DETAILED ACTION
In response to amendment filed on 2/9/2026, claims 3- 5, 8, 11- 13, 15- 16 were cancelled and claims 1- 2, 6- 7, 9- 10, 14, 17- 21 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the remarks on 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10 first paragraph of remarks applicant argues, “.Marcus discloses measuring CSI-RS based on T, which represents the number of time instances. This is in contrast to the CSI report of claim 1, which indicates a precoding matrix associated with the length of the TD-DD unit. While Marcus discloses that a PMI may be included in the CSI report generated by the UE, it fails to explicitly disclose including a PMI that contains pre-coding matrices associated with the length of the TD/DD unit, as recited in claim 1. Marcus does not disclose measuring CSI-RS by considering both the number of TD- DD units and the duration of the TD-DD units. Instead. Marcus discloses measuring CSI-RS based on a number of time instances.”
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that asper claim recitations, “wherein the PMI includes precoding matrices associated with the length of the at least one TD-DD unit”; Marcus teaches in in [0068] regarding CSI reporting … In response to the report configuration (see [0067]…N1, N2 parameters (i.e. length of at least one TD-DD unit) signaled via higher layer to UE; further refer [0034] as discussed regarding .. accordance with embodiments, the communication device is configured to receive the following values from the transmitter using Radio Resource Control (RRC) layer or physical layer (L1) parameters: values of S and T for the configuration of the delay and Doppler-frequency component codebooks (Ω.sub.2, Ω.sub.3), and parameters N.sub.1, N.sub.2 and oversampling factors O.sub.1,1 and O.sub.1,2 for the configuration of the first codebook (Ω.sub.1). ), the UE
performs, at step 252, measurements on downlink CSI-RS over T consecutive time-instants/slots,
constructs, at step 254, the time-variant frequency-selective MIMO channel tensor;
selects, at step 256, the Doppler-delay-beam composite three-stage precoder matrix for each layer (PMI selection) with respect to a specific performance metric as explained in more detail below;
calculates, at step 258, a CQI value, a predicted CQI value, or predicted differential CQI values (if configured) for a future time instant or for a set of future time instants using the selected Doppler-delay-beam composite three-stage precoder matrix and at least one of the MIMO channel tensor and a prediction of the MIMO channel tensor for future time instants, and, optionally, selects a RI value (if configured) using the selected Doppler-delay-beam composite three-stage precoder matrix and the MIMO channel tensor, and
sends, at step 260, the CSI report to the gNB.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 2, 6- 7, 9- 10, 14, 17- 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Marcus et al. (EP 3 576312 A1); pls see IDS filed on 10/18/2024 page 1 cite#1.
Regarding claim 1, Marcus teaches a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 4 UE and BS), the UE comprising: a transceiver configured to:
receive, from a base station (BS), configuration information for a channel state information (CSI) report, the configuration information including first information on a length of at least one time domain and doppler domain (TD-DD) unit and second information on a duration of a TD-DD unit; (in context with [0034] refer to [0048].. configured with a CSI-RS reporting configuration via a higher layer for reporting either the CQI and/or RI and/or PMI for a beam-formed CSI-RS, the vectors in the first codebook matrix represented by N 1 N 2-length column vectors, where the m-th vector (m = 1, ..., N 1 N 2) contains a single 1 at the m-th position and zeros elsewhere (i.e. here N1 and N2 length as a first information.; further refer to [0049].. configured to receive a CSI-RS resource configuration including a higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter, e.g., referred to as CSI-RS-BurstDuration, indicating a time-domain-repetition of the downlink reference signals, e.g., in terms of a number of consecutive slots the downlink reference signals are repeated in (i.e. these CSI-RS-burst-duration as a duration of TD-DD unit); further refer to [0051] for that.; further refer to Fig. 4 and [0060- 0065] wherein specifically in [0065] the CSI report configuration provided by the eNB may further include one or more of at least the following parameters:
▪ cri-RI-PMIDD-CQI
▪ cri-RI-PMIDy-CQI
▪ cri-RI-PMIDr-CQI
▪ cri-RI-LI-PMIDD-CQI
▪ cri-RI-LI-PMIDy-CQI
▪ cri-RI-LI-PMIDr-CQI
▪ cri-RI-PMIDD
▪ cri-RI-PMIDy
▪ cri-RI-PMIDr
Wherein DD represents delay and doppler components, Dy represents only delay component , Dr represents only doppler component hence from above parameters , any one or any combination can represent as a first information (length of at least one time domain and doppler domain unit here delay/doppler information time-variant can be a length here); further see [0067]); and
receive, from the BS, at least one CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) (see Fig. 4, #252); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to generate the CSI report based on the at least one CSI-RS (see Fig. 4, #258),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the BS, the CSI report including a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and wherein the PMI includes precoding matrices associated with the length of the at least one TD-DD unit (see Fig. 4 CSI reporting [0068] (in context with discussed above regarding length).
Regarding claim 2, Marcus teaches as per claim 1, wherein each of precoding matrices is for a sub-band; in context with [0008- 0009, 0034] and claims 1- 4 (set of matrices Ω called 'codebook) please refer to claim 5 S refers to the number of configured sub-bands.
Regarding claim 6, Marcus teaches as per claim 1, wherein: the configuration information includes codebook configuration information on a codebook of type II doppler; see [0009, 0031, 0078] and claim 4 dual-stage as a type-II doppler, and the first information and the second information are included in the codebook configuration information; see [0051, 0056, 0064] and also refer to claim 1’s citations.
Regarding claim 7, Marcus teaches as per claim 1, wherein: the CSI report further includes a channel quality indicator (CQI) for the at least one TD- DD unit, a number of the CQI is configured by a higher layer signaling, and the number of at least one TD-DD unit indicates a TD-DD basis vector length; already discussed above see [0060] and discussed above in claim 1’s citations about N1 and N2.
Regarding claim 9, Marcus teaches a base station (see Fig. 4 base station and UE) comprising: a processor and a transceiver operably to the processor, the transceiver configured to:
Transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information for a channel state information (CSI) report, the configuration information including first information on a length of at least one time domain and doppler domain (TD-DD) unit and second information on a duration of a TD-DD unit; (in context with [0034] refer to [0048].. configured with a CSI-RS reporting configuration via a higher layer for reporting either the CQI and/or RI and/or PMI for a beam-formed CSI-RS, the vectors in the first codebook matrix represented by N 1 N 2-length column vectors, where the m-th vector (m = 1, ..., N 1 N 2) contains a single 1 at the m-th position and zeros elsewhere (i.e. here N1 and N2 length as a first information.; further refer to [0049].. configured to receive a CSI-RS resource configuration including a higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter, e.g., referred to as CSI-RS-BurstDuration, indicating a time-domain-repetition of the downlink reference signals, e.g., in terms of a number of consecutive slots the downlink reference signals are repeated in (i.e. these CSI-RS-burst-duration as a duration of TD-DD unit); further refer to [0051] for that.; further refer to Fig. 4 and [0060- 0065] wherein specifically in [0065] the CSI report configuration provided by the eNB may further include one or more of at least the following parameters:
▪ cri-RI-PMIDD-CQI
▪ cri-RI-PMIDy-CQI
▪ cri-RI-PMIDr-CQI
▪ cri-RI-LI-PMIDD-CQI
▪ cri-RI-LI-PMIDy-CQI
▪ cri-RI-LI-PMIDr-CQI
▪ cri-RI-PMIDD
▪ cri-RI-PMIDy
▪ cri-RI-PMIDr
Wherein DD represents delay and doppler components, Dy represents only delay component , Dr represents only doppler component hence from above parameters , any one or any combination can represent as a first information (length of at least one time domain and doppler domain unit here delay/doppler information time-variant can be a length here); further see [0067]); and
transmit, to the UE, at least one CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) (see Fig. 4, #252); and
receive, from the UE, the CSI reporting including a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) based on the at least one CSI-RS (see Fig. 4, #258), wherein the PMI includes precoding matrices associated with the length of the at least one TD-DD unit (see Fig. 4 CSI reporting , [0068] (in context with discussed above regarding length).
Regarding claim 10, Marcus teaches as per claim 9, wherein each of precoding matrices is for a sub-band; in context with [0008- 0009, 0034] and claims 1- 4 (set of matrices Ω called 'codebook) please refer to claim 5 S refers to the number of configured sub-bands.
Regarding claim 14, Marcus teaches as per claim 9, wherein: the CSI report further includes a channel quality indicator (CQI) for the at least one TD- DD unit, a number of the CQI is configured by a higher layer signaling, and the number of at least one TD-DD unit indicates a TD-DD basis vector length; already discussed above see [0060] and discussed above in claim 9’s citations about N1 and N2.
Regarding claim 17, Marcus teaches a method for operating a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 4 UE and BS), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), configuration information for a channel state information (CSI) report, the configuration information including first information on a length of at least one time domain and doppler domain (TD-DD) unit and second information on a duration of a TD-DD unit; (in context with [0034] refer to [0048].. configured with a CSI-RS reporting configuration via a higher layer for reporting either the CQI and/or RI and/or PMI for a beam-formed CSI-RS, the vectors in the first codebook matrix represented by N 1 N 2-length column vectors, where the m-th vector (m = 1, ..., N 1 N 2) contains a single 1 at the m-th position and zeros elsewhere (i.e. here N1 and N2 length as a first information.; further refer to [0049].. configured to receive a CSI-RS resource configuration including a higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter, e.g., referred to as CSI-RS-BurstDuration, indicating a time-domain-repetition of the downlink reference signals, e.g., in terms of a number of consecutive slots the downlink reference signals are repeated in (i.e. these CSI-RS-burst-duration as a duration of TD-DD unit); further refer to [0051] for that.; further refer to Fig. 4 and [0060- 0065] wherein specifically in [0065] the CSI report configuration provided by the eNB may further include one or more of at least the following parameters:
▪ cri-RI-PMIDD-CQI
▪ cri-RI-PMIDy-CQI
▪ cri-RI-PMIDr-CQI
▪ cri-RI-LI-PMIDD-CQI
▪ cri-RI-LI-PMIDy-CQI
▪ cri-RI-LI-PMIDr-CQI
▪ cri-RI-PMIDD
▪ cri-RI-PMIDy
▪ cri-RI-PMIDr
Wherein DD represents delay and doppler components, Dy represents only delay component , Dr represents only doppler component hence from above parameters , any one or any combination can represent as a first information (length of at least one time domain and doppler domain unit here delay/doppler information time-variant can be a length here); further see [0067]); and
receiving, from the BS, at least one CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) (see Fig. 4, #252); and
generating the CSI report based on the at least one CSI-RS (see Fig. 4, #258),
transmitting, to the BS, the CSI report including a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and wherein the PMI includes precoding matrices associated with the length of the at least one TD-DD unit (see Fig. 4 CSI reporting [0068] (in context with discussed above regarding length).
Regarding claim 18, Marcus teaches as per claim 17, wherein each of precoding matrices is for a sub-band; in context with [0008- 0009, 0034] and claims 1- 4 (set of matrices Ω called 'codebook) please refer to claim 5 S refers to the number of configured sub-bands.
Regarding claim 19, Marcus teaches as per claim 17, wherein: the CSI report further includes a channel quality indicator (CQI) for the at least one TD- DD unit, a number of the CQI is configured by a higher layer signaling, and the number of at least one TD-DD unit indicates a TD-DD basis vector length; already discussed above see [0060] and discussed above in claim 17’s citations about N1 and N2.
Regarding claim 20, Marcus teaches as per claim 17, wherein: the configuration information includes codebook configuration information on a codebook of type II doppler; see [0009, 0031, 0078] and claim 4 dual-stage as a type-II doppler, and the first information and the second information are included in the codebook configuration information; see [0051, 0056, 0064] and also refer to claim 17’s citations.
Regarding claim 21, Marcus teaches as per claim 9, wherein: the configuration information includes codebook configuration information on a codebook of type II doppler; see [0009, 0031, 0078] and claim 4 dual-stage as a type-II doppler, and the first information and the second information are included in the codebook configuration information; see [0051, 0056, 0064] and also refer to claim 9’s citations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479