, and Faccin. By modifying the method to include including network address in the PDU session as taught by Talebi Fard2, the benefits of improved network switching process (Youn [0354], Yi [0031], Faccin [0088], and Talebi Fard [0203]) and improved PDU session establishment procedure (Talebi Fard2 [0406]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 46-49, and 51-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. US 20230078760 (hereinafter “Yi”) in view of Youn et al. US 20230239828 (hereinafter “Youn”)
As to claim 46 and 57 (claim 46 is the method claim for the user device in claim 57):
Yi discloses:
A user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one wireless receiver; at least one wireless transmitter; and a processor configured to: (“UE 102”, Yi [0122])
A method of operating a user equipment (UE) comprising:
sending to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) of a Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) which provides service to the UE, a first registration message; (“the UE 102 can be registered over 3GPP access and untrusted non-3GPP access and established MA PDU Session.”, Yi [0123])
receiving from the AMF a registration accept message; (“Additionally (10) the AMF can send a Registration Accept message to the UE 102.”, Yi [0127])
generating, at the UE, a first Protocol Data Unit session identifier (ID); (“a method can include sending, by a wireless device, a first protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request to a first network. The first PDU session establishment request can indicate a PDU session type being a multi-access PDU session across a plurality of access networks which includes a first access network and a second access network. The first PDU session establishment request can also indicate an anchor network being the first network; and/or a PDU session identifier.”, Yi [0005])
sending a first PDU session establishment request to the AMF, said first PDU session establishment request including the first PDU session ID
(“the UE 102 can be registered over 3GPP access and untrusted non-3GPP access and established MA PDU Session. During the MA PDU Session Establishment, the UE 102 can indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching in the PDU Session Establishment Request message. The AMF can also indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching to the SMF. Considering the received capabilities of the UE 102, AMF and SMF capability, the SMF can indicate whether non-3GPP access switching is supported to the UE 102 in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message.”, Yi [0123])
receiving from the AMF, first PDU session establishment information including information indicating that non-3GPP (N3GPP) path switching is supported. (“Considering the received capabilities of the UE 102, AMF and SMF capability, the SMF can indicate whether non-3GPP access switching is supported to the UE 102 in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message.”, Yi [0123] – Examiner’s Note: the SMF communicates through AMF; therefore the PDU Session Establishment Accept message is also sent from the AMF)
establishing a second user plane data path via a second N3GPP access network for an ongoing communications session corresponding to the first PDU session ID: (“Additionally (6 and 7) the SMF can establish user plane resources over the trusted non-3GPP access. At this point, there can be three user plane tunnels (i.e. 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE 102 and UPF.”, Yi [0126])
Yi as described above does not explicitly teach:
deciding, at the UE, following establishment of the second user plane data path via the second N3GPP access network to initiate de-registration with regard to a first user plane data path established through a first N3GPP access network following receipt of the second PDU session establishment information and establishment of the second user plane data path; registration message to the AMF to initiate deregistration with respect to the first N3GPP access network.
However, Youn further teaches AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE which includes:
deciding, at the UE, following establishment of the second user plane data path via the second N3GPP access network to initiate de-registration with regard to a first user plane data path established through a first N3GPP access network following receipt of the second PDU session establishment information and establishment of the second user plane data path; (S1522 in FIG. 15 shows the UE sending deregistration request and receiving deregistration accept, Youn – Examiner’s Note: to send a request, the UE needs to make a decision) and sending, from the UE, a de-registration message to the AMF to initiate deregistration with respect to the first N3GPP access network. (“In step S1360, the method includes receiving, from the AMF, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0354]) (“In step S1470, the method includes transmitting, to the UE, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0404] – Examiner’s Note: Youn specifies this message as “deregistration request message”, but it should be an accept or acknowledge message since the AMF is informing the UE that the UE is registered, not requesting to deregister the UE.) (S1522 in FIG. 15 shows the UE sending deregistration request and receiving deregistration accept between the UE and AMF, Youn)
Yi and Youn are analogous because they both pertain to switching between paths.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE as described in Youn into Yi. By modifying the method to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE as taught by Youn, the benefits of improved network switching process (Youn [0354] and Yi [0031]) are achieved.
As to claim 47:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 46, wherein sending the first registration message includes sending the first registration message via said first N3GPP access network. (“the UE 102 can be registered over 3GPP access and untrusted non-3GPP access and established MA PDU Session.”, Yi [0123])
As to claim 48:
Yi as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 47, wherein the registration accept message includes first Global Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI) assigned by the PLMN to the UE.
However, Youn further teaches including GUTI in the registration accept message which includes:
The method of claim 47, wherein the registration accept message includes first Global Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI) assigned by the PLMN to the UE. (“The new AMF sends a Registration Accept message to the UE indicating that the Registration Request has been accepted. 5G-GUTI is included if the new AMF allocates a new 5G-GUTI.”, Youn [0187])
Yi and Youn are analogous because they both pertain to switching between paths.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include GUTI in the registration accept message as described in Youn into Yi. By modifying the method to include GUTI in the registration accept message as taught by Youn, the benefits of improved network switching process (Youn [0354] and Yi [0031]) are achieved.
As to claim 49:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 48, wherein sending the first PDU session establishment request includes sending the first PDU session establishment request via the first N3GPP access network. (“the UE 102 can be registered over 3GPP access and untrusted non-3GPP access and established MA PDU Session. During the MA PDU Session Establishment, the UE 102 can indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching in the PDU Session Establishment Request message. The AMF can also indicate whether it supports non-3GPP access switching to the SMF. Considering the received capabilities of the UE 102, AMF and SMF capability, the SMF can indicate whether non-3GPP access switching is supported to the UE 102 in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message.”, Yi [0123])
As to claim 51:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 46, wherein said information indicating that N3GPP path switching is supported indicates that N3GPP path switching is supported between different N3GPP networks. (“Considering the received capabilities of the UE 102, AMF and SMF capability, the SMF can indicate whether non-3GPP access switching is supported to the UE 102 in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message.”, Yi [0123]) (FIG. 12 shows N3GPP path switching between trusted and untrusted N3GPP, Yi)
As to claim 52:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 49, further comprising: establishing a first user plane data path for a communications session corresponding to the first session identifier via the first N3GPP access network. (“At this point, there can be three user plane tunnels (i.e. 3GPP access, untrusted non-3GPP access, trusted non-3GPP access) in the UE 102 and UPF”, Yi [0126])
As to claim 53:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 49, further comprising: sending a second PDU session establishment request to the AMF via a second N3GPP access network said second PDU session establishment request including the first PDU session ID number. ; (“The first PDU session establishment request can indicate a PDU session type being a multi-access PDU session across a plurality of access networks which includes a first access network and a second access network. The first PDU session establishment request can also indicate an anchor network being the first network; and/or a PDU session identifier. Additionally, the method can include receiving, via the first access network, a first response indicating a successful first establishment of a first PDU session, the first access network being a new radio access network; and/or sending, by the wireless device and based on receiving the first response, a second PDU session establishment request to a second network. The second PDU session establishment request can indicate the PDU session type; the anchor network being the first network; and/or the PDU session identifier.”, Yi [0005]) (FIG. 12 shows AMF receiving all requests, Yi) (“In some examples, a wireless device or user equipment (UE) may establish an enhanced multi-access PDU session that comprises a first PDU session establishment via a first SIM and a first network, and a second PDU session establishment via a second SIM and a second network. In some instances, the UE can use an anchor network, where the anchor network manages the multi-access PDU session, and the user plane function of the anchor network performs traffic steering, splitting and switching function for the multi-access PDU session. A decision on which network is the anchor network can be determined by the UE triggering the multi-access PDU session, for example, by indicating subscription information, coverage, link quality, cost, and/or the like. This can provide flexible setup of a multi-access PDU session across multiple different types of networks where the multi-access PDU session may be established via multiple 3GPP accesses, multiple non-3GPP access, combinations of 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses, multiple networks operated by multiple different operators, multiple network operated by a single operator, multiple networks registered using a single credential, multiple networks registered using multiple credentials, and combinations thereof.”, Yi [0031])
As to claim 54:
Yi discloses:
The method of claim 52, further comprising: receiving via the second N3GPP access network, from the AMF, second PDU session establishment information including a second link specific address and Access Traffic Steering Switching and Splitting (ATSSS) information indicating that N3GPP path switching is supported. (“In some scenarios, when applied to cases of two non-3GPP access networks, the procedures discussed herein can occur without the loss of generality, wherein a first 3GPP access is replaced by a first non-3GPP access and a second 3GPP access is replaced by a second non-3GPP access. In case of two non-3GPP accesses, one non-3GPP access will be replaced by one 3GPP access. When there are more than two 3GPP access networks, the first eMA-PDU session establishment procedure may occur for each of non-anchor PLMN. Anchor PLMN may be determined as a PLMN has an anchor of UPF received data from DN.”, Yi [0101]) (“In some examples, the UE 102 can receive ATSSS rules from SMF, which indicate how the uplink traffic should be routed across 3GPP access and non-3GPP access.”, Yi [0109]) (“Considering the received capabilities of the UE 102, AMF and SMF capability, the SMF can indicate whether non-3GPP access switching is supported to the UE 102 in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message.”, Yi [0123])
As to claim 55:
Yi as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 46, further comprising: receiving at the UE, a de-registration accept message from the AMF, said de-registration accept message indicating acceptance of the de-registration request relating to the UE registration corresponding to the first N3GPP access network.
However, Youn further teaches AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE and UE receiving deregistration accept message which includes:
The method of claim 46, further comprising: receiving at the UE, a de-registration accept message from the AMF, said de-registration accept message indicating acceptance of the de-registration request relating to the UE registration corresponding to the first N3GPP access network. (“In step S1360, the method includes receiving, from the AMF, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0354]) (“In step S1470, the method includes transmitting, to the UE, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0404] – Examiner’s Note: Youn specifies this message as “deregistration request message”, but it should be an accept or acknowledge message since the AMF is informing the UE that the UE is registered, not requesting to deregister the UE.) (S1522 in FIG. 15 shows the UE sending deregistration request and receiving deregistration accept between the UE and AMF, Youn)
Yi and Youn are analogous because they both pertain to switching between paths.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE and UE receiving deregistration accept message as described in Youn into Yi. By modifying the method to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE and UE receiving deregistration accept message as taught by Youn, the benefits of improved network switching process (Youn [0354] and Yi [0031]) are achieved.
As to claim 56:
Yi as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 55, wherein the de-registration accept message is received at the UE via the second N3GPP access network.
However, Youn further teaches AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE and UE receiving deregistration accept message which includes:
The method of claim 55, wherein the de-registration accept message is received at the UE via the second N3GPP access network. (“In step S1360, the method includes receiving, from the AMF, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0354]) (“In step S1470, the method includes transmitting, to the UE, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0404] – Examiner’s Note: Youn specifies this message as “deregistration request message”, but it should be an accept or acknowledge message since the AMF is informing the UE that the UE is registered, not requesting to deregister the UE.) (S1522 in FIG. 15 shows the UE sending deregistration request and receiving deregistration accept between the UE and AMF, Youn)
Yi and Youn are analogous because they both pertain to switching between paths.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE and UE receiving deregistration accept message as described in Youn into Yi. By modifying the method to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE and UE receiving deregistration accept message as taught by Youn, the benefits of improved network switching process (Youn [0354] and Yi [0031]) are achieved.
As to claim 58:
Yi as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 57, wherein the processor is further configured to: operate the UE to receive, at the UE, a de-registration accept message from the AMF, said de-registration accept message indicating acceptance of the de-registration request relating to the UE registration corresponding to the first N3GPP access network.
However, Youn further teaches AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE and UE receiving deregistration accept message which includes:
The UE of claim 57, wherein the processor is further configured to: operate the UE to receive, at the UE, a de-registration accept message from the AMF, said de-registration accept message indicating acceptance of the de-registration request relating to the UE registration corresponding to the first N3GPP access network. (“In step S1360, the method includes receiving, from the AMF, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0354]) (“In step S1470, the method includes transmitting, to the UE, a deregistration request message informing that the UE is deregistered over the first non-3GPP access.”, Youn [0404] – Examiner’s Note: Youn specifies this message as “deregistration request message”, but it should be an accept or acknowledge message since the AMF is informing the UE that the UE is registered, not requesting to deregister the UE.) (S1522 in FIG. 15 shows the UE sending deregistration request and receiving deregistration accept between the UE and AMF, Youn)
Yi and Youn are analogous because they both pertain to switching between paths.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE and UE receiving deregistration accept message as described in Youn into Yi. By modifying the method to include AMF receiving deregistration request from the UE and UE receiving deregistration accept message as taught by Youn, the benefits of improved network switching process (Youn [0354] and Yi [0031]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi in view of Youn, as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Yu US 20230171822 (hereinafter “Yu”).
As to claim 50:
Yi and Youn as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 49, wherein the first PDU session establishment information is communicated via the first N3GPP access network to the UE and includes a first link specific address to be used by the UE for communication via the first N3GPP network for the first PDU session corresponding to the first PDU session ID.
However, Yu further teaches including link specific address in the PDU session establishment procedure which includes:
The method of claim 49, wherein the first PDU session establishment information is communicated via the first N3GPP access network to the UE and includes a first link specific address to be used by the UE for communication via the first N3GPP network for the first PDU session corresponding to the first PDU session ID. (“In the PDU session establishment procedure, the N5CW device obtains an IP address 1. The N5CW device requests, by using a 3GPP access network, to establish multi-access connectivity. In a multi-access connectivity establishment process, the N5CW device obtains the IP address 1. The N5CW device sends an uplink data packet of the multi-access connectivity based on the IP address 1 by using the 3GPP or non-3GPP access network, to communicate with the DN.”, Yu [0158])
Yi, Yu, and Youn are analogous because they pertain to managing N3GPP paths
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include including link specific address in the PDU session establishment procedure as described in Yu into Yi as modified by Youn. By modifying the method to include including link specific address in the PDU session establishment procedure as taught by Yu, the benefits of improved network switching process (Youn [0354] and Yi [0031]) and improved PDU session establishment procedure (Yu [0158]) are achieved.
Conclusion
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471